Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How Irish are you?

• 08-09-2010 11:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭

I often get the feeling i'm not really "irish".

I'm not into GAA in the slightest, I hate "diddleyi" music, get annoyed when people speak irish to me, not a fan of ham, cabbage, spuds or frys, go to mass once a year, have a completely neutral accent, not a freckle to be seen, dont know a word of the irish anthem, know next to nothing about the old troubles in the north despite living 15 miles from the border, and a few other bits.

Goin on the piss at the weekends is about as irish as i get, should I just "go back to britland ya big brit"?

Any other irishphobes out there?

(i'm irish and not a snob either!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭cian_r

go back to britland ya big brit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Darlughda

wouldya just feck off now with this kind of shyte!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Forgot, Father Ted, genius

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

have a completely neutral accent,

They all say that...................... or should that be.... Dey all say Dat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 537 ✭✭✭JonJoeDali

I'm not into GAA in the slightest, I hate "diddleyi" music, get annoyed when people speak irish to me, not a fan of ham, cabbage, spuds or frys, go to mass once a year, have a completely neutral accent, not a freckle to be seen, dont know a word of the irish anthem, know next to nothing about the old troubles in the north despite living 15 miles from the border, and a few other bits.

Goin on the piss at the weekends is about as irish as i get, should I just "go back to britland ya big brit"?

What's a "neutral accent"?

You sound like a happy little conformist consumer tbqh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I'm as Irish as Barney McKenna's bollix!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Eh I was born here... what else have I got to do?

I don't remember this section on my Passport Form...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

You'd be surprised about how many 'ra heads who are all about nationalistic pride and saying "fukk da brittz" know little or nothing about Irish history and who's pride is entirely based upon their support for the celtic football club and their tolerance for bands like The Dubliners and their unjustified hatred of all things British.

If that's being Irish, I don't particularly want to be Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭ollie1

Maybe you are adopted and you just dont know? And how can you not like frys? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

ollie1 wrote: »
    Maybe you are adopted and you just dont know? And how can you not like frys? :eek:

ollie1 wrote: »

Dunno, associate them with feeling sick for some reason. Love a rasher in white bread though, lashings of butter...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭questionmark?

Sheeps wrote: »
    You'd be surprised about how many 'ra heads who are all about nationalistic pride and saying "fukk da brittz" know little or nothing about Irish history and who's pride is entirely based upon their support for the celtic football club and their tolerance for bands like The Dubliners and their unjustified hatred of all things British.

If that's being Irish, I don't particularly want to be Irish.

Ammm right whats being described isn't being Irish its called being a fcuking idiot!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Sheeps wrote: »

Kinda offtopic but something worth posting

Many clubs in England have a stand called the kop.

I can't believe the muppets who constantly tell me it means King over Pope and no Irish person should support such a club, such as Liverpool which is probably the most well known

Kop comes from Spion Kop, a hill in South Africa. Boer War veterans returned home from a battle there and a stand was named after the hill

I don't want to hear one more King over Pope muppet :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

neutral irish accent?? how is that even possible, the irish accent is one of the most easily distinguishable of any,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

I drop enough F-Bombs to make most Christians faint.

Neutral of Irish accents, no country twang, no dublin or any other city influence but still get Dublin people saying im a bogger (only cos im not from dublin though)

Kinda offtopic but something worth posting

Many clubs in England have a stand called the kop.

I can't believe the muppets who constantly tell me it means King over Pope and no Irish person should support such a club, such as Liverpool which is probably the most well known

Kop comes from Spion Kop, a hill in South Africa. Boer War veterans returned home from a battle there and a stand was named after the hill

I don't want to hear one more King over Pope muppet :mad:

Sorry to further drag this thread on a slight tangent but even if it did stand for King over Pope, I'd still probably not boycott them because there is no King of England and the Pope is a complete gobshite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

I am varry Irrr-issh! "Top of da mornin' ta ya!" More Kerryish then anything!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Con1988

You are the just another Jedward!!! no cultral and falling into a typical neutral being, hope your proud of yourself. because to be honest you would make a god awful foreign minster!!

(but still probally a better one then we had before. )

I guess GAA is the big thing, people non stop saying to me "did you see the hurlin" or "what was the result in the tipperary game" and me lookin like an ejit.

People who find GAA entertaining are sub-human.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭FarmerGreen

1/16th.
    I do have a very sociable thirst for beer and a vicious sense of humour
    which I blame on that.
    And a ginger beard.

Con1988 wrote: »
    You are the just another Jedward!!! no cultral and falling into a typical neutral being, hope your proud of yourself. because to be honest you would make a god awful foreign minster!!

(but still probally a better one then we had before. )

The things I mentioned are mostly traditional. Not doing traditional things does not mean you have no culture, its entirely subjective. I was just highlighting the typical things people associate with irishness and how I have no interest in any of them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

dont know a word of the irish anthem,

I wouldn't have thought that's even possible, sure the last three words are the title
    Do you know the name of the national anthem?
    have a completely neutral accent,

despite living 15 miles from the border, and a few other bits.

Come off it

If you are from Donegal, Cavan or Monaghan you have a stronger accent then most.
    And if you are from Louth you have the worst accent of all :eek: If Steve Staunton is an example to go by

You'll note I left out Leitrim, nobody lives there anywhere

I'm from Louth, but don't have a Dundalk or Drogheda accent which everyone associates with Louth, and Steve Staunton (whos from Drogheda haiy).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Maybe the OP just has a flat accent that sounds more englishy than an irish accent or that the irish accent they have is quiet flat and hasn't an blás like some people have.

Flat is how i'd describe it, but not Steve Staunton flat or dragged out. So everyone else likes the stuff I listed then? I'm booking my flight to England now...

