Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Please help me...

• 02-09-2010 9:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056020155

Mods, sorry to be posting this here but I've posted in animal forum & am not getting a reply.
    I also posted in emergency services to get the advice of a Guard but no reply yet.

Please guys, I need to get this situation sorted & I need to get it sorted fast.
    And if you could refrain from making jokes I'd really appreciate it. My stomach is in a knot thinking about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I wouldn't treat a dog like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭The Highwayman

If it means that much to you go round and ring the doorbell, man-up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Sounds bad OP, not sure if it's the job of the Gardai, but no harm to make a complaint with them,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

Give them another call I reckon and explain how concerned you are.

That would be the first thing to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

easyeason3 wrote: »
    My stomach is in a knot thinking about it.

Or maybe you have worms too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭OneForTheTeam

Throw some food and try and place a bowl of water over the wall? Would help untill someone comes to check it out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

If it means that much to you go round and ring the doorbell, man-up

There's no one home & they have been approached already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

Forget about getting into trub, go in and get the poor thing out. Go on OP ! :(

Edit; Yes at least throw over some food for her ! Good idea!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Get photos OP, and keep on at the ISPCA until something is done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Pop around and tell them that people have been talking and offer to take their dog. You now have a pet and the little frigger wont have to live with those a$$holes

There's no one home & they have been approached already.

If there is no-one home then the coast is clear, rescue her!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,311 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Burn the house down and the Fire Brigade will rescue the dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

Keep calling the ISPCA until they send someone around. Call every morning, lunchtime and in the evening until they get the message that you won't stop until this matter has received some attention.

Fair play to you and your mate for your restraint, if that were me I'd be breaking into that garden right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭Richard tea

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056020155

Mods, sorry to be posting this here but I've posted in animal forum & am not getting a reply.
    I also posted in emergency services to get the advice of a Guard but no reply yet.

Please guys, I need to get this situation sorted & I need to get it sorted fast.
    And if you could refrain from making jokes I'd really appreciate it. My stomach is in a knot thinking about it.

You do realise that the ISPCA could be making one of those - Im a poor old starving neglected dog - ads and if you interfere you will spoil the shoot. My advice would be to search for the cameras first...and you can take that one to the bank. No thanks required :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

You do realise that the ISPCA could be making one of those - Im a poor old starving neglected dog - ads and if you interfear you will spoil the shoot. My advice would be to search for the cameras first...and you can take that one to the bank. No thanks required :)
    ... Seriously, this thread is about a dying animal. Did you really think this was in any way funny or appropriate?

The Gardai have no authority in the matter - your local authority are the ones to contact if the ISPCA haven't done anything, as they are providing the service on behalf of the local authority.

As another poster said - take some photos & keep them for reference. Be aware though, that if the dog is taken into a shelter, it is quite likely that it will destroyed as a lot of animals are never re-homed.

However, it may stop your neighbour from doing the same again. If it goes to court, he can be disqualified from keeping a dog if he is convicted of cruelty to a dog under the Protection of Animals Acts 1911 and 1965.

Link to the Act; http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1965/en/act/pub/0010/index.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I'd call the Gardai.. they'll either tell you that they can't do anything or make sure that those who can do so in a prompt fashion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭boardgirl

what county are you in?

If I take the dog, which I'm very tempted to do, then it will fall directly back on my friend & she has to live beside them.

Also I want these pr!cks to be prosecuted so that they are named & shamed & hopefully will be banned from ever owning another animal ever again.

Food & water are being passed in to the dog but she is afraid of human contact so it would be nearly impossible to catch her.

Can the Guards do anything?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭OneForTheTeam

I will go in and take him if your anywhere near me. Im in kerry.

Hon. Secretary: Ms. Marie O'Byrne, 45 Millmount Ave., Drumcondra, Dublin 9.
    Telephone: 01 837 56 30

General Queries and other Emergency: 01 - 8375630

If I take the dog, which I'm very tempted to do, then it will fall directly back on my friend & she has to live beside them.

Also I want these pr!cks to be prosecuted so that they are named & shamed & hopefully will be banned from ever owning another animal ever again.

Food & water are being passed in to the dog but she is afraid of human contact so it would be nearly impossible to catch her.

Can the Guards do anything?

No. See my last post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭chelseavera

if you're prepared to make a statement - the Gardai should help, there is a offences against animals. If you dont make a statement though... might be hard to get them involved. Sounds horrific. Hope you get somewhere with this. I despair about how cruel we are to animals.

boardgirl wrote: »
    Hon. Secretary: Ms. Marie O'Byrne, 45 Millmount Ave., Drumcondra, Dublin 9.
    Telephone: 01 837 56 30

General Queries and other Emergency: 01 - 8375630

Also;

National Animal Cruelty Helpline 1890 515 515

and...

ISPCA Head Office
    National Animal Centre,Derryglogher Lodge,
    Keenagh,Co. Longford,
    Ireland,
    Tel: 043 33 250 35

Ok guys, I think I have the answers I need now.

