Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Indicative of what is wrong with Irish politics....

• 31-08-2010 7:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2

http://www.independent.ie/national-n...n-2317989.html

A hurler with no college education, who worked in a frozen foods plant for 12 years and who is now a publican. What on Gods Earth qualifies this guy to be a politician. Surely there are enough highly educated people in Offaly out of work because of the recession who could do a far better job than this guy. Ah but sure he's a team mate of the Hannifys, who are good friends of the Enrights mother, and sure the Enrights have held that seat for the past 40 years so I guess Mr. Whelehan deserves it. These bloody monolopies in Irish politics have to be brought to an end. They are destroying the country. Take a bow Mr. Lenihan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

The beauty of democracy is that the people choose who to vote for.

You are making the distinct mistake of presuming that "educated" people exclusively hold a superior IQ.

You would be wong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Jeboa Safari

If people vote for him then I don't see how you can complain, unless your against democracy. What qualifies anyone to be a politician?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

snyper wrote: »

You are making the distinct mistake of presuming that "educated" people exclusively hold a superior IQ.

You would be wong

Would he be "wong"? I doubt Mr Whelehan knows very much about economics, finance, the law, healthcare administration, science, innovation, international trade etc. - you know, all of the things that would actually come in handy for a job as a national legislator. But, shur, didn't he hit some great points against Kilkenny and he's well-known in d'constichuency, and that's all that matters. And people wonder why we're in the state we're in. I mean, it's utterly appalling that we still have to put up with this sort of aristocratic shít:
    Nevertheless, Fine Gael sources are not writing off the prospect of her brother, Kenneth, or her sister, Gemma, showing an interest.

The Enright family has held the seat for the past 40 years. Ms Enright's father, Tom, was a TD from 1969 to 2002, aside from five years in the Seanad after he lost his seat in 1992. He returned to the Dail in 1997.

Mr Enright is an extremely popular figure in the party and still keeps a close eye on political developments in the constituency.

Aside from the immediate Enright family, there is a strong chance a local hurling hero will become the party's candidate.

Ms Enright's mother, Rita, is a close relative of the former Offaly players Gary and Rory Hanniffy -- a link of which party strategists are well aware.
    But of course, the culchie morons will elect him, and the city morons will vote FF, and that'll be that for another generation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

snyper wrote: »

That's both the best thing about democracy, and the worst thing about democracy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Jeboa Safari

goose2005 wrote: »
    Would he be "wong"? I doubt Mr Whelehan knows very much about economics, finance, the law, healthcare administration, science, innovation, international trade etc. - you know, all of the things that would actually come in handy for a job as a national legislator. But, shur, didn't he hit some great points against Kilkenny and he's well-known in d'constichuency, and that's all that matters. And people wonder why we're in the state we're in. I mean, it's utterly appalling that we still have to put up with this sort of aristocratic shít:
    But of course, the culchie morons will elect him, and the city morons will vote FF, and that'll be that for another generation.

You come across as very condescending. People are given the choice, if they vote him in they vote him in. Why should people vote how you see fit?
    And for the record, if he does run, I don't think he'll get elected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

What is wrong with our National Politics is people are elected based mainly on local issues that Councillors should be dealing with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Some of the smartest people in the country have no college education, your post is a bit condescending.
    I don't know what he did in the factory but he clearly has leadership skills, something lacking in politicians with more formal education

The constituency will either elect or reject him

And I don't think he will be elected

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭hallelujajordan

OP, Your post is hugely condescending . . . One of the great things about democracy is that we can all run for office (regardless of how smart you think we might be) and we can all vote. If you have such a problem with it, why don't you run against him !

You come across as very condescending. People are given the choice, if they vote him in they vote him in. Why should people vote how you see fit?
    Because voting yet another publican into the Dáil, with little or no knowledge of what parliamentary work requires, would be very stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

It is democracy if a publican gets elected but that doesn't mean we can't improve it or the quality of candidates on offer. In France all civil servants must go to a certain university to get an education in administering large scale public departments before they can work in the civil service. Modules include Organisational Dynamics, Budgets, Public & Health Policy, Economic & Social Policy, Change Management, Administration, etc.

Im not suggesting a four year degree for our politicans but I do think they should have to do some sort of one or two year part-time course at some stage in their lives before standing for election. Call it gaining their ticket in safety before they can work on the site.

