Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CannonBall Ireland!

• 10-09-2010 8:13am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭

Walking down Merrion Square this morning.

My first sight? Aston Martin DB9.
    My first sound? A reving Mercedes SLR

Head down to merrion Sq before 10am because all these super monsters are rolling out.

Some of the cars are the only ones in Ireland.

I think its something called "Canonball Ireland"?

Its the Irish equivilant of Gumball3000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭ShaneIRL

Brendog wrote: »
    Walking down Merrion Square this morning.

My first sight? Aston Martin DB9.
    My first sound? A reving Mercedes SLR

Head down to merrion Sq before 10am because all these super monsters are rolling out.

Some of the cars are the only ones in Ireland.

I think its something called "Canonball Ireland"?

Its the Irish equivilant of Gumball3000

Heres the link to their official site

http://www.cannonball.ie/index.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭JD1763

Only saw a Maserati up on Stephens Green and a Bentley down on the quays at the IFSC.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

There's some fine looking cars around alright. I saw an F430 spider around Stephens's green last night, and this morning saw a Porsche GT2 (or maybe a GT3), and the SLR. The SLR in particular looks so much better in the flesh. Unfortunately it was stuck in traffic when I went by so didn't get to hear it rev :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

The official start lie is at merrion sq. if you want to head up there in the next 20 mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

Took a detour on the bike myself this morning for a look. Some stunning cars. The white Gallardo looked amazin, couldn't believe how small they are, pick of the lot for me. Passed the SLR on the quays stuck in traffic. Surprised I think I counted about 4 BMW 8 series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

any idea on the time table, might try and catch them heading through sligo and out the N4 today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

stevenmu wrote: »
    The SLR in particular looks so much better in the flesh. Unfortunately it was stuck in traffic when I went by so didn't get to hear it rev :(

There's 2 SLR's there. One is a 722. There's some pics in the HWIST thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Saw a black Lambo Gallardo... I think it was a superleggera looking from the spoiler, though maybe it was up because it was going over 80mph, though it wasn't going that fast...

A Hummer H2 followed the Gallardo but after seeing the Lambo, the Hummer was a pretty ugly thing to look at...

It's a Gallardo twin turbo. 600bhp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Paulyh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

It says they arrive at 7pm in Westport.
    I think I'll go there to take a look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,391 ✭✭✭markpb

I passed by it on the way to work this morning and decided work could do without me for an extra hour ;) There were some really beautiful cars there - I found it very hard to go to work. Sitting in an F150 was nice too. I'll have me one of those!

Obligatory photo link

markpb wrote: »
    Obligatory photo link

I missed Georgia Salpa :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭waxon-waxoff

These are for steve06

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

I hope whoever is driving that ariel atom has good wet gear on, the west of ireland is gonna be getting hit hard by the tail end of that hurricane in the atlantic.. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,576 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

ToxicPaddy wrote: »
    I hope whoever is driving that ariel atom has good wet gear on, the west of ireland is gonna be getting hit hard by the tail end of that hurricane in the atlantic.. :eek:

nah that came through last night absolutely bucketed down
    just gone through donegal town heading for lunch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,519 ✭✭✭irish1967

They just arrived up my road. Rare enough to see a Garda car up here never mind a POLICE car !!

http://img299.imageshack.us/i/imagebyd.jpg/

http://img838.imageshack.us/i/imagezk.jpg/

Didn't expect to see them. I live on a dead end country lane / road !! :) hmmmmm satnav??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭bmstuff

Lots of BMW this year

The white M1 is driven by Frank Keane (BMW dealer) and the yellow 850 is driven by Brian Keane. Those 2 cars have been in the Frank Keane's personal collection for years.

I'd say it is fairplay to drive the M1 for such a long trip knowing this car has been for a while in the showroom. But well she was driven in the past too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭mondymike

Whats the story with these speeding?

I'm sure they arent going to be hitting the 60k through towns etc so will the gardai be watching them.

If the gardai knew of a 'cruise' etc going on they'd be all over it, am i right?

Just wouldnt like to think of it as one rule for them, and a different rule for others.

any ideas?

There's a photo on another forum of some poor driving by the slr's but the police got them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

mondymike wrote: »

I'm sure they arent going to be hitting the 60k through towns etc so will the gardai be watching them.

