Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A Cork meetup!! Anyone interested??

• 22-08-2010 9:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭

I'm 23 yrs of age and just out of Uni and working in Cork. Out with a while but still absolutely hopeless at putting myself out there and going to gay bars and such. Plus, I've an almost total absence of gay friends. Well I do have some gay friends who like to camp it up and even dress up in drag and such which doesn't appeal to me at all at all. I've never gone clubbing with them because I would feel out of place, me being as "straight acting", to use that God awful phrase, as humanly possible.
    I was wondering if there is more of you around Cork in a similar situation?
    Because maybe if there was a bunch of us, we could go out as a gang and we'd find it less intimidating and daunting. We could go for a few quite ones beforehand to inject some Dutch courage and get to know one another.

Any takers?

What dates suit you? Please state alternatives in the thread. 15 votes

Friday 3 September
    0% 0 votes
    Saturday 4 September
    6% 1 vote
    Friday 10 September
    0% 0 votes
    Saturday 11 September
    13% 2 votes
    Friday 17 September
    6% 1 vote
    Saturday 18 September
    20% 3 votes
    Friday 24 September
    13% 2 votes
    Saturday 25 September
    40% 6 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭Donnaghm

And people who are comfortable in the scene who could provide us novices with guidance are most welcome!

I guess everyone in Cork is entirely confident and comfortable with these matters but me :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Donnaghm wrote: »
    I guess everyone in Cork is entirely confident and comfortable with these matters but me :-(

Give it some more time and you will get a few people down south who are interested.

Hopefully! You're probably a veteran of the scene at this stage given that you're the moderator of this forum?

Not as much into the scene as you'd think. Tbh up here I'd prefer a relatively quiet pint with friends in Pantibar or else somewhere that serves really good beer than a night of clubbing.

I'm not familiar with the Cork scene at all, unfortunately.

Not as much into the scene as you'd think. Tbh up here I'd prefer a relatively quiet pint with friends in Pantibar or else somewhere that serves really good beer than a night of clubbing.

I'm not familiar with the Cork scene at all, unfortunately.

Yep, I'm in the same boat re. a lover of a quiet pint so that conversations can be had. I never liked clubs. They're drunken, impersonal meat factories.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,575 Mod ✭✭✭✭dory

You waited eight minutes! It takes me longer than that to formulate an interesting and concise reply. :cool:

I'm from Cork, haven't lived there in 7 years though so don't know many people. You should really join the forum on Gay Cork. It's so handy. I joined, got chatting and during one of my trips home, that I would usually spend reacquainting myself with my couch, I went to a table quiz of theirs and it was brilliant fun. And lots of hot 'straight acting' (also hate that phrase) lads.

I'm home in 7 weeks and would love a gay boards meet-up in cork then!

dory wrote: »
    You waited eight minutes! It takes me longer than that to formulate an interesting and concise reply. :cool:

I'm from Cork, haven't lived there in 7 years though so don't know many people. You should really join the forum on Gay Cork. It's so handy. I joined, got chatting and during one of my trips home, that I would usually spend reacquainting myself with my couch, I went to a table quiz of theirs and it was brilliant fun. And lots of hot 'straight acting' (also hate that phrase) lads.

I'm home in 7 weeks and would love a gay boards meet-up in cork then!

Hi Dory,
    I must ask why you left 7 years ago at the height of the boom and returned in the midst of the worst downturn experienced by any OECD country since the 1929 Great Depression?

Oh I couldn't care if they were straight acting or gender ambiguous, hot or look like jabba the hut, as long as I find myself in the company of people who share im my sexuality.

Hurraw, everyone in Cork up for "Dory's welcome back to the economic abyss LGBT Boards.ie meetup party"? The title needs a little work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Hersheys

I'd be up for it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭LGiamani

I'd love to meet new people when are you organising it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

I'd be up for that, wouldn't mind meeting a few new people. I go out on the scene in Cork now and again, but haven't been out there since Pride (spend all my money during the summertime at festivals lol:D)

Most of my lesbian friends are now in relationships and would rather stay at home watching DVD's and being boring, while my straight friends won't go into gay bars cos (they think) they are gonna catch 'the ghey'

A boards night out sounds like good craic. Maybe you could put up a poll OP and see what dates suit everyone?

Poll added.

The poll options are multiple-choice, if there is more than one date which suits, select all relevant options.

Poll added.

The poll options are multiple-choice, if there is more than one date which suits, select all relevant options.

Thanks Rainbow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,053 ✭✭✭opus

dory wrote: »

Organising a boards meet up is a good idea but probably worth your while checking out gaycork.com as well, they do a fair mix of different stuff, pubs, clubs, meals, cinema etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭Kanoe

Been trying to get to Cork all summer so will definitely get on the bus for this one

Hi Dory,
    I must ask why you left 7 years ago at the height of the boom and returned in the midst of the worst downturn experienced by any OECD country since the 1929 Great Depression?

Oh I couldn't care if they were straight acting or gender ambiguous, hot or look like jabba the hut, as long as I find myself in the company of people who share im my sexuality.