After all even top end Premier League coaches have to study to get their coaching badges from the Football Association. Why not politicians who are running an entire nation? It should at the very least be a pre-requisite for those who wish to attain Ministerial Portfolios, if not all people seeking to stand as a TD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Vorsprung

...Quietly lols at OP suggesting someone isn't intelligent enough for office and then posts the same article after his first thread was locked...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭hinault

Good and bad.

I don't know Brian Whelehan personally but any time I've seen him interviewed he comes across as a pleasant and intelligent bloke.
    Superb hurler.

Does this make him a good politician?

probably not - but this is the system we have.

For better or worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭mickeypat

democracy doesnt work,ireland needs a dictator/strongman for about 15/20 years to sort the place out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

mickeypat wrote: »
    democracy doesnt work,ireland needs a dictator/strongman for about 15/20 years to sort the place out

I hope you are not serious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭monosharp

Because voting yet another publican into the Dáil, with little or no knowledge of what parliamentary work requires, would be very stupid.

In fairness he's hardly going to be out of his depth relative to the other eejits is he ?

The problem with Irish politics is Irish people. Irish people put unqualified self concerned incompetent greedy idiots in power which says a lot about the majority of Irish voters.

This is a simple case of the proletariat's apathy, division, downright ignorance and a complete inability to come togeather collectively to force change on the system.

The situation as it currently stands has the majority paying for a small minority to maintain privileged positions over them. Ireland is an oligarchy where democracy is a thin veneer over a corrupt system where the minorities only concern is staying in power and getting the best for themselves, the majorities only concern is either keeping above water or joining the minority in a privileged position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭mike kelly

hinault wrote: »
    Good and bad.

I don't know Brian Whelehan personally but any time I've seen him interviewed he comes across as a pleasant and intelligent bloke.
    Superb hurler.

Does this make him a good politician?

probably not - but this is the system we have.

For better or worse.

For worse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

allpro10 wrote: »

A hurler with no college education, who worked in a frozen foods plant for 12 years and who is now a publican. What on Gods Earth qualifies this guy to be a politician. Surely there are enough highly educated people in Offaly out of work because of the recession who could do a far better job than this guy. Ah but sure he's a team mate of the Hannifys, who are good friends of the Enrights mother, and sure the Enrights have held that seat for the past 40 years so I guess Mr. Whelehan deserves it. These bloody monolopies in Irish politics have to be brought to an end. They are destroying the country. Take a bow Mr. Lenihan.

condesending little pr~~k are you not , attidudes like yours has contributed as much to the mess this country is in ,as any poltician ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,084 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

A very suspicious maiden post from the OP, imo.

There is no mention in the linked article about Whelehan having 'worked in a frozen foods plant for 12 years' or of his being 'now a publican'.

Come clean, OP - what's the aginda?

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭dan_d

Setting aside his education, or lack thereof...

He's a hurler (shrugs)

That'll be enough to get him votes.

Parochial politics. We excel at them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭bryanw

RATM wrote: »
    It is democracy if a publican gets elected but that doesn't mean we can't improve it or the quality of candidates on offer. In France all civil servants must go to a certain university to get an education in administering large scale public departments before they can work in the civil service. Modules include Organisational Dynamics, Budgets, Public & Health Policy, Economic & Social Policy, Change Management, Administration, etc.

Im not suggesting a four year degree for our politicans but I do think they should have to do some sort of one or two year part-time course at some stage in their lives before standing for election. Call it gaining their ticket in safety before they can work on the site.

After all even top end Premier League coaches have to study to get their coaching badges from the Football Association. Why not politicians who are running an entire nation? It should at the very least be a pre-requisite for those who wish to attain Ministerial Portfolios, if not all people seeking to stand as a TD.
    We live in a representative democracy. Therefore, in the representatives we choose, we may like them to reflect ourselves. That doesn't mean that because someone you don't like is elected, that somehow people should be restricted from entering office, because you think they're wrong. The "nanny-knows-best" attitude of some people is astounding!

If you require someone who actually is applying for a job, such as a civil servant, to have certain qualifications, it is completely different because it usually a long term position.

But no, let's take power away from most people. Let's allow only people with a university degree to run for election. In fact... why stop there? Let's make it so that only people holding a university degree are the only ones allowed to vote. So that all those people that can't be allowed to be treated like adults will have no say in who represents them. Yes, that was an infinitely better way in the past!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Nijmegen

Boards can be funny sometimes, and a real example here of how general questions ("How can this go on?", in this case the elections of eejits to the Dail who say and do stupid things and, we believe, help contribute to the woes of the state) become thorny when translated into local and specific issues (in this case, the potential nomination of a candidate.)