Thanks very much for the helpful advice, seriously I really appreciate it.

And Mods thanks for leaving this open & not moving it, it has been a great help.

To the one or two that made jokes I specifically asked posters not to do that in the opening post.
    I personally don't see the humour in an animal being starved, beaten & left for dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

Let us know what happens if you can!

good luck and let us know how you get on

Good luck OP !!!! :) Let us know what happens!

To the one or two that made jokes I specifically asked posters not to do that in the opening post.
    I personally don't see the humour in an animal being starved, beaten & left for dead.

In all fairness, you can't post anything in AH & expect people not to make jokes - especially when you ask posters not to. It's like a red rag to a bull.

And Frada's one was funny, regardless of the situation of the animal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭axel rose

I'm a great believer in the written word. If you can sneak a few photos of the conditions of the dog, and write out the nature of your concern and drop it off to the co council (I think the environment section is over the dog warden). You don't have to leave a real name.

In the meantime throw a few scraps over the wall. I admire your concern op, too many people 'wouldn't want to get involved.'

Let us know how you get on.

axel rose wrote: »

Welcome to the Jungle.

In all fairness, you can't post anything in AH & expect people not to make jokes - especially when you ask posters not to. It's like a red rag to a bull.

And Frada's one was funny, regardless of the situation of the animal.

Yep I know it's AH but it would have been nice if jokes were not made.

However Frada did lift my black mood momentarily. If I start scratching my arse off the ground & eating lots of grass I'll let ye know :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

However Frada did lift my black mood momentarily.

I live to give.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭axel rose

Welcome to the Jungle.
    Say that to me again and I'm off!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

why did you say there were no replies given in the animal forum when there is clearly loads of replies!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭Erica<3

If there is no one home, go in take the dog, and bring it to the vets. They will see the severity and action will be taken.

I'm in a similar situation, except it's with horses, and there is literally nothing i can do.

mink_man wrote: »
    why did you say there were no replies given in the animal forum when there is clearly loads of replies!!!

I posted the thread in the Animal forum at 21.39. The first reply I got was at 22.36 in the Animal forum. I think there was about 16 views of the thread but no replies even though people were posting in different threads during that time.

I posted this thread at 22.30.

Erica<3 wrote: »
    If there is no one home, go in take the dog, and bring it to the vets. They will see the severity and action will be taken.

I'm in a similar situation, except it's with horses, and there is literally nothing i can do.

To be honest I think the dog might have to be put to sleep. She's in an awful state physically but she is also terrified of people which will make it very difficult to gain her confidence. She is a wreck. I hate to say it but putting her to sleep would nearly be kind at this stage.
    I have some chicken in the fridge & will cook up some rice for her tomorrow to see if I can get near her & let her know I don't plan on giving her a beating.

DSPCA should help with the horses & I'd ring the Dept of Agriculture too.

Oddly enough, members of the Gardai have the right to seize and detain a horse if they suspect that the horse is:

* a stray
    * causing a nuisance
    * being mistreated
    * not under adequate control
    * posing a threat to other people or property
    * posing a threat to the health and welfare of other people and animals
    * not identifiable or capable of being identified
    * in need of veterinary attention and is unlikely to receive this care
    * in an area/kept in an area/being ridden/driven in an area where it is not allowed by your local authority
    * kept in a local authority Control Area without a licence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭happyoutish

Fair play to you OP.. its people like you that help animals out of a very bad situation..

I hope it all turns out good.. when your going to feed the dog.. just talk softly to her/him their more then likely used to a firm and angry voice and will be terrified, if you keep it nice and calm they'll come around... hopefully..

Best of luck... let us know how you get on... :D

And again well done to you :D

To be honest I think the dog might have to be put to sleep. She's in an awful state physically but she is also terrified of people which will make it very difficult to gain her confidence. She is a wreck. I hate to say it but putting her to sleep would nearly be kind at this stage.
    I have some chicken in the fridge & will cook up some rice for her tomorrow to see if I can get near her & let her know I don't plan on giving her a beating.

DSPCA should help with the horses & I'd ring the Dept of Agriculture too.

They can't, because they would only throw back at us why we didn't try and stop it since it's in the same yard (just a different set of stables) even though the ****er has been up in court 3 times for cruelty to the horses he trains (DOESN'T EVEN OWN) and NOTHING has been done. Yet if we were to make yet another complaint, we'd all be done with him for failure to help the horses.

Even though he's in his own area, with different people helping him train and muck out those stables, and none of our horses are down there.

It makes my ****ing blood boil.

Anyway, take that dog, present it to the vet and they should be able to get the immediate attention of the ISPCA. And if the poor little thing has to be put down, then the owners should be served with a sentence, or at least a spell in court.

What breed is the dog by the way?

