Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TRX Suspension training or alternatives

• 22-08-2010 7:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭

Was thinking of getting that TRX Suspension trainer until I saw the €200 odd price tag....is it worth that price for what is essentially some handles and nylon straps?

Anyone trained with it before? looking for something to mix up he training a bit and something I can take with me if i'm away with work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭TommyKnocker

Hi Jeff

Yep, I have one, use it from time to time and like it. Got mine off ebay for a fraction of the RRP :) And to be honest it gives you nothing more than you would get with a set of gymnastic rings which can be bought from Irish Lifting for €50 or €60 euros.

Best Regards,

M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭jeff lebowski

I was thinking it might just be a hyped up American version of what has been around for years. What way does it hook upp to things? I mean, could you use it in your house if their were no beams to hang it off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

You can make them too. I'm pretty sure you could adapt the gym rings to do the same job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Banks

Don't mind the post above, the TRX is a great piece of kit and is not the same as a set of oly rings. Its great for inverted rows and core work as there are catches for your feet. Ive had mine for 3 months and got it online for €100.Defo worth a purchase!:D

Banks wrote: »
    Don't mind the post above, the TRX is a great piece of kit and is not the same as a set of oly rings. Its great for inverted rows and core work as there are catches for your feet. Ive had mine for 3 months and got it online for €100.Defo worth a purchase!:D

Well, with a set of oly rings, some webbing straps, a couple of feet of PVC and a carbiner you can incorporate the same thing into the rings. Alternatively, should you decide not to disregard it, you could look at the link I posted showing how to make the thing for less than twenty quid!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭holdfast

+1 for the trx. Great if you are away from home.

Funds are a bit tight so I might try that DIY version. The instructions are pretty good.

To the lads who have the TRX, do you do other training as well as that and do you ever bring it to the gym? I saw a lad with one hooked up to a smith machine with the bar out of the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

I have these medium duty webbing straps, have had well over 100kg on a single one with no problem.
    http://stores.ebay.co.uk/Handy-Straps_Med-Duty-tie-down-Straps_W0QQ_fcidZ99QQ_fsubZ13455392QQ_localstposZQQ_sidZ123266481QQ_stposZQQ_trksidZp4634Q2ec0Q2em322QQgbrZ1

I got the long ones so you can trim the ends and use the webbing for other stuff.

Cut some PVC tubes and they just slip on.

Loads of ideas here
    http://www.angelfire.com/ny5/shenandoah/Grunt/Bodyweight.html

Tbh I would be seriously taxed to think of any exercise that you can do on a TRX that could not be adapted to work with gymnastic rings.

M

Cheers for the info lads. If I manage to make a good enough set I'll post up here how I got on.

As for where to use them, do you have to have a beam or is there a way to use a doorframe or something?

Hi Jeff

If you had a doorway chin-up bar you could use that. Or if you live in a house you can use the attic opening. Just throw a lump of wood or metal pipe across the attic opening and hang the suspension trainer out of that. Like wise if you had a garage you could rig something up to hang it from.

M

Just saw the methods used in that link rubadub posted for using straps in a doorframe. Looks a bit restrictive though so I guess it'll have to be a roof beam.

B-Builder: Didn't think of the attic beam, that'd be a good idea as well. Cheers.

I reckon the benfit of training with these would be great because of the instability element etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭JohnnyMustang22

I got a set as a present. They are really well built and heavy duty.

My set came with a wedge that you put over the top of a door which sercures the straps once the door is closed. (they give you a little sign to hang on the door handle to warn people not to open the door).

I also built myself a chin up at the side of my man cave so i have options.

DSC02185.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭gavtron

I have a TRX, it's pretty good, I take it away with me on work. You could do pretty much everything with a set of rings i'd imagine too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

B-Builder wrote: »
    Tbh I would be seriously taxed to think of any exercise that you can do on a TRX that could not be adapted to work with gymnastic rings.

