Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Love to the parents of deceased

• 28-08-2010 8:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭

I have just heard this news and it has frightened the life out of me. God help the parents of this poor child, I don't know how anyone could cope with this. Close to where I am from this has shocked me to the bone. I can't believe this can happen on our doorstep, its something you hear about of far away.

Thankfully there is someone in custody, hopefully they have the right person, parents watch your kids. All my prayers and love to this family.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0828/dublin1.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Jesus. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

It also says alot for the parents who lets ther 12 year old child "step out" at midnight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭smelltheglove

Can this not turn into a bash the parents thread, please. A tragedy has happened, ok not all of us would allow a 12 yr old step out at midnight but still, they have suffered a terrible loss that nobody deserves and I'd hate for any of their friends or family to stumble across a thread slating them. Best wishes to them.

Dont get me wrong I am gutted for the parents of that child and give my condolences but they are responsible for that childs safety

True but tragedies happen and this is no time to point fingers at the parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

Condolences to the parents, family and friends of this poor child.......:(

Questions of course will have to be asked but that is for a later stage!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,015 ✭✭✭Ludo

At times like this, I hate boards.ie. The thread in After Hours is an absolute disgrace. I bet most of the people lambasting the parents of the child are the same ones who also give out on other threads about how kids are wrapped in cotton wool these days. Feckin keyboard warrior idiots will swarm all over this one long before finding out the facts.

Ludo wrote: »
    At times like this, I hate boards.ie. The thread in After Hours is an absolute disgrace. I bet most of the people lambasting the parents of the child are the same ones who also give out on other threads about how kids are wrapped in cotton wool these days. Feckin keyboard warrior idiots will swarm all over this one long before finding out the facts.

The Parents would not be Lambasted as you say if it wasn't mentioned in the paper the the child had told her parents she was stepping out for a few minutes at midnight

Do you find it acceptable for this to happen .

Would you let your child do this ?

If you think im being a keyboard warrior and my factis wrong report me to a MOD

In AH everyone has accused the parents of neglect which what i believe led to the fact of the child being murdered

WIZE wrote: »
    In AH everyone has accused the parents of neglect which what i believe led to the fact of the child being murdered

Oh right...the actual killer had nothing to do with it? Most people have conveniently ignored him/her.

The Parents would not be Lambasted as you say if it wasn't mentioned in the paper the the child had told her parents she was stepping out for a few minutes at midnight

Do you find it acceptable for this to happen .

Would you let your child do this ?

All of what you are saying is well and good but could you not wait for a day or two or at least until the reasons for letting the child out of the house at 12am come to light!!!

I've no idea why she would've been let out and for that reason cannot speculate as to the parenting skills of the parents at this stage. For all we know there could have been a 21st party of her Aunt living a few doors down or perhaps her grandparents who lived across the road were celebrating their 50th wedding anniversary..............Who knows????

At the same time the parents could've been high on drugs whilst slugging out of cans whilst watching MTV!!!!!!!!!!

THE POINT IS WE DON'T YET KNOW SO WE SHOULD HOLD OFF ON THE ACCUSATIONS UNTIL MORE IS KNOWN.....

Only my 2c's

Ludo wrote: »
    Oh right...the actual killer had nothing to do with it? Most people have conveniently ignored him/her.

The murderer has everything to do with it but we dont have any facts on him/her . A 19 year old was arrested

Ludo please answer me this please

1. Do you find it acceptable and safe to let a 12 year old out at midnight ?
    2. Do you think this Child would be dead if the parents had not allowed her out at night ?

And be honest with your answers

goat2 wrote: »
    i guess the child sneaked out of the house while the parents back was turned, easy happen, could have been lured out by someone

The irish times reported the she told her parents at midnight she was stepping out

All of what you are saying is well and good but could you not wait for a day or two or at least until the reasons for letting the child out of the house at 12am come to light!!!

I've no idea why she would've been let out and for that reason cannot speculate as to the parenting skills of the parents at this stage. For all we know there could have been a 21st party of her Aunt living a few doors down or perhaps her grandparents who lived across the road were celebrating their 50th wedding anniversary..............Who knows????

At the same time the parents could've been high on drugs whilst slugging out of cans whilst watching MTV!!!!!!!!!!

