Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dole thread

• 27-08-2010 2:13am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭

So it's been ages since we've had a dole thread.

Is anyone here on the dole?

I am, lost my job two months ago, lived off savings for the first month and had to sign up then recently.

Poll is private obviously.

Are you on the dole? 131 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    30% 40 votes
    Atari Shaguar
    69% 91 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 Provisionally

I am on a three day week. Get around €100 a week on the doll on top of wages (more if I work less than 3 days)

I graduated from Uni in 2009 but am still working in a crappy pub.

Having said that I've been doing 3 ten hour days plus dole which isn't bad really.

• Moderators Posts: 8,755 ✭✭✭x PyRo

Woohoo, another one. :pac:

I'm not.

Can't find a job at the moment either.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Im on the dole and proud off it, just got bak from the pub 2 hrs ago and then had a nice feed:) thats me in bed until at least 6 o lock tommorrow evening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭flag123

Friday 27 august about 03:19 on Boards....i think that answered the poll for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

Im on the dole and proud off it, just got bak from the pub 2 hrs ago and then had a nice feed:) thats me in bed until at least 6 o lock tommorrow evening

You wont be on it much longer if you keep using the killer cooker.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

DOC09UNAM wrote: »
    You wont be on it much longer if you keep using the killer cooker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Is back to education the same ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭sponsoredwalk

This is the first pro-dole thread I've ever seen here tbh :)

There was one yesterday about cheats, another day there was one about
    people taking advantage of it, my god do people care about the dole.
    You know how I define the economic and social classes in this country?
    The upper class keeps all of the money, pays none of the taxes.
    The middle class pays all of the taxes, does all of the work.
    The poor are there... just to scare the ∫hit out of the middle class.
    Keep 'em showing up at those jobs.

This is the first pro-dole thread I've ever seen here tbh :)

There was one yesterday about cheats, another day there was one about
    people taking advantage of it, my god do people care about the dole.
    It's not really something to be ashamed of I don't think, and I honestly couldn't care less what the people who bítch and moan about care.

If i could be out working and making friends at work, earning 4 times what I get on the dole, I would.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Yup yup, well, I will be next week, been waiting a month and a half for my claim to be processed, bring it ****ing on! There really aren't many jobs about, hopefully it'll look up a bit now with students going back. All I want is some crappy waitressing/retail/anything that's not sales kind of gig. Might try take the feckers for some rent allowance as well seeing as they took their sweet time :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

I'm on the dole since leaving school 10 years ago, I'm doing quite well for myself though, recently purchased Nike Cortez 63's, Addidas tracksuit bottoms and brand new gleaming white socks to tuck the new tracksuit bottoms into. I have my own room, I live with me ma but she allows me do whatever the fook I want, I can have cans in the sitting room, have me mates over for Pro Evolution soccer tournaments, smoke spliffs. If me ma complains I just hit her with my pimp cane. I can afford all this luxury on €196 a week.

Deeeadly.

Why derail the thread with this shíte attempt at being humorous?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Why be a díck? Dont like it, piss off.

FearDark wrote: »
    Why be a díck? Dont like it, piss off.
    I made the thread so adults could have a reasonable conversation instead of it turning to shíte like all the dole bashing threads that have been around lately, no need for your attempt at humour, and trying to bring down everyone on the dole.

Don't like the thread, piss off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

If you wanted a reasoned debate about it After Hours probably wasn't the best place to start the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭sponsoredwalk

It's not really something to be ashamed of I don't think, and I honestly couldn't care less what the people who bítch and moan about care.

If i could be out working and making friends at work, earning 4 times what I get on the dole, I would.

I don't mean to imply that it's something to be ashamed of, in fact I was
    holding back on criticizing the idiots on this forum who come out with the
    stupid almost daily. I get really angry reading some of the idiocy on this
    forum with people hiding behind the internet talking big about people/subjects
    they know nothing about so, in short, no it's nothing to be ashamed of :p

I am seriously ashamed to realise I share such genetic similarities with
    those who, while in work, are fobbing off work on their pc's giving out
    about "dole scroungers" and for'nurs etc...
    The same people that bend over backwards for the law will thumbs up
    that naked guy at the spire (most thanked post :p) yet I wonder do they
    know it's illegal also :eek:

lol :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,472 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Not on the dole...but sometimes I wish I was after having to stay up all night working :mad:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Isn't that the boards way...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭_JOE_

Stephen wrote: »
    If you wanted a reasoned debate about it After Hours probably wasn't the best place to start the thread.

