Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crowd being kept off the pitch. Yay or Nay?

• 05-09-2010 9:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭

Not sure if this was discussed, but have to say it felt a bit of an anti-climax today seeing the fans being kept off the pitch. Do people think these new measures by the GAA are a good thing or not?

Should the crowd be kept off the pitch? 78 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    100% 78 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Ian_K

Nay for me, i know most will disagree but theres nothing better for a fan than getting onto that hallowed turf once a year to celebrate with your heroes

When it comes to the GAA, from grass roots all the way up crowds have more interaction with players than any other sport and we should be setting our own precedents rather than copying other sports - fúck health and safety and just get on with it, as was always the case

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Yay, can you add a poll maybe OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

Ian_K wrote: »
    Nay for me, i know most will disagree but theres nothing better for a fan than getting onto that hallowed turf once a year to celebrate with your heroes

Agreed. Its sad to see it go at Thomond Park and Lansdowne Road. I really didnt think the GAA would follow suit but there ya go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

Nay - takes away from the atmosphere -

Yay, can you add a poll maybe OP?

I would if I knew how to :o

Maybe the mods could add one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭shezmagic

Hard to say, Tipperary supporters are probably the best ones to give a definitive judgement on this one so it will be interesting to hear their perspective when they sober up on Tuesday.

Speaking as a neutral just watching on TV it did look a bit flat and anti-climatic but this wasn't helped by RTE's decision to not show the post-presentation sing-song and give proper coverage to the lap of honour. It was probably a great atmosphere in the stadium but the TV viewers never got much of a chance to experience it. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Ian_K wrote: »

I thought the players enjoyed celebrating with each other today after the game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I would love to be able to run on the pitch in Croker after the matches but if I can't I won't be upset on the success of today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

after seeing what happened after the louth meath leinster final yes they should stop people entering pitch if only for safety of staff and players

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,400 ✭✭✭Patser

I'd almost suggest a compromise. It was good to see the players and manager etc have time and space to celebrate together, to commiserate with the KK players and be able to spot each other without being mobbed by fans.

However for the presentation, the atmosphere looked very, very flat and the amount of stewards needed to keep fans off the pitch made Croker look very unwelcoming and policed - sort of suggests they were worried of violence more than celebrations.

So a compromise would seem good. Supporters stay off the pitch for 5/10 mins while players celebrate, but are allowed on for the presentation and if the players want to come down, mingle and join in with the fans it'd be up to them. The fans showed today they can/will stay off the pitch but with a promise to be allowed on soon, then the GAA wont have to spend a fortune on stewarding/policing at future games.

However I accept this dodges the GAA's main concerns of damage to the pitch and crowd congestion exiting the pitch afterwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Ian_K

Patser wrote: »
    I'd almost suggest a compromise. It was good to see the players and manager etc have time and space to celebrate together, to commiserate with the KK players and be able to spot each other without being mobbed by fans.

However for the presentation, the atmosphere looked very, very flat and the amount of stewards needed to keep fans off the pitch made Croker look very unwelcoming and policed - sort of suggests they were worried of violence more than celebrations.

So a compromise would seem good. Supporters stay off the pitch for 5/10 mins while players celebrate, but are allowed on for the presentation and if the players want to come down, mingle and join in with the fans it'd be up to them. The fans showed today they can/will stay off the pitch but with a promise to be allowed on soon, then the GAA wont have to spend a fortune on stewarding/policing at future games.

However I accept this dodges the GAA's main concerns of damage to the pitch and crowd congestion exiting the pitch afterwards.

Ya i was thinking something similair earlier on - let the players celebrate with the management etc. but then when they make their way into the stand for the presentation, open the floodgates and let the crowd in

Im sure Eoin Kelly would have prefered to be looking out upon a sea of Tipp supporters when he was making his speech!

