Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

so, it's nearly electric picnic time, who's going?

• 30-08-2010 10:51pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭

I for one cannot wait!! volunteering again and gettng there wed afternoon!!

3 more sleeps :))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Elevator wrote: »

I haven't said that since I was around 5 years old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,534 ✭✭✭Dman001

Not going myself, Im going to something much better..........................college. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Do I have to bring sandwiches?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Elevator wrote: »

Is Santy coming too??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

not me :(

all donations kindly welcomed :)

Only if someone has a spare ticket ;):p

Or a certain volunteer decides to allow me in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

I'm going.

Has Tiesto been announced yet?

not me :(

all donations kindly welcomed :)

Do you swallow? :pac:

sorry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

You guys are gonna feel sooooo stupid when you realise that next weekend is also when the Teddy Bears have their picnic.

No cream cakes, high tea and fizzy pop for you pr*cks down in Laois!

Hah!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    You guys are gonna feel sooooo stupid when you realise that next weekend is also when the Teddy Bears have their picnic.

No cream cakes, high tea and fizzy pop for you pr*cks down in Laois!

Hah!

My 5 litres of red wine will see me through.

Kasabian wrote: »
    Do you swallow? :pac:

sorry

:eek: disgusting! i'm outraged! sickened!

yep :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

Undecided. While I'd like to see LCD Soundsystem and The National, the thought of being in the same general area as Glen Hansard and Mumford and Sons is turning me right off it.

:eek: disgusting! i'm outraged! sickened!

yep :pac:

/checks Ticketmaster

Kasabian wrote: »
    /checks Ticketmaster

mmm, yummy yummy in my tummy ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Profiler

I've just had a weekend which included a family wedding so I am short of disposable income so please forgive the following...

Why can't I buy a ticket for one day?

All I want to see is Steve Earle and I can't without forking out €240... :(

I understand nobody wants another Witness/Oxygen type festival and I love how EP sets itself aside from all that but given the economic time that's in it I think the non availability of one day passes is a mistake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭girvtheswerve

Im not going, so I'm hoping for some torrential rain this weekend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Will be there with bells on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Nope. Due to lack of funds :(

My 5 litres of red wine will see me through.

I hate you.
    Profiler wrote: »
    Why can't I buy a ticket for one day?

Because the Picnic hates you.

Pace2008 wrote: »
    Will be there with bells on.

Easy to spot so.

I've already sent word to my 'less than desirable' friends that anybody wearing bells is fair game this weekend!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Electric Picnic can go suck on a fat one.

Not my ass. Well, maybe....

Do I need a ticket for that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭30H!3

Have to say this year has to be one of the sh1ttest lineups in the history of the EP. Or is that "trendy" nowadays..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

30H!3 wrote: »
    Have to say this year has to be one of the sh1ttest lineups in the history of the EP. Or is that "trendy" nowadays..
    It's a very solid lineup - lacks one big impact act, but there's more than enough quality there overall.

How old do you have to be to use "trendy" in inverted commas and not feel silly?

30H!3 wrote: »

This year is one of the best line-ups.

For God's sake Roxy Music are playing!!!!

Or is that not good enough because that band with the haircut that are still learning to play their instruments but are lauded by NME aren't there?

Quality quality bands throughout this year.

There's a lot of nay-sayers who will bitch and moan but, when it comes down to it, the reason they're giving out is because they don't recognise any names on the line-up and they swore they were cool in 1995 (which was the last time they bought a new release)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

Thought I was working at it,then I got a new job and I'm working this weekend but I'm okay about it.

Although it's a shame that I'm missing LCD Soundsystem's last performance on Irish shores :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

I'd love to go, but you'd need at least €500.

Massive fan of The Waterboys, The Frames, Steve Earle, Fight Like Apes and few others in the line up, so I am pissed off about it.

I am however going to see The Axl Rose Band on Wednesday, if everyone chips in .. I will hit him good and proper with a water* balloon during November Rain for €500 (50 Boardsies, that's just a €10 each).

*any other liquid will cost extra.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

do check out my trendy boutique ladies

P4180080.JPG

many a garment for the effervescent hippy child, in time

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I was at EP in 2007 and last year and really enjoyed my time there but I simply can't afford it this year. €250 for 3 days in this economic climate is too steep.