This.

The majority of those on the dole are not going to enter this thread as most will suspect the usual bashing dished out on AH...

I'm not by the way:p...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

Nope not on the dole and never have been.

Not in a smug way or anything, For whatever reason I was always just lucky enough with work that I never needed to sign on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

I am.

That said tho it's really hard coming up with new excuses every month as to why I need a day off work in order to pick it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Steak and fried potatoes?

I await my reply at 6pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭gerrycollins

both the wife and I both on the dole after we were made redundant. ive been working without a break for 14 years and my wife for 11 years and I cant tell you the shame and embarrasment we feel picking up our money in the post office.

We have 3 kids under 5 and obviously get the childrens allowance too.

no matter how much i tell myself im entitled to the dole for a few weeks,till i get re-employed,considering the years of tax etc that i have paid I still feel a sense of shame. Its not easy and while some of the bashers might target the real dole scammers in their posts, those who never worked a day im their life, its hard to differenciate that the person in the que beside you is a dole scrounger or basher when you hand over your card for your money

its not easy and when you think that over 50% of the current dole que only arrived on the scene in the last 5 years or so, people need to take care in what they say in general. its depressing enough to be locked in your own house daily just so you can pay the bills and keep the wolves from the door while searching and applying for jobs and know there are now 100's for every position and not wasting a single cent its a melting pot out there and the real hardship from it is yet to come.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

both the wife and I both on the dole after we were made redundant. ive been working without a break for 14 years and my wife for 11 years and I cant tell you the shame and embarrasment we feel picking up our money in the post office.

no matter how much i tell myself im entitled to the dole for a few weeks,till i get re-employed,considering the years of tax etc that i have paid I still feel a sense of shame. Its not easy and while some of the bashers might target the real dole scammers in their posts, those who never worked a day im their life, its hard to differenciate that the person in the que beside you is a dole scrounger or basher when you hand over your card for your money

its not easy and when you think that over 50% of the current dole que only arrived on the scene in the last 5 years or so, people need to take care in what they say in general. its depressing enough to be locked in your own house daily just so you can pay the bills and keep the wolves from the door while searching and applying for jobs and know there are now 100's for every position and not wasting a single cent its a melting pot out there and the real hardship from it is yet to come.

F*ck - that's terrible, dude. And there's plenty of others in the same boat as you. As for feeling shame & embarrasment, you really shouldn't - your & your wife have paid 25 years of PRSI between you, and PRSI is a Pay Related Social Insurance.... Insurance against things like being made redundant. Look at it this way, if your car was stolen in the morning, would you be embarrased to claim off your insurance company? No, because you've paid for the insurance & all you are doing is claiming back what you are entitled to. The same principal applies to social insurance.

Anyway, I hope your luck changes soon. In the meantime, maybe you should look into doing some courses or learning a new skill - there are tonnes of state funded courses out there - from FAS ones (which can be hit & miss) to returning to college (for which you should get the BTEA). For 3rd level places, you don't even necessarily need a Leaving Cert if you apply as a mature student.

That way, when things turn around economically, you'll at least have a new skill, you won't have a large gap in your C.V. and you won't be stuck at home all day long. It's something worth considering & there's nothing to lose (especially as you'll retain your SW payments).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭mecanoman

On the dole two years, after being wotk since i left school 17 years
    ago. It can get me down some days, appling for job after job.

Lot of employers don't even have the manners to even reply.
    Doing a FAS course at the moment, getting re-educated(trying to any away)

Ever days a new adventure, try to hope for the best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Was on the dole for 9 months. saved up and left the country. coming home in a few days but work independantly now, can survive and am increasing my skills.

closest i was offered work in ireland was "work experience" where id work 40 hours a week doing the same job as others but still only on the dole. greedy bastards. I dont need work experience, i need to make a living.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

Why feel shame and embarrassment its your money your entitled to it....and it you were on the breadline you'd be breaking down PO door to get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

philstar wrote: »
    Why feel shame and embarrassment its your money your entitled to it....and it you were on the breadline you'd be breaking down PO door to get it.

