Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

€4500 on 1.9tdi

• 21-08-2010 9:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭

lads,
    im 19 and i currently own a 01 punto. been working 70 hour weeks the last few months and now i want to spend a bit o money on a car. i was looking at around a 05 almera but the power of a 1.9 tdi appeals to me. my friends keep sayin i should get a type r civic or some crap like that but i just want a sturdy comfortable car. i like the skoda superbs and passats but thats all ive really looked at on donedeal. i dont want anything less than a 03 though. i could stretch to 5000 with the hope of knocking a couple of hundred off with a cash deal and i hope to get about 900 for my punto as it will have a full nct when im selling it. any ideas appreciated.
    also, how much is the tax on a 1.9 diesel roughly.
    many thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

Power? 1.9TDi? :rolleyes:

Most of em have 100bhp, the odd 130bhp here and there. Even at that, they arent quick.

I'd be listening to your friend if you wanted proper power... Think tax i=on it is around 600 quid, but check motortax.ie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

lads,
    im 19 and i currently own a 01 punto. been working 70 hour weeks the last few months and now i want to spend a bit o money on a car. i was looking at around a 05 almera but the power of a 1.9 tdi appeals to me. my friends keep sayin i should get a type r civic or some crap like that but i just want a sturdy comfortable car. i like the skoda superbs and passats but thats all ive really looked at on donedeal. i dont want anything less than a 03 though. i could stretch to 5000 with the hope of knocking a couple of hundred off with a cash deal and i hope to get about 900 for my punto as it will have a full nct when im selling it. any ideas appreciated.
    also, how much is the tax on a 1.9 diesel roughly.
    many thanks

Avoid the Almera, they're not great. The TDI pulls a bit, especially with a remap, but you can do a lot with 5k. They're not fast at all, but the pull they do have is reassuring. TBH though I'd go for a petrol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

id be looking at red i's at least though. what petrol cars would ye recommend so? i dont want a performance car tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭changes

I used to own an 04 passat 1.9 TDI 130 BHP, it was a lovely car and i really liked the power it had. The 100 BHP might not be enough power for a car that size imo.

So you'll have the guts of 6000 to spend by the time you sell the punto, you'd get an 03 or 04 passat for that money. Black ones look good imo.

no 5grand is my maximum and thats taking into account the punto's amount and cash deal

These aren't bad either although its a 2.0 litre so would be 614 road tax, it has 130BHP

http://www.usedcarsni.com/51029195

would rather stay german or japanese to be honest but thank you. im very picky im sorry!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

changes wrote: »
    I used to own an 04 passat 1.9 TDI 130 BHP, it was a lovely car and i really liked the power it had. The 100 BHP might not be enough power for a car that size imo.

So you'll have the guts of 6000 to spend by the time you sell the punto, you'd get an 03 or 04 passat for that money. Black ones look good imo.

I had one years ago too. I have noticed they still seem to make good money. You will have your work cut out finding a good one. A lot of high mileage imports and farmers ones floating about.

the black passats are really nice. adore them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭dryadssaddle

what about something like this? I don't really see the point spending extra for anything newer. This is a nice looking car, would be very reliable, would have modest power and give you great mileage :)http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1506770

good suggestion. are they very reliable though? what engine does it have?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

id be looking at red i's at least though. what petrol cars would ye recommend so? i dont want a performance car tbh.

Not this again. Wasn't it already decided on here that the dealers put those red badges on randomly?

tuxy wrote: »
    Not this again. Wasn't it already decided on here that the dealers put those red badges on randomly?

true put you could just dyno test it and there must be some other way to check it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

true put you could just dyno test it and there must be some other way to check it?