That said, I hope those who do make it down this year have a good one!:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭Fox McCloud

Would love to go, buts its just too damn expensive for a few days and that 240 is before all travel,food,drink etc is paid for..

Oxegen is similar in price but you can see where they are spending the money when booking the biggest bands(well most in demand internationaly) around. Not sure who was there this yr but they've had RHCP, Muse, eminem, greeday, the who... just off the top of my head.

I think its great that they are keeping those bands out of ep, and keeping a clear distinction between the two festivals, but they need to lower the price!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

JupiterKid wrote: »
    I was at EP in 2007 and last year and really enjoyed my time there but I simply can't afford it this year. €250 for 3 days in this economic climate is too steep.

That said, I hope those who do make it down this year have a good one!:cool:

I was there in 2007, loved it (bands, general atmosphere) but think it's too pricey at the moment, Indiependence in Cork is much cheaper and closer to home for me!

If you're going, have a great time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

I'm Going.

\:D/

Wooooooooooooo..
    Roll on the madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

For the first time in five years, I'm not. A poor line-up, overpriced ticket and the fact that none of my mates are going decided it for me. €250 for a ticket, plus that again spending money it too much for an Irish festival.

Were the tickets any cheaper for the last 5 years? :confused:

I suppose it's what your into.
    I think the Lineup is pretty good.

OutlawPete wrote: »
    I am however going to see The Axl Rose Band on Wednesday, if everyone chips in .. I will hit him good and proper with a water* balloon during November Rain for €500 (50 Boardsies, that's just a €10 each).

*any other liquid will cost extra.

Hell, I'd chip in 10Euro to see Axl get nailed in the face with a balloon of piss.
    Count me in :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Last yr turned me right off it. Too many scobes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Nope.
    Hope the weather's good for anyone who is going though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

First time for me. Well, unless you count the very first 1-day Electric Picnic. Which was a complete load of shite. Knacker-central and the place was destroyed by litter. Though I've heard very little but good things about the festival since. Should be a good weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

biko wrote: »
    Nope.
    Hope the weather's good for anyone who is going though.

Looks like it is going to be raining big time on the Saturday. Im in 2 minds about going. A lot of my mates are going and I know that I will have a great time with them but it is very expensive plus the fact you cant bring any alcohol into the main area makes it even more expensive. The bloody bars shut at 10.30pm. I know that is not the organisers fault but its still very annoying.

The line up imo is the worst of the last 5 years and I have gone to every other EP.

Kiera wrote: »
    Last yr turned me right off it. Too many scobes.
    I honestly don't know what people were on about with this. Is there more than one Electric Picnic or something?

Well in fairness..
    If Kiera isn't going, then they'll be one less there this year at least..

:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

A load of scobes camped beside us last year and made it hell on earth. Plus the weather was crap which added to the crapness.

Ah I know what you mean.
    I was pretty surprised to see the Cop car burning down the path in the Red campsite.
    Found out later that somebody's tent got robbed then somebody pulled a knife ect ect..
    First time I'd seen any of that jazz down there..

Maybe they need to put the ticket price up another hundred euro to keep out he riff raff..
    :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I'd rather not have to take an 'Eartha Kitt' in a field so I won't be there!

Leopardstown on Saturday instead for me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

Ah, that's a bag of mickeys alright, but it might be hard to see the bigger picture when you're holed in with a shower of ****.

I didn't seen any trouble at EP last year, and to be honest I'd say this would reflect the experience of the majority. It's impossible to completely avoid trouble at an event with 30,000+ people, especially when there's drink involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I wouldn't mind going but I'd need a detailed risk analysis on the probability of encountering any drum workshops, healing spaces, ethnic headgear and people with precocious children sticking out of rucksacks before I'd set foot in the place.

I'm strictly a cider, MOR and arbitrary tent-arson man myself.

Line-ups looks good though.

There is enough of a line up there to entice me along with other things but the price doesn't justify it. I quite enjoyed one in I attended in June. Only 1500 people there or something, I like small numbers. That's my festivals done for the year methinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

I have already bought my Arcade Fire ticket which was already expensive, Electric Picnic on top of that might be too much for just one man's bank account :(