Just let out a roar at the end of the anthem and start clapping. Just like at mass...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

go to mass once a year
    dont know a word of the irish anthem
    Goin on the piss at the weekends is about as irish as i get

Sure, you're more Irish than ya think.

How did my reply to your post get ahead of yours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

More Irish than Tony Fenton but not as Irish as Michael Flatley.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

kfallon wrote: »
    I'm as Irish as Barney McKenna's bollix!

Thats quite an irish bollix alright

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

The things I mentioned are mostly traditional. Not doing traditional things does not mean you have no culture, its entirely subjective. I was just highlighting the typical things people associate with irishness and how I have no interest in any of them!

Well it seems to me that ridiculous drunkenness and fighting are "typical things people associate with irishness", so that means I'm even less "irish" than you, because I reckon that's pretty sad and pathetic.

Mind you, anyone who didn't think last Sunday's hurling match was entertaining was pretty sad; fair enough if they didn't see it, but Sheep's comment about people who view GAA as entertaining being "sub-human" is even more sad and pathetic; like all sporting codes, it has great, entertaining matches and it has some poor ones.

I'm not a GAA "fan" by any means, but I'd rather watch last Sunday's match than endure that ponce Ronaldo diving around, or even watch this year's pathetic World Cup Final, which was so unsporting, uncivilised and unentertaining that - had I paid to see it - I'd have demanded my money back.

Just let out a roar at the end of the anthem and start clapping. Just like at mass...

You roar and clap at mass :eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 537 ✭✭✭JonJoeDali

OPENROAD wrote: »
    You roar and clap at mass :eek::eek::eek:

A disturbing modern phenomenon. Encouraged by "spirit of Vatican II" type priests.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I heard a recording of an old sketch on RTE 1 on Saturday about a man showing his cousin around the West of Kerry. Everywhere they go, he introduces his cousin & his cousin speaks perfect Irish to everyone he meets & in a flawless Irish accent.

After meeting about 10 people, one of them asks him if he's from New York. The cousin says 'yes' & asks if his accent or his Irish gave him away. The fella responds, "No, but I can tell you're American coz you're black as the ace of spades".

(The term PC obviously didn't exist back then & there were no Africans in the country either... I spat out my coffee when I heard the punchline!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭sponsoredwalk

not a fan of ham, cabbage, spuds or frys,

What do you eat? :eek: :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭jdooley28

Do u oew thousands because of a bank you probably would never have heard of or had any dealings with, if u do you're Irish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Im Irish, and a republican.

And I HATE gaa with a passion.

Give me a chinese over spuds any day.

diddili I music? Give me Iron maiden.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Im As Irish as Irish can be to be sure to be sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭seraphimvc

i can drink more pints of Guinness than anyone i know!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Darlughda

I feel desperate guilty when I have sex. Was it just me? Feckin catholic Ireland. But ****, it was damn good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

Spuds, bacon and cabbage, beer, tea, going to the bog, speaking Irish, begrudgery and moaning, armchair republican, Irish music.

Hate the gaa, dont know many words in the national anthem and dont go to mass ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭sponsoredwalk

Darlughda wrote: »
    I feel desperate guilty when I have sex. Was it just me? Feckin catholic Ireland. But ****, it was damn good.

Your guilt turns me on, did you think the priests instilled guilt for some religious reason? ƒuck no it's hawt! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 575 ✭✭✭RockinRolla

Patriotism is idiocy with pride.

We all come from the same land, Pangaea, so being violent to one another because we happen to be born in different parts is ridiculously absurd. We don't own this land, we own nothing - we're just passing through and for, what is a millisecond (our lives) compared to the timescale of the Earth, we should appreciate what little time has been given to us while we are here before we close our eyes for the rest of eternity.

What have we got to be proud of....? Honestly? What is here that isn't or doesn't exist anywhere else on the globe?

I don't think the ideals of our people are much to go on either. How can we, the Irish, be proud of our representatives?

We all come from the same land, Pangaea, so being violent to one another because we happen to be born in different parts is ridiculously absurd. We don't own this land, we own nothing - we're just passing through and for, what is a millisecond (our lives) compared to the timescale of the Earth, we should appreciate what little time has been given to us while we are here before we close our eyes for the rest of eternity.

What have we got to be proud of....? Honestly? What is here that isn't or doesn't exist anywhere else on the globe?

I don't think the ideals of our people are much to go on either. How can we, the Irish, be proud of our representatives?

Joe Duffy.

OPENROAD wrote: »
    Joe Duffy.

Never heard of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

JonJoeDali wrote: »

You sound like a happy little conformist consumer tbqh.

Not liking the GAA, cabbage, ham, spuds, and trad music makes him a conformist?!

Einhard wrote: »
    Not liking the GAA, cabbage, ham, spuds, and trad music makes him a conformist?!

I haven't read the whole thread but if that comment you quoted was in the context I think it was, then this forum has officially reached a whole new level of stupidity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭siltirocker

We all come from the same land, Pangaea, so being violent to one another because we happen to be born in different parts is ridiculously absurd.
    We don't own this land, we own nothing - we're just passing through and for, what is a millisecond (our lives) compared to the timescale of the Earth, we should appreciate what little time has been given to us while we are here before we close our eyes for the rest of eternity.

Do you have preference for your own mother when it comes to love, admiration, etc or will any mother do 'cause either with creationism and evolution we all pretty come from the same one eventual ancestor anyway. :p

Patriotism is a love of one's home. What's idiotic about that? Gotta be from somewhere; if you happen to be proud of/love where you're from what's the problem?

George Bernard Shaw was raised in a time where patriotism would have killed many of his contemporaries. So you could understand his notions on it may have been biased.