If the gardai knew of a 'cruise' etc going on they'd be all over it, am i right?

Just wouldnt like to think of it as one rule for them, and a different rule for others.

any ideas?

What gave you the idea that the Garda would overlook speeding or reckless driving?

Are you hoping to see some of the guys in nicer cars being done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭Ordinary man

I met the convoy on the road today. Sweet jesus devine:eek:. Some of the most beautiful cars in the world. I'm just sorry i didn't hear more about it beforehand so i could have seen them in more detail. If anyone here is near killarney, drop everything and go see them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭Lucifer31

Just back from Clarinbridge (Oyster Festival) village outside Galway, where the whole show stopped for just over an hour. Caused a major tailback in traffic, which didn't bother me (on my two wheel cruiser). My brother is taking part with his Jag XK8.
    Oysters all round, and there was even an acrobatic plane performing some excellent stunts above the crowd. They're all on their way to Killarney now for the party tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭bladebrew

i was going to head into the city (cork) tomorrow to see them but it says they are meeting at the boardwalk restaurant, which is near the centre of the city and has no parking at all:confused:,
    i thought would at least find somewhere with parking,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭Nevermind_

mondymike wrote: »

any ideas?

One of my best mates was on it last year, he said as long as you didnt take the complete piss the cops left you alone.
    Apparently on one particular straight stretch of motorway they basically let the cars put the foot down, with cops looking on.
    The event has a garda escort most of the time anyway.
    At least theyre raising money for a truely good cause... Barretstown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭cadaliac

bladebrew wrote: »
    i was going to head into the city (cork) tomorrow to see them but it says they are meeting at the boardwalk restaurant, which is near the centre of the city and has no parking at all:confused:,
    i thought would at least find somewhere with parking,
    Any idea what time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭bladebrew

cadaliac wrote: »
    Any idea what time?

sorry i didnt see your post till now!!,
    they were fairly late into the city it was around 4:30 i was standing on the side street where lee motorcycles used to be and they went down there from south mall, then through into the port to park,
    there was a huge crowd down there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 mantaman

Brought my two lads to Cork this evening and really glad I did. Fantastic spectacle. From GT500 to 458 and DBS............where would you get to see these being driven at the same time?? Sounds were fantastic, rumble from GT500 was amazing and the black Lambo was barking like a mad thing, really was stunning. They had a bit of a problem with crowd control though, thousands of spectators there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭pARTner81

what kind of a road race has the gardai giving the participating cars an escort! not exactly on the edge now is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

pARTner81 wrote: »
    what kind of a road race has the gardai giving the participating cars an escort! not exactly on the edge now is it?

What race ? :confused:

This is the cannonball run we're talking about, which is a charity event.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

So you reckon they should be flat out so ?

flat out, and totally illegal! Maybe i'm just thinking too much about the movie, and reminiscing

yeah but it's supposed to be a race, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭piskins72

got to see them all in Killarney last night when they drove through the town, it was cool!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

yeah but it's supposed to be a race, no?

What are you on about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Flesh Gorden

Aston DBS

60340_159404544075130_100000167553651_529466_8130325_n.jpg

60340_159404550741796_100000167553651_529468_4585475_n.jpg

Ferrari 458 Italia

59310_159404600741791_100000167553651_529471_7028002_n.jpg

59310_159404610741790_100000167553651_529474_8231030_n.jpg

59110_159404650741786_100000167553651_529476_2834666_n.jpg

Ferrari 599

47129_159405080741743_100000167553651_529486_3089023_n.jpg

Shelby Mustang GT500

47285_159407310741520_100000167553651_529501_1226489_n.jpg

47285_159407327408185_100000167553651_529506_2485332_n.jpg

Lamborghini Gallardo

47285_159407330741518_100000167553651_529507_2305121_n.jpg

57899_159407484074836_100000167553651_529508_760622_n.jpg

Lamborghini Gallardo

46845_159407917408126_100000167553651_529513_6478440_n.jpg

46845_159407924074792_100000167553651_529515_8224418_n.jpg

2x Calipers!

58432_159409110741340_100000167553651_529530_7949167_n.jpg

McLaren SLR

47905_159409154074669_100000167553651_529535_6876582_n.jpg

47905_159409157408002_100000167553651_529536_4389087_n.jpg

The Owners - dressed as ??? colourblind pimps?

