Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fresher's Meet Up + Beers***Monday 27th Sep, 8pm @ SU***

• 07-09-2010 1:16pm
    Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,840 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Right, who's up for beer? All the other colleges on boards seem to be organising fresher's week meet ups so we might as well and that way no one on here can worry about not meeting anyone. :)

Hitting the SU whenever the €3 drinks are (if they still are) is probably the best idea and if we meet up kinda early in the evening it will allow people to come and go incase they want to meet up with friends later in the night.

What date do you'se reckon?

What night for drinking? 52 votes

Wed 15th Sep
    0% 0 votes
    Thurs 16th Sep
    9% 5 votes
    Wed 22nd Sep
    9% 5 votes
    Thurs 23rd Sep
    17% 9 votes
    Monday 27th Sep
    19% 10 votes
    Not this week because I am not a 1st year/not back in Maynooth
    44% 23 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,261 ✭✭✭kenon

Yeah I'd have a pint or two depending on the day.

5/6 a side football

Coolmine Sports Centre - Wednesdays - 8pm

PM me for a game

Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

I like beer? I basically live exactly 15 feet from the SU bar, so timing isn't a problem for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭squishykins

*shy voice* Can I come? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 122 ✭✭Bhoy_

Sounds lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭J.D.R

irish_goat wrote: »
    Right, who's up for beer? All the other colleges on boards seem to be organising fresher's week meet ups so we might as well and that way no one on here can worry about not meeting anyone. :)

Hitting the SU whenever the €3 drinks are (if they still are) is probably the best idea and if we meet up kinda early in the evening it will allow people to come and go incase they want to meet up with friends later in the night.

What date do you'se reckon?

Just one question, you aren't Chris Hansen from Dateline NBC are you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭seriousfizz

Replace beer with whiskey and/or rum, and I'll see yis there. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭Rafcam

Yeah, I'd be interested. Would you have it the Orientation week or the first actual week? Because for Orientation week not everyone will be there every day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

I might tag along. Maybe

Orientation week = not everybody is here
    Freshers week = everyone top busy at night, I would imagine
    First week back = people want to get to know their classmates.

I'd say orientation week tbh.

If that's the case, don't do it before Wednesday! :P

amyputz wrote: »
    If that's the case, don't do it before Wednesday! :P

I second that :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 489 ✭✭JellyBeans92

Well what if you had 2 nights, like one tuesday and one wednesday?

That way you'd be covering most newbies into the equation?

I'll be around the whole week anyhu, I'm not starting till wednesday. but the twin is on the monday! :D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,840 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

Well what if you had 2 nights, like one tuesday and one wednesday?

That way you'd be covering most newbies into the equation?

I'll be around the whole week anyhu, I'm not starting till wednesday. but the twin is on the monday! :D

Tuesdays are rubbish, no one goes out cause they're always recovering from Monday night.

I'm not down in Maynooth til the end of next week/start of the week so Fresher's week or the week after that would suit me best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭chillian17

I could easily be wrong now, but I thiiink I heard that either every Monday or every Thursday there's the €3 drink thing. I don't mind which day it's done though, sounds like a great idea and I'll definitely be there :-D

chillian17 wrote: »
    I could easily be wrong now, but I thiiink I heard that either every Monday or every Thursday there's the €3 drink thing. I don't mind which day it's done though, sounds like a great idea and I'll definitely be there :-D

I think I read somewhere that it's Mondays but I could be wrong.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

Rafcam wrote: »

Twas Mondays last year! hopefully will e the same this year!

Cool cool. Will that still be on during orientation week?

I have no idea, tbh. Sorry.

So is this still going ahead or..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

LeixlipRed wrote: »
    I might tag along. Maybe

Bring your laptop, skype me, then I can be there too :D

amyputz wrote: »
    So is this still going ahead or..?

I reckon Thurs or Fri is the best day, so either we decide to plan it for one of those days now, or wait till the mid-week when hopefully someone will know what night the €3 drinks are.

