Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clonakilty Marathon 11/12/2010

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,053 ✭✭✭opus

baza1976 wrote: »
    http://corkrunning.blogspot.com/2010/08/new-10k-half-marathon-marathon-race.html

Anyone know anything about this??? Supposet to be in December. Can't more than what I have linked above.

B

Friend of mine posted this elsewhere, haven't seen anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Condo131

I measured the Marathon and Half-Marathon over the past few days - Measuring the 10k Fun Run tomorrow. I gather they are having a few issues with their own website at the mo, but the on-line entry is open HERE.

I've already signed up for the half marathon in Waterford the same day but as a matter of interest why does it cost twice as much for the one in Clonakilty - €22 vs €45 :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭Seres

opus wrote: »
    I've already signed up for the half marathon in Waterford the same day but as a matter of interest why does it cost twice as much for the one in Clonakilty - €22 vs €45 :confused:
    they might not get many peolpe if thats the case !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 briodnl

Hi there, I noticed your post and thought I should respond. I am one of the organisers of the Clonakilty Waterfront Marathon 11/12/2010. I would be delighted if you would consider participating in our event in December. This event will be centered around a Christmas festival in Clonakilty and we expect there to be a fantastic atmosphere in the town on the day.

Our races are over Jones Counter Measured Courses at 26.2, 13.1 and 6 miles (full, half and mini). All finishers will receive a commemorative medal and technical running shirt. Our pricing structure reflects this.

Please check out our website at www.runclon.ie which will be up and running over the coming days.

Thanks again for your interest and if you can't make it to Clonakilty this year, perhaps you might consider us for a pre-Christmas event next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Goldenlady

Accomodatiom booked, registered for half marathon along wit four friends plus my oh doing full marathon bring it on!!

Wow, thats super. I hope you enjoy running these courses as much as we do. Looking forward to seeing you all in Clon for a fantastic pre-Christmas festival.
    Brian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

23 euros extra for a techincal t-shirt and a medal? THats why its more expensive?

On behalf of the organizing committee of the Clonakilty Waterford Marathon, I would like to thank you for your comments regarding pricing. We are a not for profit group and are self funding this event. We hope beyond hope to break even financially this year. It is our intention to funnel any profits from the event into a road running/athletics club for Clonakilty which will be established in 2011 with the assistance of Athletics Ireland’s regional development team.

The entry fees reflect our intention to organize a high quality event with top class facilities for runners. The races will be chip timed over officially measured (Jones Counter measured) distances. Each participant will receive a unique technical running shirt and a commemorative medal. The event will carry full public liability insurance, medical and first aid support will be provided to an exceptionally high standard and massage for weary limbs will be provided on the day. Hydration throughout the races, race fuelling and recovery fluids will also be provided. We are all marathon runners (plodders) who understand the demands of distance running and will endeavor to organize this event to the highest possible standard whether 50 or 500 people enter.

In posting this response, it is not my intention to advertise our event, merely to introduce who we are, what we are trying to achieve and briefly outline why we have chosen to set our entry fees at this level. Should you wish to contact us directly please do not hesitate to email us on info@runclon.ie . Alternatively you could check out our website at www.runclon.ie .

Thanks for the interest in our event.

Brian

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

Fair play for answering Brian. There's a lot of grumbling about the rising price of race entries lately, makes all the difference though if profits are channeled back into the sport, instead of into some chancers pocket.

Best of luck with your race, and setting up the club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭trotter_inc

Great information up on the website at http://www.runclon.ie

Course looks challenging enough, I know some of the roads and I think most of them are quiet country roads. Appears to be quite a big hill at the 19.5 mile marker too :(

I like the fact that it's on Saturday morning instead of Sunday morning, means we can relax and enjoy the weekend once it's over. I hope to be able to run this, I've ran Cork the past 2 years, training during the dark winter evenings will be tough.

Any idea of how many entrants this will attract?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Quite tempted to go for the half actually. Same weekend as the half in waterford though, so I might just mull over which one to go for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

Condo131 wrote: »
    I measured the Marathon and Half-Marathon over the past few days - Measuring the 10k Fun Run tomorrow. I gather they are having a few issues with their own website at the mo, but the on-line entry is open HERE.

How hilly is it? Reckon it's a PB course?

Elevation is up on mapmyrun:

http://www.mapmyrun.com/view_route?r=e9ccaa13487190f27ad6c78912a5e9ef&show_elevation_panel=1&rs=undefined

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Condo131

Tbh, even though I measured it, you're asking the wrong person. I prefer to measure from the finish back to the start, rather than the direction the runners will be going. I'm also on a bike. Between the two, you get a totally different perspective, so this question is far better answered by someone who has run over the route.

