Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Strength & Conditioning Exam CSCS

• 23-08-2010 2:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭

Just wondering could anyone help providing an insight on how difficult the CSCS exam was, what study material you used, how long did you study for prior to the exam (excluding other qualifications). I have a Ba (hons) Degree in Exercise & Health studies, and i'm an accredited fitness instructor and personal trainer, I also have a host of other qualifications such as kettlebells, boxercise etc. All help would be greatly appreciated biggrin.gif

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭Barry.Oglesby

Probably doing it myself in November. The book is about €60 and then there's all the study guides and sample stuff which is the really expensive stuff. If you ask around enough you can get sample papers and ideas of what the practical was like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭mushykeogh

It was a lot easier than the uksca one! Get the essentials of s & c and youl be pretty much sorted.
    The practical involves answering questions on a video clip, which muscles are prime movers, technique flaws and stuff like that.
    Because its a U.S. exam you will prob get questions on an NFL player and you need to know what is a good time for a 40 yard dash and stuff like that, again its all in the text.
    Maybe splash out on a dvd of the practical questions if you like, but i did grnd with the textbook and one dvd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Banks

Thanks for the tips lads, Already have the book so just gona order the sample exams and get studyin!!! Anymore tips????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Anzer123

Sample exam papers very useful. In some of the questions, an argument could be made that more than one of the answers are correct, but try your best to answer it as its written in the Essentials of S+C book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭Chris89

Not that I'd be doing this or anything similar anytime soon. But as a matter of interest, what if any, are the requirements to sit this exam? Do you need other qualifications?

I'd love to do it but had a ****e experience with the ncef and don't want do fo that, or anything like it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭podge57

Chris89 wrote: »
    Not that I'd be doing this or anything similar anytime soon. But as a matter of interest, what if any, are the requirements to sit this exam? Do you need other qualifications?

I'd love to do it but had a ****e experience with the ncef and don't want do fo that, or anything like it again.

I'm fairly sure you need a bachelors degree - a few years ago you needed a degree in a related field, but you just need any degree now

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭Barry.Oglesby

You need a degree and to be over 5'10" Chris.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭Magic Eight Ball

Last I heard ya needed a 500 Lb deadlift.

Count me in so.

Not only do I not have a degree but I'm pretty sure I'm not even 5'10.

The deadlift is easy though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭J-Fit

mushykeogh wrote: »
    It was a lot easier than the uksca one! Get the essentials of s & c and youl be pretty much sorted.
    The practical involves answering questions on a video clip, which muscles are prime movers, technique flaws and stuff like that.
    Because its a U.S. exam you will prob get questions on an NFL player and you need to know what is a good time for a 40 yard dash and stuff like that, again its all in the text.
    Maybe splash out on a dvd of the practical questions if you like, but i did grnd with the textbook and one dvd.

Have to agree with you there. Passed the UKSCA one but there were some serious head scratchers in there!

Head scratchers as in tough questions?? or multiple answers to some questions with only 1 answer??

Banks wrote: »
    Head scratchers as in tough questions?? or multiple answers to some questions with only 1 answer??
    As in tough questions, their is a lways some real nasty ones in the uksca. Cscs is far easier.

Yeah UKSCA will be my next port of call!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭J-Fit

Banks wrote: »

What mushy said but possibly a little of both if I remember correctly. I found Essentials completley inadequate for the UKSCA written exam but I think it's ok for CSCS.

Cheers lads!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭danlen

Just a quick question lads, which CPR/AED training course did ye take before hand. Does it matter which organisation is giving it?

danlen wrote: »
    Just a quick question lads, which CPR/AED training course did ye take before hand. Does it matter which organisation is giving it?
    If you can find one run by your local sports partnership thatl do, once its approved by the american heart foundation i think, most aed providers should be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 hijklmnop

If you have done an American Heart Foundation accredited AED course that included all aspects of CPR- will this count as my CPR accreditation too?

I am also a pool lifeguard so have CPR from this I'm guessing that I'm covered even though I haven't done a CPR specific course.