THE POINT IS WE DON'T YET KNOW SO WE SHOULD HOLD OFF ON THE ACCUSATIONS UNTIL MORE IS KNOWN.....

Only my 2c's

I know this is your thread and I will stop posting in it . You can request my posts are deleted .

No matter the reason for the child being out of the house, and whether we agree with it or not, death should not be a consequence of it.

You have no facts about why the child "stepped out" either yet have no problem having a very strong opinion on it.

No, I wont answer your questions as I know nothing about the facts.

I know this is your thread and I will stop posting in it . You can request my posts are deleted .

Of course this isn't my thread!!!

I'm only asking that we try to reserve judgement on parents whose child has been murdered it seems, until more facts surrounding the evening come to light.

By all means, keep posting whichever way you feel fitting:)

EDIT: I think you may have mistaken me for the OP...

Of course this isn't my thread!!!

I'm only asking that we try to reserve judgement on parents whose child has been murdered it seems, until more facts surrounding the evening come to light.

By all means, keep posting whichever way you feel fitting:)

EDIT: I think you may have mistaken me for the OP...

haha sorry i thought you were the OP :o

Still im finished discussing this . Ive given my opinion which is only an opinion .

haha sorry i thought you were the OP :o

Still im finished discussing this . Ive given my opinion which is only an opinion .

No problem WIZE:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

I have just heard this news and it has frightened the life out of me. God help the parents of this poor child, I don't know how anyone could cope with this. Close to where I am from this has shocked me to the bone. I can't believe this can happen on our doorstep, its something you hear about of far away.

Thankfully there is someone in custody, hopefully they have the right person, parents watch your kids. All my prayers and love to this family.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0828/dublin1.html

It is awful :(
    Condolences and love to the family :(

If he is right person,will they lock him up and throw away the key.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭dr ro

yes for a short time. Minus some time for no reason. About 7 years in total i'd guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Hate when these threads turn into bashing. Nobody knows the full story. The kid may have stormed out of the house or have told them she was going to a nearby friend's house.

Every parent's worst nightmare to think that their child died violently. Poor kid. x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,575 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Feckin strange I tell you. I have an 11 year son (12 in January) and I just cannot contemplate why the child was out with no family guidance even if she did storm out of the house, you don't just leave them to it at midnight! There is parental responsibility here even if those do not want to believe it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭metrovelvet

Everyone is focusing on the fact that the parents let this girl out at midnight. While, it is not wise to let a 12 year old out at midnight, most people forbid for reasons such as, its a school night, there are drunks on the street, its dark and the cars mightn't see you [in the country], etc etc. Not because they might get murdered. I think parental responsibility is a part o this, but a small part of it.

What happened to her could have happened at any time of day or night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,575 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Of course it could although there is a huge difference in the probability of it happening. Saying stuff like '**** happens' and 'we all did silly things when we were young' is a cop out imo and it does a total disservice to responsible parenting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Feckin strange I tell you. I have an 11 year son (12 in January) and I just cannot contemplate why the child was out with no family guidance even if she did storm out of the house, you don't just leave them to it at midnight! There is parental responsibility here even if those do not want to believe it.
    It's not a case of people not wanting to believe it, just that we don't have the full facts and maybe it's a bit early to be gleefully orchestrating a witch hunt against two people whose child's life was ended sharply a couple of days ago?

I'm not denying there is parental responsibility: I would never let a 12 year old at that time but I'm just saying a) I don't know all the facts b) here isn't the time to debate it.

Whatever the charge of irresponsibility, what happened is certainly of enough horrible consequence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

I feel sick after hearing this. My condolances to the parents, family and friends of this girl.

And I was only thinking recently how great it was that there hadn't been child kidnappings and murders reported in Ireland in a long time.

A horrific way to lose a child - the poor, poor parents.

dr ro wrote: »
    yes for a short time. Minus some time for no reason. About 7 years in total i'd guess.

It should be,for every year that poor child or person lost in their future they should be locked up :mad:
    I heard on late news last night he turned himself in to the Garda with another guy.
    There is guilt of something there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

stovelid wrote: »
    Whatever the charge of irresponsibility, what happened is certainly of enough horrible consequence.
    Exactly. They are being punished enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Jaysus. Pretty shocked at what this thread descended into and so quickly.