Hurraw, everyone in Cork up for "Dory's welcome back to the economic abyss LGBT Boards.ie meetup party"? The title needs a little work.

Ah I only went as far as Maynooth for most of those 7 years. So I was still enjoying the boom with my Pot Noodle (instead of those cheap noodles) as a student. I only moved away for a year and I'm in a country so poor they barely realise there's a recession. It's wonderful! :)

I love that name for a meetup, it's so grand that I'll have a hire a white horse for my entrance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭brainyneuron

Anyone still up for having this meet up? :):D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭!!!

I'd probably go! Mail me people!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

!!! wrote: »
    I'd probably go! Mail me people!

How tall are you? I'm sure I could find a box big enough and a courier willing to take a noisey package :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Hi guys,

Just joined.
    This meet up still happening some time and if so might I be able to come along??

Ben in col d last 5 years, moved home for a bit and now just moving back up to town.
    Was out on d scene a bit alright but always same people etc, and most have their own kinda groups (including myself!) But id really lik to meet some new people!

(Female and Bi by d way!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭JayJay123

Id be up for going!

if it's this weekend I can't go cuz i'm working :(

But if its next weekend I'm already there.

[edit]just remembered can't go next weekend either :(

I'd be up for going Fri/Sat of this weekend...

Hersheys wrote: »

same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,053 ✭✭✭opus

Hersheys wrote: »

Away from Cork this w/end so won't be able to make it.

Why don't a few of you suggest a venue and meet up this weekend? Even if there's only a small number of you it would be worthwhile. :)

Thats a good idea rainbow kirby, anyone up for that?

Not being from Cork I'll leave the where-to-go part up to someone else!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

Id like to go. I have a friend in cork so i could have somewhere to stay. Im not gay though. Any idea when and where in cork?

I'm up for it this Saturday. So how many confirmed people have we?

Me, but never having been in Cork's gay scene, will leave the venue choice to someone else!!

Think we have about 5 maybe a few more if they could confirm!

Would love to have gone to this, but unfortunately have no money..... Bad times!!:(

Hope you all have a great night, hopefully I'l make it to the next meet-up!

Hi guys, the Cork City forum are meeting up on Sat night for drinks in the Crane Lane. If anyone wants to start there and then later head to Chambers or Rubys (is it still Rubys on a Saturday??) or Instinct etc. Just an idea, we can meet up seperately if that suits too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,404 ✭✭✭✭Pembily

Hi guys, the Cork City forum are meeting up on Sat night for drinks in the Crane Lane. If anyone wants to start there and then later head to Chambers or Rubys (is it still Rubys on a Saturday??) or Instinct etc. Just an idea, we can meet up seperately if that suits too.

Chambers and Instinct are open tomorrow night, Rubys is only open on a Tuesday night!!! Both are lovely venues and really nice and relaxed!!! Wish I was around for this meet up!!!

Have fun!

So far these are the people interested from the thread replies. Could these people confirm here or by PM. If anyone else is interested could they write here or PM me? Everyone welcome whether they're new to the scene or not :D

Donnaghm
    LGiamani
    rainbowdrop
    JayJay123
    Hersheys
    zxy
    dory
    !!!
    ItsThatManAgain
    Quatro24
    brainyneuron-confirmed

I'm probably going to the Cork city beers tomorrow night in the Crane Lane and I think thats a good place to meet up and then head to Chambers or Instinct etc after, or if anyone wants to meet up seperately we could do that too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Gloom

Shame, I cannot go to this as I am working. I'm about to move to Cork and need to know the places to go - definitely the next time.

Have fun though!

would love to be there but have to work too :(
    have a good one folks x

Unfortunately I can't go, but I just did a bit of scouting around on http://www.gaycork.com/ and there's loads of special offers on drink on the scene in Cork at the minute (bit of a price war going on:D)

Chambers have 'all drinks €3' and Instinct have 'all drinks half price' on Saturday nights...... YaY for the recession I say!!

As someone who's on the scene in Cork quite regularly, I'd say Instinct is definitely my favourite, but Chambers is a much more 'straight' feeling bar ie it's a very mixed gay/straight crowd that goes in there. Chambers might be a bit less 'intimidating' for those that haven't been out on the Cork scene before.....

Aww, really wish I could go now:( . Have fun and I hope your collective heads aren't too sore (after all the cheap drink) on Sunday morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Quatro24

hey guys, I am actually moving house tomor after work so I might not make it in on time to go Crane Lane but if I come to Instinct or Chambers how will find ye?? Ne1 willing to wear a crazy hate or summit?? :D

Yeah I want to go, will ye PM me?!?

Is it still on?

!!! wrote: »
    Yeah I want to go, will ye PM me?!?

Is it still on?

Not sure as it was a bit late notice, I'm still heading out to the Cork city meetup anyway in the crane lane and will head to chambers afterwards if anyone else is up for that. Otherwise we can organise our own seperate night when more people can come (and we've more time to organise it!) Maybe a Tuesday so that we can go to Ruby's?

Will PM you !!! might see you tonight?

I'm away for the next week or so so I won't make it. Next time hopefully.