Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Last nights curry? Edible?

• 30-08-2010 3:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Well should i eat it? Or would i die instantly? Chicken curry, egg fry rice.

Sorry mods, i just want a quick answer & it'l take hours to get a reply in the Food & drink section.

• It will kill you.

Eat it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

you can microwave the curry, but I wouldn't reheat the rice.

Have yourself a nice reheated curry on toast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

It'll be grand if it has been kept in the fridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Hasmunch

Fast food is usually nicer on the second day... go for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

If you have to ask, you're too scared.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,052 ✭✭✭Wossack

dinner sambos

nyom nyom nyom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

I always re-heat my chinese the next day :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

A girl I know is a chef and she told me that when people get food poisoning from a chinese, it's actually usually the rice that causes it. It should be eaten fairly soon after being purchased.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

if it was stored in a sealed container in the fridge the curry is fine...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

Eat the pudding, Eat the pudding, Eat the pudding, Eat the pudding, Eat the pudding, Eat the pudding, Eat the pudding, Eat the pudding, Eat the pudding, Eat the pudding, Eat the pudding, Eat the pudding,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭jfrmbray

Eating pizza from the night before>

Not too sure about the curry though,I can't see any reason why you would get ill,I always eat 3 day old chicken from my sunday roast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

kraggy wrote: »
    A girl I know is a chef and she told me that when people get food poisoning from a chinese, it's actually usually the rice that causes it. It should be eaten fairly soon after being purchased.

yeah well this girl you know is a dirty filthy liar!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

Hasmunch wrote: »
    Fast food is usually nicer on the second day... go for it!

i think that's really only pizza and its yum for breakfast! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭john kinsella

grow a pair and eat it! If not where do you live and i will be over shortly:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

As long as you didn't leave it sitting out on your kitchen table or something it's fine.

EAT IT!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

you can microwave the curry, but I wouldn't reheat the rice.

Have yourself a nice reheated curry on toast.

Curry on toast?? :confused:

This post screams inbred hick!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

WindSock wrote: »

I didn't leave it in the fridge.:mad:

Must not cry over food. Its only food, cop on

yeah well this girl you know is a dirty filthy liar!

she's not. Rice retains alot of water and rice left alone for a long time is a perfect breeding ground for bacteria. Made even worse if you reheat it again after it's gone cold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Live dangerously then.

Curry on toast?? :confused:

This post screams inbred hick!

BTW: what do you think a naan bread is?

grow a pair and eat it!:D

Don't have time for that & im not mad about fruit anyway.

me hungy now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

If there were flies in it today OP then maybe you should dump it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 Gknit

Hmm, rookie mistake. I wouldn't risk it. On the rice issue, copied and pasted from another website: "Uncooked rice can contain spores of Bacillus cereus, bacteria that can cause food poisoning. When the rice is cooked, the spores can survive. Then, if the rice is left standing at room temperature, the spores will multiply and may produce toxins (poisons) that cause vomiting or diarrhoea. Reheating the rice won't get rid of these toxins." That being said, I always reheat my rice and haven't had any adverse effects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Once the chicken is reheated thouroughly, it should be fine. I wouldn't bother with the rice though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Eat it. I've often eaten yesterday's leftover curry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Fridge when you get home, microwaved for breakfast next morning. Perfect hangover cure!

jfrmbray wrote: »
    Eating pizza from the night before>

Not too sure about the curry though,I can't see any reason why you would get ill,I always eat 3 day old chicken from my sunday roast.

I gagged after reading that.

Jesus H christ i just noticed a springroll lurking at the bottom of the paper bag. Forgot aboot it.

What about the springroll? Please don't tell me to dump it, i just don't think i can handle that.....its so perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭Burning Eclipse

I have lost track of the amount of times I've reheated an Indian curry and rice. Always delicious... in fact, sometimes better!

I've also microwaved fried rice, but only once or twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

I've always reheated rice, I dunno where people are reading this schite. I use the microwave though. just eat it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

It's not edible if it's just came back out of your hoop!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

I often do it even though I am fully aware of the possible side effects. Just make sure it is too hot to eat straight away. It may not kill the bacteria in the rice but it will make you feel better about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭eimearcmh

Go for it. Sure its not as if your doing it every evening....i hope:-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

easyeason3 wrote: »
    I gagged after reading that.

