Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tony Blair

• 27-08-2010 1:02pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭

He's coming to our shore's next week to pimp his book and do the Late Late Show with everybodies favourite, Tubs.

The anti war campaigner's are ready to protest at his presense here and do some serious frowning at him in their peaceful demonstations:rolleyes:

So, whats your thoughts on Mr.Blair. Excellent former UK leader or just a misguided former war monger?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

War Criminal!

Thanks!

No need for any other responses!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

He seems better suited to the job of PM then the most recent current crop.

But that been said its a big meh from me, he had to go to war alongside the USA at the time as there was to much to lose if he didnt show support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

MidlandsM wrote: »
    So, whats your thoughts on Mr.Blair. Excellent former UK leader or just a misguided former war monger?

a little bit of A and a little bit of B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Good - The Northern Ireland Peace Process

Bad - Dubyas Lap Dog

In history he'll probably be most known for the latter
    He's coming to our shore's next week to pimp his book and do the Late Late Show with everybodies favourite, Tubs.

Sure isn't that what most of his guests come on for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

First and foremost, he's a war criminal. But before that he was the worst example of modern politics. Got into power on a PR and advertising campaign. Once in power treated politics like running a company and based a lot of his decisions on focus groups. Is now scrambling about to repair his reputation, but history will always view him as the lackie of the worst American president of all time.

But by far his worst legacy is paving the way for the Conservative Blair facsimilie that is David fucking Cameron.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

BOOM! Now I will never pay a tv licence again, not a chance, RTE hosting War Criminals and want the licence payer to foot the bill, no way!

Incidentally I hear they are digging up Hitler for the following week's show :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

He would probably still be the British Prime Minister, had he not wedged himself up George W's war-mongering arse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

Top bloke and did the right thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

I like Tony Blair

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

The anti war campaigner's are ready to protest at his presense here and do some serious frowning at him in their peaceful demonstations:rolleyes:

I thought he was a good PM, reparing a lot of the damage caused by a stale corrupt Tory government. He did a lot to repair Anglo-Irish relations and started giving the UK a bit of credibility back on the world stage.

Then he goes and ruins it all by dragging the UK into a disasterous war in Iraq.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Tony B. Liar more like. See what I did there? Oooh yeah, that'll show him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

bonerm wrote: »
    Tony B. Liar more like. See what I did there? Oooh yeah, that'll show him!

Mods, could somebody take that down before Tony see's it?, it could hurt his feelings!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Kiwi_knock

He is a certainly an interesting person to listen to and has an likeable personality so I will be watching the interview. Hopefully Tubs does a bit of probing questions and asks a few hard questions. Should be a good interview and a interesting watch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

The only probing that'll be done is Tubs shoving his head up Blairs' backside just like he's well used to doing when fawning over his Fianna Fail masters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Best public speaker you'll ever see. Compare him to Bertie or the present Taoiseach.

Leaving aside his politics, if you struggle with public speaking or maybe had to do this in work or college, a good person to model.
    I catch myself copying his hand gestures even now as we had to do this in college, I struggled badly so modelled Tony Blair

And yep, did good work on Anglo Irish relations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

kfallon wrote: »
    BOOM! Now I will never pay a tv licence again, not a chance, RTE hosting War Criminals and want the licence payer to foot the bill, no way!

Incidentally I hear they are digging up Hitler for the following week's show :rolleyes:

I wonder who will get the translator gig.

Ryan Tubridy interviews Hitler would be classic TV and right on for Tubridy as he seems to be stuck in the 30's / 40's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Rubik.

Pauleta wrote: »

You mean like, invading a country without enough troops on the ground to maintain security for the population of that country. Resulting in a vacuum that was inevitably filled with violence and the death of thousands of civilians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

Kasabian wrote: »
    I wonder who will get the translator gig.

Ryan Tubridy interviews Hitler would be classic TV and right on for Tubridy as he seems to be stuck in the 30's / 40's

In before 'Tubridy's worse.' :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I'm not religious, but let's say, that if there is a hell, Tony Blair is going straight there when he dies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Will ye stop with the Tubridy/Hitler comparisons, its silly.

He's more like Goebbels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Sanjuro wrote: »
    First and foremost, he's a war criminal. But before that he was the worst example of modern politics. Got into power on a PR and advertising campaign. Once in power treated politics like running a company and based a lot of his decisions on focus groups. Is now scrambling about to repair his reputation, but history will always view him as the lackie of the worst American president of all time.

