Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SPURS TeamTalk Gossip/Rumours Thread 10/11

• 22-08-2010 7:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭

Spurs have confirmed the signing of W.Gallas on a 1 year deal .

He seems to cause trouble where ever he goes , i can see himself and assou-ekotto and a good go off each other . Is this where our team spirit falls apart ?

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11661_6329279,00.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,443 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

A spurs thread. Nice to see it. feck that private forum its a joke. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭TheManWho

Shammy wrote: »
    Is this where our team spirit falls apart ?

Our Team spirit has survived Darren Bent's twitter account, Tarrabt and Chimbonda's delusions of grandeur, Berbatovs vaulting ambition and Robbie Keanes indecisiveness. I think we can handle William Gallas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,129 ✭✭✭therokerroar

TheManWho wrote: »
    Our Team spirit has survived Darren Bent's twitter account

Darren Bent never said anything against the Tottenham team, I can't see why what he said would have had any effect on team spirit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭TheManWho

I can't see why what he said would have had any effect on team spirit?

I consider Levy part of the team in the greater sense, and with what he's done for the club I'm sure the players respect him more than Bent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

Sure BAE said he couldn't care if he was Darth Vader as long as he plays well and improves the team :) I'm sure we'll be ok

FearDark wrote: »
    Spurs forum tbh. Ye got a fúckin forum, use it.

No, lotta people here who have some good opinions that I always like to hear including arsenal fans although to be honest I doubt I'll be paying much attention to your opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

Nice to see a space here where other fans can interact with Spurs fans!!:)

I've been really dissapointed with Palacios' passing recently he keeps putting us under pressure with his poor judgement and passing across our box if we do sign Diarra he could be a huge huge step up which is dissapointing Palacios post his brothers tragic death just doesn't seem the same anymore he doesn't seem to be able to keep his concentration anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

I've been really dissapointed with Palacios' passing recently he keeps putting us under pressure with his poor judgement and passing across our box if we do sign Diarra he could be a huge huge step up which is dissapointing Palacios post his brothers tragic death just doesn't seem the same anymore he doesn't seem to be able to keep his concentration anymore

Should have been sent off tonight for his 2 footed lunge which got asssssetetetete a free kick.

Decent player tho.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

surprise surprise...
    spurs start doing well and all of a sudden a thread shows up on the main forum with some fans to boot.
    cant say thats a bad thing though :)

but the question is, will keane=cock be posting here ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Jazzy wrote: »
    surprise surprise...
    spurs start doing well and all of a sudden a thread shows up on the main forum with some fans to boot.
    cant say thats a bad thing though :)

Spurs fans are obviously happy to rejoin the soccer forum.

Football you see is a sing when your winning thing, and with that spurs fans have hidden away on the spurs forum hating us here talking about CL football and winning ****.

But now they a CL team they want everyone to know about it.

Finally 3 ****ing years later i was proved right, recklessone its all your fault :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Clemon

Redknapp is a **** and he should start Keano the legend/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

Clemon wrote: »
    Redknapp is a **** and he should start Keano the legend/

oh dear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Kimsang

Is it just me or does anyone else think Spurs have a massive problem at right back? It's something that big teams continually exploit in us, particularly Vedran Ćorluka.

To me, he always seems slow and indecisive. Yes he likes to go forward, but his positioning is terrible, he's lazy and a bad passer of the ball with no imagination. He's straight forward in most of his decisions and I think it's a huge weakness in spurs' team.

I prefer to see Kaboul playing there, but that's only for lack of a better choice.

Please harry; get us a decent right back!!

Rumours we could break our wage structure to get Fabiano in on 100,000 a week.
    Would be a huge jump considering we have repeatedly refused to break our wage structure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭kakee

Rumours we could break our wage structure to get Fabiano in on 100,000 a week.
    Would be a huge jump considering we have repeatedly refused to break our wage structure.

Maybe with champions league qualifaction we can afford to pay these wages. With the two shirt deals and money from champions league games this may be seen by the board as a good investment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,826 ✭✭✭Mr. Guappa

The transfer gossip on SSN reckons we have revived our interest in Ashley Young. Its a possibility now with them out of Europe and no manager in place. If we got him I presume Bale would move to LB, with Young LW in a 4-5-1 with Modric in the hole. Huntelaar has also been linked, initially on loan with option to buy for £12 million.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,459 ✭✭✭T-b0n3

Kimsang wrote: »
    Is it just me or does anyone else think Spurs have a massive problem at right back? It's something that big teams continually exploit in us, particularly Vedran Ćorluka.

To me, he always seems slow and indecisive. Yes he likes to go forward, but his positioning is terrible, he's lazy and a bad passer of the ball with no imagination. He's straight forward in most of his decisions and I think it's a huge weakness in spurs' team.

