Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

magners irish team of the week

• 06-09-2010 8:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭outwest

1 wilkonson
    2 croinin
    3 hagen
    4 mick
    5 hines
    6 leamy
    7 ronan, ofisa, changed my mind
    8 wannerburg, meant to have a good game. only
    9 stringer
    10 keatly
    11 howlett
    12 niva
    13 cave again didnt see him play
    14 carr.
    15 jones

any thaughts who might be there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭Redsock

Two ulster players? They beat the ospreys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭outwest

i didnt see the game, but i read that them two had good games. il wait for some ulster lads to post there team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭Redsock

Alright this is my TOW:

1 wilkinson
    2 fogarty
    3 fitzpatrick
    4 muller
    5 hines
    6 stevie ferris
    7 ronan
    8 pedrie
    9 marshall
    10 keatley
    12 paddy Wallace ( replaced whitten and was excellent).
    13 cave
    11 carr
    14 howlett
    15 jones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Wilkinson
    Cronin
    Buckley (takes cover :p)
    Muller
    MOD
    Ferris
    Ofisa
    Wannenburg
    Marshall
    Keatley
    Carr
    Wallace (I thought Tuitupou did well for Munster)
    Ta'auso
    Howlett
    Jones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

I didn't see all the games so I can't pick a team. Buckley had a super game though. He helped Munster win the scrum battle against a good Italian scrum and scored a try too.

Keatley could improve under Elwood this season. If he can be more consistant he won't be far from an Ireland place.

WOuld it be best to list just Irish qualified players?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭Mr.Applepie

outwest wrote: »
    8 wannerburg, meant to have a good game. only

He must have had a great game to get in there ahead of Heaslip. He dragged Leinster around the park for 60 mins before being taken off.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

here are two possible tries of the week

treviso v scarlets
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WbBQKFR0Rsk&feature=player_embedded

munster v aironi (skip to 30 seconds in)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JEz34T_tvBs

He must have had a great game to get in there ahead of Heaslip. He dragged Leinster around the park for 60 mins before being taken off.

i didnt think jamie was that good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭siltirocker

CatFromHue wrote: »
    here are two possible tries of the week

treviso v scarlets
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WbBQKFR0Rsk&feature=player_embedded

munster v aironi (skip to 30 seconds in)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JEz34T_tvBs

Keatley's at Connacht vs Dragons is in there too. Great try.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

Realise we're talking about the ML here but an honourable mention must go to Exeter's Gareth Steenson who by all accounts had an absolute stormer in the 10 berth for the chiefs against Gloucs last weekend...He was instrumental in their promotion last year and continues to improve, good to see another irish 10 making good. The Guardian made him their player of the weekend.

week 2 team of week

leinster front row
    hines swift
    ofisa diack sean o b
    boss keatley
    wallace bod
    carr luke isa

Week 2

Healy
    ?
    Ross
    Ryan
    Hines
    Quinlan
    Jennings
    Diack
    Boss
    Madigan (Didn't see Connacht game but I'd say Keatley played well too)
    Nacewa
    Tuitupou
    ?
    Carr
    Fitzgerald

wilkonson
    croinin
    hagen
    muller
    doc
    quinlan
    ofisa
    diack
    tol
    keatley
    carr
    tuitupou
    cave
    trimble
    duffy

this is what i think was team of the week for week 3

Week 3

Du Preez
    Cronin
    Buckley
    DOC
    Muller
    Ferris
    Quinlan
    Diack
    Marshall
    Keatley
    Howlett
    Tuitupou
    Cave
    Carr
    Jones

week 4,

______ id go for wilkonson.
    croinin. great game, nearly gave conancht a chance to win it.
    buckley.
    swift
    doc
    wallace
    ofisa
    mccormish
    tol
    rog
    carr
    mattews
    mafi
    murphy
    duffy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Diom

week 4,

______ id go for wilkonson.
    croinin. great game, nearly gave conancht a chance to win it.
    buckley.
    swift
    doc
    wallace
    ofisa
    mccormish
    tol
    rog
    carr
    mattews
    mafi
    murphy
    duffy.
    No Ulster lads?

was honig to put caldwell and wannerburg, paddy had an great game at 10 but rog was meant to be fantactic leinster back offered very little in attack,

Wilkinson
    Cronin
    Hagan
    Caldwell
    ?
    Leamy
    Ofisa
    Heaslip
    Boss
    Keatley
    Carr
    Matthews
    Cave
    Murphy
    Duffy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭jolley123

1. Van der Merwe
    2. Cronin
    3. Hagan
    4. Swift
    5. O'Driscoll
    6. Ferris
    7. O'Brien
    8. Wannenburg
    9. Marshall
    10. O'Conner
    11. Carr
    12. Mathews
    13. Cave
    14. Trimble
    15. Jones

Not really team of the week, more so the players i've been impressed with so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭siltirocker

jolley123 wrote: »
    1. Van der Merwe
    2. Cronin
    3. Hagan
    4. Swift
    5. O'Driscoll
    6. Ferris
    7. O'Brien
    8. Wannenburg
    9. Marshall
    10. O'Conner
    11. Carr
    12. Mathews
    13. Cave
    14. Trimble
    15. Jones

Not really team of the week, more so the players i've been impressed with so far.

How can you put O'Connor above Keatley at the moment? I don't see that at all and can't understand that conclusion! Argree with the rest maybe Ofisa for O'Brien and liking Buckley at the moment (but only marginally ahead of Hagan). Good selection.

de preez
    flavin
    hayes. he had a good game, :P
    caldwell
    hines
    sean o b
    ofisa
    heaslip
    ruan peirnear
    rog
    fitz
    tuitupo
    bod
    johny murphy
    duffy, very solid game in difficult conditions, could well surprise people this year

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,167 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

van de mere

The Leinster scrum got worse when he came on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

Podge_irl wrote: »

Agree. I'd nearly shove Sexton in there just for the impact he had when he came on tbh.

sorry i meant de prrez, keep getting them saffa's mixed up

Risteard wrote: »
    Agree. I'd nearly shove Sexton in there just for the impact he had when he came on tbh.

Would almost be tempted myself. Showed more in 20 mins than ROG did in 80 anyway.

Seems harsh to leave out Leamy - he was Munster's best player by a distance. Could put him at 6 - didn't see Ofisa play though so can't really comment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

DOC was the standout second row of the weekend for me by a distance

Caldwell is having a stormer this season but he wasn't in the Ulster 22 do you mean Touhy?

yes, not been a good week for faces with me,

sexton played 8 mins not 20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭B0X

Sexton played 24 minutes.

Du Preez
    Strauss
    Hagan
    Toner
    Caldwell
    Leamy (stick him at 6)
    JOC (made an unreal impact in the 2nd half)
    Heaslip
    Pienaar
    Sexton (yes I know he was a sub)
    Carr
    Tuitupou
    BOD
    Nacewa
    Kearney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,455 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

Of the Irish out-halves (as in those from Ireland), Sexton had by far the most positive impact on the game that they were playing in. Keatley, O'Gara... who else?

It may have only been a short while, but it completely invigorated the Leinster backline (how much was due to Reddan as opposed to Sexton is up for debate). If we're talking only Irish 10's, then he has to get in there. If it's those playing for Irish teams, it still holds because Pienarr is a scrum half.

If you were picking the team tomorrow and basing it purely on games played so far this season then Keatley is the starting 10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,455 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

Fair point, but the thread is "of the week" after all.

I'd still have Keatley in the team of the week. ROG was so so and Sexton was on for what 20 minutes and touched the ball maybe 6 times, made an impact but not enough to push himself ahead of Keatley who I thought played well in very difficult conditions in Cardiff.

I think the point is that Sexton's impact was absurdly obvious. I'm a big fan of Keatley and would have him on the bench ahead of ROG. I don't see as much Connacht as I would of Leinster though so that's going to affect my opinion. Sexton's impact was insane though - Leinster were twice the team with him on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭thehighground

I think the point is that Sexton's impact was absurdly obvious. I'm a big fan of Keatley and would have him on the bench ahead of ROG. I don't see as much Connacht as I would of Leinster though so that's going to affect my opinion. Sexton's impact was insane though - Leinster were twice the team with him on.

I don't know if you have seen it or not, but in the interview for the Man of the Match Award, the interviewer credited Sexton with making a huge impact and BOD corrected her and said that Reddan was the one that made the major impact. (Reddan passed straight to O'Brien for the try).

He won't be anywhere if he can't kick.

Interview is at the end pf part 2.

http://beo.tg4.ie/main.aspx?content=265626038273

I did see it actually. I would be of the opinion that Sexton made Reddan look good, but then BOD knows more than me. The loop move that Sexton made was the single best thing in that match though.

His not kicking is definitely a concern. It implies he wasn't fully fit and we need him fully fit to win next week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭thehighground

I did see it actually. I would be of the opinion that Sexton made Reddan look good, but then BOD knows more than me. The loop move that Sexton made was the single best thing in that match though.