Bring a rolling road with you when test driving? :P

But yeah there may be some other way to check.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭homer90

The power output will be printed on a sticker by the spare wheel (for the passat)
    Have you got some insurance quotes ?

thanks. yeah about 1800 with aviva. havent tried anywhere else yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭dryadssaddle

good suggestion. are they very reliable though? what engine does it have?

apparently the earlier 01 320D's had a European rating of 100kw (1951cc) or 136hp, later01 models were produced with 1995cc`s & rated at 110kw (148hp).

oh yeah actually, will the insurance company take that as a usual 1.9 or will they go by bhp? cos if i tried to get insured on a 140brake car id get double raped excuse the expression!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

136 brake is more reliable than later models...but I have to ask...is this thread a joke? Seriously...

why is it a joke? i know there seems to be alot of messing going on but i have to start somewhere. and boards is easy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭GTE

tuxy wrote: »

Maybe so but to be fair what he is saying is he would prefer a 110hp VE or a 115 PD? Im not too sure about the PD outputs but the coloured letters do have a purpose denoting what power hes looking for out of the engine. If the Irish dealers were Irish sometimes and put a fake badge on then Im sure the OP has the brains to figure that out by the little sticker in the boot or the engine code.

He sure isnt just saying he wants the coloured badge on his boot for goodness sake lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭king_of_inismac

The 1.9 TDI (130 BHP) Golf or Bora is plenty quick for someone your age.

Try to get the highline model if you can (as mentioned earlier, the RED TDI business can mean anything, so just check the sticker in the boot for exact spec/BHP)

Both can be easily mapped to ~170Bhp while still achieving ~50MPG.

When buying any VW of that era, you should check for the following:
    1. Dual mass Flywheel issues
    2. Clutch Problems (particularly the clutch release bearing)
    3. Alternator pulley
    4. Leaking water in either the boot or the passenger footwell (both easily resolved).

The PD engines in these cars are pretty reliable (compared to other cars I've owned), so you just have to find a good one.

Servicing is cheap too. Every 10000 miles alternating between just oil and filter to oil, filter, fuel filter, air filter etc. All easily done at home.

thanks lads. yeah im not gonna just see a red tdi and take it that its 130 or 140 bhp! i have heard about the clutch problems alright but theres nearly always one thing or another wrong with a model of cars. its not easy picking a car! i thought i had my mind set on a 04/05 almera but because of possible timing chain and gearbox issues i dont know now.
    what would ye get if ye were 19 and had 5000 to spend?:D

If i was 19 with €5000 to spend i'd get an 02/03 Golf or 03/04 Focus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

for that money you could get a 3 or 5 series bmw... the coupes from 02 and on have 143 bhp from a 2L engine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭GTE

Just to add to the list above about the 1.9 PD TDI. Make sure the service history is quite good. The correct oil must be used in the car and many coyboy mechanics (even at VW) have filled it with the wrong oil and that can cause problems in later life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭homer90

Idbatterim wrote: »
    for that money you could get a 3 or 5 series bmw... the coupes from 02 and on have 143 bhp from a 2L engine.

And the same again on insurance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

Try pick up a 115 or a 130 bhp bora/golf or seat toledo/leon which have the same engine and running gear as the mk4 golfs. Passa'ts can give suspension bother. Something to do with link rods in the front. I'm not 100% sure if this is what they are called but i heard it can be expensive to get replaced if your not able to do it yourself. Parts are cheap but its the labour is the killer. try for at least comfort line in the golf/bora and signo in a leon/tolledo.
    I think you will get it hard to get a good one from 03+ for that kinda money. Expect a lot of high milage cars. Also try stay away from ones with big 18'' alloys and sunstrips half way down the window!!

i always thought leons were a savage looking car when done right but whats their reliabilty like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

deutschland fur immer, would you not stay true to your roots and go with a german car? I happen to me a man of similar tastes as yourself obviously, I wouldnt be seen dead driving a Civic! or any cars of that vice!

i know but id really only get a 02 german car for my money and i would like to update more. and im not too gone on golfs, too common.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,803 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