I prefer to see Kaboul playing there, but that's only for lack of a better choice.

Please harry; get us a decent right back!!

Yea Corluka hasn't looked himself this season. He was injured towards the end of last season and doesn't seem to have got his form back.

Kaboul did well there when he played IIRC. We also have Klye Walker (played very well in preseason) and Alan Hutton who was on load at Sunderland last season and was their regular right back if I'm not mistaken.

Not in too bad shape, but it is one of our weaker positions.

Don't think the Fabiano deal will go through , but love if it did, for a reasonable sum. Hes 30ish and in his last year of contact & not getting CL football this season with Seville, we shouldn't have to pay over the odds for him IMO.

Squad update from our site

Following the closure of the summer transfer window, our four new arrivals - Sandro, William Gallas, Stipe Pletikosa and Rafael Van der Vaart - have been given squad numbers for the season.

Brazilian international midfielder Sandro arrived at the Club this week having won the Copa Libertadores with previous club Internacional a fortnight ago and will wear the number 30 shirt.
    Experienced French defender Gallas joins us on a one-year contract and will wear the number 13 shirt.
    Croatian goalkeeper Pletikosa arrives on a season-long loan from Spartak Moscow and will wear the number 37 jersey.
    And the final arrival of the latest transfer window, Dutch international midfielder Van der Vaart, has been given the number 11 shirt.
    In line with new regulations, the Club this week submitted a list of 25 players submitted to the Premier League, forming the squad of players that will be eligible to play in the competition from now until January 1 (alongside players under the age of 21).
    The squad list, in alphabetical order, is as follows:
    1. Benoit Assou-Ekotto
    2. Sebastien Bassong
    3. David Bentley
    4. Vedran Corluka
    5. Peter Crouch
    6. Carlo Cudicini
    7. Heurelho Gomes
    8. Michael Dawson
    9. Jermain Defoe
    10. William Gallas
    11. Tom Huddlestone
    12. Alan Hutton
    13. Jermaine Jenas
    14. Younes Kaboul
    15. Robbie Keane
    16. Ledley King
    17. Niko Kranjcar
    18. Aaron Lennon
    19. Luka Modric
    20. Kyle Naughton
    21. Jamie O'Hara
    22. Wilson Palacios
    23. Roman Pavlyuchenko
    24. Stipe Pletikosa
    25. Rafael Van der Vaart
    Please note, all players under the age of 21 as of January 1, 2010, are also eligible to play in Premier League matches in 2010-2011.

Really thinking of getting Sandro on my Jersey but I haven't seen him play yet it's been all hype :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

When you look at it on paper that is a really strong squad, not a whole lot of dead wood in there.

flahavaj wrote: »
    When you look at it on paper that is a really strong squad, not a whole lot of dead wood in there.

But will Harry rotate he likes sticking to the same eleven until there is an injury

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

But will Harry rotate he likes sticking to the same eleven until there is an injury

You better hope so or ye are gonna get some bad results the game after CL fixtures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭Carcharodon

Van der vart has the potential to be the signing of the summer in my opinion, he could be massive for them in doing well in the champions league.

Tottenham Hotspur striker Jermain Defoe set to be out for six to eight weeks with ankle ligament damage - report

9 Oct 2010 00:00:00

108338_news.jpgPhoto Gallery

Tottenham Hotspur striker Jermain Defoe will miss the first half of his club’s Champions League group games after suffering ankle ligament damage on international duty with England, according to The Mirror.

Defoe was stretchered off in the 3-1 win over Switzerland on Tuesday night after hitting a hat-trick against Bulgaria last Friday.

The news comes as a blow to Spurs boss Harry Redknapp, with Defoe due to miss both games against Champions League holders Inter Milan, as well as next week’s trip to Werder Bremen.

Bad news he was starting to look sharp again from Goal.com so hopefully they're wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

Bad news he was starting to look sharp again from Goal.com so hopefully they're wrong

Nope its in all the papers as well as on the news , him and Daws are going to be a big loss.

I'd say we can look forward to having two of our new signings on the bench with VDV and Stipe Pletikosa most likely to be there with Sandro having an outside chance I can also see us playing a 4-3-3 or 4-4-1-1 with Defoe out injured and I expect something similar against Bremen midweek.
    Thankfully both there normal cb's are currently out injured hopefully it means we are going to have a great chance at 3 points away from Home

Defoe out for three months after seeing a specialist he underwent surgery.