M
    cant do split lunges, split squats, hamstring leg curls, knee tucks/twists etc on the rings

rings are better for dips and muscle ups as these are not comfortable on the TRX at all

I have both and must do a video comparison

Transform wrote: »
    cant do split lunges, split squats, hamstring leg curls, knee tucks/twists etc on the rings

rings are better for dips and muscle ups as these are not comfortable on the TRX at all

I have both and must do a video comparison

Hi Transform

As you are a qualified trainer I am not looking to argue with you, but if I google split lunge on youtube I get this

Split squat shows me this

Hamstring leg curl shows me this

knee tucks shows me this

and I am assuming that knee twists are similar to tucks, but bringing your knees to each side rather then to your chest. See 1:38-1:39 in this video

Well I can and have done each of these exercises using gym rings when I am too lazy to take down the rings and put up theTRX :o

All the TRX is is two adjustable straps with loops at the end. In all honesty is that really that much different than two adjustable straps with rings at the end???

Best Regards,

M

great work on putting all those videos up and fair play to you on getting your feet into rings for all of those as i find it sore on the foot and more likely to slip especially on the knee tucks etc

If i was to buy one for home it would be the TRX for the average person but a more advanced person will get more out of a pair of rings

Hi

Totally agree that the TRX is more comfortable for certain exercises, but I just cut up a yoga mat and used some of the foam when required ;):D plus I would always be training in runners.

My initail point was that to buy a proper TRX is around €200 and for a third of the price you could buy a set of rings which would allow you to do almost everything if not everything that you can do on a TRX, although you may have to adapt certain exercises.

Best Regards,

M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Transform wrote: »
    i find it sore on the foot
    I have put a towel on the rings for cushioning, also put on pipe insulation which stays on better. Otherwise I just got rid of the rings altogether and used the webbing on its own. With the elite rings I have the webbing passes through the slots on the actual ring so you cannot just move it aside on most rings you can.

In the ebay link I gave they have 3.5m webbing straps which leave plenty of spare webbing which could be cut off. Now if you have made your PVC tubes you could just get a bit of your webbing and tie it into a loop on the PVC tube so it ends up looking like the TRX foot loops. A TRX system would be easier to make at home than rings.

You could always put webbing loops on the rings too, but I think they would be better being looped through the tubes. The loops do not have to be fixed on the rings either, you can loop the loop through itself, like how these are on this plate.

ropejg9.jpg
    trigripropehj4.jpg

Here is how to tie webbing http://www.animatedknots.com/waterknot/index.php?Categ=rescue&LogoImage=LogoGrog.jpg&Website=www.animatedknots.com

The ebay site I linked also sells carabiners which could be useful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Banks

To be honest i'm with transform on this one, the TRX offers more practically for the majority of exercises other than muscle ups and dips. Oh and B-Builder just to let you know I have a sports science degree, I'm also a qualified fitness instructor, perrsonal trainer, strength and conditioning coach, so there's no need to question my input!!!;)

Hi

Just to reiterate my point, which is IMHO there is no exercise that I can think of that requires a TRX and cannot be done with gym rings, which are more readily available and cheaper to boot.

<off topic>
    Mod hat off, User hat on

Banks, Thanks for your CV, but please be advised that I will question anybody and everybody I wish whenever I wish, irrespective of what qualifications they hold ;)
    </off topic>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭SanoVitae

I'm thinking of buying a few for the gym.

Can you do all of the exercises hooking the device to a fixed barbell in a power rack?

Or does it need to be permanently bolted to a wall in order for you to be able to do all of the exercises?

SanoVitae wrote: »
    I'm thinking of buying a few for the gym.

Can you do all of the exercises hooking the device to a fixed barbell in a power rack?

Or does it need to be permanently bolted to a wall in order for you to be able to do all of the exercises?

Hi

No need to bolt to a wall permanently, that's the beauty of it, you can brign it anywhere and hang it anywhere. From a tree in a park, from a swing frame in a garden,playground etc.

