Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

carcase disposal !!!

• 03-09-2010 8:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭

Hey guys, this is not something i thought i would have to see, and for obvious reasons i dont think il be posting up the pictures for you to view. I was in a neigbhours house this evening and he asked me had i seen the dead deer in my local village?? (Paulstown co Kilkenny).For a second i was thinking, theirs no dear around this area as far as i knew. He told me where the carcase was and i went to have a look for myself. I seen the carcase about a mile outside paulstown on th carlow side. The deer had been shot, skinned ,and the ribs to head part of the body, along with the rear legs had just been threw out in the grass on the side of the road for everyone to see. Personaly i dont think people who are going to dispose of carases in this manner should have a licence of any sort.
    Has anyone else had a experience of this before??
    Its instances like this that ruin the sport and bring down the publics view of hunters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elius

I saw the exact same thing at tourism location in wicklow.
    All i can say is the guards do give guns to cowboys and cowboys do get issue'd permits to shoot dear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭andyh85

elius wrote: »
    All i can say is the guards do give guns to cowboys and cowboys do get issue'd permits to shoot dear.
    I rang my local guard and informed him when i seen it for myself, he said he wont be able to do anything unless he had a reg or something but he was organising to get it removed. The guard is also my firearms officer and he was discusted that someone done this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Greyhound men are always glad of fresh red meat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭LostCovey

Greyhound men are always glad of fresh red meat.

Tackleberry that is no doubt true but I do not see the relevance in a thread on illegal dumping. Am I missing something?

I also suspect there wasn't much meat on what was left!

LC

LostCovey wrote: »
    Tackleberry that is no doubt true but I do not see the relevance in a thread on illegal dumping. Am I missing something?

I also suspect there wasn't much meat on what was left!

LC

Sorry, I should have expanded my point, no need to dump meat and bones when dogs will be damn glad of it.

I have a few greyhound men that boil up the offal in a big pot and feed it to their dogs.

Dumping on the roadside is crass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 ByeByeGTI

<mod snip>
    who's to say licensed hunters left that carcase their.
    <mod snip>

andyh85 wrote: »
    Hey guys, this is not something i thought i would have to see, and for obvious reasons i dont think il be posting up the pictures for you to view. I was in a neigbhours house this evening and he asked me had i seen the dead deer in my local village?? (Paulstown co Kilkenny).For a second i was thinking, theirs no dear around this area as far as i knew. He told me where the carcase was and i went to have a look for myself. I seen the carcase about a mile outside paulstown on th carlow side. The deer had been shot, skinned ,and the ribs to head part of the body, along with the rear legs had just been threw out in the grass on the side of the road for everyone to see. Personaly i dont think people who are going to dispose of carases in this manner should have a licence of any sort.
    Its instances like this that ruin the sport and bring down the publics view of hunters.

SERIOUSLY
    how can you be sure licenced hunters done it and if you are unsure why would you mention hunters in your post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

ByeByeGTI wrote: »
    <mod snip>
    <mod snip>

Let's face it, there are people out there who are not so conscientious, and they have legitimately licensed firearms and deer licences, because it's just about impossible to have a properly effective knob-end filter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

SERIOUSLY
    how can you be sure licenced hunters done it and if you are unsure why would you mention hunters in your post.

Because it's deer season. There are a lot of deer being shot now by licensed hunters and the phenomenon isn't exactly unknown. If you personally aren't responsible, you've little to get indignant about other than the fact that someone perpetrated the act.

It's not exactly common either IWM.
    More the exception than the rule.

I've only seen a carcass once in all my years of stalking/Hunting experience.

<mod snip>
    <mod snip>

Buy the looks of things its hunters giving themselves a bad name. :rolleyes:
    Im a hunter myself!
    But unless the deer in question was shot buy a 223. It was shot buy a higher caliber rifle ie 222,243, 6.5x55 270 or 308 amongst other which require a deer permit to be licensed for hunting unless used on an authorised range. (though some districts will authorise 222 and even 243 for vermin)

Unless it was a road kill or snared! And then i'm wrong but there is cowboys out there and if YOU dont realise this you might want to take them blinkers off...:mad:

O and welcome to the hunting forum! Might be best to do some reading first. http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055583732

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,730 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

SERIOUSLY

I hear what you are saying but define "Hunter"

