Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Looks or Personality but not both.

• 24-08-2010 9:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭

Which is more important to you in a prospective partner / spouse -you can either have diving beauty but little personality and intelligence, or great personality compatible with yours and a compatible level of intelligence but completely physically unattractive to you.

You can have either, but not a mix of both - which would you choose?

Which would you choose? 174 votes

Personality and intelligence
    0%
    good looks
    63%
    StephenDocKintarō HattoriSeanehDas KittyDrag00n79DamienHChad ghostalFighting IrishCathyMoranSoupyNormanDinnerpwdphilologosKnifeWRENCHKieraMaccattackDudessRacoonQueencurehead 110 votes
    Id rather be single than choose
    18%
    Zascarthe_sycoWibbstolosencRobbieTheRobberThe Agogowill1977callaway92_JOE_HazysIwasfrozen[Deleted User][Deleted User]GavRedKingCelly Smuntx PyRokeltycruiser178Washington Irvingpinkheels88 32 votes
    Id shack up with small furry animals
    18%
    [Deleted User]Lia_liaTarzan_manstrobeParsleyGLaDOSjohngalway[Deleted User]JuliusCaesarAckwelFoleyRonin247AlicatminidazzlermthdSanjuroW.Shakes-BeerMy name is URLSykkTheKellsFlying Abruptly 32 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

Ive neither so im ****ed so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

I would choose the former, and I'm not just saying that because I want thanks. I really am that shallow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Looks - caus' you can always gag her...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Personality and intelligence.

Which is why I am single, they're all smart enough not to be with me :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

As i was reading the op that monster of a woman heather from eastenders was on tele,nooo way could i stick my willy in any part of that woman not even once never mind the rest of my life.So call me shallow if you want but i'll have the fine woman with the **** personality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭The Agogo

Looks of course.

Personality and Intelligence is what mates/contacts are for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

good looks
    Personality.

You can just close your eyes and pretend you're shaggin someone else if it came down to it:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭Chuchoter

Being honest, I couldn't go out with someone I thought was completely unattractive. Its about 60:40 in favour of personality with me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Jeboa Safari

Personality in the long run, but dont think it would be easy to go out with someone if you had no physical attraction to her at all. Whatever if other people didnt think she was great, but you did, but if you find no attraction whatsoever yourself doesn't like something that would last

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Poll is unfair. Says furry animals but no woolly animals. Wtf? :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

I'm actually having this very dilemma right now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Poll is unfair. Says furry animals but no woolly animals. Wtf? :mad:

Furry > woolly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

Pretty AND funny.

I laugh at your poll.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Furry > woolly

Woolly > furry!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭i71jskz5xu42pb

kjl wrote: »
    I'm actually having this very dilemma right now.

Furry versus woolly animals? Sick fúcker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭last name ever. first name greatest

6th did the whole I AM AH LOL AND LOOK AND MY LIFE ON BOARDS.IE BLOG....thing but really thoughtful on feedback thing much better.

What did ever happen to that guy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Gunsfortoys

good looks
    Sadly there are very few intelligent women on this little island. Whenever a girl is intelligent and witty, sexiness will always follow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

6th did the whole I AM AH LOL AND LOOK AND MY LIFE ON BOARDS.IE BLOG....thing but really thoughtful on feedback thing much better.

What did ever happen to that guy?

Tesco value pack trolling tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Woolly > furry!!!

Furry > woolly :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭OptimashPrime

well you dont look across a night club and think "wow look at him, i bet he has an amazing personality"

so it depends on the situation. if you've spotted him in a night club you might think he's cute, if you meet a bunch of lads and get chatting, one guy might stand out because he's really funny or interesting

its just not as simple as the question put to us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

good looks
    Ahhh Snyper..really?I have a "type" looks wise but always fall for the personality then the looks..so im goin for personality with the hope i dont bleedin gag if i "had to"!

/personality ftw..although that personality has to > 5'8" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

good looks
    bronte wrote: »
    I laugh at your poll.
    You shouldn't laugh at a man's poll Bront... :(

Personality for me, no contest (once he's not unsightly - and very few people are). A beautiful guy with no personality might be nice to look at, but that's all.

well you dont look across a night club and think "wow look at him, i bet he has an amazing personality"

so it depends on the situation. if you've spotted him in a night club you might think he's cute, if you meet a bunch of lads and get chatting, one guy might stand out because he's really funny or interesting

its just not as simple as the question put to us

Of course its not as simple as i put the question, thats why i asked if you could only chose either.. its always a mix of both in reality, but which is more important..

good looks
    Oh forgot to vote. Snyper your poll is shyte...wheres the "its all about the butterflies" choice?

