Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Danny Boyle's "127 Hours" [** SPOILERS FROM POST 49 ONWARDS **]

• 24-08-2010 11:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭

background.jpg
    Watch it on Apple.com

Synopsis below..
    127 HOURS is the new film from Danny Boyle, the Academy Award winning director of last year’s Best Picture, SLUMDOG MILLIONAIRE. 127 HOURS
    is the true story of mountain climber Aron Ralston’s (James Franco) remarkable adventure to save himself after a fallen boulder crashes on his arm and traps him in an isolated canyon in Utah. Over the next five days Ralston examines his life and survives the elements to finally discover he has the courage and the wherewithal to extricate himself by any means necessary, scale a 65 foot wall and hike over eight miles before he is finally rescued. Throughout his journey, Ralston recalls friends, lovers (Clemence Poesy), family, and the two hikers (Amber Tamblyn and Kate Mara) he met before his accident. Will they be the last two people he ever had the chance to meet? A visceral thrilling story that will take an audience on a never before experienced journey and prove what we can do when we choose life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭filmfan

This could be interesting, Franco is a bit smug at the start which I don't like but I'd say that's knocked out of him pretty fast!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭CrazyTalk

It's a pity that many people will already know the end of the film because of who it's based on, but it could be really well done. I generally like Boyle's films so I look forward to seeing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

I find Franco only smug when hes in Big budget Blockbusters.

guess its a good thing then that hes been appearing in more low budget independent films...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,030 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Franco is a great actor imo and will do well in this role

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

I like Franco and love Boyle. Looking forward to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

I love Boyle and i love Franco and i've no doubt this movie will be very very good......... but is it just me or is this trailer one of the worst they've ever seen?

It's a bad bad trailer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭indough

i love boyles films but this sounds incredibly boring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

Sounds like it may be a similar style to Slumdog Millionaire with flashbacks filling most of the film. I'm looking forward to the soundtrack most of all, Danny Boyle films rarely fail to deliver in that department

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,532 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Should be good, I reckon the over all tone of the film will be very different to that of the movie. I hope so anyway!

surely the story of his life after
    the injury
    would make a better film considering
    his achievments as a climber/mountaineer with one arm
    ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,077 ✭✭✭✭bnt

According to Cinematical, 127 Hours was screened at the Telluride Film Festival, and two people needed medical attention during the film. A bit tense, then ..? :eek:

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

bnt wrote: »
    According to Cinematical, 127 Hours was screened at the Telluride Film Festival, and two people needed medical attention during the film. A bit tense, then ..? :eek:
    Probably some ridiculously graphic scene where he cuts his own arm off with a pen knife :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,030 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

http://uk.movies.yahoo.com/16092010/5/cinemagoers-faint-during-boyle-new-film-0.html

Danny Boyle's new film ‘127 Hours’ shocked cinemagoers so much that several fainted during a screening at the recent Toronto Film Festival.
    The offending scene in Boyle's follow-up to the Oscar-winning 'Slumdog Millionaire' sees a mountain climber, played by James Franco, cut off his own arm after he becomes trapped by a fallen boulder.
    According to reports, three audience members fainted and one had a seizure during the screening.
    A film critic from The Wrap wrote, "No one at the theatre will comment on the seizure – which may not have been related to the film at all – but make no mistake, the scenes of mountain climber Ralston taking off his own arm to free himself after a fall are among the most realistic of graphic gore ever put on film, and not for the faint of heart.
    "At the screening on Monday, once again there were several mad dashes to the door when these scenes came on, and more than a few moviegoers were looking anywhere but at the screen. You could clearly see people in shock, struggling to stay in their seats, working to get past the intensity of what was going on in front of them."
    The film is based on the true story of Aron Ralston, who was trapped for five days in a canyon in Utah.
    '127 Hours' is closing this year's London Film Festival on 28 October.

Trailer

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

He cuts his arm off...no need to pay 10 quid.

spoiler.