Buy the looks of things its hunters giving themselves a bad name. :rolleyes:
    Im a hunter myself!
    But unless the dear in question was shot buy a 223. It was shot buy a higher caliber rifle ie 222,243, 6.5x55 270 or 308 amongst other which require a deer permit to be licensed for hunting unless used on an authorised range. (though some districts will authorise 222 and even 243 for vermin)

Unless it was a road kill or snared! And then i'm wrong but there is cowboys out there and if YOU dont realise this you might want to take them blinkers off...:mad:

O and welcome to the hunting forum!
    Is that a Dear or a Deer:rolleyes:

Yey Yey:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭endasmail

<mod snip>
    <mod snip>

possible troll????????

comes in ,snarls at the regulars and legs it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Ya! they never stick around and let us take the piss out of them :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭andyh85

SERIOUSLY

I never said licenced hunters done it but that is besides the point , the point im trying to make is that someone, licenced with a gun(deer stalking callibre or not) done this as their was a large bullet hole in the carcase. Its instances like this that bring down the publics view on LEGAL deer hunters and hunting in general.

How do you its someone Licenced with a Licenced Firearm:confused: How do you know the gun is licenced?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭patsat

How do you its someone Licenced with a Licenced Firearm:confused: How do you know the gun is licenced?

There is a small possibility the gun was unlicensed however chances are the gun was fully licensed. And a gun is licensed for either target shooting or hunting therefore the person responsible was probably a licensed hunter.

But to call them hunters would be wrong, poachers would be a better description.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

patsat wrote: »
    There is a small possibility the gun was unlicensed however chances are the gun was fully licensed. And a gun is licensed for either target shooting or hunting therefore the person responsible was probably a licensed hunter.

But to call them hunters would be wrong, poachers would be a better description.
    Id tend to agree with ya, more than likely a fully licenced gun. And possably someone with a deer licence just too lazy to clean up properly, took what they wanted and left the rest for the birds.

No point pulling the wool over our eyes. Many shooters have shot does already this year, lamped deer, left deer after shooting them, shot without permission.

Just because I go by the rules doesn't mean everyone follows them.

No point pulling the wool over our eyes. Many shooters have shot does already this year, lamped deer, left deer after shooting them, shot without permission.

Pat

That is a very dirty brush you are Taring Folk with.
    I don't know of any that do the above, and I know a lot of hunters/stalkers.

You are stating something as fact without a shred of proof.
    1 swallow does not make a summer.
    1 Carcuss on the side of the road does not mean a pandemic ;)

I know loads of lads who don't or won't obey the rules.

No point saying otherwise :rolleyes:

Only thing is I don't hunt, shoot or associate with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,705 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

Hi hunters, I'm not a hunter, but live near a forestry area (in fact too near for comfort when hunting season is on), and have come across such a carcass last year, so yes, OP is not the only one to have witnessed that. It's lucky I was walking ahead of my 2 toddlers who would have had quite a shock had they come across this. You're talking a couple of hundred yards from my house.

In hunting season there are nights when I don't dare cross my yard to the laundry shed for fear a stray bullet might zoom in front of me. Regardless of regulations hunters should have the courtesy to keep some distance from obviously lived in houses in fairness.

Some people around here dazzle at night, too, which is fine except they on occasion did it from the back of a pick up truck in motion (complete with armed men of course). If that's not cowboy-ish behaviour I don't know what is.

So yes there are cowboys, licensed or not, I don't know, and how am I as a member of the public, supposed to know ? It's an awful pity for real hunters, but I have to say it does tend to make me weary of anyone with a pick up truck or jeep passing up my road.

I know loads of lads who don't or won't obey the rules.

No point saying otherwise :rolleyes:

Only thing is I don't hunt, shoot or associate with them.

report them ;-)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 184 ✭✭custom 7mm08

was told about an incidence in mitchelstown where a deer carcuss was dumped over a bridge some where down that area. it is unfortunate that this happens but it is a small group that are doing it. so what can be done. my dad came across an incident of poaching on the opening day of the season. this particular person previously said he was going to do it. hopefully he is now stopped

report them ;-)

Why? Would it make a difference? :rolleyes:

It could if you supplied names, adresses & Reg numbers.
    Fellas laugh at my ways when; if I bring them shooting and I see deer/fox/fezzie in the "wrong" field i leave them there.

I've often had to hump a "buck" the long way around a farm so not to cross an anti hunters land.

If I saw someone dumping rubbish on my road I'd report them.
    Dumping as deer is like dumping rubbish.
    An ignorant act.

