Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Give a junkie money?

• 21-08-2010 8:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭blueshark22

So i pulled into a parking spot yesterday, in limerick across from the train station, to just pop in and collect a takeaway, when i got out of the car this fela maybe 23/24 asked had i any change and i said 'il get you on the way back' when i returned i did give him a few euro , but im sure i was just feeding his obvious drug habit , im wondering should i have given him money or just walked past, i just felt so sorry for him (i really don't mean to be condescending towards him ) i probably should have just given him some food??
    Tagged:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

A mate of mine gave a junkie half of his sandwich one day as he'd asked him for a few bob for something to eat. The junkie threw the sandwich back at him & called him a c*nt.

I suspect that he wasn't actually hungry at all. Not for food anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

He doesn't want your stupid food, he wants to put opiates into his veins as quickly as possible.

True story: I once bought lighter fluid for huffing for a homeless man because he was banned from the shop.

Also true: I was so innocent that at first I assumed he needed it to start a camp fire because he was cold.

They're not injecting it back into the economy that's for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Thief

Hell no!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

I find a post-dated cheque works best...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

No.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,005 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Not in the junkie league, but a couple of months ago this guy in his early '20s approached my friends and me and asked us for some money for "da head shop". Refreshingly honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

I don't give anyone money these days.
    Charity begins at home and all that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

At least you'll know exactly where the money is going if you do.......:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

So i pulled into a parking spot yesterday, in limerick across from the train station, to just pop in and collect a takeaway, when i got out of the car this fela maybe 23/24 asked had i any change and i said 'il get you on the way back' when i returned i did give him a few euro , but im sure i was just feeding his obvious drug habit , im wondering should i have given him money or just walked past, i just felt so sorry for him (i really don't mean to be condescending towards him ) i probably should have just given him some food??

I've asked in that situation if they want something while I'm heading into the shop/chipper/whatever. Some have said yes and the ones that didn't obviously don't want it for food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭deise48

what he suffers from should be considered a sickness and treated with a little simpathy surely we all have been touched by a family member who struggles with addiction problems

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭Carlos_Ray

A mate of mine gave a junkie half of his sandwich one day as he'd asked him for a few bob for something to eat. The junkie threw the sandwich back at him & called him a c*nt.

Same thing happened to me but in relation to bus fare. A junky stopped me on abbey street and asked "any chaaangeee for da bussss bud?"

I said I could do even better and gave him a bus ticket (with one journey left mind you!) He also called me a cnut and threw the ticket on the ground. Thats junky gratitude for you.

We were walking past the Abbey Street Luas stop las Friday night after a few jars, when a smack head approched us looking for change. My friends offered him a cigarette instead, at which point he told him to **** off as he did not like Silk Cut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,600 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Did you get a receipt OP? Its tax deductible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

Don't give em a penny. PLenty of facilities for homeless in Limerick, and the junkies arent homeless.

If they don't move with the times and accept credit cards, they can **** off.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

galwayrush wrote: »
    If they don't move with the times and accept credit cards, they can **** off.....

Oh they'll gladly take credit cards.

zuroph wrote: »
    Oh they'll gladly take credit cards.

So true........:pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭GizAGoOfYerGee

You can spot the junkies a mile away. I never give them anything.

There are, however, some genuinely down-and-out people on the streets that aren´t junkies.

I never give them money, but I would often buy them a coffee, sambo, and sit down with them to hear their stories. That means a lot more to them then a few coins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

galwayrush wrote: »

Reminds me of American Psycho, "ask him if he takes Am Ex" :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

One born every minute. Keep giving and they'll keep asking, sorry demanding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

chaaaaaaange?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭gogo

deise48 wrote: »
    what he suffers from should be considered a sickness and treated with a little simpathy surely we all have been touched by a family member who struggles with addiction problems

Nope, never had any family suffering from any addiction, and sure I feel sorry for them but I'll be fu(ked if im going to fund anyones addiction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Back when I was a young lad, I'd get Bus Eireann to Dublin maybe twice a year.
    Well, I was over 150km away so a big day out, hurray

And everytime I'd usually come across somebody looking for a pound for the bus and they'd approach and ask me.
    Yeah, didn't seem a strange request so I always gave money and genuinly believed it was somebody stuck for bus fare.

Didn't cop on until about 3 years of this happening, I was so innocent and stupid. And the same feckers asking other people after I walked away.
    Ok, not much money involved but I realy did believe them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Sid_Justice

You can spot the junkies a mile away. I never give them anything.

There are, however, some genuinely down-and-out people on the streets that aren´t junkies.

I never give them money, but I would often buy them a coffee, sambo, and sit down with them to hear their stories. That means a lot more to them then a few coins.

call bs on this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 320 ✭✭The_Joker.

Lol. The junkie done the right thing!
    How dare your mate give him only half the sandwich, he could have at least giving him the whole sambo, stingy bollox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Back when I was a young lad, I'd get Bus Eireann to Dublin maybe twice a year.
    Well, I was over 150km away so a big day out, hurray

And everytime I'd usually come across somebody looking for a pound for the bus and they'd approach and ask me.
    Yeah, didn't seem a strange request so I always gave money and genuinly believed it was somebody stuck for bus fare.

Didn't cop on until about 3 years of this happening, I was so innocent and stupid. And the same feckers asking other people after I walked away.
    Ok, not much money involved but I realy did believe them.