Khannie wrote: »
    Jaysus. Pretty shocked at what this thread descended into and so quickly.

The thing is Khannie

We are not being given the chance to express opinions about this

Any time the parents are mentioned the threads get locked

Its strange because if this happened in the UK everyone would be able to discuss it

But because its closer to home we should only say RIP and lock up the murdering bastard .

Listen, during the immediate aftermath of this tragedy respect should be given to the family, time to allow them to grieve without added worry. People see, step out for 5 mns, as something that is criminal. Nobody here knows the truth of the matter, did the child have a best friend next door and she was going to step out into the garden with her, in all honesty we cannot make assumptions without knowing the full story.

I am actually sorry I posted this thread now, unfortunately the keyboard warriors have descended, something that I would not expect in such a tragic situations, but yes, sitting at our screens, in the safety of our homes, we all know better:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭dan_d

No matter what the parents did or didn't do, the guilt in their own hearts about it is going to ensure that they pay for it for the rest of their lives.

I think that's punishment enough for anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Look my first toughts when I heard the fact her parents seem to have been ok with her going out was WTF, even at the weekend my 12 year old is not allowed out of his room never mind the house.

Well the person who handed himself into the garda who is 18 has been charged, which means this is no an ongoing court case which restricts even more so what the media and online media including this site can publish, and yes when you post a post the site legally is said to have published it.

It is an extremely tragic thing to have happened and I am sure will effect the friends, family and community for years to come.

I read on the newspaper tis morning,he thought she was 17.I mean wth has that got to do with anything.He killed a child and hope they lock him up for good.
    I am not going to give out about the parents.All i can think for them is what they must be going through :( R.I.P Michaela

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

She was their youngest and their only daughter.

There's a lot of negativity about her in the papers today.

God help them - they will suffer for the rest of their lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭BTE72

Listen, during the immediate aftermath of this tragedy respect should be given to the family, time to allow them to grieve without added worry. People see, step out for 5 mns, as something that is criminal. Nobody here knows the truth of the matter, did the child have a best friend next door and she was going to step out into the garden with her, in all honesty we cannot make assumptions without knowing the full story.

I am actually sorry I posted this thread now, unfortunately the keyboard warriors have descended, something that I would not expect in such a tragic situations, but yes, sitting at our screens, in the safety of our homes, we all know better:rolleyes:

I think you knew what you were doing by starting this thread. Were you seriously thinking that people would not be of the opinion that a twelve yr old shouldn't have been walking the streets for whatever reason?.. of course people are going to share their opinions and of course the circumstances of the death and the age of the child will generate strong opinion.

As this is a current case due before the courts we can not allow posts talking about what may or may not have happened.

BTE72 wrote: »
    I think you knew what you were doing by starting this thread. Were you seriously thinking that people would not be of the opinion that a twelve yr old shouldn't have been walking the streets for whatever reason?.. of course people are going to share their opinions and of course the circumstances of the death and the age of the child will generate strong opinion.

Oh wow, you know me so well:rolleyes:

I am not one to cast judgement, starting this thread was an action whilst still in disbelief of what happened. In hindshight I wish I hadnt, had I the power to delete the thread you can trust me it would be long gone. I naively believed that like me others would wish to express their sympathy, yes I am naive, unfortunately I assume the best of people.

Well done on you for being yet another person to cast judgement on those they do not know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Unfortunately these parents have to take the hardship for what might with any luck yield some fear for parents who allow their own children to engage in similar behaviour.
    We see it time and time again - young children & teenagers who hang around with much older teenagers and young adults, get into trouble. No good can come of your child hanging around with young adults. They get exposed to things which they shouldn't.

My deepest sympathies to the family involved, but hopefully some social good can come of this tragedy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Orion

Thaedydal wrote: »
    As this is a current case due before the courts we can not allow posts talking about what may or may not have happened.
    Unless the case has been referred to the DPP and the DPP has initiated proceedings within the last 4 hours (last time I checked) then it's not due before the courts currently. And even if it is, conjecture is perfectly fine. I know where you're coming from but it is actually possible to discuss what may or may not have happened without prejudice. Obviously outright slander would still not be permissible.
    seamus wrote: »
    My deepest sympathies to the family involved, but hopefully some social good can come of this tragedy.