I was on for two months and I felt embarrassed too, especially when I was signing on. Sure, you're entitled to it but if you see someone in the window next to your posting a letter and you're getting handed free money you feel like a bit of a sh1t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Never been on the dole, got part-time work in a local Tesco, went to college, kept the part time work, did well in college went into employment and have been lucky with jobs really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Anybody that paid tax for 2+ years shouldn't be ashamed, You've covered your dole by paying your taxes while you worked. Somebody said they saved and moved away while on the Dole which I'd say means the Dole is too high!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

Wompa1 wrote: »
    Somebody said they saved and moved away while on the Dole which I'd say means the Dole is too high!

he/she might have been living at home with mammy & daddy > no expences

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Anybody that paid tax for 2+ years shouldn't be ashamed, You've covered your dole by paying your taxes while you worked. Somebody said they saved and moved away while on the Dole which I'd say means the Dole is too high!

Isn't that a good thing as he saved the taxpayer x amount by leaving?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Isn't that a good thing as he saved the taxpayer x amount by leaving?

That's true. Point taken!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭lila44

I'm not on the dole, but I am a student working part-time. On my basic hours, I would actually be better off of I was on the dole! (I am paid monthly)

However, that does not make me want to go on the dole, I would go crazy with nothing to do everyday!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

Im getting tired of people thinking and saying the dole is too high
    This country is very expensive to live in with the government looking for ways to tax at us every turn its becoming impossible to live in this country

Personally Im not on the dole myself but I know people that are and the dole barely covers their living expenses and I say fair play to the person that saved it up and made a better life for themselves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

BluesBerry wrote: »
    This country is very expensive to live in with the government looking for ways to tax at us every turn its becoming impossible to live in this country

Personally Im not on the dole myself but I know people that are and the dole barely covers their living expenses and I say fair play to the person that saved it up and made a better life for themselves

The problem with SW payments is that they are not means tested to determine the level of payment they should get. So for some, they are not enough & for others, they are too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Im not on the dole, i was unemployed for 8 months in 2008, but i technically was collection my "stamps"

I know exactly how you and your wife feel. I was fortunate enough that i had alot of unpaid work to do at home until i could get a job. It has taken me nearly a year after getting fulltime work to get my finances back to a place that im comfortable with.

3 or 4 years ago being on the dole que might make you lokk a little different when jobs were falling off trees, but when i went into the department and seen guys i knew that worked like animals having to sign on, it made me a little less embarressed. I know we shouldnt feel like that, but regardless the feeling will be there none the less, i dont want anything for nothing.

Chin up anyhow.. you will get back on your feet again

philstar wrote: »

oh i know but for so long i was independant and had no worries and worked my money well. I have pensions, savings, a good house etc.

its the loss of independance really, TBH i'd sweep the streets for my dole if I was asked to at least I feel like im earning it.

from my work I was always dealing with the welfare for employees so I'm happy to know I know the system and my entitlements etc plus i can see the abuses some people are committing.

good news side tho had two positive interviews last week and another next week so fingers crossed hopefully one will come good

well we dont know their exact situation.

in my position i have contacted all my creditors mortage etc and have worked out a plan to reduce my weekly/monthly repayments etc in fact they were all very sympathetic and understanding and so far Ive been able to keep to those repayments.

however there is no room for mistake, i cant/dont drink or smoke,imagine if i did, neither does my wife, we havent gone to the cinema/night out the most we do for entertainment nowadays is go for a walk with the kids of to the park. ice cream and sweets for the kids are a no no and while we are clever with ourselves and money the reality is that you have to spend within your means but still pay your way. many are not doin that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,977 ✭✭✭Greyfox

BluesBerry wrote: »

But surely if a small minority of people would prefer to be on the dole then working for the minimum wage, then surely the fact that these people exist is a clear indication that the dole is too high

