Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Glasgow vs Leinster (Firhill 3rd September 2010)

• 01-09-2010 9:22am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭

Another slightly understrength Leinster squad heading to Glasgow, but will be good to see some of the younger players. I will be heading up after watching the soccer in the pub, Friday afternoon will be very productive work wise :D
    Stan Wright (Achilles), Leo Cullen (shoulder) and Kevin McLaughlin (shoulder/knee) remain long-term absentees ahead of Leinster's opening Magners League encounter against the Glasgow Warrios on Friday.

Aside from a number of bumps and bruises the panel is unchanged from the pre-season friendly against Leicester Tigers in Welford Road last weekend.

Leinster are hopeful that Mike Ross (calf) will be available for selection for the clash in Firhill. The prop will train on Wednesday and a decision on his availability will be made when the team is announced after training on Wednesday afternoon.

Leinster's international contingent continued their strength and conditioning programme this week and there's a possibility that up to two Ireland players could be available, depending on the outcome of fitness tests within the squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭cython

Glasgow vs Leinster (Firhill 3rd September 2011)

Announcing teams well in advance these days..... :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

cython wrote: »
    Announcing teams well in advance these days..... :P

Argh not thinking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭LeeroyJones

GLASGOW WARRIORS:

15: Bernardo Stortoni CAPTAIN
    14: DTH van der Merwe
    13: Max Evans
    12: Graeme Morrison
    11: Federico Aramburu
    10: Ruaridh Jackson
    9: Henry Pyrgos

1: Jon Welsh
    2: Fergus Thomson
    3: Moray Low
    4: Tom Ryder
    5: Richie Gray
    6: Ryan Wilson
    7: Chris Fusaro
    8: Richie Vernon

REPLACEMENTS:

16: Pat MacArthur
    17: Ed Kalman
    18: Ryan Grant
    19: Aly Muldowney
    20: Rob Harley
    21: Duncan Weir
    22: Hefin O'Hare
    23: Peter Murchie

Leinster squad to face Glasgow Warriors...

FORWARDS: John Fogarty, Mariano Galarza, Jamie Heaslip, Nathan Hines, Stephen Keogh, Jack McGrath, Sean O’Brien, Ed O’Donoghue, Ben Prescott, Mike Ross, Dominic Ryan, Simon Shawe, Richardt Strauss, Heinke van der Merwe

BACKS: Isaac Boss, Luke Fitzgerald, Shane Horgan, Ian Madigan, Fergus McFadden, Niall Morris, Isa Nacewa, Paul O’Donohoe, Eoin O’Malley, Eamonn Sheridan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

Thats one crap Glasgow pack compared to last season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Worst Glasgee backrow imaginable. We've really got to take the chance we've been given here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

Worst Glasgee backrow imaginable. We've really got to take the chance we've been given here.

Really? I was just thinking that they'll have too much for us. Very good tight five and some decent backs too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Brown and Parks gone. Kellock, Barclay, Beattie and Cusiter injured. Thom Evans retired.

Paraphrasing Bill O'Herlihy, "Good night and God Bless" to Glasgow.

If the strongest team is named from that squad, I wouldn't put it past a Leinster BP win.*

/logs on to PP :D

*Jinxed. ;)

I wouldn't go that far thomond, I think Leinster would be delighted to scrape a win myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,073 ✭✭✭Digifriendly

Really? I was just thinking that they'll have too much for us. Very good tight five and some decent backs too.

Who's Tom Ryder and who's Jon Welsh? In their backs I agree but who's Henry Pyrgos?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Who's Tom Ryder and who's Jon Welsh? In their backs I agree but who's Henry Pyrgos?

Jon Welsh is a very good young prop, very strong scrummager.

Not sure about a few of the others.

Welsh is a great young prop. He'll be a regular international soon enough. Don't know much about Ryder other than he's there on loan from Saracens. And I've never heard of Pyrgos. They seem to be scraping the bottom of the barrell as far as the backrow is concerned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

Any guesses on the Leinster captain?

Heaslip?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

One of the Three B's is gone, the others are injured. Best backrow in the Magners last season I'd reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭GAA_PUNTER

• Closed Accounts Posts: 388 ✭✭redroar1942

danthefan wrote: »
    Jon Welsh is a very good young prop, very strong scrummager.

Not sure about a few of the others.

Watched him demolish Buckley at the start of last season in what I think was only his 3rd/4th start in the Magners.

Without a shadow of a doubt he's going to have a long international career

Watched him demolish Buckley at the start of last season in what I think was only his 3rd/4th start in the Magners.

Without a shadow of a doubt he's going to have a long international career

I remember that alright, himself and Horan were absolutely destroyed, Low started that day too I think.