Sadly I fail to see what social good can come of this. There have been young girls killed in Ireland over the last few years. There have been many documented cases of young girls being abused. Yet young children are still allowed wander unsupervised at various hours of the day. And despite this I can't see that changing.

Without accusing these parents of anything as I don't know the actual circumstances, I cannot understand how they allowed a 12 year old to go out to meet someone after midnight.

I am certain they are asking themselves why right now too and they have my deepest sympathy also for their tragic loss.

[edit]I should mention that I mean discussion here among adults - I haven't read the juvenile cesspool (aka AH) thread nor do I intend to.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/teenager-remanded-on-charge-of-murdering-girl-471413.html
    The teenager was remanded in custody to Cloverhill Prison and will appear before Cloverhill District Court on Friday morning.

He's charged remanded and the first court date has been set.

As far as I can see the OP clearly put the words "love to the parents" in the thread title....................

This would suggest to me that this thread is for positive remarks towards the parents and I think the OP's wish should be respected. Is it not against forum rules to do otherwise?? :confused:. I could be completely wrong on that!!

If this is a problem, I'm certain that another thread could be created for those who wish to pick over the parents actions (unknown though they currently are):)

OP has clearly stated that she is very uncomfortable with a thread she created being used at this time to berate the parents and really, I wouldn't blame her.

Any need to pass judgment that I might consider (for the record, I don't) is instantly assuaged by the scale of the consequence here: to me, there certainly isn't any worse "punishment" for an error of parental judgment than the loss of your child and in this instance, I feel no desire to add to what is already an effective life sentence for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭cynder

stovelid wrote: »
    Any need to pass judgment that I might consider (for the record, I don't) is instantly assuaged by the scale of the consequence here: to me, there certainly isn't any worse "punishment" for an error of parental judgment than the loss of your child and in this instance, I feel no desire to add to what is already an effective life sentence for them.

Brings back the memories of the Madeline mccann case, they have a never ending punishment because she was never found. At least these people have a body they can bury and in someway closure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭teetotaller

I live in Clonsilla - and sometimes when driving late evning I see many youngsters sitting at bus stops, next to the petrol stations etc. I would be afraid to walk near to them in the evening and i;m almost 30 years old man.

I can't understand how it is possible that so many kids are walking on the streets late evening/ night they should all sleep at this time.

I can't even imagine that I would let my son to return home at midnight when he will be 12. and what's more to let him go again after midnight.

Parents of that poor girl should be jailed for serious negliance. they should know that she meet with adult men.....

12 years old is a kid only a kid. midnight is time to be in bed not on the street with men.

I know that some of you will say - we want to live in a safe country and kids should be alowed to step ut at any time - but kid is only a kid and there are many deviants living everywhere.....

thats a sad story, but many parents didn't learn anything. I just returned to home few minutes ago, and I saw many kids , not teenagers or young adults, but kids playing, walking far away from their estates and homes.

The title says Love to the parents of the deceased, if you guys dont have anything nice to say then dont say anything at all!

I'm from the area myself and would hate for anyone to think I had anything to do with slating the family.

smelltheglove please do not back seat mod, if you have an issue report the post but you do not own the thread and can't dictate the terms of it on top of the forum rules.

I know what you mean about teens esp those under 16 beign out so late in the evening.
    Honestly at this stage I am hoping them being back at school will keep them in and also the bad weather can be hard enough to get mine asleep with out packs of them shouting and roaring on the road late at nigth even if they are just passing through.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭teetotaller

The title says Love to the parents of the deceased, if you guys dont have anything nice to say then dont say anything at all!

I'm from the area myself and would hate for anyone to think I had anything to do with slating the family.

Sorry, but no love from my side to people who don't care and don't look after their kids.

I am in no means bacl seating modding, I never have done in my life, I post a thread stating that I wish to send condolences to the unfortunate parents of a murdered girl and instead it has turned into a witch hunt for the parents, to me that is never mind off topic, but insulting.

As I said I set up the thread for condolences and it has come to light that since I am from the area myself there are connections through family members and I would hate to in anyway be blamed for a witch hunt. On the first page I did request that it not be twisted the way it has gone.

I have reported a post and requested the thread be locked for going off topic. Apologies but I do not want to be involved in insulting a family going through such torture, I would not wish it upon anyone.