How about Avensis D4D, if you're gonna be doing a lot of mileage you won't find a better second hand car for the price.

donedeal

theres so many choices its ridiculous! i think i might go for a 02 passat. i just wont get a 03 for my money:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭deaglan169

why not look up north even with vrt you should be able to find a fresher car than the south or at least with higher spec for example this http://www.usedcarsni.com/35275124

any idea roughly how much the vrt would be on it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,699 ✭✭✭ronaneire

deaglan169 wrote: »
    why not look up north even with vrt you should be able to find a fresher car than the south or at least with higher spec for example this http://www.usedcarsni.com/35275124

The euro/sterling exchange rate is not so good as it was. 2nd hand cars up North or the UK ain't that cheap anymore.
    Ok they are better looked after and have higher spec.
    What about an Octavia TDi?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭Blue Punto

what about this Superb

http://adverts.ie/270314

Its had all the pulleys and belts done and just got a new clutch and fly wheel

And it is defo the 130bhp verion

I know cause Im selling it:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭deaglan169

any idea roughly how much the vrt would be on it?

roughly €1300/1400 so it will end up over budget with the current bad exchange rates but worth looking into i would have no problem going down a few years for a VAG TDI their solid engines i have a leon can cant fault it

i always thought leons were a savage looking car when done right but whats their reliabilty like?
    They are based on the mk4 golf platform so they share most of the same faults. 1.4 petrols aint great very dead and heavy plus the engine gives a lot of bother. the diesels can suffer from turbo and dual mass flywheel problems.
    here is a pic of my leon. its a 150bhp tdi
    DSC_0002752x500.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭Pique

sean1141 wrote: »
    They are based on the mk4 golf platform so they share most of the same faults. 1.4 petrols aint great very dead and heavy plus the engine gives a lot of bother. the diesels can suffer from turbo and dual mass flywheel problems.
    here is a pic of my leon. its a 150bhp tdi
    DSC_0002752x500.jpg

I love those shape Leons, 'specially in Cupra R drag ! That's where my money would go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 279 ✭✭shogunpower

How about Avensis D4D, if you're gonna be doing a lot of mileage you won't find a better second hand car for the price.

donedeal

he's 19 come on guys.. maybe for his mother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

Don't knock them until you've owned one.

If he has a strict budget and doesn't want an unexpected bill then it great, I'd even go for the earlier model Avensis with a d4d.

It'll not blow your socks off with speed but it is a pleasant drive.

Ah now, if you've read any of his previous posts he seems like a level headed young man, I doubt he's like one of these guys ...

i had an avensis. 2.0TD not the d4d. nice enough drive very reliable and very comfy. not too gone on the 03+ models

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

sean1141 wrote: »
    i had an avensis. 2.0TD not the d4d. nice enough drive very reliable and very comfy. not too gone on the 03+ models

Something like this would be a good choice

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1478906

Almost bought one only the brother talked me out of it regrettably

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

I happen to me a man of similar tastes as yourself obviously, I wouldnt be seen dead driving a Civic! or any cars of that vice!

:rolleyes: Yeah, an almera would be a great alternative which is what the OP is going for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

deutschland fur immer, would you not stay true to your roots and go with a german car? I happen to me a man of similar tastes as yourself obviously, I wouldnt be seen dead driving a Civic! or any cars of that vice!
    That's because you're a badge snob and it probably deep down bothers you that a Civic is leagues ahead of a ball of dung Mk 4 Golf, which is an automotive disgrace.
    OP, you'll probably get insurance quicker on a 318Ci than you will on a VW 1.9 diesel 130bhp, cause all the young dudes who think they know about cars buy those, thinking they're "fierce quick", so there's now inflated insurance on those.

johnos1984 wrote: »
    Something like this would be a good choice

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/1478906

Almost bought one only the brother talked me out of it regrettably

That's way too expensive, esp for the 'old' 03 model. ^^^^avoid