Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I locked my computer..

• 07-09-2010 6:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

but someone still stole it.

I was in the cafe looking at stuff on my laptop. I had to go to the jacks, so I pressed ctrl-alt-delete and locked it. When I came back it was gone. wtf?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

pwd wrote: »

I was in the cafe looking at stuff on my laptop. I locked it, and went to the jacks. When I came back it was gone. wtf?

you actually left your laptop on the table while you went toilet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Do you want the Boobie prize delivered in person?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

wtf indeed pwd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Yeah, thanks for that, mine was getting a bit out of date at this stage.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Change all passwords as soon as possible.

Change Bank passwords, etc. inform bank.

You name and addresses (amid other personal details) will probably be on it somewhere and they might be able to chance their arm and get more info.

On any site you have signed up to (Amazon/Ebay/etc) - change passwords.
    (if necessary, change where your email (to you) address from such sites)

Do it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Do they have security cameras?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭47

I was in the cafe looking at stuff on my laptop. I locked it, and went to the jacks. When I came back it was gone. wtf?

serves you

I bet you wont leave your next laptop unattended

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Did you hand-cuff it to a flea?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Did you think it was a car or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭johndoe99

does the cafe have cctv

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,017 Mod ✭✭✭✭yoyo

Did you use a laptop kensington lock? Or just the windows lock? Windows lock is bypassable in about 30 seconds most of the time

Nick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

AHA The usual AH compassion is alive and well. :D

BTW Silly OP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

Was the table you locked it to still there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭karlog

Please elaborate. You locked the desktop with a password or actually locked the laptop to the table with a chain per say.

yoyo wrote: »
    Did you use a laptop kensington lock? Or just the windows lock? Windows lock is bypassable in about 30 seconds most of the time

Nick

And it wouldn't exactly be the best deterrent for someone stealing it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

I pressed ctrl-alt-delete, and pressed the "lock computer" button.

This has to be a piss take

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,017 Mod ✭✭✭✭yoyo

And it wouldn't exactly be the best deterrent for someone stealing it!

Exactly, both options foolish to use :) No one should ever leave a laptop, phone, mp3 player or anything unattended while they go to the jacks, I've heard of many cases in the college library peoples laptops are stolen as they think its safe to just leave them on a table while they go looking for books :eek::eek:

Nick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,964 ✭✭✭ToniTuddle

Follow Biggins advise!!! As soon as possible.

Did pwd go afk and someone else decide to have a laugh with this thread on his laptop? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

Were you locked?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

ToniTuddle wrote: »
    Follow Biggins advise!!! As soon as possible.
    I don't see how supporting the Japanese forum is going to help the OP.

El Weirdo wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

bluewolf wrote: »
    Did pwd go afk and someone else decide to have a laugh with this thread on his laptop? :D

I think you have it spot on there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

It shouldn't be too hard to find: there's not too many laptops out there with Tip-Ex all over the screen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

47 wrote: »
    serves you

I bet you wont leave your next laptop unattended

Everyone makes mistakes.

Might as well have had it unlocked as "locking" it. Anyone could access your files with a little computer knowledge.

Tippex. Yes that's what it is....Tippex. :o

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

/facepalm.

Conor108 wrote: »
    After the horse has bolted and all that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

now thats just plain stupid leaving your laptop on a table while your in the toilet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭Jambo221

I call bull, how could he start this thread if his laptop was stolen??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

I pressed ctrl-alt-delete and locked it.
    Did ye think doin that would create a magic forcefield around it or somethin to stop it gettin nicked? :o

Jambo221 wrote: »
    I call bull, how could he start this thread if his laptop was stolen??
    Of course! The OP had the only laptop in the world!

Wait...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

yoyo wrote: »
    Exactly, both options foolish to use :) No one should ever leave a laptop, phone, mp3 player or anything unattended while they go to the jacks, I've heard of many cases in the college library peoples laptops are stolen as they think its safe to just leave them on a table while they go looking for books :eek::eek:

Nick

People in Dublin have no morals, this **** doesn't happen down the country!

Maybe we can organise a few sword wielding samurai to go after them. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

TheZohan wrote: »
    Everyone makes mistakes.

Might as well have had it unlocked as "locking" it. Anyone could access your files with a little computer knowledge.

Someone knicking a laptop probably isn't even bothered if they can get into the files or not tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭Jambo221

Of course! The OP had the only laptop in the world!

Wait...
    And he was careless enough to get it stolen, how inconsiderate :mad:

This has to be a piss take
    Well I thought this was a funny joke, but it seems to have been too subtle for the geniuses here. I was going to make fun of you for pointing out the obvious, but apparently you know your audience better than I do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

Just press ctrl + z, that should fix it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

OP - fail and facepalm all at once! Cancel everything. Why in gods name did you not bring your laptop with you to the jacks? Its a crime against all IT security to leave it unattended in a public place its like putting your wallet on a table and looking around you and it could be swipped right under your nose! Its like giving a child sweets without realising it! Have you asked the place where you are if they have put it away for you? Maybe someone nicked it into thinking it was their laptop? Have you contacted the gardai who might be able to trace it if you have all its details i.e. model, number at the back to Identify it etc.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

People in Dublin have no morals, this **** doesn't happen down the country!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

I can imagine the thief looked at the laptop and though only an admin or pwd can unlock this computer and had second thoughts on robbing it. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Well I thought this was a funny joke,
    Wrong. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,964 ✭✭✭ToniTuddle

Because a ninja could have stolen it.....

>.>

<.<

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭smokedeels

Did you think crtl+alt+del engaged a magnetic or suction based locking method that would affix the laptop to the table or perhaps activate the computers ink-spray defensive measure?

Kasabian wrote: »
    I can imagine the thief looked at the laptop and though only an admin or pwd can unlock this computer and had second thoughts on robbing it. :rolleyes:
    Ok so apparently some of you don't understand English, as well as not grasping subtlety.
    For your benefit I have translated things into lolcat. I have even mixed in another meme to aid engagement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

I'll bet the OP was someone posting on the users laptop while they were in the toilet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭clairek6

idiot.

clairek6 wrote: »
    idiot.
    Post reported <snip>