Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it illegal...........

• 01-09-2010 1:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭

Is it illegal to drive with headphones in your ears?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭D-Generate

Might not be illegal but its incredibly dumb and inconsiderate for the safety of other users of the roads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

nope, sure some bluetooth headsets have headphones. :)

oh wait, headphones/earphones different things?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭Doylers

D-Generate wrote: »
    Might not be illegal but its incredibly dumb and inconsiderate for the safety of other users of the roads.

True that.
    mink_man wrote: »
    nope, sure some bluetooth headsets have headphones. :)

oh wait, headphones/earphones different things?

Well headphones/earphones are different,one goes on your ears and the other goes in your ears, we can just say for the sake of this there basically the same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭McSpud

I don't understand why this would be illegal or dangerous. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

D-Generate wrote: »
    Incredibly dumb? Left lane on a roundabout taking the right exit is dumb. Driving in the fog at 80mph is incredibly dumb. Wearing earphones while driving? I wouldn't even put it on the scale. It's about the same as listening to the radio. I listen to the radio all the time. I don't see how listening to my favourite songs is putting anyone else at risk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

McSpud wrote: »

That's quite scary

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

McSpud wrote: »

Wow. Of course it's dangerous, that's obvious.

The Rules of the Road page 39 state:
    As a road user you should avoid using personal entertainment systems through earphones. These, systems, for example personal radios and MP3 players, can distract you, and may prove dangerous when driving or crossing the road. Cyclists in particular should avoid using these systems, as they rely on their hearing while on the road.

If you do use a personal or in-car system, play it at a volume that does not distract or prevent you from hearing emergency sirens or car horns.

So while not explicitly illegal, a Garda would have a certain amount of discretion in prosecting for dangerous or inconsiderate driving if he/she reckoned usage impaired driving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

It could be classed as driving without due care and attention

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

Why do people keep referring to the Rules of the Road? They are not the Law.

Oh, and deaf people are allowed drive too :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Let's just say there's an ambulance behind you on a sunny day.
    The sun may be so bright you don't see the blue lights, and then you cannot hear the siren either.
    Or someone shouting or beeping or just about anything.

If you insist then maybe just use one ear bud.

But we constantly see people going around with the radio on full tilt and you can hear it a mile away, whats the difference between that and headphones? Assuming there not noise cancelling headphones.

What about travelling on a motor way? What if you wish to enjoy you music in better quality and better sound? You wont have to face roundabouts or ambulances or anything.

I agree that around town it is quite stupid especially if there was an ambulance trying to get by

biko wrote: »
    Let's just say there's an ambulance behind you on a sunny day.
    The sun may be so bright you don't see the blue lights, and then you cannot hear the siren either.
    Or someone shouting or beeping or just about anything.

If you insist then maybe just use one ear bud.
    Time to get the eyes tested then if that happened, cause if you're that blind then maybe you should check under the wheel arch for human remains.
    Typical Boards PC-Brigade coming down in spades on a trivial matter. If you're not paying attention cause you're listening to music then you're the sort to not pay attention no matter what.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

Gophur wrote: »
    Why do people keep referring to the Rules of the Road? They are not the Law.
    Because they comply with and reflect the Law and promote safer driving. They're obviously Good Practice.

Gophur wrote: »
    Oh, and deaf people are allowed drive too :D
    Subject to medical report.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Tzetze

Deaf people can hold a driving licence in Ireland. I think that invalidates the argument for not being able to hear horns/sirens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Viper_JB

Tzetze wrote: »
    Deaf people can hold a driving licence in Ireland. I think that invalidates the argument for not being able to hear horns/sirens.

Yer that's all I could think of when reading this tread, I'd be of the opinion that if you can't see the other traffic hearing it ain't going to make all that much of a difference, now in saying that I wouldn't drive with ear phones on....but my radio would be pretty loud normally. I'd like to think that people drive off of what they can see over what they can hear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭bazzachazza

Simple answer is NO it's just plain stupid if it inhibits your ability to hear emergency vehicles approaching etc or distracts you.

Also goes for having your radio up too loud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

yup very true... i have come across one deaf driver in my life.

for the purpose of this thread.

i believe it to be fine to have just one earphone in... (blue tooth headset and what not)

but two in at once i believe to be stupid.

No it doesn't. To be in complete control of a car you need to rely on all your senses. If you can't hear what's going on around you your driving is impared. Then take into account the distraction of messing with your iPod or whatever and ear buds dangling about or maybe falling out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭Jokesetal

Took a call on my mobile and got pulled over by the Gardai (and rightly so), given a warning and told to use handsfree/headphones if I had them.
    I can see the arguement for cyclists but not for motorists to the same extent.

But how about this: I often have to stop fully before taking left turns while Joe Soap walks across off the footpath at small junctions with headphones on and doesn't bother looking! I can see him, but they can't hear me.

Jokesetal wrote: »
    But how about this: I often have to stop fully before taking left turns while Joe Soap walks across off the footpath at small junctions with headphones on and doesn't bother looking! I can see him, but they can't hear me.