I don't see why. Cooked meats are perfectly safe to eat for up to 4 days, once they are stored in the fridge & re-heated only once.

You would have more of a chance of getting food poisoning from a re-heated take away, as you have no idea if it has been already re-heated before you purchased it.

I don't see why. Cooked meats are perfectly safe to eat for up to 4 days, once they are stored in the fridge & re-heated only once.

You would have more of a chance of getting food poisoning from a re-heated take away, as you have no idea if it has been already re-heated before you purchased it.

If I buy ham today I won't eat it tomorrow, same goes for coleslaw, potatoe salad etc.
    If I cook meat today, there is a very slim chance I will eat it tomorrow. Things like stew or shepperds pie are ok but only if covered & stored properly.
    If I buy bread today I won't eat it tomorrow, I will toast it but I won't eat it untoasted.
    I drink my coffee black because I don't trust the milk in jugs on a table in a restaurant.

I know, I'm a freak.

If I buy ham today I won't eat it tomorrow, same goes for coleslaw, potatoe salad etc.
    If I cook meat today, there is a very slim chance I will eat it tomorrow. Things like stew or shepperds pie are ok but only if covered & stored properly.
    If I buy bread today I won't eat it tomorrow, I will toast it but I won't eat it untoasted.
    I drink my coffee black because I don't trust the milk in jugs on a table in a restaurant.

I know, I'm a freak.

The lack of bacteria will probably be the death of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I know, I'm a freak.
    I'd say you're great craic at a party;

"HOW LONG HAS THAT HUMMUS BEEN SITTING OUT?!"

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

This. It actually tastes better the next day imo.

Curry always tastes better the next day, as the flavours have had longer to infuse - same goes for stews & casseroles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Have you eaten it yet OP?

Are you not replying because you're bent over the jacks puking your ring up?

Just ate the lot. Prawn crackers n all.

Blasted it in the microwave for 5 minutes. It was drokking delishcus.

You cants beats an ouls currys.

hmm?....sick stomach all of a sudden, im sure its nothing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Just ate the lot. Prawn crackers n all.

Blasted it in the microwave for 5 minutes. It was drokking delishcus.

You cants beats an ouls currys.

hmm?....sick stomach all of a sudden, im sure its nothing

Ah now, there's a big difference between eating curry from a chinese and eating shíte from an owl.

baz2009 wrote: »
    Ah now, there's a big difference between eating curry from a chinese and eating shíte from an owl.

Oh you devil.

Genius quip.

Heat magazine said: "A delightful observation. A hoot from start to finish, 10/10".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭areu4real?

As has been said already just nuke it in the microwave for 8-10 mins depending on the age, rice 'n all.
    Have done this many times with no probs. If the germs can survive that, they deserve to reproduce and make you violently ill from both ends, survival of the fittest and all that :pac:

Edit: You did it! In before the skutz

areu4real? wrote: »
    As has been said already just nuke it in the microwave for 8-10 mins depending on the age, rice 'n all.
    Have done this many times with no probs. If the germs can survive that, they deserve to reproduce and make you violently ill from both ends, survival of the fittest and all that :pac:

Edit: You did it! In before the skutz

Already ate it.

Half a carton of curry would be incinerated after 10 mimutes in a microwave & probably be too hot to eat for another 10 minutes by which time bacteria would have respawned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭areu4real?

Already ate it.

Half a carton of curry would be incinerated after 10 mimutes in a microwave & probably be too hot to eat for another 10 minutes by which time bacteria would have respawned.

You do realise you only have about 12 hours left to live.
    Get off boards and get yerself some heroin or something

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

Id eat it all. If anything it will build up your immune system for next time. Also if theres bacteria on the rice then its on the curry too. A few spices arent going to inhibit bacterial growth by much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Speaking of last nights curry, I had one last night which was from the previous night (Sunday) :D Also reheated half a pack of extra rice which had been opened on Friday I think, you know the uncle bens microwave stuff and added that in.

Nyom nyom...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,123 ✭✭✭Sarn

I'd always reheat the leftovers the next day. Always tastes better after a night in the fridge. All this talk of takeaway is making me hungry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Jeez, I don't even bother reheating leftovers, just eat 'em cold! :o