He was just showing his WMD side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭Saadyst

rabble rabble rabble hitler rabble rabble war criminal rabble rabble gw bush

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

He is giving the full advance of 4.6 million that he got for the book to charity.
    I think its a shame that his name has been so tarnished by the war in Iraq, he would have, quite rightly, been held in massive regard in Ireland were it not for it. I have mixed feelings about him,but i believe his heart was in the right place when he authorised the war, but its the total mismanagment (mostly by the Americans) of the aftermath of the war that is the most unforgiveing aspect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭Saadyst

Andy-Pandy wrote: »
    He is giving the full advance of 4.6 million that he got for the book to charity.
    I think its a shame that his name has been so tarnished by the war in Iraq, he would have, quite rightly, been held in massive regard in Ireland were it not for it. I have mixed feelings about him,but i believe his heart was in the right place when he authorised the war, but its the total mismanagment (mostly by the Americans) of the aftermath of the war that is the most unforgiveing aspect.

He would have been the only person in the world then to enjoy that honour. :pac:

I'm not religious, but let's say, that if there is a hell, Tony Blair is going straight there when he dies.

Nope. He has converted to Catholicism and confessed his sins, so he is grand.

The ongoing enquiry hints that he may have considered himself to be on some sort of crusade to bring peace and harmony to the middle east (where, I believe, he is quite well regarded). Like most crusaders though, his heart and head weren't very well connected.

He is giving the full advance of 4.5 million that he got for the book to charity.
    Heart in the right place is no justification for the deaths of over one hundred thousand Iraqi civilians in a war that is for oil. It's not about WMDs, that was a smoke-screen. Blair was fixated with pleasing America, and even when his own electorate didn't want to go to war, he went ahead with it anyway. Giving proceeds to charity, while great, is still a paltry attempt to repair his image. He's still making millions from all the other work he's gotten off the back of being a war criminal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

He had to join the religion of mass destruction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Blair was alright in my book. Kicking the crap out of saddam was the right move in the long run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Can I get this straight, there are people here who blame Tony Blair for the fact that last week some wankstain strapped on an explosive vest and blew up a line of people queuing for a job?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

And yet the english establishment were crapping it that he might turn out for away side while he was still PM. :pac:

Bambi wrote: »
    And yet the english establishment were crapping it that he might turn out for away side while he was still PM. :pac:

It could have been awkward, that's for sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

I thought he was a good PM, reparing a lot of the damage caused by a stale corrupt Tory government. He did a lot to repair Anglo-Irish relations and started giving the UK a bit of credibility back on the world stage.

Then he goes and ruins it all by dragging the UK into a disasterous war in Iraq.

*cough* Afghanistan *cough*

how many UN resolutions would you like?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭j1974

Now!! Sadam invaded his neighbours, because he was convinced they were diagonally drilling his oil, that was his agenda at the time , this has been proven also. America declares war on iraq. It seems as long as you have clean drinking water, nice teeth and a sharp suit, you can do what you like while the rest of the world watch having been Duped!!!

What's the difference between sadam, bush and blair???? A bleedin tan and a turban???? I cant stand tony blair, I hope someone manages to make it in to studio and heckle him to bits!!! Id love to see his face.

and why does that Tubridy ****ebag allow the bertie aherns and tony blairs a platform from which to peddle said filth??? No one's interested, you think tubbers is going to pry something out of Blair, that a war crimes committee couldnt???.

Pauleta wrote: »

what was that? wiping his mouth after ****ting voters!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭Nijmegen

I think if you spent time in Britain pre and post New Labour, you might feel a bit more sympathy for the man. Britain really was broken in 1997, and Tony Blair and New Labour did a good job at fixing a lot of it - not all of it, by any stretch, but a lot of it.

We also forget his other military adventures, such as in the Balkans and Africa. If Tony Blair had been PM in 1994 then things might have gone differently in Rwanda, because the man was prepared to put his money where his mouth was.

As for Iraq, I believe that the man believed in doing the right thing. Hindsight is a bitch. I might go to the signing, just to go and show some support.

Best public speaker you'll ever see. Compare him to Bertie or the present Taoiseach.

Leaving aside his politics, if you struggle with public speaking or maybe had to do this in work or college, a good person to model.
    I catch myself copying his hand gestures even now as we had to do this in college, I struggled badly so modelled Tony Blair

And yep, did good work on Anglo Irish relations.

you copy his hand gestures??? really???. How is flipping the bird considered appropriate in a college lecture?? cos thats what he did as he and bush stormed into Iraq. The one finger salute, that's all he perfected. If you model youself on the likes of him, you az got reo problems init!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

kfallon wrote: »
    Pity they don't know where Hitler is buried.

