Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Athlone IT General Discussion

• 24-08-2010 1:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭

Athlone general chit chat. Let's try keep the other threads clean. Sorry Dan! Everything was intertwining each other :P

EDIT: You could've at least started it off with your own post cherry :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Crooky92

Popple3 wrote: »
    I shall see you there so. I'm in 3rd year web dev (Games and web are shared for the first year), and I'm doing a program where I help out first years.

really? is it a good course to do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭Popple3

Crooky92 wrote: »

Yeah, looking around similar courses in other colleges, it seems to be the most up to date with coding, teaching you what companies are looking for. The lecturers are sound (well, most of them), a lot of hands on work which keeps you interested. Can't wait to get back next week :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭BlueNemo

Haha you'd thing you'd check that out BEFORE you applied for it :p

BlueNemo wrote: »
    Haha you'd thing you'd check that out BEFORE you applied for it :p

haha i know about the course its whether i'll like it or not is the question :L

So you're gonna ask a random stranger if they think your course is right for you? Smart ;)

Give him a little bit of credit, at least it was a random stranger in the same a very similar course :rolleyes:

well obviously if i want someones opinion on somethin im gonna ask a person who knows about it. . common sense really :p and arent most people on a national forum random strangers lol

Give him a little bit of credit, at least it was a random stranger in the same a very similar course :rolleyes:

Close enough I suppose :rolleyes:
    well obviously if i want someones opinion on somethin im gonna ask a person who knows about it. . common sense really :p and arent most people on a national forum random strangers lol

so obviously, you'd want to check out the course before you got accepted rather then asking someone you don't know if it's suited for you :p.
    Like you said, common sense really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 NeoDelta

Hey I'll be doing Software Design (games development) in September too.
    Close enough I suppose :rolleyes:

so obviously, you'd want to check out the course before you got accepted rather then asking someone you don't know if it's suited for you :p.
    Like you said, common sense really.

Jeez give the guy a break.. he's going into the unknown, of course he's gonna ask people of more experience then him for their opinions on what he's walking in to. Regardless of whether he looked it up himself already or not. Plus he didn't ask if it was suited to HIM specifically XD He asked what it was like.. simply trying to gather experiences of other people to form his own conclusions. Obviously your going to do that like. Human nature is curious. =P

Honestly...

Oh btw, for those of you "in the know" what part of A.I.T will web/games developing courses be held? I hear about this new engineering building, but stories are conflicting as to whether the place will actually be opening this year at all..

NeoDelta wrote: »
    Oh btw, for those of you "in the know" what part of A.I.T will web/games developing courses be held? I hear about this new engineering building, but stories are conflicting as to whether the place will actually be opening this year at all..
    I wouldn't really call myself in the know, but I'd say it'll be in the new engineering building, as it's become somewhat of a flagship course for the engineering department. We've always been given a little bit of special treatment (since we're the guinea pigs for the course), so I'd say at least the 3rd years will be in there, but I'd expect 1st & 2nd to be there too.

That's good. XD So long as I'm not sitting next to a big giant hole where the wall should be :P
    Oh really? I see, so is the course really new then, in terms of the games developmental course side? (i know they are basically the same in first year).

Both courses started in Sept 08, so still very new. All the classes in 1st year are shared between both courses, and most of classes are shared throughout the years after that, just separating for web deb/games dev, and some of software dev (different languages).

The college supposedly has 32 top-end Alienware computers lined up for the games lab this year. Dunno if the 1st years will get their hands on them though, since you guys won't be doing any 3D stuff, so there's no need for them.

Jeez give the guy a break.. he's going into the unknown, of course he's gonna ask people of more experience then him for their opinions on what he's walking in to. Regardless of whether he looked it up himself already or not. Plus he didn't ask if it was suited to HIM specifically XD He asked what it was like.. simply trying to gather experiences of other people to form his own conclusions. Obviously your going to do that like. Human nature is curious. =P

Honestly...

I'm messing with the dude, hence all the ':rolleyes:' and ':p'.

Some people need a sense of humour.

Honestly....

I'm messing with the dude, hence all the ':rolleyes:' and ':p'.

Some people need a sense of humour.

Honestly....

Ah the age old adage..." but I was only messing!"

Clearly :P Planning on doing night classes on Humor 101 in AIT. No need to worry.

:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :p

Both courses started in Sept 08, so still very new. All the classes in 1st year are shared between both courses, and most of classes are shared throughout the years after that, just separating for web deb/games dev, and some of software dev (different languages).

The college supposedly has 32 top-end Alienware computers lined up for the games lab this year. Dunno if the 1st years will get their hands on them though, since you guys won't be doing any 3D stuff, so there's no need for them.

Friend told me about that. They mentioned that at the open day XD. Apparently they got funding just before the recession?

Ah the age old adage..." but I was only messing!"

Clearly :P Planning on doing night classes on Humor 101 in AIT. No need to worry.

:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :p

You forgot to mention all your classes when you were introducing yourself so :p

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Hey folks. Just tidying up the forum a bit. Let's try keep the threads on topic :) Any chit chat goes on in here

You forgot to mention all your classes when you were introducing yourself so :p

I figured it goes without saying. Haha, but then again, why announce my faults to " random strangers"..? Aaannyway... I guess I'll see you in September. Maybe your epic humor skills can rub off on me.. ) Nice to "see" you. ;)

I look forward to it! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭angelxx

Has anyone else noticed the first years are starting a week after everyone else?
    I thought it was the opposite.

angelxx wrote: »
    Has anyone else noticed the first years are starting a week after everyone else?
    I thought it was the opposite.
    You'd think the opposite would make more sense, wouldn't you? :P
    Just means us 2nd+ years get a few lectures off with lecturers doing induction with 1st years :P

Damn us first years depriving the 2nd+ students valuable lecture time :p

I thought it was strange alright, Someone in the college said we would
    be starting lectures on the thursday.

