Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

if you were in the rira what would you say in reply to President McAleese's criticism

• 27-08-2010 3:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭

Irish Times Breaking News, today
    McAleese says dissidents won't succeed

President Mary McAleese has told dissident republicans their campaign of violence and attempts to destabilise the peace will fail and said they must cease their actions.

She said the "crass methodology of the so-called dissidents" was overtaken by a "radical and intelligent new dispensation" which fully acknowledged the legitimacy of the aspiration to a united Ireland but only by peaceful means and with the consent of the people of the North and South.

She said this was enshrined in the Belfast Agreement. In an article on the dissident threat in today's nationalist Belfast-based Irish News she said the dissidents did not reflect the will of the people, as did the Belfast Agreement.

"What is worse everything they do sullies that legitimate objective of uniting Ireland in the eyes of those who most need to be persuaded of its merits and makes its achievement less and less likely," she said.

"Those who think they can drag us back into darkness should take serious note of the fact that despite a litany of gruesome acts of violence the seed of peace has taken root strongly in many hearts once estranged from one another. Love is stronger than hate. It is as simple as that," she added.

There was a message for the dissidents, she said. "Your violent campaign will not succeed and it is long past the time to stop."

The President said relationships within Northern Ireland and between North and South have improved considerably.

"Many of those who were actively involved in violence or who supported paramilitarism have become convinced champions of the peace process and of our collective power to build a society that cherishes peace, justice and diversity," she said.

President McAleese said there was a momentum behind the new dispensation. "It is not easy or straightforward but it is markedly better than anything which has preceded it. It offers hope and it offers that hope to everyone."

"Achieving a united Ireland is a mission that challenges us all in a spirit of love, mutual respect and peaceful dialogue to move mountains but, then again, who could have foretold the extent of the positive shifts in the political landscape that have already happened since the Good Friday Agreement?" she said.

"However, one thing is dismally clear - unity will never be achieved by the powerful destroyer of hatred and violence."

President McAleese said Ireland was now well on its way to a positive future of peace, equality and good neighbourliness. "Anyone who claims to be passionate about this island's future should be doing what they can to build the trust, the reconciliation, the mutual respect and acceptance which make people comfortable with one another even where profound differences exist," she said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Nijmegen

They'd likely have a cry ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

'Shut up'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

tldr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

What would Jesus do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

tl;dr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

If I was in the RIRA? I would say, "You know what Mary, you're right. We are bunch of bigoted drug-dealing scumbags with no interest in peace or unification. We should STFU and piss off like every decent Irish person wants us to."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

tl;dr

I can has cheeseburger?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

I'd say the knuckle-dragging halfwits are too busy trying to decipher what she said to forumlate a reply tbh.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

moonpurple wrote: »
    Irish Times Breaking News, today
    McAleese says dissidents won't succeed

President Mary McAleese has told dissident republicans their campaign of violence and attempts to destabilise the peace will fail and said they must cease their actions.

She said the "crass methodology of the so-called dissidents" was overtaken by a "radical and intelligent new dispensation" which fully acknowledged the legitimacy of the aspiration to a united Ireland but only by peaceful means and with the consent of the people of the North and South.

She said this was enshrined in the Belfast Agreement. In an article on the dissident threat in today's nationalist Belfast-based Irish News she said the dissidents did not reflect the will of the people, as did the Belfast Agreement.

"What is worse everything they do sullies that legitimate objective of uniting Ireland in the eyes of those who most need to be persuaded of its merits and makes its achievement less and less likely," she said.

"Those who think they can drag us back into darkness should take serious note of the fact that despite a litany of gruesome acts of violence the seed of peace has taken root strongly in many hearts once estranged from one another. Love is stronger than hate. It is as simple as that," she added.

There was a message for the dissidents, she said. "Your violent campaign will not succeed and it is long past the time to stop."

The President said relationships within Northern Ireland and between North and South have improved considerably.

"Many of those who were actively involved in violence or who supported paramilitarism have become convinced champions of the peace process and of our collective power to build a society that cherishes peace, justice and diversity," she said.

President McAleese said there was a momentum behind the new dispensation. "It is not easy or straightforward but it is markedly better than anything which has preceded it. It offers hope and it offers that hope to everyone."

"Achieving a united Ireland is a mission that challenges us all in a spirit of love, mutual respect and peaceful dialogue to move mountains but, then again, who could have foretold the extent of the positive shifts in the political landscape that have already happened since the Good Friday Agreement?" she said.