=-=

As for Tony, I prefer Bosco. Bosco was a funnier puppet.
    j1974 wrote: »
    What's the difference between sadam, bush and blair????
    Saddam killed lots of his own people, Blair killed lots of it's enemies, and Americans died when Bush was in power, so he made sure the enemies would die.

correction, not charity, the british army fallen troops. Its all going to help the troops and families of UK soldiers who were killed, mamed, and psycholigically fuc*ed up. Now who sent them there again?????????? Oh yeah TONY!! can any one say guilty conscience, altogether now class!!!!

Plus that begs the question, If we bought his book isnt that similar to him standing outside easons with a bucket lablelled "help Britains troops"???

F*ck OFF you C*unt!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Tony will play a song with the "Late Late Show Band"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Tony will play a song with the "Late Late Show Band"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

how many UN resolutions would you like?

To clarify, you're ok with the war in Afghanistan, even though its gone on for two years more than the one in Iraq and the country was unconnected to 9/11? Should war be declared based on every UN resolution or just the one's about countries the PM and/or US president takes a dislike to?

Afghanistan is unconnected to 9/11? Or am I reading that wrong?

prinz wrote: »
    Can I get this straight, there are people here who blame Tony Blair for the fact that last week some wankstain strapped on an explosive vest and blew up a line of people queuing for a job?

well if that's what you think then obviously you cant get it straight, to answer your question!!!! one thing has nothing to do with the other.
    Local fundamentalists will exploit any war or situation to suit their own personal skewd agenda. We're talking about a smarmy,:D greedy,teflon suit here, not a bombvest on some wankstain as you correctly put it...!!!

Nijmegen wrote: »
    Afghanistan is unconnected to 9/11? Or am I reading that wrong?
    Pretty much unrelated. If the US and Britain were really interested in going after those behind 9/11, they'd be aiming their sights at Saudi Arabia. But then, the Saudi's are too much in the US pocket to shake things up there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Bambi wrote: »
    Blair was alright in my book. Kicking the crap out of saddam was the right move in the long run.
    Doesn't say any nice things about you in his book.

Sanjuro wrote: »
    Pretty much unrelated. If the US and Britain were really interested in going after those behind 9/11, they'd be aiming their sights at Saudi Arabia. But then, the Saudi's are too much in the US pocket to shake things up there.
    Aha. The training camps and fact that the organisers were in Afghanistan, an Islamic state that'd chop your head off if your beard wasn't long enough, having nothing to do with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

j1974 wrote: »
    correction, not charity, the british army fallen troops. Its all going to help the troops and families of UK soldiers who were killed, mamed, and psycholigically fuc*ed up. Now who sent them there again?????????? Oh yeah TONY!! can any one say guilty conscience, altogether now class!!!!

Plus that begs the question, If we bought his book isnt that similar to him standing outside easons with a bucket lablelled "help Britains troops"???

F*ck OFF you C*unt!!
    All the proceeds will be donated to a project funded by veterans' charity the Royal British Legion that provides rehabilitation services for seriously injured members of the armed forces

Its a charity that supports his own troops, a pretty deserving one at that. I can see the irony it it already by the way, you dont need to point it out.

Taliban 'policies' aside, the connections between Afghanistan and the 9/11 bombers are tenuous at best. Even when it comes to Osama Bin Laden, he was not in any way the mastermind behind the attacks. At most he provided material support for the bombers. Is he a bad guy? Yeah, he's pretty much a lunatic. But, like Sadam, he is not the threat to the west that he's made out to be.

Even when it comes to the Taliban, what the western forces are embroiled in is a civil war in Afghanistan. It's not a battle between the forces of good and evil. And neither is it a conventional war. They're going to be stuck in that country until they shift focus to Iran or else withdraw with their tails between their legs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭royston_vasey

There are two wars being discussed here that are a legacy of Blair's "regime": Iraq and Afghanistan.

Saddam was embraced by the British and Americans after the Shah was overthrown by the people in Iran; it was an attempt to countermand the rise in fundamental Islam that was occurring in Iran due to the inequalities that resided there during the Shah's regime - a regime sponsored by Britain and America.

The Taliban were supported by Britain and American during the Russian occupation of Afghanistan to fight against the Russian "infidels" and this support included arming Osama Bin Laden.

So how can anybody argue that the wars raged against Saddam and the Taliban by Britain and America are just when there would have been no need for them - or the subsequent bloodshed - if they hadn't have created these Frankensteins in the first place?