I'll forgive you :P

Yeah, you'll be doing induction one of the days, settling in another, then lectures

Thanks, Hopefully hear from the college soon with details.

In relation to Teaholic's post over in the accomadatinon thread.

Do the guards still patrol a lot around where the attacks happened? It's pretty weird
    to think that guy is still out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭teaholic

Using my mobile so only saw cherrys comment now, sorry m'dear.....

About the attacks and garda presence, it is pretty freaky to know he is still out there. But how many more are? I live in the area where the attacks happened and im not moving! The guards will do patrols in the area anyway, it will be freshers week and some people go MAD!! So there could be a garda presence for that reason alone!

Dont let it put you off the idea of athlone, though, its a good town! I moved half way up the country to come back!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭Conor_M1990

teaholic wrote: »
    Using my mobile so only saw cherrys comment now, sorry m'dear.....

About the attacks and garda presence, it is pretty freaky to know he is still out there. But how many more are? I live in the area where the attacks happened and im not moving! The guards will do patrols in the area anyway, it will be freshers week and some people go MAD!! So there could be a garda presence for that reason alone!

Dont let it put you off the idea of athlone, though, its a good town! I moved half way up the country to come back!!!!!

Actually on this point about the rapist Id advise first years (Everybody actually) to be very careful about who they bring home or who they go home with mate of mine nearly got raped there last year .

How was he nearly raped? I've been warned not to go anywhere at night really. That's it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭Conor_M1990

How was he nearly raped? I've been warned not to go anywhere at night really. That's it.

Your man kept going she siad stop and then he went some more. The place is grand at night Ive walked around the place at stupid hours and havent had any hassle theres to much scaremongering in this forum imo Common Sense lads Common Sense and you'll be grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭BoB_BoT

Regarding 1st years starting a week later, the reason for this is, 2nd, 3rd and 4th years are semesterised.
    There's a hell of a lot to cram in to courses thanks to semesterisation, so there's no time for the lecturers to be "messing about" as such. Last year and the previous, we were head first into lecturers and coursework at day one (2nd and 3rd year).

A few years ago, it was the case that 1st years were first in, for registration and orientation.

Ahhh i was wonderin where my humorous debate wit BlueNemo went off to :p last time i checked it was in the Introduction forum :rolleyes: was quite enjoyin my battle of wits but the dust seems to have settled now. . in terms of the start of the college term what is the date first years start because i havent heard anythin off the college yet. . everybody is saying we start a week later but which week is that? leaving it a bit late for notice arent they. . or is it just me :L

Hi Crooky, We are starting next week, 6th for nursing students and the 7th for everyone else. We will recieve a pack in the post this week with the details. I thought it was quite late, must be waiting for the end of the first round offers :)

Ahhh i was wonderin where my humorous debate wit BlueNemo went off to :p last time i checked it was in the Introduction forum :rolleyes: was quite enjoyin my battle of wits but the dust seems to have settled now. . in terms of the start of the college term what is the date first years start because i havent heard anythin off the college yet. . everybody is saying we start a week later but which week is that? leaving it a bit late for notice arent they. . or is it just me :L
    I could start again if you like? :rolleyes::p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭YOP1992

what societies are there in the college?!

YOP1992 wrote: »
    what societies are there in the college?!

Doesn't it say some on the website? I remember seeing something on it a few weeks ago.

I wanna join EVERYTHING :D

Or just one. :rolleyes:

Hopefully there will be some interesting societies to participate in. I think we can sign up
    for them during freshers week.

http://www.ait.ie/informationforcurrentstudents/clubsandsocieties/

Could we like, I dunno, make an AIT Boards society or something?

Excellent idea, Blue Nemo :)

Ah just call me Nemo, or Eimear :)

What time are you going to be in for on Tuesday Nemo?
    The letter said from 11.30??

What time are you going to be in for on Tuesday Nemo?
    The letter said from 11.30??

Oh did it? Guess I'll probably be in around 11 so, I like to be early for things.

Do you have any idea where we are supposed to go? I'm sure someone will kindly direct me when I get lost lol

I don't know actually, I'll read over the sheet tomorrow and see if it gives any clues. I presume we could just ask someone who looks like they should know these things :pac:

I'm sure they are used to inquisitive first years :D
    When are you moving down?

I'm sure they are used to inquisitive first years :D
    When are you moving down?

Yeah, I'm sure people will spot first years right away anyway!

I'm moving on Saturday I think, you?

I'm moving Monday, Are you looking forward to it?

I using Monday as my 'find way around Athlone' day haha

Yeah I'm gettin nervous now though.. how about you?

Actually that's a really good idea, Hadn't thought of doing that.
    I'm just starting to get really nervous, I'm sure we will love it once we settle in.

Actually that's a really good idea, Hadn't thought of doing that.
    I'm just starting to get really nervous, I'm sure we will love it once we settle in.

I've only ever walked around Athlone once, so I don't know where anywhere is! I better learn fast haha

Yeah I'm sure we'll settle in fine, people there seem nice enough :pac:

Other years - Please dont kill me for being a first year >.<

I'm hopeful the other years will show us patience :o

We start lectures on the 9th so should be settled in pretty well
    by the end of next week.

I could start again if you like? :rolleyes::p

haha no thanks i think i shud save my energy for figurin stuff out in college :L such as where to go :pac:

thanks for that angel i jus got somethin off them yesterday wit info and wat not. . . any 1st years livin in glen abhainn?