"However, one thing is dismally clear - unity will never be achieved by the powerful destroyer of hatred and violence."

President McAleese said Ireland was now well on its way to a positive future of peace, equality and good neighbourliness. "Anyone who claims to be passionate about this island's future should be doing what they can to build the trust, the reconciliation, the mutual respect and acceptance which make people comfortable with one another even where profound differences exist," she said.

If I was in the RIRA I would have them engaged in a campaign of violence not against innocent civilians or hapless British troops in the North but rather I'd have Dail Eireann bombed with Mortars and have the entire cabinet bench of Fianna Fail killed with bombs and bullets by now. As for McAleese she is a troll and can feck off up North for all I would care. The North is not our enemy today, our enemies walk amongst us and claim to represent us. I would have the majority of banks burned down and blew up by now also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Another jug of that green stuff please Sheila, hic, I mean Mary. And play men
    at work again. I scarcely ever hear that in here every 30 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Nijmegen

Stinicker wrote: »
    If I was in the RIRA I would have them engaged in a campaign of violence not against innocent civilians or hapless British troops in the North but rather I'd have Dail Eireann bombed with Mortars and have the entire cabinet bench of Fianna Fail killed with bombs and bullets by now. As for McAleese she is a troll and can feck off up North for all I would care. The North is not our enemy today, our enemies walk amongst us and claim to represent us. I would have the majority of banks burned down and blew up by now also.
    Being a dissident, you'd likely ensure there were a few pregnant women inside the bank first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

rira agus ruaille buaille

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

"all we want is rockall for gods sake!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

This will end well.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,112 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I can only assume I'd be too retarded to have read it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    This will end well.

I blame land grabbing protestant vicars up in Sligo tbh.

Stinicker wrote: »
    I blame land grabbing protestant vicars up in Sligo tbh.
    I blame the RCC, the Brits, Joe Duffy, Muslims, FF, The Greens, Israel, Bush, Blair and Bin Ladin.

And that retarded vicar.

First of all *subscribe* second of all. Probably say something back in badly phrased broken Irish.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

but... but... she's right...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

"I know you are, but what am I?!" :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Hmm. I can think of several examples where unity has been achieved this way.
    The US, for one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭cleremy jarkson

prinz wrote: »
    I'd say the knuckle-dragging halfwits are too busy trying to decipher what she said to forumlate a reply tbh.

Hmm, I wonder if you'd say that to their faces.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I'd blow up some children.

That'd show her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭Otacon

I would. Who do I need to talk to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Are they man enough to show their faces now? News to me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

easyeason3 wrote: »
    What would Jesus do?
    Read a good fiction book instead.
    I'd suggest the bible to him then, to start with. :o

On a serious note.
    I think she is right to reiterate that they will not win - especially when the vast majority has decided to move on in more progressive ideas and methods.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

they are never easy to locate?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Once they have the guts to show their fúcking faces...

Hmm. I can think of several examples where unity has been achieved this way.
    The US, for one.

the american civil war was a clash of one army against the other

the union had more support and won, their vision was more supported,

the rira and cira are occasionally bombing and shooting often near children, very different to lincoln's vision and concerns about slavery

the crassness referred to by President McAleese might mean that for the tiny numbers of rira and cira people there will have to be many omagh's as 'the end justifies any means'..

'wading through irish blood towards a unified republic'..de valera 1922, college green, Dublin

but since then the many irish over 32 counties have approved the new road that is the good friday agreement

sin an sceal go leir mo chairde gael
    though I doubt if any children of rira or cira people will ever die

'my religion? when i do bad i feel bad, when i do good , i feel good' - A lincoln

fair play to president McAleese for being clear and for facing the flak that will come

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭kc87

it'd tell her she's not bad looking for an older chick and then ask her what her favourite position was.

and if she declined my advances id probly use the full force of my organisation and send her a rude letter or do a nick nack on her door

This will end well.

this will end well
    also observed by:

the taliban 2010
    pol pot cambodia 1971
    batista cuba 1962
    eta spain 1998
    plo munich olympics 1972
    the contras el salvador 1983
    somali pirates 2009
    2 cavan lads who parked the car on omagh main street 2000
    general pinochet chile 1974
    saddam hussein kuwait 1990
    hitler paris 1941

and so on and so on:pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

this will end well

the taliban 2010
    pol pot cambodia 1971
    batista cuba 1962
    eta spain 1998
    plo munich olympics 1972
    the contras el salvador 1983
    somali pirates 2009

and so on and so on:pac:

i might check that one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Is the suggestion that he'd be afraid of armed murderers supposed to be some sort of insult?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭Vic_Mackey

First of all *subscribe* second of all. Probably say something back in badly phrased broken Irish.
    This reminds me of some graffitti that was painted on the wall of the underground car park in a place I used to live (in Finglas)

Chucky Ar La

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭Pawpad666

tl/dr

Mmm Danone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭cleremy jarkson

Otacon wrote: »
    I would. Who do I need to talk to?
    prinz wrote: »
    Are they man enough to show their faces now? News to me.
    they are never easy to locate?
    Once they have the guts to show their fúcking faces...
    Pace2008 wrote: »
    Is the suggestion that he'd be afraid of armed murderers supposed to be some sort of insult?

I should probably point out that I'm not on their side, by the way. I'm just pointing out that virtually any person to be found on an internet message board insulting the members of the rira wouldn't say the same thing to a member if they met them in person. I wouldn't confront a member either, because I've enough common sense to know that it would stupid and dangerous of me to do so.

would you rule out that some boards posters might be admirers of the rira, unlike President McAleese?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭lugha

I think they would insist that right is on their side and that while Irish people of the present times do not appreciate their efforts, future generations will ignore the fact that they discount the wishes of the majority and will come to regard them as heroes. Just as we have done with Pearce and we are in the process of doing with Adams.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 613 ✭✭✭Misanthrope

"who's yer wan ?"

lugha wrote: »
    I think they would insist that right is on their side and that while Irish people of the present times do not appreciate their efforts, future generations will ignore the fact that they discount the wishes of the majority and will come to regard them as heroes. Just as we have done with Pearce and we are in the process of doing with Adams.
    Pretty much. They would regard those who did not support them as "enemies through ignorance"

I highly doubt they care one bit what the head of a state which they do not view as legitimate says. Understandably so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

I highly doubt they care one bit what the head of a state which they do not view as legitimate says. Understandably so.

Or what anybody says. Including the people they claim to represent. Less understandably so.

They do have supporters though. The certainly care about the words spoken by men such as the 1916 heroes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭last name ever. first name greatest

Interesting question OP.

Were I someone of that ilk I think I'd have to wonder why I was that way?
    Did I grow up seeing the abuse of the British army and establishment for many years? Am I now mentally inducted into hate for a British establishment/occupier? Can I not see past that for a greater good? Was my brother shot to death by the British army and I can never forgive? or did he starve himself to death for a cause and now I just can't let that go?

I assume these people are not doing it because they are bored and have yet to discover game playing consoles or the joys of interacting over the intermanets.

I'd imagine were I so inclined that I would still like to move the British army out of the North, by force, and that I was fairly set in my ways, for whatever, most probably, personal reasons.

So what would I say to her?

I'd tell her you live your life and I will live mine. You make speeches about a new approach to peace while I notice you have nothing to say about this country being raped and pillaged by the banks, the elite and the government. Is that not important? Have you any comments to make? Or would that not sit well with your political history/future?

I'd ask her if a member of your family was brutally murdered would you not want to revenge them? If you had spent years being incarcerated because on internment and tortured would you not be still a tad pissed off and not give a flying fuk what most people thought, considering quite a lot of them are fuking idiots who bought into the property boom and are now moany fuking twats complaining that they were sold a pup?

I'd ask here has she forgotten how the whole thing panned out pre modern media and can she not see that what is happening to some very small countries, like the Palestinians, is what has happened in the past to Ireland but because we have moved on, ala people are just about money and material goods, does not mean that the some people have forgotten?

I'd probably ask her a lot of question that she would be uncomfortable asking tbh and would certainly not like published in the media.

I may have over thought this :)

Actually I'd just like to add one more question for her given the OPs question.

Do you think Ivor Callely is a good and honest person who has made mistakes or a person who fleeced the system because he could and should resign because it was morally wrong.

I'd love her answer on that one :D

They do have supporters though.

An election would be a useful test of that.

What, the bomb the brits party?

Maybe. What do RIRA stand under at the moment?

whut?

They don't stand under anything I think.

CIRA are "associated" with Republican Sinn Fein.

But the newest most capable dissident group OnH have no political wing at all.

How much support do you think they have? I haven't heard anyone in the media (including Boards.ie) speaking out in favour of what they are doing.