I was the same. Except if they asked "20 pence for a phonecall", I'd give them the 20 pence. It was only after some guy obviously didn't like the fact that it only 20 pence that I copped on.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭gogo

Do you then ask them for a go of their gee then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

An oul dipso asked me for a euro for a flaggon once, I said here's two euro... get me one aswell.

Called me a smart cnut!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,659 ✭✭✭Chaotic_Forces

Have a look at the runners. Anytime I'm in town (around Henery Street) they're always clean runners and white, I doubt "homeless people" can afford brand new sparkling clean runnners...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

There used to be this old fcuker outside Arnotts that just knelt there with his two hands extended, he had a big white beard. He was better bleedin dressed than I was, he a had neck like a jockey's bollicks

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Have a look at the runners. Anytime I'm in town (around Henery Street) they're always clean runners and white, I doubt "homeless people" can afford brand new sparkling clean runnners...

They can coz they havent got a mortage.

Degsy wrote: »
    They can coz they havent got a mortage.

I like that :). But come on, if you're begging daily I doubt your white runners are going to look brand new and be brand new. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

fcuk him op if you gave him food he might have took that as an insult also you do realise Parnell st(limerick city)is the worst street in limerick for these kind of wasters.It pisses me off that any tourists,travellers coming into the city via bus or train have to witness these low lifes as the first thing see or get taped by,as above poster said none of these wasters are are homeless they live in hostels(wet house alphonsis street,just off henry street),so still have full dole 196 euro per week.
    you should have told him to ff,you'd be doing him a better favour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,730 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

I never give beggars money. This is Ireland. Recession or not, the homeless do not go hungry here.

I was walking through Dun Laoghaire the other day and saw a beggar sitting on the path, head down, paper cup held out, no shoes and was shivering. I find it extremely hard to believe that someone is too down and out to not have shoes and saw it as an obvious sympathy ploy :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

deise48 wrote: »
    Do you really believe that giving money to someone struggling with addiction, be it alcohol or substance abuse, is helping them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭d22ontour

yomchi wrote: »
    There used to be this old fcuker outside Arnotts that just knelt there with his two hands extended, he had a big white beard. He was better bleedin dressed than I was, he a had neck like a jockey's bollicks

That was Santa, he was testing you...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

its a judgement call.. You won't go to hell for being charitable.

But you'll feel horrible if they use your money to buy drugs infront of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Absolutely agree, Mak, but helping them feed their habit isn't helping.

I'd much prefer to support Simon or one of the organisations who work to actually make a difference for these people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Bollox it does! You think some homeless dude who faces spending the night outdoors in the cold and freezing rain really feels better after regaling some nosy stranger with his woes?! As for the food, fair play to you, but why not give them the money and let them make up their own minds? I always find it condescending when people assume that they know better then the person they're donating to. If a homeless person feels that a naggin of whiskey will get him through the night better, then who the hell am I to argue?!

But you'll feel horrible if they use your money to buy drugs infront of you.

You know what, I don't really care.

If I gave a beggar one Euro, I do believe it cost the person more than that to ask for it.

Guys, I know embedded youtube links are largely ignored in AH..

But I would ask anyone to look through this;

And not be moved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭cruiser178

makikomi please give it over with the bleeding hearts bs,(i read a lot of your posts and so i know your not an idot or a bleeding heart) you've got to help those who help themselves.limerick is not dublin,in the fact that limerick is a much smaller place.Nobody in limerick should be homeless,only by choice and fcuk those cnuts who think otherwise they deserve nothing.

This is not a rant iv'e been down a few times,you get yourself out of it.

cruiser178 wrote: »
    makikomi please give it over with the bleeding hearts bs,(i read a lot of your posts and so i know your not an idot or a bleeding heart) you've got to help those who help themselves.limerick is not dublin,in the fact that limerick is a much smaller place.Nobody in limerick should be homeless,only by choice and fcuk those cnuts who think otherwise they deserve nothing.

Don't kid yourself, its a rant alright.

You know what, I don't really care.

If I gave a beggar one Euro, I do believe it cost the person more than that to ask for it.

Guys, I know embedded youtube links are largely ignored in AH..

But I would ask anyone to look through this;

And not be moved.

Yeah but when you hear "got a euro buuuuddddd?" and you give it to them and then see them 5 minutes later and see them stoned, you feel a bit annoyed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

I have given money to junkies/alcoholics/homeless people in the past; usually when i was drunk and just felt like it, for whatever reason.
    Probably wasn't a selfless gesture, if such a thing exists.
    In that sense, you could say that the person i gave the money to was providing a service to me at the time; that it was a transaction true to the basest form of capitalism.
    I, for some reason, wanted to hand some money to that person at that time, and that person took the money.
    A fair trade; we both got what we wanted.

Yeah but when you hear "got a euro buuuuddddd?" and you give it to them and then see them 5 minutes later and see them stoned, you feel a bit annoyed.

If they get stoned five minutes later on my one Euro I want whatever you think they're having.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

cruiser178 wrote: »

Someone who asks you for money is attempting to help themselves; if someone wishes to give them what they ask for, for whatever reason, who are you to judge them?
    Do you feel that doing so has a deliterious effect on society? On other people?
    Are you not, infact, the 'bleeding heart' here?
    Or should a 'bleeding heart's' heart only bleed for particular people?

If they get stoned five minutes later on my one Euro I want whatever you think they're having.
    You'd be surpirsed at Dublin 1 then. A euro per person for about 7 hours = 80ish at least.