Dudess wrote: »
    You shouldn't laugh at a man's poll Bront... :(

Personality for me, no contest (once he's not unsightly - and very few people are). A beautiful guy with no personality might be nice to look at, but that's all.

oh its no problem.. theres always a first time for everything :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭I_AmThe_Walrus

I used to go for looks when I was younger but now it's personality.

Looks don't last forever and on occasions they damage a persons personality if they are aware they are attractive.

anniehoo wrote: »
    Oh forgot to vote. Snyper your poll is shyte...wheres the "its all about the butterflies" choice?

butterflies are for the weak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Personality.....looks fade....plus I spend 8 months of the year in the dark....if I want to f*ck a washboard I'll cheat on my hilarious great craic bird.

good looks
    snyper wrote: »
    butterflies are for the weak
    :(
    Its all about the butterflies....them little stomach flippin feckers. Without butterflies, theres no chance (with me anyway).I didnt think i was fussy (apparently so "1982").

Doesnt matter what a guy looks like (looks,hair or lack of,build,money,job..blah blah)....

BUTTERFLIES...aka chemistry!!!

/...im gonna get crucified for sayin that :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭tempura

anniehoo wrote: »
    :(
    Its all about the butterflies....them little stomach flippin feckers. Without butterflies, theres no chance (with me anyway).I didnt think i was fussy (apparently so "1982").

Doesnt matter what a guy looks like (looks,hair or lack of,build,money,job..blah blah)....

BUTTERFLIES...aka chemistry!!!

/...im gonna get crucified for sayin that :o

+ 1 . That says it all as far as im concerned, without the chemistry , you've got nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Personality is more important, 'cause if you don't get on with someone etc., having them around an awful lot would be a pain in the ass. But fucking someone you're not attracted to at all... eeek. If it was short-term, gimme looks and long-term, personality and a dark room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Looks to start a relationship. Personality and intelligence for the relationship to prosper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

good looks
    personality and intelligence are entirely different things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭Bootsy.

I didn't vote because there wasn't an option I could choose with conviction!

I've been with 'good looks' without the rest and that can be great fun for a while (especially when you're young! :p) but doesn't last.

I've been with 'Personality and intelligence' without the looks and that doesn't work either.

You need both for blah blah blah blah blah...

Actually, scrap all of that,

"Chemistry"

That is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

good looks
    Looks can/may change but it's unlikely personality ever will

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

good looks
    I will once again defer to Judge Judge for my lessons in life (what? The woman is deadly!)
    Beauty fades, dumb is forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

good looks
    Millicent wrote: »
    I will once again defer to Judge Judge for my lessons in life (what? The woman is deadly!)

If I could have only put it so eloquently!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Honestly I would rather be single and just be friends with the Personality Intelligence girl.

If there is no sexual attraction then I don't see a point in persuing a relationship of an intimate nature.

If there is no Personality but good looks then I would rather be Fcuk Buddies with her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭HorsesNHarleys

good looks
    Definitely without a doubt whatsoever, Personality & Intelligence!!! If the person is ugly there's just so many options to take care of that situation....a mask, plastic surgery, etc., but even with all the advances made in medicine, you still can't fix STUPID!!!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Mackman

good looks
    Personality & intelligence. This is why doggy style was invented

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

OP I assume you went for personality and intelligence , I can only go by the KYN thread since you didn't actually say in your post.

:pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

good looks
    Definitely without a doubt whatsoever, Personality & Intelligence!!! If the person is ugly there's just so many options to take care of that situation....a mask, plastic surgery, etc., but even with all the advances made in medicine, you still can't fix STUPID!!!;)

Agreed!

and for those guys saying looks, bad choice! if it works out and you have kids, once you see her having a baby it doesn't matter if she looks like megan fox...

YOU WRECKED THAT CHICK!!!! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

Furry > woolly

ITS SO FLUFFY I'M GONNA DIE!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭Rocky_Dennis

People say looks dont matter but u cant masturbate over personality :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭OptimashPrime

snyper wrote: »
    Of course its not as simple as i put the question, thats why i asked if you could only chose either.. its always a mix of both in reality, but which is more important..

well id choose personality then, and intelligence is a turn on so win win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

looks, I could learn to live with the personalty but not an ugly beast of a thing that I got on with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

good looks
    Personality everytime.

Cant have a conversation with a doll (well, you could, but not a reciprocated conversation)

Ideally (if there was a mix option permitted in the poll) I would be for about 80% personality and 20% looks. Personality is a lot more important IMO, but you cannot be with someone long term that you either a) cannot have a reasonably intelligent conversation with, and conversely b) you cannot be with someone that you do not find any way attractive at all.

Hence the 80/20 mix.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

theres a user called snow leppord my days maybe numbered...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Personality -but only if they're good looking with it!

As my auld granda used to say, "you can't be riding them all the time, so you better be able to talk to them too!":)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

I want a fugly one with no personality!