They can't, because they would only throw back at us why we didn't try and stop it since it's in the same yard (just a different set of stables) even though the ****er has been up in court 3 times for cruelty to the horses he trains (DOESN'T EVEN OWN) and NOTHING has been done. Yet if we were to make yet another complaint, we'd all be done with him for failure to help the horses.

Even though he's in his own area, with different people helping him train and muck out those stables, and none of our horses are down there.

It makes my ****ing blood boil.

Anyway, take that dog, present it to the vet and they should be able to get the immediate attention of the ISPCA. And if the poor little thing has to be put down, then the owners should be served with a sentence, or at least a spell in court.

What breed is the dog by the way?

Jesus I've heard it all now. Pity the d!ckhead trainer doesn't get a kick to the head from a hoof, might knock some sense into him.

She's some kind of a terrier cross. I have some chicken in the fridge & will cook up some rice tomorrow to see if she eats that. She won't come near anyone though no matter what you do or what food is in your hand. She is terrified of people.
    My friend has been feeding her & giving her water but she still won't go near her, if my friend tries to approach her she starts to shake & gets really aggressive.
    It's a sorry sight.

Ah stop that's not even half of the stuff he does, one of his fillies is cut up from trying to escape and another horse bit a piece of a kids cheek.And he STILL got away with it. They haven't even got proper rugs, no bedding, standing in their own ****e, and if they have no bedding their hocks (like their ankles on the back legs) get deformed. It makes me so mad.

Well little terriers are people friendly dogs, normally, just when you go in, don't go straight for her, gently make your way to her, all the while talking in a sweet voice ('Good girl' etc...)
    Bring a towel to catch her up in and an oven mit to cover yourself in case she goes for you. It sounds silly I know, but it may save your arm a scar or two!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭RosyLily

Poor dog! Well done OP on trying to help the poor thing, God knows it's not getting much from the owners.
    Animal cruelty really makes my blood boil!! We have a dog at home (Jack Russell terrier) and I would go frickin' mental if anyone tried to hurt him.
    I don't understand how anyone can be that cruel to an innocent animal. They should never be allow to own animals ever again...not even goldfish!!

Keep onto the Co. Council and RSPCA about the dog, morning noon and night. Don't rest until that wretched pup is away from them pricks!! And throw in food and water to him/her. Good luck. Hope this has a happy ending.

Ah stop that's not even half of the stuff he does, one of his fillies is cut up from trying to escape and another horse bit a piece of a kids cheek.And he STILL got away with it. They haven't even got proper rugs, no bedding, standing in their own ****e, and if they have no bedding their hocks (like their ankles on the back legs) get deformed. It makes me so mad.

Well little terriers are people friendly dogs, normally, just when you go in, don't go straight for her, gently make your way to her, all the while talking in a sweet voice ('Good girl' etc...)
    Bring a towel to catch her up in and an oven mit to cover yourself in case she goes for you. It sounds silly I know, but it may save your arm a scar or two!

What's he training them for?
    I presume he trains them to sell on, I can't imagine anyone leaving a horse into him if that's the way he runs a yard.

She won't go for me when I leave the food in. She will get very distressed though if I go to catch her & her life is miserable enough without me frightening her.

Your neighbour sounds like a d!ck.

What's he training them for?
    I presume he trains them to sell on, I can't imagine anyone leaving a horse into him if that's the way he runs a yard.

She won't go for me when I leave the food in. She will get very distressed though if I go to catch her & her life is miserable enough without me frightening her.

Your neighbour sounds like a d!ck.

People buy horses for racing, and send them to him to be trained.

And he doesn't run the yard, he just keeps horses there, and he's not my neighbour, i also keep my horse there, but in the other part.

Have a box handy with a towel in it in your friends house if you do catch her so she can have somewhere soft to sit. Is she kept outside? And if you're gentle enough, and don't get antsy with her, she should relax easily into you. Dogs are like horses, they sense when you're nervous and thus puts them on edge since the human is meant to be the protector.

People buy horses for racing, and send them to him to be trained.

And he doesn't run the yard, he just keeps horses there, and he's not my neighbour, i also keep my horse there, but in the other part.

Have a box handy with a towel in it in your friends house if you do catch her so she can have somewhere soft to sit. Is she kept outside? And if you're gentle enough, and don't get antsy with her, she should relax easily into you. Dogs are like horses, they sense when you're nervous and thus puts them on edge since the human is meant to be the protector.

I'm going to try the ISPCA again tomorrow first.
    She's abandoned outside.
    I'm used to dogs so even if she does snap it doesn't bother me. That's just her way of saying she's afraid. I had to get a tetanus injection last week so I'm up to date on my vaccinations:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭KevinVonSpiel

Throw some food and try and place a bowl of water over the wall? Would help untill someone comes to check it out.

An immensely intelligent post. Seriously.

Hi OP, any news??? :eek::(

*been worryin !

Waiting on someone from the ISPCA to call out. Still feeding the dog through the fence & still no sign of the owner.

Poor little pet will need a lot of work.