If not we will never see iconic scenes like this anymore

croke-park-pitch-invasion.jpg?w=448&h=336

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭jonnybravo

Patser wrote: »

I'd agree with this - can't see why they don't let the fans on afterwards to celebrate if its organised properly - would reduce the incentive to run straight onto the pitch at the end of the match and increase the atmosphere for the presentation of the trophy - wont happen tho

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,521 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

I'd agree with letting the fans on 5/10 minutes after the game. They do it in the AFL in some stadiums (Subiaco in Perth being one) so if it's policed correctly I'd say it'd be the best option.
    I think the celebrations today looked very cheap and tacky with the streamers and flag in the middle. They had promised a middle of the pitch presentation at the start of the year if people stayed off the pitch. I'd be interested in hearing what it was like in the Cusack stand/Hill 16 being 100 metres or so away from the presentation and not being able to see anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Limestone1

the whole presentation was very dissapointing - they might as well move it to the hotel with the meal and man of the match and let RTe control it !
    If they are going to keep the fans off the pitch then best go champions League style with the fanfare in the middle of the pitch - eoin kelly giving a speech to the Tipp and KK squads standing below him was naff .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭johnmcdnl

it's grand for the fans right around the presentation but for the fans in the far stand and behind the goals I can't image they seen too much... the 5 minute thing seems to be a good idea and would make the presentation so much more personal with the crowd in front of the captain and team rather than only a tiny minority being able to see the presentation in person rather than the big screen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭sid waddell

The presentation was a non-event. The GAA has now proved it can successfully stop people coming onto the pitch immediately after the final whistle. There is thus no excuse for not letting them safely on after a four to five minute gap. This is the sensible compromise which respects the players that many have been arguing for and has been rejected out of hand by a hierarchy which is only interested in the corporate buck.

It was sub-Heineken Cup stuff today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭Colm R

It did look pretty bad. Although RTE being selective on what they showed did not help.

I would have thought they would have moved the presentation to the middle of the field. Gives everyone a fair view of it. Everyone in Hill 16, Cusack and Davin are fairly far away, most of the people in the Hogan cannot see it at all.

I did like the way Liam Sheedy was interviewed after the game, allowing everyone in the stadium to hear it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

hierarchy which is only interested in the corporate buck.

Do they get a bonus off the sponsors if they keep everyone off the pitch? :confused: I don't see how you can equate keeping people off the pitch with being interested in the corporate buck.

I was there so i didn't see the coverage on RTE but in the stadium I thought it worked quite well. Most people didn't seem interested in trying to get on the pitch from where I was. The atmosphere was great and I think the Tipp players enjoyed having the time to themselves at the end and they also enjoyed doing the lap of honour.

In any case, I'm sure there'll be plenty of opportunities for the fans to celebrate with the team over the next few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭Ms. Chanandler Bong

Colm R wrote: »
    It did look pretty bad. Although RTE being selective on what they showed did not help.

I would have thought they would have moved the presentation to the middle of the field. Gives everyone a fair view of it. Everyone in Hill 16, Cusack and Davin are fairly far away, most of the people in the Hogan cannot see it at all.

I did like the way Liam Sheedy was interviewed after the game, allowing everyone in the stadium to hear it.

As a Tipperary person that was nowhere near either Tipperary or Croker on the day & therefore had to make do with watching it on the box, I have a question: Why do we have to see the analysts when they're giving their opinions at the end of the game? Surely the smart thing is to continue to broadcast the picture from the stadium with a voiceover from the studio??? If they're going to copy every other sport as someone pointed out, then they should go the whole hog! While I do like to listen to their opinions (sometimes! :rolleyes:), there's also times (like yesterday) when it would have been nice to see what the celebrations were like.
    I also agree with the way the post-match interview was carried out, was a nice touch.
    Wasn't the whole thing about crowd control so that they could do a centre-circle presentation?:confused: What happened to that?
    Why not have the 5 min delay like most people are suggesting & use all the stewards they had there to put a cover on the pitch to protect the grass? It's only going to be there for about, what, 20 mins?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,696 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

catreyn wrote: »
    As a Tipperary person that was nowhere near either Tipperary or Croker on the day & therefore had to make do with watching it on the box, I have a question: Why do we have to see the analysts when they're giving their opinions at the end of the game? Surely the smart thing is to continue to broadcast the picture from the stadium with a voiceover from the studio??? If they're going to copy every other sport as someone pointed out, then they should go the whole hog! While I do like to listen to their opinions (sometimes! :rolleyes:), there's also times (like yesterday) when it would have been nice to see what the celebrations were like.
    I also agree with the way the post-match interview was carried out, was a nice touch.
    Wasn't the whole thing about crowd control so that they could do a centre-circle presentation?:confused: What happened to that?
    Why not have the 5 min delay like most people are suggesting & use all the stewards they had there to put a cover on the pitch to protect the grass? It's only going to be there for about, what, 20 mins?