In fairness, that's bad form! Why did you go and do that?

bnt wrote: »

All staged, great PR :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

spoiler
    Many people have magic fairies that deliver films for free, so they'd still like to see them unspoiled! :eek:

OisinT wrote: »
    Many people have magic fairies that deliver films for free, so they'd still like to see them unspoiled! :eek:

It's a horrendously ignorant thing to do IMO.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,020 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

He cuts his arm off...no need to pay 10 quid.

Seriously Richard, have a bit of cop on. You've spoiled it on a good few posters, and me too now.

You'd think someone with an apparent interest in movies, and a poster with over 8000 posts, would have better judgement.

I seriously want to say things that would get me banned here! I'll leave them to your imagination!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,020 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Alright, we're all a bit annoyed, but what's done is unfortunately done, and back on topic now guys!

In all fairness to Richard, even though he should have spoilered it, I think most would be fairly familiar with this story and would know what the eventual outcome would be. It's like getting upity when someone says that the Titanic sinks at the end.

Having said that, I acknowledge that there are those who have not heard of this story, so the post should have had spoiler tags.

Back OT, I really like James Franco and Danny Boyle's movies just keep getting better, but I don't think I'll be able to watch this, if what has been said by previous posters is true.
    I cannot stomach gore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

In all fairness to Richard, even though he should have spoilered it, I think most would be fairly familiar with this story and would know what the eventual outcome would be. It's like getting upity when someone says that the Titanic sinks at the end.

Having said that, I acknowledge that there are those who have not heard of this story, so the post should have had spoiler tags
    Ah, to be fair, the story of the Titanic was "just a tad" more publicized than the that of Aron Ralston.

It'd be akin to learning to the end of 'Into The Wild' before seeing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

MrStuffins wrote: »
    It's a horrendously ignorant thing to do IMO.
    To get screeners from the film production companies in promotional packages? :(

Calling that ignorant is a bit harsh isn't it?

OisinT wrote: »
    To get screeners from the film production companies in promotional packages? :(

Calling that ignorant is a bit harsh isn't it?

No, i was talking about the guy who took it upon himself to ruin the movie for people.

Having said that, I acknowledge that there are those who have not heard of this story, so the post should have had spoiler tags.

Back OT, I really like James Franco and Danny Boyle's movies just keep getting better, but I don't think I'll be able to watch this, if what has been said by previous posters is true.
    I cannot stomach gore

While this is true, Richard told me he did it on purpose to 'break the rules' or whatever, so yeah he's not getting any sympathy just because the story is a true one. Plenty of true story films still surprise and shock me before I go to see them, so it's always safer to veer on the side of caution when it comes to spoiler tags. Doing it on purpose 'for a laugh' isn't on.

No...i was being naughty on purpose, and got a (rightly so) spanking for it.

While this is true, Richard told me he did it on purpose to 'break the rules' or whatever, so yeah he's not getting any sympathy just because the story is a true one. Plenty of true story films still surprise and shock me before I go to see them, so it's always safer to veer on the side of caution when it comes to spoiler tags. Doing it on purpose 'for a laugh' isn't on.

Oh, I didn't realise he was doing it on purpose. Yep, totally ignorant thing to do.

I'm prone to being an asshole from time to time :o

To be fair to Richard.. I heard a DJ on a popular radio station read out the same spoiler this morning.

basquille wrote: »
    To be fair to Richard.. I heard a DJ on a popular radio station read out the same spoiler this morning.

Yeah but he dosen't have to answer to the mods, and i did it deliberately, for a laugh...well, i laughed. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I thought you guys were all joking with those responses. Who hasn't heard this story? And I'm speaking as someone who generally doesn't follow the news or read many papers.

