Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

12-year-old girl found dead in Dublin

• 28-08-2010 5:31pm

From RTE:
    Gardaí are investigating the circumstances surrounding the discovery of the body of a 12-year-old girl on the banks of the Grand Canal in Dublin this afternoon.

The child was reported missing by her parents in the early hours of this morning.

The cause of death has not been determined.

The girl was last seen alive in the early hours of this morning.

She had been out with friends yesterday evening and came home.

It is believed that at around midnight she told her parents that she was stepping out for a few minutes, but when she did not come back they reported her missing at Blanchardstown Garda station.

Gardaí began searching for her and continued searching throughout the day.

They also made contact with a young person who told them he had seen her in the early hours of this morning.

However, her body was discovered by a passerby in overgrown hedging along the bank of the Grand Canal at around 4pm.

The area has now been sealed off.

The State Pathologist's office has been informed and the child's body remains at the scene pending a preliminary examination and post mortem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Ian Beale

An absolute tragedy, may she rest in peace.

Fek.......

My thoughts exactly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Holy fúck...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Very sad.
    There are questions to be asked but they will come soon enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭demonspawn

That's a terrible waste of a young life. Very sad to hear this.

It brings up a question though. What the F**K is a 12 year old girl doing out at 12 o'clock at night? Responsible parents usually have a curfew for their young children, especially young girls, for this exact reason. Parents should be done for negligence and endangerment imo, I don't care how distraught they may be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭MiciG91

What sick ****ers would do that to a 12 yearold !!:mad: whoever done that deserves to rot in jail

• Biggins wrote: »
    Very sad.
    There are questions to be asked but they will come soon enough.

I hope that it was just a terrible accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

Christ. RIP.

A 12 year old shouldn't be "stepping out" at midnight. :(

• MiciG91 wrote: »
    What sick ****ers would do that to a 12 yearold !!:mad: whoever done that deserves to rot in jail

We don't know how she died yet. Could have been an accident. At least that's what I'm hoping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭Fuzzballs

"It is believed that at around midnight she told her parents that she was stepping out for a few minutes"

Why the hell was a 12 year old girl allowed to go out on their own at that time of night!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Some accident to leave your house in Blanch for a few mins and end up dead by the Grand Canal...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭christina_x

poor kid... RIP:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

considering the scum they let out of prison early these days,im surprised it's not more common

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

It is believed that at around midnight she told her parents that she was stepping out for a few minutes

As you do at 12 of course....while one thing shouldn't lead to another by defualt that she was able to step out tells its own tale one suspects.

btw its best not assume she's been murdered at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

Just found out that this happened very very close to home.
    My heart goes out to the family. :(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,727 ✭✭✭Nozebleed

demonspawn wrote: »
    That's a terrible waste of a young life. Very sad to hear this.

It brings up a question though. What the F**K is a 12 year old girl doing out at 12 o'clock at night? Responsible parents usually have a curfew for their young children, especially young girls, for this exact reason. Parents should be done for negligence and endangerment imo, I don't care how distraught they may be.

agreed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

It is believed that at around midnight she told her parents that she was stepping out for a few minutes
    They also made contact with a young person who told them he had seen her in the early hours of this morning.

Is this normal for Parents to let a 12 year old to this

Shocking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭swingking

I'm really hoping that this turns out to be an accident. RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭UpCork

Awful story. They didn't have many details at the start of the six o'clock news.

A terrible scenario but I, like others here did think it was strange for a 12 year old child to be 'stepping out' at midnight at night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

punchdrunk wrote: »
    considering the scum they let out of prison early these days,im surprised it's not more common

Don't go jumping to conclusions or anything like!

RIP to the kid, and condolences to her family

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

Sweet jesus what were her parents thinking..poor child rip

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

MiciG91 wrote: »

Nobody knows or at least we don't know what happened here.

Very sad

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

So do I - don't think we're alone in that thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭everyday taxi

Rest in peace. Sympathies to the family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

12-year-old girl

w.t.f.

She told her parents she was stepping out for a few minutes, around midnight.
    She's 12.

It's not an accident regardless of what happened her.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

Terrible thing to happen. Fingers crossed it was nothing malicious. RIP

• Some accident to leave your house in Blanch for a few mins and end up dead by the Grand Canal...