There is no centre circle on a GAA pitch. And seriously, put a cover on the pitch? Get real, do you realise how long this would take? I hardly think it would make sense just so the fans could walk out on the pitch.

One of the main concerns with fans going on the pitch is that almost everyone exits through the Hogan stand afterwards and this leads to dangerous overcrowding outside Jury's...a point being overlooked by most.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭gmale

fullstop wrote: »
    There is no centre circle on a GAA pitch. And seriously, put a cover on the pitch? Get real, do you realise how long this would take? I hardly think it would make sense just so the fans could walk out on the pitch.

Back when Croke Park was being redevloped, specifically the Hogan Stand, were the presentations not in the centre of the pitch? Champions League style?

Covering hte pitch would be a bit mad.

I would think the real reason behind it all is insurance. The insurance bill must be huge and we all know how the GAA like making money so cutting that bill by preventing people from getting on the pitch must be appealing. I dont think the GAA have the fans best interest at heart, just its very big wallet!

Limestone1 wrote: »
    the whole presentation was very dissapointing - they might as well move it to the hotel with the meal and man of the match and let RTe control it !
    If they are going to keep the fans off the pitch then best go champions League style with the fanfare in the middle of the pitch - eoin kelly giving a speech to the Tipp and KK squads standing below him was naff .....

Platini has brought the presentation back up into the stands. His reason is so the players can be brought closer to the fans and that they were too detached on the pitch. I'd agree with him. While yesterday was crap, it would be even worse having the presentation in the centre of the pitch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Mia84

I agree with the crowd being kept off the pitch. Last year someone dug up a piece of the pitch!! That can't be allowed and also there are huge health and safety issues for not only the fans but the players and stewards also.

Last year I remember that they tried to do a big presentation on the pitch but it had to be scrapped because the fans ran on. I'm sure now that they know they can keep the pitch clear they will organise bigger/better presentations for future games. Big GAA fan so hopefully they make it something special.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭tommy249

A good video on the GAA website about the pitch invasions

http://www.gaa.ie/about-the-gaa/mission-and-vision/pitchsafety/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭julyjane

I was at the match as a Tipperary supporter yesterday and after the presentation the team did a lap of honour with the cup and U2s Beautiful Day was playing. It was great, don't think it was shown on TV but it should have been shown as an example of what the GAA can offer as an alternative to pitch invasions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,960 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

I watched it on TV and though the it was great that there was no pitch invasion, well done to the Tipp fans for obeying the rules.

As for the presentation on the field I think that the GAA decided this year to keep it in the Hogan stand seeing as this was their first attempt to really prevent a pitch invasion (no more Plan B as it were).

I would not be surprised if they moved it to the pitch for the football final and I would certainly expect it to be on the pitch next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭Ms. Chanandler Bong

fullstop wrote: »

One of the main concerns with fans going on the pitch is that almost everyone exits through the Hogan stand afterwards and this leads to dangerous overcrowding outside Jury's...a point being overlooked by most.

I am aware there is no centre circle, thank you. It was merely a turn of phrase.

As to covering the pitch, have you tried it to see how long it would take?;) Throw enough stewards in the stadium, as was done yesterday, & it could be done in less than a few minutes. It's as valid a solution as any if it stops people digging up the pitch, as one poster mentioned, whilst allowing people to celebrate with their team on the pitch as has been done for decades!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Dymo

tommy249 wrote: »
    A good video on the GAA website about the pitch invasions

http://www.gaa.ie/about-the-gaa/mission-and-vision/pitchsafety/

That video is more propaganda than facts this could happen and that could happen they are practically implying that Hillsboro is about to happen because of pitch invasion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

I thought it looked fairly flat and boring. Christy Cooney was saying all year how the fans would be treated to a great display after the presentation. All i saw was some yellow ribbons come down when Tipp lifted liam. If the GAA wants to keep up this style of presentation then they need to put more imagination into it...