At the same time it is reasonably understandable that not everybody would have heard that story. It wouldn't have been as big as say the Titanic or 9/11.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Well, naturally. The tale of one survivors plight will never be as big as those who actually died in their hundreds or even thousands. But as far as survivors tales go, this one surely must rank as one of the most popular in the past decade.

Don't know.. probably depends on the person!

I knew of Christopher McCandless ('Into The Wild') but can't say I heard of Aron Ralston before this film was announced.

Might be just me though!

That's grand then!

I punched a granny this morning, but it was ok because someone else somewhere punched a granny too! :rolleyes:

MrStuffins wrote: »
    I punched a granny this morning, but it was ok because someone else somewhere punched a granny too! :rolleyes:
    You said that like it's a bad thing? Grannies get out of line often enough.. and there's only one way to manage them!

I tend to only do it on pension day. It's more profitable!

OK, official 'let's get this thread back on topic' time!

So, Danny Boyle, ey?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Seen this tonight.

Cracking film, only really let down by too much showboating by Boyle, which I just don't think this film really needed.

Fair enough, it's his style and no point going to a Boyle movie and expecting anything less, but I just think he would have calmed that aspect of his work somewhat and let the story shine though as, at times I felt that rather than the audience getting a sense of what this man went through, it was trivialized and lessened.

It feels like a cross between U-Turn and Trainspotting in tone, if that makes any sense.

I guess I wish another director had made the film as I would have liked that story told better, as I feel it deserved to be. It's a stylized movie about a real life event that really should have been given / taken-on by another director who could have given us a film that presented Ralston's heroic story far better. I've read the book and the film just does not capture the sheer despair that is so evident in the book.

He tries too, that's far sure, but for me he didn't pull it off.

That said, I loved it :)

It's a fantastic movie and I enjoyed it so much more than Slumdog, just don't think that you will leave the cinema with any great sense of what Ralston went through, you won't - but you will have seen an excellent film that will stay with you.

On a separate note and hope this was just at the screening I was at, but most of the female half (roughly) of the audience would not stop laughing throughout this film and parts that simply were not funny and this was not just some select bunches of girls, this was all throughout.

Now, there is some very funny moments but almost every time the Ralston suffers pain and suffereing, there was lots and lots of girls and women laughing. I wasn't with a girl myself (forever alone) but found it quite odd and never experienced it before.

Have experienced over the top and inappropriate laughter at a few movies, particularly classics, but never where women were laughing and guys not, maybe there was a gigantic hen party strewn throughout the cinema, seemed very odd.

Anyway, great film but if you want to get a genuine feel and understanding for what Ralston went through: buy the book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

^^^

That's my only worry of the film, that Boyle's style would take away from the despair and real sense of looming death over Ralston. It's a well-known story and one of those situations that create great discussion; Death or chop your arm off with a blunt knife.

Anyways, I'll still see it and make my judgement then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭SB-08

Got a bollocking on 'The View' the other night by the panel which I was shocked at considering the huge critical acclaim it's received. Looking forward to seeing it myself. I hope the panels view that it seemed to drag on for 127 days as oppose to hours are unfounded though as I cannot stand being bored in the cinema.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,532 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

SB-08 wrote: »
    Got a bollocking on 'The View' the other night by the panel which I was shocked at considering the huge critical acclaim it's received. Looking forward to seeing it myself. I hope the panels view that it seemed to drag on for 127 days as oppose to hours are unfounded though as I cannot stand being bored in the cinema.

Definitely unfounded, it's only 94 minutes long. Wouldn't worry about the panel too much, they probably just wanted to be controversial. Really looking forward to seeing this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

Just finished watching it,and its not a bad film,i thought it would bore the hell out of me but it didn't :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Sounds like a similar story to Touching The Void. Although, that's done in documentary style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Cracking film, only really let down by too much showboating by Boyle, which I just don't think this film really needed.

Fair enough, it's his style and no point going to a Boyle movie and expecting anything less, but I just think he would have calmed that aspect of his work somewhat and let the story shine though as, at times I felt that rather than the audience getting a sense of what this man went through, it was trivialized and lessened.