Could just as easily happen to someone with headphones changing lanes into an oncoming ambulance that was in their blindspot...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Viper_JB

EPM wrote: »
    Could just as easily happen to someone with headphones changing lanes into an oncoming ambulance that was in their blindspot...

I would be of the opinion that you should always check your blind spot before changing lanes, in saying that I agree that headphones on while driving just seems like a bad idea...and just doesn't really make sense.

Viper_JB wrote: »
    I would be of the opinion that you should always check your blind spot before changing lanes, in saying that I agree that headphones on while driving just seems like a bad idea...and just doesn't really make sense.

I know, but many people just give a quick glance. If you cant hear a danger...

EPM wrote: »

Could as easily happen without headphones either? My agruement is that some drivers/walkers (not all) seem incapable of turning their necks to play it safe. It's only when you've been hit that you'll remember it! (our car was written off because a car coming from a junction on the left didn't look and drove straight out!)

Jokesetal wrote: »
    Could as easily happen without headphones either?

Well you'd be able to hear it better without your ears blocked;)

My final 2 cents: A driver/cyclist/pedestrian must be used as their eyes as the primary sense IMO. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Im pretty sure it is illegal, or if its not it could at least be construed as driving without due care and attention. Either way its not something that you should be doing.

Is it any different than driving with the radio turned up full tilt. When I'm on a journey alone I always have the radio very loud and I wouldn't hear any more than if I had head phones in. I don't do it myself and cant see a reason to drive with head phones but I dont think its much different to the radio.

I would not be using sound for anything on the road tbh, you should be spotting emergency vehicles and hazards with your eyes.

Is it any different than driving with the radio turned up full tilt. When I'm on a journey alone I always have the radio very loud and I wouldn't hear any more than if I had head phones in.

I would not be using sound for anything on the road tbh, you should be spotting emergency vehicles and hazards with your eyes.

Youre sitting at traffic lights, you cant see the road to the right, there is an ambulance coming full tilt down the road but you cant hear it because you have your earphones in/radio up full blast so you just take off when the lights turn green. Sounds like a far fetched scenario? Try sitting at the lights in Naas when approaching from the Newbridge road; happens at least once a day.

Its not safe to rely on just your sight when driving, hence its not safe to drive with headphones in or with the radio at an excessive volume.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

djimi wrote: »
    Youre sitting at traffic lights, you cant see the road to the right, there is an ambulance coming full tilt down the road but you cant hear it because you have your earphones in/radio up full blast so you just take off when the lights turn green. Sounds like a far fetched scenario? Try sitting at the lights in Naas when approaching from the Newbridge road; happens at least once a day.

Its not safe to rely on just your sight when driving, hence its not safe to drive with headphones in or with the radio at an excessive volume.
    Defo I drive that junction everyday
    droppin the young1 to school, goin to and from work and i see this happen alot

In built up areas that's true, but out in the open road if you can't see an ambulance coming up behind you, then it's not your hearing that needs to be checked. I just see ambulances, they're very hard to miss. They appear in your rear view. How can you say that loud music would cause you to miss one? Set the feckin mirror correctly.

I didn't say completely relay on sight but sound should be a last resort, you will most likely still hear the ambulance anyway as the sound is audible even over very loud music etc.

In any case the ambulance will/should not blast through the lights they will edge out into the junction at which point you should see them and can allow them through.

Its most likely the radio would be loud, someone would wear headphones on the open road anyway and not in the city/traffic.

Ambulances rarely if ever have the siren turned on on the open road anyway, just the lights.

Its most likely the radio would be loud, someone would wear headphones on the open road anyway and not in the city/traffic.
    really???? is that a fact???? its ok so problem solved no one does it in traffic lads close thread:cool:

Come on now seriously, ya just have to drive through any town, any day to hear people goin past with music blaring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭bmw535d

i don't know about anyone one else but i feel less in control when i cant here every sound the car makes. when ya listen to the engine revs ya can make smoother gear changes/take offs. i also be listen for cracks or bangs while driving. you don't know when something could break in a car and if you have loud music on you wont hear it to its to late, say a wheel coming loose or something. overkill i know but it could happen, and its not that i drive old dodgy cars either.

really???? is that a fact???? its ok so problem solved no one does it in traffic lads close thread:cool:

Come on now seriously, ya just have to drive through any town, any day to hear people goin past with music blaring

I'm quite bad myself for having the music up load even in traffic but I can still hear sirens, they cut right through the music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,031 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Any extra distraction while driving is at best not good.
    That includes, passengers, radio, all those kinda things. Some however are necessary and cant be avoided.
    Driving with earphones, in my opinion is pretty daft as well, its a massive extra distraction + the associated fiddling with volume and track controls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,723 ✭✭✭CR 7

Why do people think being deaf would be the same as having headphones in?
    Why don't ye try wearing a blindfold and walking around with only a cane for a day. Not as easy as ye think?

Deaf people have their lives to adapt to not hearing things, and will be paying extra attention. While wearing headphones, you're gonna be paying less attention.

It should be illegal.