* i say this with respect to what i saw on telly - might have been different after coverage stopped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,403 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

a definite no from me, the crowd coming onto the field is something really unique to the gaa and should be allowed, scenes like this is what makes the gaa great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,696 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

catreyn wrote: »
    I am aware there is no centre circle, thank you. It was merely a turn of phrase.

As to covering the pitch, have you tried it to see how long it would take?;) Throw enough stewards in the stadium, as was done yesterday, & it could be done in less than a few minutes. It's as valid a solution as any if it stops people digging up the pitch, as one poster mentioned, whilst allowing people to celebrate with their team on the pitch as has been done for decades!

Yes I've done it in my back garden on a smaller scale to see gow long it would take :rolleyes: I have a load of that metal sheeting that the use in the garage. The pitch in Croke Park is ~145 x 90m...this would take ages to do. They would also have to bring out the covering from somewhere under the stands after the match finishes.
    I suppose they could just keep the pitch covered all the time and play the matches on top of the metal sheeting.

rossie1977 wrote: »
    a definite no from me, the crowd coming onto the field is something really unique to the gaa and should be allowed, scenes like this is what makes the gaa great

I certainly wouldnt say it is unique to the GAA. Rugby did it for years (Remember the Miracle Match at Thomond Park). Happened for years in England in football. Happens in Aussie Rules aswell as far as I'm aware.

It is sad to see it go though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭thesultan

The ticker tape thing was rubbish. Its crap running around the field with the fans in the stand. What was needed yesterday was Lar Corbett being raised shoulder hight by the fans. Totally took away from the atmosphere from the fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭bigbadbear

most agree it was a bit dangerous to have it but its a nay for me too. I think it should have been allowed just in a more organised way. anti climax or what

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,994 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

Why not do the thing right.

I am all for the pitch invasions...think its a pity that they are taken away, but if the GAA are going down that route then at least do it right.

You have 2 markie days on the GAA calendar, the hurling and football all-ireland finals and thats it.

Could they not have done a proper job, like having fireworks of something...they did it before (125 year celebration dublin Vs tyrone) so its not like they haven't got the experience of putting on a big event.

Having the ticker tape was a cheap touch.

Come on its the all-ireland final, but some of the money that the organisation claims to have saved through insurance costs by not letting fans onto the pitch, into a ceremony that an all-ireland deserves

Yesterday seemed half hearted and an anticlimax to a great game!

Fireworks would be ****. Keep it to new years eve in Times square. People hurt is only bluff talk if they let people out in an organized way. That McKenna is a **** anyway

After all this talk about "safety" etc, has there actually ever been any deaths from pitch invasions at GAA games? I've certainly never heard of any. What next, keep people off the pitch for U2 gigs because everybody has to exit from the one exit :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

From what I heard they had a huge on-pitch ceremony planned last year, but once the pitch invasion happened that all went down the pan and the money they spent on it was lost. So this year they decided not to do anything mad until they were 100% sure they can contain the crowds.

Now that they know the fence and the extra measures around the rest of the stadium works, I fully expect them to resort to the 2009 plans next year.

We'll have to wait for ARmagh to win to get us all back on the pitch again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭sid waddell

The GAA have now shown that they can successfully keep people off. They've also showed that an All-Ireland Final crowd is not some savage bunch of hooligans, they are in fact quite malleable and conservative. So if they've done that, they'll have no problem keeping them off for five minutes. Nobody has a problem with giving the players five minutes or so to gather themselves. Why not then allow the supporters on when there is no fear of a losing player getting a clip from an opposition supporter.

The crowd voted with their feet yesterday and the stadium was only half full by the time Eoin Kelly lifted the McCarthy Cup. Festy Kerwick's rendition of Galtee Mountain Boy was delivered to an empty pitch and a stadium which was by this stage no more than 30% full. What could have been one of the great post All-Ireland moments instead turned into one of the most bizarre.