I guess I wish another director had made the film as I would have liked that story told better, as I feel it deserved to be. It's a stylized movie about a real life event that really should have been given / taken-on by another director who could have given us a film that presented Ralston's heroic story far better.

Agree with you here 100%

Should have been more raw and full of his despair of the situation rather than so many flashbacks and hallucinations.

Reminded me of Buried for obvious reasons but nowhere near as good.

Still enjoyed it though, your review covers my thought exactly.

I thought this was fantastic!

Two things stand head and shoulders above everything else in it..

i) James Franco's performance: I've always been a fan of Franco from his humble beginnings in Judd Apatow's "Freaks And Geeks" and although he's very good at playing supporting characters, I guess I always hoped he's one day have a chance to shine. And he really did here. It's a real mature performance, and an absolute tour-de-force. I do think the scene with "
    the morning show interview
    " is a real standout. Watch his character both deteoriate and change wildly during this scene - it's just hugely impressive. I actually sincerally think he has a chance of an Oscar here.

ii) The use of music and score: There's some absolutely fantastic pieces of music in this - some original (AR Rahman's sublime score, particularly the theme used in the last 5 minutes) and not forgetting some Bill Withers and Sigúr Ros. It's an early contender for my favourite soundtrack of 2011. Really really top-notch!

As mdwexford said, it is reminiscent of 'Buried' with the isolation and 90 minutes of all-too familiar surroundings. But it's a very different film entirely.. '127 Hours' is a tale about the human psyche. It's about those people.. we all probably know one.. the person who's all about independence and insists on taking care of him or herself alone. They'd never ask for help, they'd rather suffer through it.

Boyle's visual "flair" was out in force.. to be honest, it didn't really bother me. Aron was an absolute adrenaline junkie, and so was the style in which Boyle used. It certainly felt more welcome here than in some of the direction in 'Slumdog'.

Danny Boyle still has one of the more impressive filmography's right now.. especially his consistency and his variation of projects in the past 10 years has to be commended (from comedy-drama to horror to sci-fi to drama). Can this run of great films (alright.. not everyone's gonna agree his track record has been 100% but he hasn't made anything truly awful), not to mention his commercial success be stopped?

Anyways, '127 Hours' was an absolute triumph and is an early contender in my 'Best of 2011' list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭beanyb

I thought it was great. Completely agree about James Franco's performance. He was phenomenal. It's pretty impressive for what is effectively a one-man show to hold your attention constantly, and James Franco definitely managed that.

I thought his desperation came across pretty well, but I haven't read the book so maybe it is nothing in comparison to that. I quite like Danny Boyle's over the top style. I understand that it's not for everyone, but I'm a fan and I thought it worked well here.

I'm fairly certain somebody fainted in the showing that I was at in Cineworld tonight. During the
    arm chopping
    there was a lot of activity on the far side of the screen, with people, including some staff, running up and down the stairs a couple of times. I don't really understand how anyone who has a tendency to faint at the sight of goriness would go see this. Obviously there could have been another explanation... but still! Have to say, I kind of appreciated the slight distraction though.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

It's hard to really discuss this film without referring to a certain plot-point, so I'm opening this thread up to spoilers. There's no need to use spoiler tags from this post onward.

If you haven't seen the film DON'T READ THIS THREAD ANY FURTHER. The thread WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS. You've been warned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Truly sensational stuff. I usually never "want" an ending of sorts during a film, Im just happy to let it pan out as planned, but even though I knew how this ended, I've never wanted a happy ending more in any film I can think. I don't know how Boyle did it, but you feel so, so relieved when he gets out.

I also agree with Basquille that Franco could gather himself plenty of awards nominations for his performance. He was absolutely fantastic.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,741 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Great, now basquille has spoiled Into The Wild on me...

:mad::eek::(;):p