Whilst I agree that a degree education is not required to be in the Dail - I run successful businesses and only got as far as the inter - I do disagree with the idea of 'inherited' seats in the Dail, or any sort of backhanding of positions and posts 'to the lads.'

The discussion around who to nominate, according to one article, is entirely based on the political family - if this guy doesn't run, one of his sisters might.

That is a microcosm of the parish pump politics that has royally screwed this country for decades. Politicians with no grand vision for the future of Ireland nor the capability to carry through with such a plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,084 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

bryanw wrote: »
    In fact... why stop there? Let's make it so that only people holding a university degree are the only ones allowed to vote. So that all those people that can't be allowed to be treated like adults will have no say in who represents them. Yes, that was an infinitely better way in the past!
    Haven't we effectively got some of that already, with the Seanad?

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭bryanw

I don't think the Seanad is a glowing example of a well functioning house of parliament.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Nijmegen

I don't think the Seanad is a glowing example of a well functioning house of parliament.
    Nor the Dail, for that matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭mike kelly

we need a Presidential system, the Dail is just not working

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭jonsnow

That is one suspiciously lengthy and detailed Wikipedia entry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Why not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,188 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

By God some of us have a superiority complex. :rolleyes:

Just because someone got a collge education does not mean they have a monopoly on intelligence.
    Look how our school examsand indeed our college grades have been called into question.
    Look at some of the current government and there are some glaringly obvious college educated people completly out of their depth.
    It is not education that they are lacking, but basic cop on, honesty, decency and ethics.

According to some, one of the supposed brightest intellectuals to enter Dáil Eireann in the last few decades was one Michael McDowell, yet he wasn't a great politican nor minister despite his supposed educational and law credentials.

To paraphrase something I believe supposedly written about Conor Cruise O'Brien...
    he was like a lighthouse in the Bog of Allen, briliant but nevertheless useless.

willie o'dea is an accountant and barrister, lecturer in law and practiced as both lawyer and accountant.
    Thus he could be said to have both studied at and taught at third level education establishments (UCD and UL) and would have been a member of at least two profession bodies.
    Now would you care to take your third level education argument any further ?

Even worse goose2005 comes along and terms anyone that votes for this guy as being culchie morons.
    By that inference are we saying only smart people vote for smart politicans ?

Brian Whelahan has given lots of enjoyment to many people over the years and he would have to cause a lot of destruction to come anywhere near to the disasters his fellow constituents mr cowen and mr parlon have visited upon this country.

This thread is a very strange one...
    You have numerous ffers (supporters/memebrs etc) posters supporting and defending the fact that FG may be selecting this candidate. :confused:
    Then even worse I find myself agreeing with them that some other posters are very condescending towards this supposed candidate :confused::eek:

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭Jeanious

Why not?

Callely

Personally I can't see what the problem is considering the quality of our current politicians who vary from highly educated to the basics. I haven't seen many threads from you ripping apart the current politicians for their educational choices which have absolutely no relationship to the "jobs" they're doing. Lets face it, a university qualification doesn't really qualify you for anything unless you're doing a technical job.

I'd be more interested in putting pressure on people to have qualifications and experience that best puts them in position to help this country. Do I approve of this guy? Not particularly. But then I've never been all that impressed with any of the Irish politicians I've seen in the last 20 years. We don't exactly ask for capable people to fill the positions. We never have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 death wish

op i agree its quite embarrassing. alot of ireland is made up with people like this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭timespast

monosharp wrote: »
    In fairness he's hardly going to be out of his depth relative to the other eejits is he ?

The problem with Irish politics is Irish people. Irish people put unqualified self concerned incompetent greedy idiots in power which says a lot about the majority of Irish voters.

This is a simple case of the proletariat's apathy, division, downright ignorance and a complete inability to come togeather collectively to force change on the system.

The situation as it currently stands has the majority paying for a small minority to maintain privileged positions over them. Ireland is an oligarchy where democracy is a thin veneer over a corrupt system where the minorities only concern is staying in power and getting the best for themselves, the majorities only concern is either keeping above water or joining the minority in a privileged position.

The Proletariat?