The streamers were pathetic, like something left pver from a children's bithday party. "Spectacular" presentations are generally cringeworthy embarrassments. The GAA has no need for fireworks, children's birthday party streamers , flames, U2 or the Black Eyed Peas, especially that song. It has no need for presentations dreamt up by some South Dublin posh boy marketing guru with a cocaine habit. Leave that to inferior sports.

Oh by the way, truly appalling scenes in Semple Stadium tonight s thousands of people congregated on the pitch. How dangerous is that :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,036 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

thesultan wrote: »
    Fireworks would be ****. Keep it to new years eve in Times square. People hurt is only bluff talk if they let people out in an organized way. That McKenna is a **** anyway

now sure ya cant have fireworks.....they are noisy and dangerous.....someone migh burn their fingers. Mr Cooney says it would cost too much to issue 82,000 sets of earplugs and there is a recession on now especially as he no longer has access to the FAS cheque book:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

The crowd voted with their feet yesterday and the stadium was only half full by the time Eoin Kelly lifted the McCarthy Cup.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iCb5cZthzzg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭DH2K9

If anybody wants to get onto the pitch go to some fecking league games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,621 ✭✭✭harpsman

My solution would also be to allowed controlled access after 5 mins,allowing players to celebrate or commiserate,and to retreat inside the garda cordon,if its so dangerous.If people knew they would be allowed on there would be no need for a dangerous scramble and scuffles with stewards-some of whom behave in a very thuggish way in my experience.The last time I was on the pitch was 05 after Tyrone won.I was in Hogan and we all just walked through the open gate on to the pitch.no panic.
    Ive been at Heiniken cup and Champ League finals and i found the whole presentation to be sterile and contrived.

PS:agree with comment about McKenna-little Hitler who strikes me as more concerned with his ego than players or supporters.

The propoganda video did make me laugh though.Pathetic.
    I thought Hillsborough was caused by people being crushed against a fence,not a pitch invasion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭mags85

I say nay to keeping the crowds off the pitch. i was in the Hill on Sunday and those barriers are awful! if it had been raining any heavier during the final we wouldnt have been able to see a thing through the glass!

Also since the first all ireland in 1887 has there ever been any death or serious harm been done to anyone??? I think health and safety is just gone too far these days. And what about the lads in hill that were trying to climb or break down the barriers after the match surely that was more dangerous than letting them onto the pitch.

Also I think its an absolute disgrace for the GAA to compare pitch invasions to hillsborough. hillsborough was caused by too many people being let into the stands and got crushed as they werent able to get out on to the pitch.

there was no atmosphere watching the team celebrating as you cant see anything from the hill and also you have to wait for the team to come all the way round the pitch before you can see them. There is nothing compared to being able to give your team a pat on the back for a job well done.

It takes the community out of the game, and it only happens twice a year, its not like it happens for every match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

The crowd voted with their feet yesterday and the stadium was only half full by the time Eoin Kelly lifted the McCarthy Cup.

The Kilkenny crowd went home? I am stunned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭Fandango

I say nay, serious loss of atmosphere at the end of the final and if it was because of serious safety concerns i would say yes, but its not. Its because of a huge over exaduration so i say let em on. More chance of someone getting hurt by barriers than there is by letting them on also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭katie99

There are two reasons why the GAA don't want fans on the pitch.

1) Health & Safety issues.
    2) People digging up the pitch.

Congrats to Tipp and Kilkenny fans alike for obeying the GAA instruction NOT to come onto the pitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Christ, the GAA will be as boring as the other fieldsports soon....Linky :( Provincial finals next in their sights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭bigbadbear

if dublin win sam they will not hold the crowd back. not that its going to happen or anything.

the thing that bugs me is that in the century or so the gaa has bee going they still have no list of injuries due to pitch invasion. in the 30s there was 90,000 people in a tiny little dingy stadium that ws croker and nodody died then. I reckon its bullshít. digging the pitch desrves a good kick in the head