However, having said that, I found the hills were mainly long drags. A word of warning though: There is a short SEVERE downhill (like the hill in the Ballyandreen 5, but in reverse - if you're familiar with that one) at Duneen, about 20.5. This will cause you a lot of problems if you don't respect it - downhills hurt you far more than uphills.

The good news is that the last 5 miles is virtually flat or slightly downslope. If you exclude the drop into/climb out of Dooneen, it's all flat or downslope from just after 19.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Looks like it could be a great event, and nice to have a marathon option later in the calendar year. I hope the organizers will bear in mind the mistakes of other rural marathons, and make sure that they have signage and marshalls at every cross roads where runners have the potential to take a wrong turn. Marathon seems to be pretty good value at €55.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 imoc23

They have a website up and running which has most of the information. http://www.runclon.ie/. The entry fees are a bit expensive, but a gang of us from work are doing it. We decided to finish the weekend off by going to the Christmas party night at the Quality Hotel. Will probably be wrecked, but sure the night out will be hard earned!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 576 ✭✭✭sarsfieldsrock

Looks like it could be a great event, and nice to have a marathon option later in the calendar year. I hope the organizers will bear in mind the mistakes of other rural marathons, and make sure that they have signage and marshalls at every cross roads where runners have the potential to take a wrong turn. Marathon seems to be pretty good value at €55.

The third place finish that got away from you eh?
    I'd say that if they can learn from other marathons experience this year then they should be okay.
    Best of luck in Berlin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

Between this and waterford - il go for this. Im goung to give it a few weeks but prob go for the half (my head is saying maybe the marathon) - ill deffo be doing one of them anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭elnino23

Is anyone doing it or know much about it?
    seems to be new is it? Is it a toughy or a good one for beginers?

I'm pretty new to running and ran my first long race yesterday at the cork to cobh.
    I trained well for it and had plenty left in the tank even tho i was alot quicker on my average mile than i had ever done training i was targeting 845 to 9mm and ran 830 easy could have gone quicker did the last mile in 7.
    So anyway looking for the next challenge and wondered if i carry on pushing up my training would i be ready for a marathon in december ie the clonakilty one?
    What do you all reckon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭blind_hurler

was chatting to a guy on the way home from the Cork2Cobh and he was saying the clon marathon would be tough with a tough bit of climbing from mile17 to 20.. but i don't know the area at all....

Here's the thread on it - Anyone know about Clonakilty Marathon

<threads merged, thanks opus- mod>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭RubyK

I wonder what the no's will be like for this - will they be low due to the Waterford half being on the same day? Would it be suitable for a first marathon? Anyone hear if there will be pacers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

RubyK wrote: »
    Anyone hear if there will be pacers?

Under discussion at the moment, apparently - if you mail them to ask it might make pacers more likely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭hot to trot

Good
    What about accommodation? Its great it is on a saturday to give a chance to stay over and enjoy post race for a change. Any one got any suggestions for digs? IM almost always on my own , so it would be nice for a change to have some other runners around .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭dizzymom

Good
    I am registered for the full marathon in Clonakilty, really looking forward to a winter marathon! I reckon this one is very hilly tho :eek:
    I was delighted with pricing, Dublin marathon is 70 euros (for early entry) now its 90euros which is waaay too expensive considering what you get in the goodie bag.
    Clonakilty was 55 euros!

only thing worrying me is the weather wind rain sleet or slow in mid December yikes :(

Still in two minds about running this.... I ran Cork the past 2 years but haven't done much long runs since the marathon in June. I've been tipping away with regular 6 milers (2/3 times a week on average) and have plenty of time to be ready for the half marathon, but I would love to run the full 26.2 miles. Am I too late for starting the serious training for the full marathon? I know I haven't any long runs yet but I ran Cork in 3 hrs 12 mins this year and am in good shape. I love setting targets like this for myself...but perhaps I'm too late for this?

[HTML]Still in two minds about running this.... I ran Cork the past 2 years but haven't done much long runs since the marathon in June. I've been tipping away with regular 6 milers (2/3 times a week on average) and have plenty of time to be ready for the half marathon, but I would love to run the full 26.2 miles. Am I too late for starting the serious training for the full marathon? I know I haven't any long runs yet but I ran Cork in 3 hrs 12 mins this year and am in good shape. I love setting targets like this for myself...but perhaps I'm too late [/HTML]

My BF is doing the full marathon in Clon and Im planning on doing the half. He is doing the Dublin Marathon on Monday and only started training about 2 months ago, like you he was still running regularly but not upping his mileage, you will definitely be able for it, particulalry with your time in the Cork marathon.

