Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Silliest Interview Questions

• 08-09-2010 7:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 788 ✭✭✭Sound Bite

A friend had an interview with a medical devices company yesterday and two of the questions asked were:

(1) What would you do if you wont the lotto?
    (2) Are you a dog or a cat person? :rolleyes:

What is the silliest/wierdest interview questions you've ever been asked?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Whats your favourite website?? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Would you do anything for this job?

Dirty baxtard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

Sound Bite wrote: »
    A friend had an interview with a medical devices company yesterday and two of the questions asked were:

(1) What would you do if you wont the lotto?
    (2) Are you a dog or a cat person? :rolleyes:

What is the silliest/wierdest interview questions you've ever been asked?

I s'pose you could kinda judge the kind of person they are by, at least, the first question.

Second one is fluff though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

I haven't had an interview in years, but I hate that "where do you see yourself in 5 years?" b.s. question. No one ever answers honestly.
    I'd love to just be like "hm, 5 years? I'd have to say in 5 years I'd like to be on a private island going to town on Miranda Kerr...."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

What good movies had I seen recently.

KeithM89 wrote: »
    Whats your favourite website?? :rolleyes:

Edit: bahaha it's censored! I said g**tse.cx :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Superbus wrote: »
    I s'pose you could kinda judge the kind of person they are by, at least, the first question.

Second one is fluff though.

Second one is brilliant, I know I would never want to work with a Cat person, cat's suck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭Revolution9

Are you a homosexual?

lol "are you now or have you ever been a pedophile?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

Tell us a joke.

Stumped me. Good question though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

OisinT wrote: »
    I haven't had an interview in years, but I hate that "where do you see yourself in 5 years?" b.s. question. No one ever answers honestly.
    I'd love to just be like "hm, 5 years? I'd have to say in 5 years I'd like to be on a private island going to town on Miranda Kerr...."

What's a good answer to that Q btw?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭sxt

I got asked this one two combination before..."How would your friends describe you?" which is fine ...followed by "How would your enemies desribe you? WTF!...I answered this question the same as the first just to see the look on her repugnant face

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

Got asked was I on medication at an bank interview in the Burlington hotel once. The receptionist said they were all Garda so maybe it was a sting?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Tell us a joke.

Stumped me. Good question though.

It's a great question.

Interview tip: not everyone sees the funny side of necrophilia.

Mark200 wrote: »
    Why, 5 years from now I intend to be mindlessly doing monotonous tasks for little to no wages at this very company sir/madam!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

"We expect you to be able to be calm with customers and solve tough calls by yourself. What would happen if they were shouting?"
    "Calmly explain that I am here to help."
    "But what if it didnt work?"
    "Remain calm and ask again how I can help as I can solve their problem."
    "But what if it didn't work still?"
    "Ask the customer again to stay calm and explain the problem?"
    "But what if it STILL didnt work?"
    "I'm pretty sure it would."
    "But what if?"
    "It would work."
    "But what if!?"
    "Jesus I don't know hand it to a supervisor?"
    "Exactly! Took your time there..."
    :mad:
    "We expect you to be able to be calm with customers and solve tough calls by yourself. What would happen if they were shouting?"
    "Jesus I don't know hand it to a supervisor?"
    "Exactly! Took your time there..."
    FUUUUUUUUUU

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

How big is your shaft?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Bodhidharma

I was asked what I would like to be if I could be anything in the world

I said Professional Footballer

Stupid HR wan got all confused and said 'I mean in this industry'

They ask questions to see how good your lies are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Cullen82

Mark200 wrote: »

The best way to do this is to FLIP it on the interviewer, like so:

Interviewer: Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

You: No no, The question is where do YOU see YOURSELF in 5 years?

Then copy their answer;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Have you ever or ever been tempted to engage in an act of bestiality?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭winter soldier

i was once asked at an interview did i possess common sense and from marks out of ten how would i rate my common sense .

Have you ever engaged in an act of bestiality?

And have you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

OisinT wrote: »

I was giving serious consideration to just saying piledrving kelly brooke into the bed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Cullen82 wrote: »
    And have you?

no, have you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

What are your weaknesses?

Does anyone ever answer that question truthfully like? Actually all interview questions are stupid when you think about it.. they should have stanardised exams instead!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Does my bum look in big this skirt?

The answer is always no.

I have an italian surname and several times I was asked if I own a chipper? I mean grown people have actually thought this was an appropriate question to ask.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

When I moved from Ireland to the US, I quickly went through a bunch of interviews to get the feel of things. 90% of the interviews was me being questioned on things in Ireland. :)
    I too have had the friends/enemies question thrown at me, mentioned previously!

Have you ever or ever been tempted to engage in an act of bestiality?

Only with yer ma!

ZING

no, have you?

Had to google what it meant:o

Do ugly birds or bet down dogs count?

