Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Favourite Undercard Gimmick

• 28-08-2010 3:36pm

Was just looking searching some wresling clips on youtube and came across a old favourite of most people doink the clown....from their i ended up on ludvig borga and jus kept stumbling across more and more gimmicks (friar ferguson wtf?) ....

kids nowadays all love hornswoggle but in a few years may look back and go what was i thinkin? so just thought id ask what overblown undercard character would be your guilty pleasure? Repo man? Boogeyman? Berzerker? Maybe one of you liked to "get down" to men on a mission as a kid :pac:?

Papa Shongo freaked me the f*ck out as a kid.....i remember my cousin had a servivor series game for the sega mega drive and he'd leave his theme song playing all night any time i stayed over :( scary sh*it

Also my first ever wrestling video was ss 89 and had a match which hogan roberts demolition v dibiase, powers of pain and ZEUS! i know he didnt stay around for long but as a child i thought he was awesome and indestructable!

As for a tag team as a young kid how could you not love The Bushwackers? i mean when your a kid you must of done their arm marching thing they do as they walk?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Conor Hurley.

flahavaj wrote: »
    Conor Hurley.
    :eek: Your talking about a IWW main eventer here, undrcard gimmick is clearly stated!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

The original Santino heel turn. He was so ****ing funny. Now he doesn't have that prickish nature going for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Gerard.C

He couldnt main event nathin that fella

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

He could main-event the Puck Fair :pac:

Or a pie eating competition.

any chance of ticking to the topic lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

Rob Conway in WWE - for the theme music alone!

Should have got a better push IMO!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6ZeBbS8TDuQ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,391 ✭✭✭D2D

I always though Right to Censor was such a cool gimmick. Taking offence to the whole Attitude era and wanting to keep the show "clean" with Ivory, Bull Buchanan, Val Venis and The Goodfather and Stevie Richards. Their theme song was awesome too

And yes, I liked Simon Dean with his Simon system:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭waltersobchak

l_c5482edfdbbb4760905a2e29cbbba8c0.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

The one where they pretend they're going to elevate Christian to the main-event. Never fails to get me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,153 ✭✭✭Jolt2007

I'm a sucker for anyone doing the impersonating other wrestlers gimmick.

l_c5482edfdbbb4760905a2e29cbbba8c0.jpg

Have to agree.....reminds me of eddie murphy so much....

Disco Inferno anyone? or Akeem?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 351 ✭✭Tribesmen7

Rob Conway in WWE - for the theme music alone!

Should have got a better push IMO!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6ZeBbS8TDuQ

Loved Conway and that gimmick. Was a big fan of Kerwin White as well. Brilliant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Trishtan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭brick tamland

^^^^^^^^^^ what the bejesus is that

Anyway Evil Doink would be a favourite of mine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Trishtan

He's Masaki Sumitani, Razor Ramon Hard Gay. He's even gayer when he wrestles.

His entrance theme is Ricky Martins Livin La Vida Loca.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,013 ✭✭✭✭jaykhunter

I reckon i have the most random one...and the most awesome

Terminatuuuuuuuu!

167oznt.jpg

Yes that is some short Japanese lad dressed in a Terminator mask and cloak.....and yes he only does strong, big-man moves. It's AMAZING! He tags with an evil Tingle from the Legend of Zelda!

Uploaded the match myself featuring him, probably the funniest match I've ever seen! Please watch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,888 ✭✭✭Charisteas

I always though Right to Censor was such a cool gimmick. Taking offence to the whole Attitude era and wanting to keep the show "clean" with Ivory, Bull Buchanan, Val Venis and The Goodfather and Stevie Richards. Their theme song was awesome too

They wouldn't look so out of place in today's PG product direction :rolleyes:

An undercarder I enjoyed was Essa Rios, who I think didn't last long in the WWF because he couldn't speak English.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,604 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Since he has already appeared twice on the list, I vote the Godfather.

Used to think the Big Boss man was pretty cool back in the day.

The man who introduced the trash can
    Duke the Dumpster Droese
    And my personal favourite. The Shockmaster!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

Charisteas wrote: »

An undercarder I enjoyed was Essa Rios, who I think didn't last long in the WWF because he couldn't speak English.

I thought it was because he battered Lita IRL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

The Hardcore title under the 24/7 rule was something I always looked forward to as a kid!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭ayatollah

nedtheshed wrote: »

he did what now?!?!!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

I always loved Lex Luger from when I was in hospital playing I think it was WWF Royal Rumble or something like that, and then about 3 years later (Think it was a tape) I seen him wrestling and hated him :D.

I hated RTC but I hated them in that I wanted to watch them get beat so looking back I guess it was a brilliant gimmick, especially considering it had Stevie Richards as the main man it should have been laughed off.

