Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When did the middle class become such arrogant, self righteous pricks?

• 07-09-2010 3:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭

SO reading a few of these "joke" threads, I thought I'd post this. Have you lot always been this intolerant and condescending? Or maybe it's just since the mid 90s when your daddies made a killing from the economic upturn? Any thoughts on the rampant class-based bigotry in this country?

It seems to me that the middle class are meant to be leaders for the ones working under them. So what happened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

"you lot"
    Brilliant.

So are you a lower-class arrogant, self righteous prick or an upper-class arrogant, self righteous prick?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Banned Account

Oh la-di-feckin'-da - look at the poster assigning classes to everyone.

Intolerance fail.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭knird evol

1st July 1995

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

And there was me thinking that in a republic all citizens were equal and there was no class system :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

I for one, welcome our new middle class overlords.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Get the fúck out of this whole class bollocks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Ian Beale

Who is your daddy and what does he do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

demonspawn wrote: »
    Any thoughts on the rampant class-based bigotry in this country?

I think it's terrible. I'm not sure that you're the best spokesperson for the cause, though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

inverse snobbery :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭The Agogo

I'm from the drinking class. How are you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Poor haters gonna hate :cool:
    Wazdakka wrote: »
    I for one, welcome our new middle class overlords.

Good. Now get back to work you filthy prole :mad:

Those garments aren't going to make themselves.

/ luckytohaveajob.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I don't believe in classes, sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=67875721#post67875721

Is it your lack of a penis has that got you so wound up? A self righteous prick is better than no prick at all...... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Ha, how i laugh at the squalor of hairdressers and apprentice electricians! I'm just glad Daddy made a killing in the naughties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭demonspawn

I think it's terrible. I'm not sure that you're the best spokesperson for the cause, though.

Fair enough, I'm just calling it as I see it though. There is a clearly defined class structure in this country and the middle class seems to have forgotten it's role as leaders. The attitude that some of them take towards the people under them is nothing short of disgraceful.

I'm not saying the entirety of the middle class is guilty, but there are quite obviously some that do act this way.

And as for my use of "you lot", I'm referring specifically to whatever group of board members that think it's acceptable or humorous to sit at your computers and bash "skangers", "knackers", "scumbags" and whoever else you think you're better than. Give it a fu*king rest already, it's almost 2011 for fu*k's sake. A joke is a joke, but this isn't funny in the slightest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭clived2

Ian Beale wrote: »
    Who is your daddy and what does he do?

hes a demon obv,

he does bad things, esp with his demon sperm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

I don't know what class I'm in but I feel superior to everyone!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

i'm as working class as a battered sausage but i guess i'd be what some commentators would call the 'new middle' class...and they're quite right. nothing wrong with the fact that we as population with a higher level of education, less unskilled jobs, nicer gaffs (if your not up to yer tits in dept) and own 2 real cars instead of one datsun...

i didn't make up this s'hite, i just propogate it :cool:

ps: stop whinging

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

So anyway, this total knacker called Anto walks into a bar to meet his mates Snackbox, Solidifier and Curry Tits......

Fair enough, I'm just calling it as I see it though. There is a clearly defined class structure in this country and the middle class seems to have forgotten it's role as leaders. The attitude that some of them take towards the people under them is nothing short of disgraceful.

I'm not saying the entirety of the middle class is guilty, but there are quite obviously some that do act this way.

And as for my use of "you lot", I'm referring specifically to whatever group of board members that think it's acceptable or humorous to sit at your computers and bash "skangers", "knackers", "scumbags" and whoever else you think you're better than. Give it a fu*king rest already, it's almost 2011 for fu*k's sake. A joke is a joke, but this isn't funny in the slightest.

So tell us oh wise one - who would you describe as the middle class and why?

Einhard wrote: »
    I don't know what class I'm in but I feel superious to everyone!!

For serial?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭King Felix

There is a clearly defined class structure in this country and the middle class seems to have forgotten it's role as leaders.

I thought it was the Upper classes who were the leaders. I'm confused.

Anyway, I'm upper working class, so your rant doesn't apply to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Are there any middle class culchies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,217 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Im with Einhard.

can i point out that saying someone is a knacker/skanger/whatever does not automatically mean the middle classes are bashing the working classes. i know plenty of middle class scum. new money :rolleyes: what can ya do

The Agogo wrote: »
    For serial?

Pipe down you!

You're ruining my superiority complex!!

So tell us oh wise one - who would you describe as the middle class and why?

Managers, teachers, politicians, journalists, media personalities, public service employees etc. Basically those that don't actually have to get their hands dirty and make 30k+ a year. The people that still have jobs in this country. People who can afford to buy a house in the suburbs.

listermint wrote: »
    Im with Einhard.

How's that working out for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

SO reading a few of these "joke" threads, I thought I'd post this. Have you lot always been this intolerant and condescending? Or maybe it's just since the mid 90s when your daddies made a killing from the economic upturn? Any thoughts on the rampant class-based bigotry in this country?