Good luck

Goldenlady wrote: »
    My BF is doing the full marathon in Clon and Im planning on doing the half. He is doing the Dublin Marathon on Monday and only started training about 2 months ago, like you he was still running regularly but not upping his mileage, you will definitely be able for it, particulalry with your time in the Cork marathon.

Thanks for the vote of confidence :) Reckon I'll get stuck in over the next 3 weeks and decide for definite then, will see how the 10 - 13 milers go before deciding. Your BF is doing Dublin and Clon? I thought I was crazy :D

Thanks for the vote of confidence [IMG]http://b-static.net/vbulletin/images/smilies/smile.gif[/IMG] Reckon I'll get stuck in over the next 3 weeks and decide for definite then, will see how the 10 - 13 milers go before deciding. Your BF is doing Dublin and Clon? I thought I was crazy [IMG]http://b-static.net/vbulletin/images/smilies/biggrin.gif[/IMG]

..........And he is doing Rome in March - Crazy stuff!! :D

One half marathon a year does me!!

Good luck, hope it works out for you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭dizzymom

Good
    u wud definately be ready as the training was done for the last marathon, do 2-3 long runs 16-18-20 and you'll do a fab time in clon
    weather permitting that is

I notice that the www.runclon.ie website mentions that they are holding training sessions, is there anyone here taking avail of these? Wouldn't mind tagging along for some of the longer runs. Anyone know if they're covering the actual marathon route? Would like to become more familiar with the route.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 runparun

I did DCM on Monday, had a bad day, I was aiming for under 3.30 (previous best was 3:39 DCM'09) but wheels fell off badly after 18miles, stumbled home in 3:56, was close to throwing in the towel but just walked on...reasons for the bad performance not sure, could have been a cold I had all last week, or that I had 4 hours sleep as OH was ill the night before or I stayed at the fitzwilliam and organised to have a breakfast of bagel and coffee a month before hand, confirmed on check in but come the morning no breakfast was organised and ended up having toast,,very frustrating:mad:!!

The real reason for this ramble is that I was dejected after Monday and feel I want to run again ASAP, would the Clon marathon [Dec 11th] be too soon or should I just run a half or just rest up and do some recovery runs for a while??

running history (Berlin 09 3:51, Dublin 09 3:39, Dublin 10 3:56)

Thanks All.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

@runprun, in short yes it's too soon.

By the time you are recovered from dublin (3-4weeks) you ll have no time to do training that would put things right before your into taper. Realistically there is only a week or so of a proper training window.

Figure out what went wrong, correct it and try again in spring 2011.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭anymore

Good
    dizzymom wrote: »
    I am registered for the full marathon in Clonakilty, really looking forward to a winter marathon! I reckon this one is very hilly tho :eek:
    I was delighted with pricing, Dublin marathon is 70 euros (for early entry) now its 90euros which is waaay too expensive considering what you get in the goodie bag.
    Clonakilty was 55 euros!

only thing worrying me is the weather wind rain sleet or slow in mid December yikes :(

Frost and snow, if any tend to be in Jan, FEb etc here in the south. Rain I am afraid can be anytime :mad:
    Wind might be a factor on the coastal section.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭CorkRunning

kennyb3 wrote: »
    @runprun, in short yes it's too soon.

By the time you are recovered from dublin (3-4weeks) you ll have no time to do training that would put things right before your into taper. Realistically there is only a week or so of a proper training window.

Figure out what went wrong, correct it and try again in spring 2011.

....+ The Clonakilty Marathon is not one to set a fast time. Probably ok to run it like a long training run and enjoy the countryside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭sibh1

You can get a 15% discount on this marathon by doing it for the registered charity!

http://www.runclon.ie/html/news/special_olympics.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭Oisin11178

Looks like ill see you guys down there.

Good
    Any recommendations for accommodation? So close to Christmas, will probably go the cheaper option rather than expensive hotel. Would rather hold on to spondoolicks and get another marathon in early next year, if possible.

Good
    Just after getting a spot prize of a voucher for a meal in Mios restaurant in Clonakilty. This marathon just gets better and better :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Magnet

Good
    Free food briliant!!
    I got the potrait for entering early - it better be nice!!