How did the SWP summer camp go?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭demonspawn

Although he performed poorly in the local elections, a senior party source says he will be looked at as a possible replacement for Ms Enright.
    "You can't rule him out as he's known in every house," the source said.

Sure he's known in every house fer cryin' out loud! What's wrong with ya? Surely our elected leaders don't need more credentials than that? He's known!! In every feckin' house!! What more do ye want? Get off yer high horse.

:p

Edit: In other news, it seems Fr. Dougal is planning to run for TD in the Craggy Island constituency...sure he's known in every house!

frdougal.gif

Vote Dougal for a brighter tomorrow!!

coyle wrote: »
    Callely

I think it's unfair to tarnish the lot of them by reference to that bollix.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭liammur

Very true, no wonder we're on the road to bankruptcy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

what make you think that you have to have college education to be polititian, as i see it this lad worked for 12 yrs in a normal job with ordinary every day people which makes him the ideal candidate, whether he played hurley or not is irrevelent, but he does know how hard it is to manage of basic income which is good for us ordinary folk,
    and the big question is
    is it better to have experienced life
    than to have read books gone to college
    than to have experienced ordinary everyday living and hardships
    how many of our current polititians have college education

liammur wrote: »
    Very true, no wonder we're on the road to bankruptcy.

Lets be honest here... we've been on that road for quite some time now. Its just been external circumstances like the EU which have prevented our own penchant for self-destruction. If you look at any of our politicians and their track history, very few of them can be held up as being qualified for the offices/responsibilities they've held, and better yet, their ability to perform their supposed duties is often quite lacking.

Simply put we've been lucky between the Celtic Tiger and support from the EU. Left to our own devices we'd still be living in the 80's, and the conditions our parents lived in.

goat2 wrote: »
    what make you think that you have to have college education to be polititian, as i see it this lad worked for 12 yrs in a normal job with ordinary every day people which makes him the ideal candidate, whether he played hurley or not is irrevelent, but he does know how hard it is to manage of basic income which is good for us ordinary folk,
    and the big question is
    is it better to have experienced life
    than to have read books gone to college
    than to have experienced ordinary everyday living and hardships
    how many of our current polititians have college education

Oh dear. Oh dear. Oh dear. Clicking on aerlingus.com right now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭demonspawn

Oh dear. Oh dear. Oh dear. Clicking on aerlingus.com right now.

I hear Australia is nice this time of year. ;)

I wonder how many people would be left in the country if everyone that's absolutely fed up with the state of things just packed up and left? I don't think I'd want to stick around to find out to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,895 ✭✭✭✭Sand

If people without any experience, formal education or evidence of intelligence were just as smart as people with experience, formal education and evidence of intelligence then we wouldnt be in perhaps the greatest fiscal screwup of Irish history.

Seeing as we are in the greatest fiscal screwup of Irish history, and most TDs cant even understand the issues theyre voting on, then perhaps, just perhaps...the prickly anti-intellectualism so rife in Irish life might just want to take a pause?

If we need someone to run a pub, a meat packing plant or a GAA team I think we know who to call. If we need someone to run a country maybe we need to dream a little bigger...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭rightwingdub

I vote for my local politican for the following reasons and I'm been deadly serious:rolleyes:

He fixed a couple of potholes.
    He got a new school for the kiddies
    He got a medical card for my mother.
    He was a great gaelic footballer in his youth.
    He got rid of the double yellow lines in the village.
    He's great craic always organises a ceili.
    My parents vote for him so I'll vote for him also.
    He's a great man for going to funerals, he was at 3 in one day last week.
    He always buys a round of drinks in the pub every Saturday night.
    He got a council house for a member of the family.

All of the following reasons are excellent reasons to vote for your local intelectually challenged TD who is economically illiterate, financially braindead and stands for nothing except the parish pump mentality. Aren't we a great little country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭Frogeye

I generally think that politicans should be well educated. Education allows you to think problems through, use logic and reason and see things from different perspectives. If our politicans had been educated in the 40,50 & 60's maybe the Catholic Church wouldn't have been allowed turn the country into the down trodden repressive state it became.

However the only qualification Mr Whelehan needs is the quota of votes from the people of his area. Thats the way it works. If he can convince the people he is good enough best of luck to him.

He may have worked in a frozen food factory and he may have no college education but lets look at what he has already proven he does have:
    1) Leadership skills
    2) Mental toughness
    3) Honesty of effort

I'd pick those over an education anyday. All three are sadly missing from politics at the moment.