Uh huh, hmm, my 'Daddy' is weaving baskets in Grange Gorman. Well, I say weaving baskets, I really mean my Daddy is a basket. But, ehm, we can't find all that cash he made during the upturn.

Rampant class based bigotry eh.....I didn't notice that myself but I stay out of the Southside meself. Can't speaka-da-lingo they've got over there. To me 'the Hills' is just some doldrums and small mountains.
    It seems to me that the middle class are meant to be leaders for the ones working under them. So what happened?

The middle class are meant to be leaders? Thats news to me, I just thought they were designed to block up two lane situations with their land going vehicles and give us a laugh calling their kids quasi-aristocratic names like Horatio and Cosmo, whoowhee you learn something new every day.

Working under them.....working under them....like in their basements and stuff?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭ShadowGal

so what words should people use instead ? "remember the dear fellow who knocked you to the ground and stole your handbag" ?

i know what my definition of a scumbag is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Anyone know what points differentiate classes? I'd like to know how you jump up or fall down a class. You know, like Sonic the Hedgehog getting an extra life at 100 rings, or losing all his rings when he is injured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Pfft I hate all races/classes/ethnicity equally. :D

Managers, teachers, politicians, journalists, media personalities, public service employees etc. Basically those that don't actually have to get their hands dirty and make 30k+ a year. The people that still have jobs in this country.

Do you really mean "The Educated Class"?

There is a clearly defined class structure in this country and the middle class seems to have forgotten it's role as leaders.

So you go around the place assigning people into class groups, and then assign leadership positions to one of those groups, and we're condescending ones?! Oh lawks a lumsy, the irony. I'm off out now to exercise my innate leadership qualities and have a working class scobe do my bidding!

Working under them.....working under them....like in their basements and stuff?

i've had a few working class burds workin under me on occasion

Einhard wrote: »
    I don't know what class I'm in but I feel superiour to everyone!!

3rd time lucky Einhard ;)
    Managers, teachers, politicians, journalists, media personalities, public service employees etc. Basically those that don't actually have to get their hands dirty and make 30k+ a year. The people that still have jobs in this country. People who can afford to buy a house in the suburbs.

Oh dear, looks like the whole class thing went right over that head of yours eh?

Nevermind, there are loads of other ill informed stances to take on the internet - you'll not get bored for many a year.

How's that working out for you?

tis hot, very hot. :cool:

Do you really mean "The Educated Class"?

Essentially yes. It seems that for all that third level education, some of them are still as thick as sh*t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Hahaha so you're a JC flunky? I remember people like that at school they all fecked off after the JC to take up apprenticeships and the like then pop goes the bubble and now they all cry that they have no work and are on the dole.

Well I laughed a little when I saw the first few complaining and I laugh now again, louder. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭TobyZiegler

A scumbag isn't a class of person - it's a person (from any class) who acts in a scummy way. None of these threads say 'What funny working class person story do you have?'

Sanjuro wrote: »
    Anyone know what points differentiate classes? I'd like to know how you jump up or fall down a class. You know, like Sonic the Hedgehog getting an extra life at 100 rings, or losing all his rings when he is injured.

Rich pricks - upper class
    Bosses and educators - middle class
    laborers etc. - working class

Didn't they teach you this sh*t in uni?

A scumbag isn't a class of person - it's a person (from any class) who acts in a scummy way. None of these threads say 'What funny working class person story do you have?'

Seems to me that in this country a scumbag is someone from a certain area or someone who has a particular accent. Tell me I'm wrong.

Class is not denoted by jobs alone - did they not teach you that shít in the uni playschool you went to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

I wanna post that Monty Python class sketch but I can't find it. Too working class I am, maybe one of my middle class leaders might help me.

And for Gods sake throw me down a torch and a sandwich, it's dark as fook in this basement! :cool:

3rd time lucky Einhard ;)

Pffft, I'm so superior that I have my system of spelling. What's more, you'll all be spelling it that way tomorrow!! mwhahahahahahahahahahaahahahahahahaahahahahahahaahahaahcoughhahahahahwheezehahaha

Ugh your so narrow. you belong in the caste system..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭knird evol

What is the most likely way that it would come about that Anto, whacker and solidifier will take stock of their own puerile existence and be inspired to embark on a journey of personal and spiritual evolution?

Will it be from your molly coddling and positive reinforcement?

Or will be from their ears ringing with the cruel mirth of their demoniac betters on boards raining righteous judgement down on their gaping inferiority.

I think you know the answer

I like that username.

Go you!

Class is not denoted by jobs alone - did they not teach you that shít in the uni playschool you went to.

What else defines class then? How does someone from the working class get into the middle class? Promotions.

Why bother posting that if you can't even offer your own opinion? Or do you even have one? Why are you posting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭clived2

So when a labourer wins the lotto, he becomes upper class

Thanks for clearing it up