Does anyone ever answer that question truthfully like? Actually all interview questions are stupid when you think about it.. they should have stanardised exams instead!
    I'd just say "lifting heavy objects"

I always ask interviewers "do you enjoy working here?"
    They have to say yes of course, but how they say it gives away a lot. Plus the look of surprise :D

thankfully I haven't been asked stupid questions in interviews yet...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭Wade in the Sea

Did an interview for the navy once:

Officer: Can you swim?
    Me: Why, haven't you got a ship for me.....:D
    Officer: :mad:
    Me: :)
    Me: :o
    Me: :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Antigone05

was having a interview with Woodies DIY when i was 16 or so, part time job. 1998

Half way through the interview i was asked a very odd question.

' Have you ever predicted what another co-worker was thinking'

...after a few minutes of silence on my end he just said 'you can say no never'

so i said , 'no'.

I never got the job

Apparently they only hire the likes of Mystic Meg and Derren Brown

Ha too true, Well considering the honest answer would be.. ehhhh I'm always late, Hardly ever in, I take a while to cop on, I can't even spell Multitask and I normally go to the pub for Lunch.....sometimes I don't come back;)

The job's yours:pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 788 ✭✭✭Sound Bite

Cullen82 wrote: »
    Ha too true, Well considering the honest answer would be.. ehhhh I'm always late, Hardly ever in, I take a while to cop on, I can't even spell Multitask and I normally go to the pub for Lunch.....sometimes I don't come back;)

The job's yours:pac::pac::pac::pac:

Ha HA. Saw your other thread earlier....looks like your new employers got themselves a great deal! :D Congrats btw.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Copper23

I got asked a riddle once about dropping an egg from a ladder...

Something about the smallest number of eggs possible to break to find the heighest rung of a ladder you can drop the egg without breaking.

Some apptitude rubbish... The more I reasoned the more they disagreed to the point I was convinced I was right and had to give up...

At that point they guy told me thats grand, he was just testing how far he could push me before cracking, they wanted to work with someone who was a bit of craic :D:confused:

Sound Bite wrote: »
    Ha HA. Saw your other thread earlier....looks like your new employers got themselves a great deal! :D Congrats btw.

Mental note to self: Don't publicise your many, many flaws!

Haha Thanks Sound Bite - it's far from done though - Between myself and 3 others for the "Dream Job" so the rest of today has felt :eek::confused::eek::confused::rolleyes::eek::confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Did an interview for the navy once:

Officer: Can you swim?

The officer was probably thrown by your name. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 mary01

Do you have a car? Yes
    What's it's name?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭DerekDGoldfish

I hate interviews, I once ****ed one up because I spent the whole time wondering if the interviewer was pregnant or fat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

"If you could change just one thing about yourself, what would it be?"

"My gender."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Truley

Interviewer: 'Do you have any secrets?'
    Me: Eh?
    Interviewer: Tell us something about yourself that nobody else knows...

Very strange question, had me stumped. It was a pretty fancy job too in a well known third level institution.

I also did on of those group interviews where we spend the day in a conference room doing all sorts of silly tasks (there's a name for it can't remember for the life of me.) Some of the games included treasure hunts around the town, going up to random strangers and asking silly questions, word puzzles etc

I hate interviews, I once ****ed one up because I spent the whole time wondering if the interviewer was pregnant or fat.
    That's one of my favourite games! Pregnant or fat?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

Any question a HR person has ever asked in an interview. Complete rubbish like:

'How would you define yourself as an emplyee?'

Well, it's an interview, obviously I'm gonna 'define' myself as a f*cking brilliant employee. Idiots.

I'm usually tempted to just walk straight out if a HR person is present.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Second one is brilliant, I know I would never want to work with a Cat person, cat's suck!

Even a lv30 Wizrdcat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

Give us an example of when you did something wrong in your previous job and how did you deal with the consequences?

Tricky question, it can't be something too wrong or it makes you look bad. You need to be a good bullsh1ter to get through that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

Sea Sharp wrote: »
    Give us an example of when you did something wrong in your previous job and how did you deal with the consequences?

Tricky question, it can't be something too wrong or it makes you look bad. You need to be a good bullsh1ter to get through that.

rule number one ALWAYS turn your negative into a positive

e.g "the time i got something wrong was when i was given a task to do but only half got it finished,however the area which i was working wasn't fit for work and was unsafe therefore i had to warn all employees about the hazard and inform the manager to keep up our health and safety reputation" KACHINGGG!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭Wade in the Sea

Would you say you have any flaws?

Well I would have to say no, not unless you think there's anything wrong with necrophillia eh eh eh ? ;)

ahem.......yes, my Time Management, could eh, do with a bit of work.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Well, I didn't like this admitting this, but I'm a bit of a workaholic. And I'm competitive. Perfectionist too...