LEINSTER:

15: Luke Fitzgerald
    14: Shane Horgan
    13: Eoin O’Malley
    12: Fergus McFadden
    11: Niall Morris
    10: Isa Nacewa
    9: Isaac Boss

1: Heinke van der Merwe
    2: Richardt Strauss
    3: Simon Shawe
    4: Nathan Hines
    5: Ed O’Donoghue
    6: Dominic Ryan
    7: Sean O’Brien CAPTAIN
    8: Jamie Heaslip

REPLACEMENTS:

16: John Fogarty
    17: Jack McGrath
    18: Ben Prescott
    19: Mariano Galarza
    20: Stephen Keogh
    21: Paul O’Donohoe
    22: Ian Madigan
    23: Eamonn Sheridan

I like the look of this, BP win is achievable I reckon. Just so long as we can get off to a good opening day away win I'll be content

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭smurphy29

15: Luke Fitzgerald
    14: Shane Horgan
    13: Eoin O’Malley
    12: Fergus McFadden
    11: Niall Morris
    10: Isa Nacewa
    9: Isaac Boss

1: Heinke van der Merwe
    2: Richardt Strauss
    3: Simon Shawe
    4: Nathan Hines
    5: Ed O’Donoghue
    6: Dominic Ryan
    7: Sean O’Brien CAPTAIN
    8: Jamie Heaslip

REPLACEMENTS:

16: John Fogarty
    17: Jack McGrath
    18: Ben Prescott
    19: Mariano Galarza
    20: Stephen Keogh
    21: Paul O’Donohoe
    22: Ian Madigan
    23: Eamonn Sheridan

Sean O'B as captain, very interesting. Looks as if Schmidt is putting a big investment in the Carlow man. And why not? If the game is indeed going to be about ball retention this year, you'd fancy that his carrying ability will be of more value than Jennings' groundwork. Could be a big year for him.

Elsewhere, looks a decent side, I dare say we might have a chance. Isa at 10 indicates we will try and run the ball as much as we can.

Ah here, a BP win!? It's not that dissimilar to the teams that were destroyed by Leicester and Wasps and it's in a ground we don't have a great record in.

I'll admit my glasses are very blue tinted today!

It's that start of the season feeling perhaps!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

I'm pretty happy with the team selected from the players available.

It's an interesting point on the back row. Especially with academy player Dom Ryan being selected, who is an absolute wrecking ball of a 6 and O'Brien being captain.

I'm very disapointed that this wasn't given to Heaslip. Very very disapointed, as I thinkit's crucial that Heaslip is made Leinster captain. If not this season with new coach, then certainly post world cup.

A back-row of 6. McLoughlin 7. O'Brien 8. Heaslip is probably the most physical back-row with the strongest 3 ball carriers you would find anywhere in Europe.

As much as I love Jennings, this is something I'd really like to see being given a string of matches together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭Ciaran-Irl

Agreed. We have a chance of a win if, and only if, we don't get completely mullered in the scrum. That is going to be difficult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

[Jackass] wrote: »

I'm very disapointed that this wasn't given to Heaslip. Very very disapointed, as I thinkit's crucial that Heaslip is made Leinster captain. If not this season with new coach, then certainly post world cup.

I keep hearing that Heaslip will make a good captain but I don't understand where it's come from. Great player sure, but great players don't always make great captains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Gracelessly Tom

Have to agree Risteard. Just can't see Heaslip as a captain. He appears to be too much of a lad and a bit immature at the minute. Fantastic player, one of the best 8's in the world without doubt but not a captain yet IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭outwest

leinster getting a bp win is a longshot. i give them a slight chance in glasgow.

it will be a great start to get a win. but leinter try scroing record last year was the worse in the magenrs bar connacht.

BP win is head in the clouds stuff in fairness lads. I'll take a 1 point win. I know Glasgow are missing a few from last season but it's still a horrible place to try and get a win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,741 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

great to see Dom Ryan selected given he didnt get a contract - met him down the 40 foot , dead on , as our most of the team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭smurphy29

Leinster managed a solitary bonus point last year with the last kick in our last match of the league program. The idea that a patched up side will somehow win one in Firhill in the first match of the season is a bit mad to say the least. If we get any sort of win I'll be delighted. Back row looks decent, the backs don't look bad, hopefully we will play a bit of running rugby and hopefully, hopefully we'll get Fitz into the game as much as possible. I, for one, just cannot wait to see him back in action.

outwest wrote: »
    leinster getting a bp win is a longshot. i give them a slight chance in glasgow.

it will be a great start to get a win. but leinter try scroing record last year was the worse in the magenrs bar connacht.

Lucky for them they had the best defensive one then :eek:

Low scoring borefest me thinks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,375 ✭✭✭padser

Have to agree Risteard. Just can't see Heaslip as a captain. He appears to be too much of a lad and a bit immature at the minute. Fantastic player, one of the best 8's in the world without doubt but not a captain yet IMO.

I would buy that argument if, for example BOD or Darcy or Horgan, or even Kearney or Fitz were being given the captaincy over Heaslip - but when it's a 19 year old who has never even established himself as automatic first choice for the starting XV (last season there were some HC matches where we had SOB fit that we went with McLaughlin, Jennings and Heaslip) saying that Heaslip is 'immature' seems a bit nonsensical.