Frogeye wrote: »
    I generally think that politicans should be well educated. Education allows you to think problems through, use logic and reason and see things from different perspectives. If our politicans had been educated in the 40,50 & 60's maybe the Catholic Church wouldn't have been allowed turn the country into the down trodden repressive state it became.

However the only qualification Mr Whelehan needs is the quota of votes from the people of his area. Thats the way it works. If he can convince the people he is good enough best of luck to him.

He may have worked in a frozen food factory and he may have no college education but lets look at what he has already proven he does have:
    1) Leadership skills
    2) Mental toughness
    3) Honesty of effort

I'd pick those over an education anyday. All three are sadly missing from politics at the moment.

Hello? Who do you think controlled the education system in this country?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,895 ✭✭✭✭Sand

@Frogeye
    1) Leadership skills
    2) Mental toughness
    3) Honesty of effort

And thats why we're in the pit were in with a Dail full of idiots and conmen who cant even spell NAMA let alone understand it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭Frogeye

Sand wrote: »
    @Frogeye

And thats why we're in the pit were in with a Dail full of idiots and conmen who cant even spell NAMA let alone understand it.

If you read my post you'll see I prefer to have people who are educated in politics but I think the quality of the person is the first thing to examine. In this case the chap in question has proven he has the three qualities I mention. Whether or not he'd be a good politican I don't know. I made no comment on that, just on his character. I've never met the man. Neither have most of the people who are commenting on the forum I would guess. Its a bit harsh to judge a man without meeting him.

also think its unfair to say the Dail is full of idiots and conmen. Its got its share I grant you that though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

Watching Eamon Ó Cuív and Jack O'Connor on Primetime this evening. The thought that these are two of the string-pullers in Irish political life fills me with a sense of quite despair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 792 ✭✭✭juuge

The one common link between all of the crooked members of Fianna Fail is their inability to feel shame. In my parent’s day the word ‘shame’ carried a lot of weight and meaning, and was associated with dishonour, disgrace, and in most cases condemnation. Shame is described as a painful emotion caused by a strong sense of guilt or embarrassment. Show me any Fianna Fáil crook, the ones that have been caught that is, that has ever looked shameful. Instead they hold their heads high in total defiance and as in Bettie’s case treats us all with contempt by expecting us to believe ‘cock and bull’ stories about his personal finances. The Fianna Fáil party appears to have no understanding of the word shame either as was evident recently by giving Pee Flynn an award for his services to the party and presented by the great waffler Micheál Martin. This is the measure of Fianna Fáil and I doubt if it will ever change certainly not in my lifetime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,188 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Sand wrote: »
    @Frogeye

There are not as big a bunch of idiots as you might beleive, they are actually cute hoors lining their own and their supporters pockets.
    The real idiots are the ones that vote for them and anyone that underestimates their ability to survive.

The problem is when people assume the likes of jackie healy rae, ned o'keefe, etc are idiots.
    They might come across as uneducated backward gobdaws and they are to an extent, but what they lack in this they more than make up for in cunning and sheer brass neck.
    Never underestimate these people because that superiority complex is what will give them the bloody advantage.
    juuge wrote: »
    The one common link between all of the crooked members of Fianna Fail is their inability to feel shame. In my parent’s day the word ‘shame’ carried a lot of weight and meaning, and was associated with dishonour, disgrace, and in most cases condemnation. Shame is described as a painful emotion caused by a strong sense of guilt or embarrassment. Show me any Fianna Fáil crook, the ones that have been caught that is, that has ever looked shameful. Instead they hold their heads high in total defiance and as in Bettie’s case treats us all with contempt by expecting us to believe ‘cock and bull’ stories about his personal finances. The Fianna Fáil party appears to have no understanding of the word shame either as was evident recently by giving Pee Flynn an award for his services to the party and presented by the great waffler Micheál Martin. This is the measure of Fianna Fáil and I doubt if it will ever change certainly not in my lifetime.

The ff dictionary doesn't have:
    • shame
    • embarassment
    • accountability
    • responsibility
    • honesty
    or terms such as
    • the buck stops here
    • fall on my sword

Instead they have been replaced with terms such as...
    • colective responsibility
    • Sharing the pain
    • That was the prevailing philosophy then
    • We won't solve our problems by living in the past
    • That was then, this is now - we are where we are
    • global problem
    • global recession
    • systemic failures
    • quangoe
    • going forward
    • finality
    • Political courage