His not kicking is definitely a concern. It implies he wasn't fully fit and we need him fully fit to win next week.

Reddan's service was so much better than Boss's which was dismal. The scrumhalf is now the most influential player on the pitch and why Ulster will continue to play Pienaar at 9.

Surely you must think that O'Brien's offload for BOD's try was the best single thing in the match? The loop move didn't get anywhere.

Reddan's service was so much better than Boss's which was dismal. The scrumhalf is now the most influential player on the pitch and why Ulster will continue to play Pienaar at 9.

Surely you must think that O'Brien's offload for BOD's try was the best single thing in the match? The loop move didn't get anywhere.

It didn't get anywhere but it made yards and was impressive. It was the best backline move of the match. Either way Leinster were the only ones putting in backline moves which is a concern for Munster.

The scrumhalf situation in Leinster is weird. No matter who starts the replacement always seems to be better. I've seen Boss improve things and I've seen Reddan improve things. I think Reddan has better skills but Boss is more intelligent. Neither are perfect SHs though. There are no great Irish SHs which is a concern.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

Sexton made a difference to Leinster when he came on and made an impact. Keatley had a quiet game for Connacht but did nothing wrong so its 50/50 IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

It didn't get anywhere but it made yards and was impressive. It was the best backline move of the match. Either way Leinster were the only ones putting in backline moves which is a concern for Munster.

The scrumhalf situation in Leinster is weird. No matter who starts the replacement always seems to be better. I've seen Boss improve things and I've seen Reddan improve things. I think Reddan has better skills but Boss is more intelligent. Neither are perfect SHs though. There are no great Irish SHs which is a concern.

Whoever comes on will always look better.

Reddan looked very poor the last time he started, far worse than Boss yesterday but against poorer opposition. He was excellent yesterday off the bench, I think he could do a great job from there for Leinster this season.

Magners Week 6

Hard to pick this week, Munster were playing against woeful opposition and the other 3 provinces were far from impressive.

Du Preez
    Strauss
    Ross
    Toner
    MOD
    SOB
    Wallace
    Heaslip
    Stringer
    ROG
    Fanning
    McFadden
    Earls
    Howlett
    Duffy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭CouchSmart

Magners Week 6

Hard to pick this week, Munster were playing against woeful opposition and the other 3 provinces were far from impressive.

Du Preez
    Strauss
    Ross
    Toner
    MOD
    SOB
    Wallace
    Heaslip
    Stringer
    ROG
    Fanning
    McFadden
    Earls
    Howlett
    Duffy

Would have said Whitten personally. Thought both Leinster centres were poor this week.

Magners Week 6

Du Preez
    Strauss
    Ross
    Toner
    MOD
    SOB
    Wallace
    Heaslip
    Stringer
    ROG
    Fanning
    McFadden
    Earls
    Howlett
    Duffy

Strong Ulster showing there

McIlwaine was at least 57x better than Fanning

Strong Ulster showing there

McIlwaine was at least 57x better than Fanning

Ye, though for a fairly unknown winger Fanning did all that was asked of him against Leinster.

Would also have Tuohy ahead of MOD.

CouchSmart wrote: »
    Ye, though for a fairly unknown winger Fanning did all that was asked of him against Leinster.

Would also have Tuohy ahead of MOD.

Tuohy, Ferris and Pienaar all should be in there.

Best was excellent but so was Strauss tonight so that's a push

Pienaar only wishes he could be Irish :P

As does Strauss actually, maybe one day.

And Howlett and Du Preez, I thought this was Irish team of the week or is it players playing for Irish teams

Du Preez
    Strauss
    Ross
    Nagle
    Hines
    Dom Ryan
    Ronan
    Coughlan
    Pienaar (I admit I well overrated Strings last night. If you take out the goalkicking and the hospital pass at the end, Pienaar did well enough. No real standouts though)
    Warwick
    Carr (Beat 3 players to set up a try apparently.)
    Dineen
    Murphy (no standout here either)
    Conway
    Nacewa (honourable mention to Adam D'Arcy)

strauss is playing very well of late. imo if he went back to south africa he could very well push for a place in the team

With all due respect he would in his hole. He'd do well to hold down a starting spot for a S14 team. Watched the Currie Cup final today and there were 3 better hookers on display then him.

He might be a good player with time but ML and international standard are worlds apart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭lologram

He also said in an Irish Times interview 2 weeks back that he wasn't really all that interested in going back to SA and that he didn't enjoy the setup when he was there. It's not like it's a legal undertaking not to go back, but it pretty much shows where he stands on it. And he's already halfway to qualifying for Ireland