M

Which of these would be best: http://stores.ebay.co.uk/Handy-Strap...Q2em322QQgbrZ1 (just wondering as they have differnet buckles and things. I'd like to have the adjuster type buckles like yer man in the video.

B-Builder wrote: »
    No need to bolt to a wall permanently, that's the beauty of it, you can brign it anywhere and hang it anywhere. From a tree in a park, from a swing frame in a garden,playground etc.

Thanks - that's what I thought.

I'll probably buy one for the gym. Ideally I'd buy a bunch of them and start a TRX class. However, there's nothing to hang them from in the fitness studio and I don't think the bolt-on option would be an option either.

Yep, for a group it might cause an issue in a fitness studio. Most videos I have seen of group TRX training have a setup similar to this, which you could probably do with scafolding ;) but it would be a pain to setup and take down all the time

M

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭Will Heffernan

Was thinking of getting that TRX Suspension trainer until I saw the €200 odd price tag....is it worth that price for what is essentially some handles and nylon straps?
    No.
    Anyone trained with it before?
    Yes...complete waste of money....but if you have it to burn...pick up a med ball, a bosu ball, a sprint parachute, a viper belt and an airex pad...that way when you realise you wasted your money your trx suspension system will have plenty of company under your bed in the spare room.
    looking for something to mix up he training a bit and something I can take with me if i'm away with work.
    You should look harder and find something else.

Gymnastic rings or blast straps are way cheaper and if you are not mentally challenged you can do everything you can do on the TRX.

That way 2 years from now when everyone is having a good laugh at someone that bought this crap you won't have to laugh along shamefully....you'll be able to bust your sides laughing with the rest of us.

Ok, so it seems the consensus is that suspension training with rings or a homemade setup is good but the TRX itself is just a bit of slick American marketing for a few cargo straps and PVC handles.
    You should look harder and find something else.
    Waiting to get a few big tyres and making myself some sandbags to have a crack at that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 davyc

i got a trx a my god its bloody brilliant i got it from a swiss distributor for much cheaper!! it is some workout!

davyc wrote: »
    i got a trx a my god its bloody brilliant i got it from a swiss distributor for much cheaper!! it is some workout!

It's so good you registered on Boards just to write 2 posts within 5 minutes telling everyone how amazing they are?

Damn, they must be good! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭odin_ie

A company called Mode Athletics in Vancover produced a suspension trainer called a GTX, it cost about €100.00 including shipping. But, TRX took a patent infringement suit against the company because the strap design was too similar. The owner of the company has gone for a redesign, but the last I heard from him was in mid November when they were looking for international distributors to clear the remaining stock of the GTX Mark 1 outside of the US.

You may be able to find one online. The build quality was very good, and the price was right :) the unit consists of two seperate straps, so it can be used for things like dips etc. I cannot recommend the GTX enough really.

Make one!

200 dollars is an insane price for something so simple and easily made. Gymnastics rings are less than half the price and there's no way the production costs are 1/2 that of the trx (they're not as tactical though but can be easily converted to suspension trainers)

Edit: haha didn't realise how old this thread was and that I posted the same damn thing back when it was started

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 davyc

SanoVitae wrote: »
    It's so good you registered on Boards just to write 2 posts within 5 minutes telling everyone how amazing they are?

Damn, they must be good! ;)

ok

I like them and yes you can make them but some people are not bothered or like me know that they would make a death trap if i went down that road.

I have lots of clients that have one for home workouts and they all love it though it is expensive kit agreed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,027 ✭✭✭flywheel

[OP] what every ya do if you do buy a TRX make sure it is a real one, from a reputable source

exposing-trx-suspension-trainer-fake

Fraying / quality problems / cam buckle failure can be an issue, you've no recourse with a counterfeit model

I use the the TRX P2 it came with a rake of DVDs and support material / programming, handy to bring traveling, easy to pack, and safer / better quality than anything I'd would 'manufacture'.