Who's with me? :P

I reckon Thurs or Fri is the best day, so either we decide to plan it for one of those days now, or wait till the mid-week when hopefully someone will know what night the €3 drinks are.

Who's with me? :P

This thurs or fri won't work for me. I've had enough trouble with those days!

Surely €3 drinks are still mondays?!

This thurs or fri won't work for me. I've had enough trouble with those days!

Surely €3 drinks are still mondays?!

So that'd mean we're going tomorrow?
    Anybody (banquo maybe? leopoldsomething?) from the SU or something able to tell us when the €3 drinks night will be this year? Or if that will be the case for this week ?
    Either way I'd be happy going out any night! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,836 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

I think thursday sounds like a plan ;)

Pudsy33 wrote: »
    I think thursday sounds like a plan ;)

I dunno about anyone else, but Thursday's good for me! :)

I added a poll folks.

Didn't include Monday 20th as it's the first day back so I figure everyone will want to head out with their friends/housemates.

This week is no good for me cause I'm not back in Maynooth until the weekend, not sure what the story with other 2nd/3rd/4th and beyond years on here is.

If the SU reps could tell us the story about €3 drinks/offers in the SU that'd be sweeeet. :D

Oh well what a bloody idiot I am! I screwed up my vote! I saw Thursday and just clicked it only to find I chose the wrong date!
    Hahaha fail! :P

I'll find out for sure about the drinks tomo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 MaynoothSU

So that'd mean we're going tomorrow?
    Anybody (banquo maybe? leopoldsomething?) from the SU or something able to tell us when the €3 drinks night will be this year? Or if that will be the case for this week ?
    Either way I'd be happy going out any night! :)

e3 drinks on mondays comes into effect this coming Monday :)

Good stuff.

How's about we just say Monday 27th?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭MoyVilla9

Well I know not a sinner in first year so I'll have to get to know ye someway!
    I'm in

I'm in.

Yyyyyyyesh :)

I should be there, for a while at the very least :)

After party in Banquo's office!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 MaynoothSU

irish_goat wrote: »
    After party in Banquo's office!

Anyone caught doing this with The Print will be sold into slavery.

MaynoothSU wrote: »

Anyone caught doing this with The Print will be sold into slavery.

I am loving how all the related videos are ipad videos. It's as if they were hand picked by someone...

Count me in for Monday. I just need someone to remind me about it! :P

Just to clarify, Monday the 27th yeah?

Ooh good question! I didn't even notice the date (again) and assumed it was this Monday. Must pay more attention to dates!

Haha, everyone was just saying Monday and I wasn't sure. So it is the 27th we're going for yeah ? :P

How about we just go out both Mondays? Saves all the hassle! :P

Way better idea! :D I like the way you think ;)

Ahahaha I like the way you like the way I think.... I don't even know if that makes sense! I think it does but the more I read it, the less sense it makes :P
    So both Mondays, yes yes? :)

Ahahaha I like the way you like the way I think.... I don't even know if that makes sense! I think it does but the more I read it, the less sense it makes :P
    So both Mondays, yes yes? :)
    I know what you mean :P 20th and 27th? Well the 20th is the start of Freshers week so I'm sure everybody is already planning on getting pissed :D

Pissed? :O I thought this was just a nice friendly get-together?! :P Haha just kidding, yeah I'd say everyone will be out so it's the perfect night to do it! :)

Two quiet non-alcoholic beers (with two glasses of water in between) is what I meant, of course :D And the 3 euro drinks make it even more perfect :p

Ahahahaha yes! Now we're on the same page :P And yeah it does sound perfect! We can maybe even afford 3 non-alcoholic beers, if we're lucky ;)

I think my mammy will spring for the tenner for me, just for the occassion that it is :p

Actually I'd say the SU bar doesn't even do non-alcoholic drinks :D I certainly hope not anyway :D Haha

I assumed everyone would be going out both Mondays anywho :P Though I think non-alcoholic beer is a bit risky now lads, you'd wanna be careful...^^',