Plenty of men with dogs would take any left over meat & bone.
    Or just give it to the Knacker if he is in the area.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Knacker
    incase someone thinks I'm not being PC ;)

Mine was a rhetorical question !

Pat

I don't know of any that do the above, and I know a lot of hunters/stalkers.

You are stating something as fact without a shred of proof.
    1 swallow does not make a summer.
    1 Carcuss on the side of the road does not mean a pandemic ;)

But unfortunately I do know of people who behave like this. I never came across a carcass on the side of the road however people have admitted that they hav shot deer and left them in the field.

Two weeks ago I man mowing a field hit a dead deer with his mower, the deer had a bullet wound in it's neck.

People have been reported but to no avail, most stalkers will follow the rules but like anything else there will always be the few that don't.

But unfortunately I do know of people who behave like this. I never came across a carcass on the side of the road however people have admitted that they hav shot deer and left them in the field.

Two weeks ago I man mowing a field hit a dead deer with his mower, the deer had a bullet wound in it's neck.

People have been reported but to no avail, most stalkers will follow the rules but like anything else there will always be the few that don't.

Well said i got my head bitten off for saying the above!

I can't comment on where you live as I am not local and not aware of the hunters in the area.
    However. They "should" only be a small number of licenced stalkers in the area, most using different calibres.
    If the round is still in the animal you have evidence.
    Most corelokt bullets leave a mushroomed round behind, but the base is still intact to get a measurement off.

If I found a carcass I'd look for the bullet hole and try and locate the bullet. If you have proof it's out of a .270,.30 cal or 6mm/.243 then you have a number of suspects you can question.

If they were sloppy enough to leave a carcass, they may have left more evidence

If it was on my permissions I would investigate and bring the Gardaí all my evidence.

The landowner has reported it so that will take it's own course, hard to trace tho as often shooters from up the country are seen around with no permission.

I could tell more stories but no need, once we realise that not all hunters follow the rules but most do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

I don't know of any that do the above, and I know a lot of hunters/stalkers
    You might not know any personally Tack, but there is a very serious poaching problem, that's a well-known fact in this country. There have been several reported cases of poachers being caught and charged as well. And there have been many hunters posting here over the years who've freely admitted they don't bother following all the rules, from those who only shoot one or two rabbits to those who shoot hundreds of deer.
    Pat wasn't really out of line at all there.

endasmail wrote: »
    possible troll????????
    comes in ,snarls at the regulars and legs it
    Well said i got my head bitten off for saying the above!
    Next time lads, would you please hit the report post button?

/points to his signature
    down_arrow.png

Sparks wrote: »
    You might not know any personally Tack, but there is a very serious poaching problem, that's a well-known fact in this country. There have been several reported cases of poachers being caught and charged as well. And there have been many hunters posting here over the years who've freely admitted they don't bother following all the rules, from those who only shoot one or two rabbits to those who shoot hundreds of deer.

Fair point, in Some areas there may be a problem.
    However not every where.

For people reading this forum from the outside looking in it would seem far more widespread (I personally Stalk in 4 counties with no problem areas)

That was my point, I would say poaching is a problem, because it is "Wrong"

The problem is not epi or pandemic though, more of localized incidents judging by prosecutions in the print media.

Yes, but it's a case of localised incidents all over the place Tack :D
    Plus, when I say people were ignoring rules, it's not quite the same as poaching (which is an egregious form of rule-breaking), but of folk hunting (rather than poaching) but not being as conscientious as they should have been, and admitting it openly thinking it was nothing. So sadly, there is a rather widespread problem in that regard - though to be fair, it's hardly limited to just hunting, it seems to be a national problem.

Yes, but it's a case of localised incidents all over the place Tack :D
    Plus, when I say people were ignoring rules, it's not quite the same as poaching (which is an egregious form of rule-breaking), but of folk hunting (rather than poaching) but not being as conscientious as they should have been, and admitting it openly thinking it was nothing. So sadly, there is a rather widespread problem in that regard - though to be fair, it's hardly limited to just hunting, it seems to be a national problem.

I always read several local(ish) rags to for the crime section.

I know of only 2 articles in the past 5 years to do with hunting; and one of them was found innocent, the other was charged with disturbance of game for shining a light into forestry.

If a person shoots a deer they own it.
    That is one of the HCAP questions, ownership of carcass.

All my point was not to make statements without evidence, the statement about does being shot has to date** no evidence.