47905_159409164074668_100000167553651_529538_3772561_n.jpg

Porsche 911 Turbo

59273_159409490741302_100000167553651_529549_1392106_n.jpg

Porsche GT2

47429_159409557407962_100000167553651_529554_3810969_n.jpg

47429_159409567407961_100000167553651_529557_6973805_n.jpg

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

My mate owns the 911 that was there, 160k sterling, lovely motor, nearly had to drag me out of it on Friday in Westport! :)
    Only 250 of them in the world and 25 right hand drives.

Some cracking cars.

Heard a lad was arrested doing 176mph near Mullingar. Hard to keep the foot off the pedal in those I am sure!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

galwaytt wrote: »
    What race ? :confused:

This is the cannonball run we're talking about, which is a charity event.

Its also a movie.

This photo is hilarious - ok girls 1...2.....3.... and blue steel!!!!
    http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=4727846&id=513134705&l=2e7f8a405f&ref=fbx_album#!/photo.php?pid=4727848&id=513134705&l=2e7f8a405f&ref=fbx_album&fbid=434382479705

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭retrothis

I saw them in Cork yesterday....a 458 Italia. Next to that a DB9 just seemed....well...ordinary.
    There was also a Diablo :)

retrothis wrote: »
    There was also a Diablo :)
    2 Diablo 6.0s and an SV popped in to say hello along the way.

Great day but the Cork City leg was very poorly organised

Only information available beforehand was - 3pm, cross the finish line at the boardwalk, park on bridge.

No information before hand on the radio or otherwise about what route they would take into the city
    or if they would parade through the city centre or not

Traffic was at a standstill, the likes of a detour for general traffic
    or even a one off contraflow down parnell place onto anglesea street for cars heading to the link would have been very handy

the only gardai I seen were the guy on a bike at the front who ended up directing traffic and the guy in the Vectra at the rear

last year I headed down to kilarney where they had a presence at every point from the hotel,
    through the town and up towards the roundabout onto the next leg

no barriers to separate the crowd from the cars entering the old customs house and an open pier into the river
    even a rope barrier would have been better then nothing

apart from that a few fellas scaling the sides of the customs house to get a vantage point on top of the walls

Otherwise excellent - High points for me being:

- Holden Ute spinning his tyres the whole length of the street heading towards the boardwalk

- The black Lamborghini Gallardo revving, backfiring and spitting flames outside the boardwalk

- The Shelby GT500 parking up outside the boardwalk - ruined a bit by having coffee coloured fluid spill out from the radiator

- The 458 Italia, right hand drive too if it wasn't rare enough

1,248 units were produced between December 2009 and August 2010. Believe me there were much rarer cars there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

I will have to get to see this some day.

Does anyone know if there is an entrance fee for it/what it is?

I'd love to see that GT500 in the metal, I <3 that car.

I will have to get to see this some day.

Does anyone know if there is an entrance fee for it/what it is?

I'd love to see that GT500 in the metal, I <3 that car.

Free for spectators - you only pay if your participating - 750 euro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

12 hundred quid or so

And ye need a fancy motor to be considered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭Treehouse72

Vulgar, dangerous, elitist, playboy filth. Hope they all end up in a ditch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Free for spectators - you only pay if your participating - 750 euro
    Wossack wrote: »
    12 hundred quid or so

And ye need a fancy motor to be considered

So who's correct?

Also, fancy motor? I saw a Mini Cooper S was involved. Hardly groundbreaking.
    Vulgar, dangerous, elitist, playboy filth. Hope they all end up in a ditch.

Thats not nice. How is it vulgar? How is it dangerous? Elitist maybe, as the cars involved do mean that you have to have some money behind you. And they're raising money for charity. Woo, they're enjoying themselves while they're doing it, how dare they. Everyone knows charity work should be backbreaking and thankless.

So who's correct?

quick google search
    Car entry fee is €750.00 with all of this money going to Barretstown.
    Driver entry fee is €460.00 per person sharing, this includes 3 nights B&B, meals and entertainment.

Didn't know about the driver fee, just heard someone on a pa yesterday about the car fee entry

a few ordinary cars there, or at least ones that can be bought for reasonable money

VW corrado VR6, Smart car, think I seen a 03' 320d coupe, 97' 8 series bmw,