I'm quite bad myself for having the music up load even in traffic but I can still hear sirens, they cut right through the music.
    I had a few cars that i spent a few quid on decent speakers and I can tell you now if you had them turned up full whack you'd do well to hear a shotgun fired beside your car and i see lads all the time with similar drive through the town with it full blast.

No, they dont. I learned that lesson when I started out; had Metallica or something blaring on the radio and realised there was a fire engine coming up behind me that I couldnt hear. To a certain level the siren will cut thru the music but there comes a point where it simply doesnt.

Tea 1000 wrote: »
    In built up areas that's true, but out in the open road if you can't see an ambulance coming up behind you, then it's not your hearing that needs to be checked. I just see ambulances, they're very hard to miss. They appear in your rear view. How can you say that loud music would cause you to miss one? Set the feckin mirror correctly.

Theres plenty of country roads Ive been on where you wouldnt necessarily see an ambulance coming until the last minute because they are so windy or whatever. Its all well and good to say you should see everything; on nice wide open roads this is true, but there are lot of bad country roads in Ireland where you dont have much of a view in front or behind you, and its on these roads that you rely on more than just what you see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

We need the Rumbler :)

Sound

I didn't say completely relay on sight but sound should be a last resort, you will most likely still hear the ambulance anyway as the sound is audible even over very loud music etc.

In any case the ambulance will/should not blast through the lights they will edge out into the junction at which point you should see them and can allow them through.

Ambulances rarely if ever have the siren turned on on the open road anyway, just the lights.

If an ambulance has someone in the back who is dying and needs to get to the hospital ASAP believe me they take risks at junctions. I have seen it first hand plenty of times. The reason they have a siren is to tell everyone to get the f**k out of their way. If you cant hear that siren then you are putting your own safety in jeopardy and possibly someone elses life as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

So, because deaf people are allowed to drive, that makes it OK to drive with headphones on? Does the fact that one-armed people may drive also mean its OK to drive one-handed? FFS people, take driving seriously.You need every scrap of your senses otherwise people might die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Was talking to shades about this before - you can be done for it!

Mc Love wrote: »
    Was talking to shades about this before - you can be done for it!

Specify. For having two earphones in? For using them as a hands-free or having music on. More details lol

If u were to use them as a hands free does it make them legal ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

Driving without due care and attention, you can be done for it. I was threatened with it when I was driving motorcycles, and in fairness it was a stupid thing to do.

Driving with the radio at full tilt is equally stupid. You are more likely to be distracted by music (who hasn't turned up the volume with a "F*ck yeah, I love this song!" comment in their heads?). Drivers need to use every aid they can to make themselves and other road users safer, including their hearing.

Cyclists really need to cut that sh*t out too, this morning on Queen Street I was stopped where the Luas was heading towards Connolly. The lights went green after the tram and I went to go forward, I'm only ~10ft from the junction and this cyclist bombs it past on the luas tracks, head down thumping away to the music on his iPod, nearly knocked the guy into next week. I think he'd have heard the cars starting to move without the music, or at least he mightn't have had the head down, bopping along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,823 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

bmw535d wrote: »
    i don't know about anyone one else but i feel less in control when i cant here every sound the car makes. when ya listen to the engine revs ya can make smoother gear changes/take offs. i also be listen for cracks or bangs while driving. you don't know when something could break in a car and if you have loud music on you wont hear it to its to late, say a wheel coming loose or something. overkill i know but it could happen, and its not that i drive old dodgy cars either.

LOL, I have an old car, and I turn the thing up so I CAN'T hear stuff!

And, tbh, we have a (from new) VW transporter 1.9 pickup at work. Radio off, phone off, IT would deafen you. So, like everything else, it's all relative.
    If an ambulance has someone in the back who is dying and needs to get to the hospital ASAP believe me they take risks at junctions. I have seen it first hand plenty of times. l.
    Where I work, we build ambulance's. And, for that, we had to go to MIRA and get our work tested & certified. For ambulances, one of the most common accidents is........through the roof ! :eek: Why.........ah....because, they quite often get T-boned at junctions, roll...........and guess which part of the vehicle is now exposed to oncoming traffic.............the 'part-that-was-the-roof-and-is-now-a-wall-facing-you' - the roof !
    Driving without due care and attention, you can be done for it. I was threatened with it when I was driving motorcycles, and in fairness it was a stupid thing to do.

Cyclists really need to cut that sh*t out too, this morning on Queen Street I was stopped where the Luas was heading towards Connolly. ....

On the motorbike though, earplugs are a safety item, as they filter out high frequency windnoise, and leave you hear sounds: vehicles, people, even, far more clearly.

Cyclists'........oh LOL....don't get me started.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

Whats the point in driving with headphones on in the first place? Its a long time since I've been in a car with no radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

Whats the point in driving with headphones on in the first place? Its a long time since I've been in a car with no radio.

Cos people listen to their iPods in the car, from what i've seen the headphones are most often white which can be a bit of a giveaway.
    iPod integration is a fairly new feature in cars, and if people aren't going to buy phone car kits they're sure not going to bother with ipod interfaces, fm tuners etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭u140acro3xs7dm

I was in a taxi recently and the driver had earphones in. but then again they own the road so can do what they like.