Is there any chance this has happened because of the All Blacks match? Seems pretty wierd if so.

It strikes me as really wierd that Heaslip, Fitz, Horgan, Nacewa and Hines have all been passed over in favour of O Brien as captain. Hopefully its a sign that the coach thinks SOB is going to mature into a world class 7 this year - that would be awesome! :D

SOB is about 23.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

I'd be thrilled with a win here. I expect to lose though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

I'm a bit out of the loop. Wheres Reddan? I didn't expect Boss to start over him so soon

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Sean O Brien was captain for the 2 friendlies so there is a bit of consistancy in picking him again.

Hard to say why but even harder to say why not. Heaslip while he has more appearances this does not neccarily make him the captain.

Heaslip is a definiie starter for Ireland and is part of the player management scheme. I dont't know if O Brien is part of this but while he has the potential is not a definite starter for Ireland yet so this may mean he will be available for Leinster for the games played during the Autumn Internationals.

Also I think people are reading far too much into this.

I presume Leo Cullen is still the team captain but is injured.

Interesting to see Fitzgerald at full back, isn't Morris usually a full back? Strong enough back line with McFadden and O Malley looking handy enough last season.

More interesting to see set piece and front row get on though! Quite a few newbies in the pack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

Maybe SOB is a natural leader, a player who never loses his cool, a player who is mature and not interested in being seen around town, who knows. I say if they've the right mentality they're good enough.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

profitius wrote: »
    Maybe SOB is a natural leader, a player who never loses his cool, a player who is mature and not interested in being seen around town, who knows. I say if they've the right mentality they're good enough.

That a dig at heaslip?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Is Shaun Berne still at Leinster? Is he injured or how is it that Isa Nacewa is at 10 instead of him?

wixfjord wrote: »
    That a dig at heaslip?

Sure he's a bit weak at the knees. :pac:

Couldn't resist! Sorry Off Topic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

Is Shaun Berne still at Leinster? Is he injured or how is it that Isa Nacewa is at 10 instead of him?

He's out with an achilles injury.

Never heard this, is it serious?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Never heard this, is it serious?

Think I read on lf.com that he's due back sometime around October.

Quite excited to see Nacewa at 10 again, I think the new law interpretations will really suit him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

He's an ok goalkicker too

pithater1 wrote: »
    Think I read on lf.com that he's due back sometime around October.

Quite excited to see Nacewa at 10 again, I think the new law interpretations will really suit him.

I really like Nacewa as a player but I hope we get the Auckland Blues version at 10 as opposed to what we've seen from him for Leinster in that position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

wixfjord wrote: »
    That a dig at heaslip?

Nope. I don't know anything about Heaslips personal life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 785 ✭✭✭ALH-06

pithater1 wrote: »
    I really like Nacewa as a player but I hope we get the Auckland Blues version at 10 as opposed to what we've seen from him for Leinster in that position.

The forum has been VERY outspoken over the last two seasons about how Nacewa should never again be seen in the 10 shirt at Leinster.

I doubt that what we saw of him in that position in the Super 14 will transpire at Firhill, or anywhere else in this Magners League. It goes without saying that the brand of rugby is massively different.

ALH-06 wrote: »
    The forum has been VERY outspoken over the last two seasons about how Nacewa should never again be seen in the 10 shirt at Leinster.

I doubt that what we saw of him in that position in the Super 14 will transpire at Firhill, or anywhere else in this Magners League. It goes without saying that the brand of rugby is massively different.

Can you remember the last game he played at 10 for Leinster?

padser wrote: »
    I would buy that argument if, for example BOD or Darcy or Horgan, or even Kearney or Fitz were being given the captaincy over Heaslip - but when it's a 19 year old who has never even established himself as automatic first choice for the starting XV (last season there were some HC matches where we had SOB fit that we went with McLaughlin, Jennings and Heaslip) saying that Heaslip is 'immature' seems a bit nonsensical.

It strikes me as really wierd that Heaslip, Fitz, Horgan, Nacewa and Hines have all been passed over in favour of O Brien as captain. Hopefully its a sign that the coach thinks SOB is going to mature into a world class 7 this year - that would be awesome! :D

SOB is 23, not 19, and has captained Leinster previously. When I said immature I didn't mean age wise or playing ability wise. Some guys, no matter how good, are just not captain material. He may well develop into a captain but I don't see him as one now. Just my own opinion.

Maybe they want him to just play his game and not worry about the captaincy, some players are poorer on the field with the weight of the armband!

Can you remember the last game he played at 10 for Leinster?

I remember around January 2009 when Leinster played Wasps at Twickenham that lots of posters were not happy with him at 10.

That's nice.

He was good against Edinburgh. He's probably better than Berne as backup 10 anyway.