I am a sucker for the helper in a heel mob (EG. Batista and Orton in Evolution) can't count them since they are/were ME. But Orlando Jordan in the Cabinet was brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,383 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

rossie1977 wrote: »

Just goes to show a bad start doesn't mean you can't become World Champion.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

Hahahaha, how have I not seen that before :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

Where did you hear that one?!

rossie1977 wrote: »

I'm still laughing. How did Nash go through that without laughing? From the first minute, you can hear the fans crapping all over it.

I thought Doink was class, and was a major Big Boss Man fan back in his early days. Also had a huge soft spot for Crash Holly, poor guy.

Sure you're not thinking of this lad?

I think it was.....Ground Zero 1997 where backstage, people beat him up, as JR exclaimed that there has been allegations of him beating up his wife. Might've been another PPV...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

i always liked steve blackman and al snow head cheese was awesome and after watching that oz video i really want dusty to come back as a colour commentater

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭hitman79

Nailz and Sid Justice frightened the crap outta me. Lost count of the nightmares i had over Sid Justice :o

hitman79 wrote: »
    Nailz

+1 on Nailz, his angle was absolutely ace. Bit of a psycho IRL as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭hitman79

Anyone remember Bastian Booger? He was another scary fecker from the mid 90's :( Did he used to eat his own snot or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭Danger_dave1

The APA had some quality moments, linked in well with most storylines. Crash hollys 24/7 hardcore reign was very good, The 15 minute battle royal at wm 16 was classic .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭Butch Cassidy

Evil Doink was pretty good. There's a few of his matches on the new RAW DVD which should be worth a watch. This is one of them I think.

Oh and Nailz was very scary as a young kid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 351 ✭✭Tribesmen7

Waylon Mercy

What a gimmick that was. Too bad he had to retire because of a back injury.

Tribesmen7 wrote: »
    Waylon Mercy

His theme song is amazing (well, incredibly unique anyway lol) as long as you can get past the initial stereotypical evil-laughing schtick!

Waylon Mercy

Oh man, i just googled the guy. f**king incredible, that could have been huge. One more reason to hate Kevin Nash.

geeky wrote: »
    Oh man, i just googled the guy. f**king incredible, that could have been huge. One more reason to hate Kevin Nash.

whats Kevin Nash got to do with it? thought he suffered a back injury or something?

why was Big Kev responsible?

ayatollah wrote: »
    whats Kevin Nash got to do with it? thought he suffered a back injury or something?

why was Big Kev responsible?

The back injury came from a big kev jackknife powerbomb.

oh right - is he not a bit big to be jacknifed - no?

i always thought they should have brought him in as an announcer when he was injured if i remember correctly he was savage on the mike

oh right - is he not a bit big to be jacknifed - no?

i always thought they should have brought him in as an announcer when he was injured if i remember correctly he was savage on the mike

Quite, yeah - 6'8 and not exactly the leanest!

geeky wrote: »
    Quite, yeah - 6'8 and not exactly the leanest!

yeah thats a bit stupid alright. although i duno if i'd blame nash - surely mercy or someone would have spoken up if they had a problem with it. like i know he was a bit of a **** back then but like he wasnt the personification of evil.

i always liked Hakushi myself.

wwf really fuc|<ed up on him i always felt he was very talented.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,218 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

Loved 2cool back in the day, Sexsay's glasses that could make you dance were awesome. I think if around today they would be huge as it was such a kiddie friendly gimmick.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,391 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

I always liked The Hurricane, especially his intro.

yeah thats a bit stupid alright. although i duno if i'd blame nash - surely mercy or someone would have spoken up if they had a problem with it. like i know he was a bit of a **** back then but like he wasnt the personification of evil.

Absolutely, yeah, I think it was sheer stupidity rather than any badness!

Almost forgot: Bull Buchanan. He was feckin' ace, so too I.R.S. In general, I liked the heels that weren't booked as either total muppets or unstoppable monsters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭Butch Cassidy

Waylon Mercy

His character was based on Max from Cape Fear I think. Vince always liked to think he was "making movies" (see Beyond the Mat) and there were quite a few characters over the years that came straight out of a film. Papa Shango from A View to a Kill for instance.

Razor Ramon fro Scarface was apparently all Hall's idea and Vince hadn't seen the film and thought the guy was a genius :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭paddyismaddy

anyone remember rico :cool:

rico.JPG

Rjd2 wrote: »
    Loved 2cool back in the day, Sexsay's glasses that could make you dance were awesome. I think if around today they would be huge as it was such a kiddie friendly gimmick.:)

Good shout! Whatever about Scotty 2 Hotty (from what I saw of the AWR tour, he's looked after himself well) it's a shame Brian Christopher is such a drunken mess of a man these days.