2 carcass out of tens if not hundreds of thousands of deer is not a serious problem. More deer get killed on the roads with cars, that to be fair is where most of the side of the road stuff comes from

All my point was not to make statements without evidence, the statement about does being shot has to date** no evidence.

Seen them hanging with my own two eyes Wednesday evening.

A lot of people posting here mouing off, with no real evidence doing noting but spreading rumors and creating terror among the hunting community. <mod snip>

Seen them hanging with my own two eyes Wednesday evening.

did you report it? if not you are as guilty as the person who pulled the trigger:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

Tack knows people who poach in this area. Not maybe for poaching but he knows the individuals. Tack, its a lot more popular than you think, take that from someone who has been following them fallow since i was 5

A lot of people posting here mouing off, with no real evidence doing noting but spreading rumors and creating terror among the hunting community. <mod snip>

<mod snip>
    The lad has already said there was a bullet wound!

is it possible they were shot on a section 42 licence?
    why jump to the worst possible conclusion?

I know of only 2 articles in the past 5 years to do with hunting; and one of them was found innocent, the other was charged with disturbance of game for shining a light into forestry.

2 carcass out of tens if not hundreds of thousands of deer is not a serious problem. More deer get killed on the roads with cars, that to be fair is where most of the side of the road stuff comes from

Tack, il shout you names from my local herd and you be surprised. Just because it not in the paper dosnt make it false. Tullamore tribune? FFS.
    If you wanna kno about pochers in our area, il give you a name. One that is fairly popular in the shooting scene. To say it is not a wide spread problem is bullshine

Dusty87 wrote: »
    il give you a name
    Not in public, please...

Obviously:rolleyes: Thats why i didnt mention the name. You know said person too sparkles, as does most people here. il say no more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

charged with shining a light and disturbance of game ..were they fined or locked up ? where did this happen ? . do you have a link to the case.

if a person shots a deer they own it ( if ) the have the sporting rights on the lands they shot it on .

make statements with out evidence ,,how did they prove the guy you speak of , in the shining a light case get charged .

to get a prosecution for poaching is a nightmare ,there is so many factors .our idea is the hassle poachers enough that they move off .there is not area is ireland that holds deer that is not been poached .

with the two main game dealers in a bit of a price war ,animals are in demand 1.60 a pound for clean shot animals .

where did you get the figures of RTAs and poaching from ,or did you just make up that bit .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭zulu_dawn

Andyh85 i read your post and i suppose in my naivety i did not believe it, or more so i did not want to believe it.
    After the match i brought baby for a drive, where low and behold, there was a deer (pricket) dumped on the southbound ditch on the N9, just outside shankill, paulstown, co kilkenny.
    i took pictures, but i am not PC good, i am unable to post them up (i dont understand this URL link thing).

GUYS - for one and all Wild Deer Ireland have a campaign going to report wildlife crime - please try and support this campaign.
    see weblink, http://www.wilddeerireland.com/report-crime.html
    there is a form here that can be completed and returned by email to wilddeerireland@gmail.com, We ALL have to pull together as Country Sports People to try stop, curtail and/or inhibit this type of person(s) and/or activities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,705 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

[QUOTE=

GUYS - for one and all Wild Deer Ireland have a campaign going to report wildlife crime - please try and support this campaign.
    see weblink, http://www.wilddeerireland.com/report-crime.html
    there is a form here that can be completed and returned by email to wilddeerireland@gmail.com, We ALL have to pull together as Country Sports People to try stop, curtail and/or inhibit this type of person(s) and/or activities.[/QUOTE]

Interesting that my post has been completely ignored by hunters on here.
    I do not need evidence in terms of articles in the newspapers for one, since this is all going on outside my door, and I know from other sources of poaching in my area. Tbh it doesn't seem to be the secret society that some people on here claim it is, not where I am anyway.

Zulu_Dawn I will be sure to use the reporting link above in the future, and thanks. Had checked out that site in previous years looking for this type of information but it wasn't on then.

It is very hard for someone who doesn't hunt to tell which is legal or illegal, I wish they had added a quick checklist of signs that something illegal is going on.
    By reading the linked article on that site to deer poaching I realized what I thought was simply the old rabbit dazzling, is probably lamping.

Hard to gather evidence though, when it's night time, I'm hardly going to walk up the road with a torchlight to record their registration, especially since there are so few houses in my area. I'll be sure to take a pic of carcass next time (I'm sure there will be a next time) and post it on here, and look for evidence around it too.