Goalkeepers

Heurelho Gomes
    Carlo Cudicini
    Stipe Pletikosa

Defenders

Alan Hutton
    Younes Kaboul
    William Gallas
    Sébastien Bassong
    Michael Dawson
    Vedran Ćorluka
    Ledley King
    Benoît Assou-Ekotto

Midfielders

David Bentley
    Tom Huddlestone
    Aaron Lennon
    Jermaine Jenas
    Rafael van der Vaart
    Wilson Palacios
    Luka Modrić
    Niko Kranjčar
    Jamie O'Hara

Forwards

Roman Pavlyuchenko
    Robbie Keane
    Peter Crouch
    Giovani dos Santos
    Jermain Defoe

Coach: Harry Redknapp (ENG)

A noticible abscence Of Gareth Bale so I think him and Sandro must be classed as under 21's right?
    Anyone know for sure I can't find anything on the squad rules except that 8 must be association trained for 3 years between 15 and 21

this is our squad on the Uefa site
    http://www.uefa.com/uefachampionslea...652/index.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,573 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

I see harry has said he is thinking of having Gallas as captain in Kings absense.would spurs fans be happy about this ,he did'nt do a great job of it while at arsenal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,459 ✭✭✭T-b0n3

yabadabado wrote: »
    I see harry has said he is thinking of having Gallas as captain in Kings absense.would spurs fans be happy about this ,he did'nt do a great job of it while at arsenal.

Yea I just read that there. Would not be happy about it at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭timetogetfit

How did vandervaart play today?

Modric got the all clear and hes travelling to Bremen with the rest of the squad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Shammy

yabadabado wrote: »

Harry loves stirring it :D

Goals from last night delighted for King most of all giving everything for us all these years and finally gets his chance on the biggest stage.

was watching the match on setanta, didn't appreciate the commentator blaming King for the goal conceeded. It was clearly BAE not pushing out quick enough keeping him on-side :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Poncherello

Any idea if keane will start any matches any time soon ?

He played on wednesday and they where trying him out as the front man so it depends really how well he played he scored a peno(which he created).

Which actually is intresting do you get an assist and a goal if you win a peno and then convert it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

did VDV pick up an injury the other night he came off very early?

racso1975 wrote: »
    did VDV pick up an injury the other night he came off very early?

Ya a calf strain doubtful for the weekend

I wasn't sure about VDV but in his first two matches he's looked very good despite not looking match fit. I'm delighted with him hopefully he'll recover from his calf strain for the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,046 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

How'd I miss this? So, hangover or no hangover?

L'prof wrote: »
    How'd I miss this? So, hangover or no hangover?
    Defo Hangover I'd say hopefully not but Wolves can be incredibly difficult to break down and it's something we have struggled with when teams come and put ten behind the Ball and then we get caught on the counter :(
    I' like to see
    Cudicini
    Kaboul--Gallas--Bassong--BAE
    Bently--Huddlestone--Modric-Bale
    VDV
    Crouch

Then put out a completly different team in carling cup midweek

Defo Hangover I'd say hopefully not

It'll be interesting to ye how ye juggle the group stages and league. Personally, I'm not overly certain that yer squad is big/experienced enough, but there's plenty of quality there.

L'prof wrote: »
    It'll be interesting to ye how ye juggle the group stages and league. Personally, I'm not overly certain that yer squad is big/experienced enough, but there's plenty of quality there.
    The squad is definetly big enough to be honest I wouldnt mind getting knocked out of the carling cup early if it helps us.

We'll see. There may be a few more experienced heads in there, but I'm not so sure it's any bigger than when ye were in the Europa League and ye didn't fair too well in the league when involved in that. I could be wrong though as I haven't checked it out properly.

Wouldn't mind getting knocked out of the carling cup either... but not to Arsenal :P. Let's win that game then throw the next :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,826 ✭✭✭Mr. Guappa

I don't see the benefit of getting knocked out of the Carling Cup. The Arsenal game should be used to give the likes of Pletikosa, Hutton, Naughton, Bassong, Bentley, Kranjcar, Giovani, Keane and Pavlyuchenko some game time. Our squad is plenty big enough to handle a few fixtures in this competition. It doesn't really become an issue until the semi-final stage, when Wembley is in sight and more first-teamers are likely to be used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

So with van der vart out for the weekend do ya fancy robbie to start or do ya think he'll go with pav and crouch? He'd a good game mid week so he might rest crouch.

Harry says Sandro and Pletikosa are both due to make there debut's against Arsenal on tuesday and Sandro has been very impressive in training so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭kakee

We have a good squad and one that has every chance of getting to a cup final. We could field a team like this and would still be pretty good.

Pletikosa
    Hutton--Gallas--Bassong--BAE
    Bentley--Niko--Sandro--Gio
    --Pav--Robbie