I agree. That sent alarm bells off for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,089 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

How did she end up at the canal? Was she on her own, with friends or was she brought there? I really hope this was an accident.

One can only imagine the guilt of the parents at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭DEVEREUX

R.I.P..... poor kid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

One can only imagine the guilt of the parents at the moment.

And rightly so.
    If they have other kids, they should be taken into care pending an investigation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭Jinxi

Most 12 year olds I know aren't even UP at 12 o clock.
    Still, wouldn't wish it on my worst enemy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

That's awful. Poor child.
    RIP.

Is it the Royal or Grand Canal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Anyone have friends across the road from them?

Had a curfew around that age myself, but my friends at the time did not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,691 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

It was at Porterstown gate, that's pretty much blancardstown, she may have not been very far from home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Jesus that is very near me. Those poor parents, whatever happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

The-Rigger wrote: »
    And rightly so.
    If they have other kids, they should be taken into care pending an investigation.

Maybe let them grieve as a family before tearing it apart?

• I have to say that this doesn't sound right. A 12 year old tells her parents that she's only stepping out for a couple of minutes, and then goes missing, only to be found an hour away on the bank of a canal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

Royal Canal, according to the Breaking News article.

Poor kid. :( RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭kevin12345

Looks like she was drunk and went for a late night dip in the river

On the RTE news it was ruled out that she was drowned though! Very early to assume anything.

Poor girl. RIP :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Jesus Christ, condolences to the family and friends.

Before people going judging the parents, we don't know the full details yet so don't make claims or judgements yet. She could have been "stepping out" to a friends house just across the road for a few minutes, or they could be irresponsible pricks who let their kid waltz out the door without a care in the world. It's unfair to pass judgment when we only know the bare details.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

Jesus, that is just tragic.

But yeah, like other posters have said, why was she allowed out at midnight and how long was she gone before the parents realised she had not come back??

It was at Porterstown gate, that's pretty much blancardstown, she may have not been very far from home.

RTE calling it Grand Canal, Irish Times, the Royal Canal. Which is it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

any of ye not around Dublin... the closest point The Grand Canal is to Blanch, is through Clondalkin.... this would be too far to walk... there's no direct route other then through Clonsilla / Lucan... or Castleknock / Chapilizod / Balleyfermot...

Although the report in OP doesn't seem to say where abouts along the Grand Canal she was found.

This truly is terrible to see and hear about, reserving judgemet on the parents, as it's very possible she could have just intended to go aroud the corner to give something to a mate... but hopefully should serve as a warning for parents that kids really shouldn't be out and about at time, or able to go so far away from home.

EDIT:

^
    Just seen that now... bloody hell that's just around from me like a few others here mentioned...
    RTE calling it Grand Canal, Irish Times, the Royal Canal. Which is it.

Royal Canal up along here...

any of ye not around Dublin... the closest point The Grand Canal is to Blanch, is through Clondalkin.... this would be too far to walk... there's no direct route other then through Clonsilla / Lucan... or Castleknock / Chapilizod / Balleyfermot...

Although the report in OP doesn't seem to say where abouts along the Grand Canal she was found.

This truly is terrible to see and hear about, reserving judgemet on the parents, as it's very possible she could have just intended to go aroud the corner to give something to a mate... but hopefully should serve as a warning for parents that kids really shouldn't be out and about at time, or able to go so far away from home.

The canal on the northside is known as the Royal Canal, the southside one is known as the Grand Canal. I looked it up. RTE got them mixed up, I always do as well.

EDIT: RTE have just changed it to the Royal Canal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭5T3PH3N

It's the royal canal if they're saying its the porterstown gate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Pretty_Pistol

Don't judge the parents? It's a 12 year old 'stepping out' on their own at midnight. FFS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭Br4tPr1nc3

The canal on the northside is known as the Royal Canal, the southside one is known as the Grand Canal. I looked it up. RTE got them mixed up, I always do as well.

EDIT: RTE have just changed it to the Royal Canal.

the royal canal, as far as i remember is the one on the southside, running by portebello and ranelagh.

the grand canal is the one on the northside running down toward croke park.

Br4tPr1nc3 wrote: »
    the royal canal, as far as i remember is the one on the southside, running by portebello and ranelagh.

the grand canal is the one on the northside running down toward croke park.

I get mixed up too, but just think that Grand Canal Dock is on the southside, where the Grand Canal starts.