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

I'm working part time, getting more for it than I would on the dole. I consider myself lucky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,139 ✭✭✭-Trek-

Greyfox wrote: »
    But surely if a small minority of people would prefer to be on the dole then working for the minimum wage, then surely the fact that these people exist is a clear indication that the dole is too high

Or maybe minimum wage is too low ;)

I'm going straight to hell when the economists read this :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Trekmad wrote: »
    Or maybe minimum wage is too low ;)

I'm going straight to hell when the economists read this :D

The minimum wage is the second-highest in Europe, only below Luxembourg :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭Miss Ogyne

Was on it for two years (after working full time for 8 years) but doing a Fas course now, I finish in about a month and to be honest have no desire to go back to signing on but was contacted this week about a possible job so hopefully I'll hear something solid about that next week. The pay will be pretty good but to be honest I'd be happy to work for just enough to pay my bills if it meant not having to go back to the total mind numbing boredom that comes with signing on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,139 ✭✭✭-Trek-

The minimum wage is the second-highest in Europe, only below Luxembourg :rolleyes:

Ya, I know, was taking the p!ss, sorry :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

quick question i recently became unemployed
    i am due to collect my first payment monday
    then it say's i collect every wednesday after that
    will i get paid monday and wednesday?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Chaotic_Forces

Get some thicker skin man. Seriously, you and your wife worked for years. Don't let others make you feel bad. There's a difference between someone that wants a job and someone that's on the dole because it's easier than working 30/40 hours a week for 300 euro.

And most importantly you have children. If you had to go on the streets begging for food for them you know you would. Your kids are going to come first, regardless what anyone says. So next time you feel a bit ashamed or something, just remember you've got kids to look after; not going on drinking cans of dutch gold while living at home with mammy and daddy.
    quick question i recently became unemployed
    i am due to collect my first payment monday
    then it say's i collect every wednesday after that
    will i get paid monday and wednesday?

If I remember right, that's the first payment (the Monday one). It's going a few days back. Sometimes worth 10/11 days (or even more). Then you get paid weekly on Wednesday. Basically you get paid for six days a week (Sunday not included) and it's a back week. So next Wednesday is the money for days. So the money on Monday can be all the money you're "owed" from when you signed up first (or something like that, might only be when the claim went through).
    Then on Wednesday you get paid weekly.

Basically you go in Monday, get your money, go in every Wednesday from then on and get it. Oh, it should say in the post office's computer anyway so you can ask there. I'd say ask the dole but spending upwards of an hour wanting to get an answer to a simple question isn't exactly fun...
    One more thing, your dole payment is there for a few days, I get paid on Wednesday and can collect it from Wednesday till Monday; though I'd get it by saturday at the latest. If you do miss it, just go down to the dole and talk to them; they'll send it back to the post office within two weeks and you can get it then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭flag123

I was on for two months and I felt embarrassed too, especially when I was signing on. Sure, you're entitled to it but if you see someone in the window next to your posting a letter and you're getting handed free money you feel like a bit of a sh1t

I'm sorry but that's the way things go. I'm not blaming you or trying to get a dig in here but in general over the last 15 years or so people have built an image of being on the dole as shameful and anyone on it to be shunned upon. Especially during the years of extravagant economic growth.

What about the 80's when the country was literally f*cked? 60% tax rates. up to 18% unemployment. I don't think anyone was ashamed to collect their dole seeing that it was the norm for a lot. And by the looks of things, could be headed back that way. So I believe people need to swallow their pride and get their dole like the many of the Irish did in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭lila44

flag123 wrote: »
    I'm sorry but that's the way things go. I'm not blaming you or trying to get a dig in here but in general over the last 15 years or so people have built an image of being on the dole as shameful and anyone on it to be shunned upon. Especially during the years of extravagant economic growth.

What about the 80's when the country was literally f*cked? 60% tax rates. up to 18% unemployment. I don't think anyone was ashamed to collect their dole seeing that it was the norm for a lot. And by the looks of things, could be headed back that way. So I believe people need to swallow their pride and get their dole like the many of the Irish did in the past.

amen sister

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

I sometimes have to skip the dole queue so I'm not late for work!! tough times