I`m really looking forward to this myself but a little worried about the possiblity of icy roads, I love the area and have fond memories of years ago going for really wet, wild and windy walks along the coast in Ross Carbery wrapped up in my raincoat so cosy, hopfully ill be just as cosy in my singlet and shorts!! :cool:

looks likd a fairly challanging course. What sort of times are people looking for?

Good
    I will hopefully be recovering from a PB marathon 2 weeks earlier so just going to jog around for the craic. You will be much faster than me anyway.
    Got accommmodation in the Clonakilty hotel . 40 euro for single room and it has a pool and sauna. Such value. cant imagine I would get better in a regular BnB.

Where you going for the pb?

Good
    Florence.
    At this rate of going it will be a pb but not a sub 4 one , if I dont get off my ass , stay away from the kitchen and get my runners on.
    I always seem to go into denial a few weeks before marathons and then get into a panic nearer the day.
    Will defintiely go out tonight though:)

Your doing some amount of fancy foreign marathons. Did you not hear there is a resession on:D
    Good luck.

Good
    I do them on the cheap :D
    Lisbon last year was 42euros flight, plus accommodation was 18 euro per night (x2)including breakfast. Dinner at night was about 15 quid including drinks. I dont go shopping and apart from the odd chocolate bar or drink thats about it .

Seville was 20 entry, accommodation was 18 per night(x2) flights were less than 50. train wasnt dear and that was it apart from one meal out.

Florence is 45 Euro flight, accommmodation is dearer at 30 a night including breakkie. Race entry + trains will make it a bit dearer but I dont have a social life outside of marathons so in the absense of irish marathons , I have to go away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 cookielc

The Dublin marathon for 2011 is in the region of 70 -90 euros and the Connemarathon is 70 euros – now that’s expensive and unfair pricing! At 55 euros the pricing for the Clonakilty event is an honest price for this type of event.

The Clonakilty marathon is also channelling profits back into athletics to hopefully set up a Clonakilty Athelic Club which is badly needed as too many runners are out there shuffling their feet along in the wrong trainers, with the wrong gear that could do with a bit of guidance – and I’m one of them:)!

I have run the last half of the course loads of times, and I can tell ya that it’s a tough tough marathon course. There are lots of up and downs and a few sharp hills to really kick home the burn. So with a couple of weeks left perhaps some hill work would be good idea?

Elminos I hope you have put in training for the full. It would not be my first pick for a marathon because it’s so hilly. I would recommend Dublin as your first marathon as its as flat as a pancake but at the price their changing no thank you!! Also don’t get obsessed with distance - running a 40 minute 10km (6 minute per mile – ouch!!) is more impressive than running 26 miles like a tortoise. Or you could try an IMRA race like Carrauntoohil 1,137m 13km, now that's hill work!

Good luck to everyone running the race xx :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Corkie100

Poor
    cookielc wrote: »
    I have run the last half of the course loads of times, and I can tell ya that it’s a tough tough marathon course. There are lots of up and downs and a few sharp hills to really kick home the burn.

E :)
    Cookielc, Just wondering if you know anything about the half marathon route?? Have you trained over that route too, or does it overlap a lot with full marathon and is therefore v tough too? I only vaguely know the area where it's on, am signed up for the half anyway, looking forward to it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 cookielc

Yip, I know the first half of the route very well from Clonakilty to Inchydoney (0-6). The first half is very flat and prefect for warming up the muscles and settling into a nice stride/pace. It’s also very beautiful as you will be running alongside the estuary. You will encounter hills at mile five:eek:. Basically you’ll come to a short sharp hill, a small flat section, a short sharp hill, steep downhill, sharp short uphill a short down hill and then your running back on your doubling-back on your route from mile 5-six and that’s flat. All those hills are within a 500 metre stretch. If it was me, I would maintain my stride and just power up those suckers and recover on the downhill’s and before you know it, you’ll be running back on the flat. I don’t know the second half of the route from the left turning at Lackenagobidane after mile six, but I asked my dad and this is what he had to say ‘Im not sure but I think its mostly flat; might be a bit of a pull‘:confused:.At mile 11 your doubling back on yourself and you’ll be on the flat again, So Run Corkie100 Run, you only have a few miles left so dig deep and start to give it all you got!!!! Push it, push it, push it..and then smile at the finish line, like it was a walk in the park :D:D:D.

I hope my description helps and good luck on the day. I may run the second half of the race because I’m curious and I could do with the training. If I do, Ill let you know what it was like. Hopefully we are going to luck out with the weather and its going to be an awesome day:cool:.
    xxL