Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Prime Time - Underage Drinkers

• 19-08-2010 8:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭

Anyone watching this? They're after getting the young lad/girls to make about 10 online orders. Serious amount of drink ordered.

I hope they drank it all, it'd be a shocking waste of beer otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Orlee

Yeah watching it now ... did you see the close up of the pc screen of the girl buying from Tesco?

Her hotmail was open on the next tab and it shows her email address! Poor form for RTE!!!!!

I know kids can get their hands on alcohol but I can't believe it's THAT easy!

Showed this thread too ... http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055967924&highlight=booze+takeaway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Off licence guy was very poor at making up stuff on the spot.

Shocking stuff in all fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I asked some 16 year olds to go to the off license for me, never seen my booze :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭dolliemix

Haddockman wrote: »
    Off licence guy was very poor at making up stuff on the spot.

Shocking stuff in all fairness.

He looked like he was about to start crying!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Young people drinking?

JESUS - PANIC......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Now that kids are still getting their pesky hands on alcohol maybe they'll let the offo's return to normal opening times instead of this 10pm crap!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

Joooooooooooooe Duffy.

Nodin wrote: »
    Young people drinking?

JESUS - PANIC......

I know. Next thing they'll be having sex. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

cson wrote: »
    Anyone watching this? They're after getting the young lad/girls to make about 10 online orders. Serious amount of drink ordered.

I hope they drank it all, it'd be a shocking waste of beer otherwise.
    On that point i wonder where that booze goes. Maybe RTE should hand it out to licence payers instead of more than likely staff getting it.

Now that kids are still getting their pesky hands on alcohol maybe they'll let the offo's return to normal opening times instead of this 10pm crap!!

What, treat adults like adults? Not likely.

Soon you'll have to go through the same rigamarole for drink that you have to for a painkiller with codeine in it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Ricardo G

rarnes1 wrote: »

After drinking what they ordered they certainly will.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

Reading the thread they showed from this site, it appears they used this site for information on underage drinking via home delivery of alcohol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭Belmono

The guy from the Vintners association should have had a brandy before he came on to calm himself down;)

rarnes1 wrote: »

And lovin it guilt free too, the dirty little shites....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Mister men wrote: »
    Joooooooooooooe Duffy.

Mary from Clontarffffffff is on the line :D

There's teenage lads joe..(yeah...).....they're drunk, joe..(terrible, yeah)....drunk on alcohol joe..(tsk tsk)..There was none of this in my day joe..........(yeah, yeah....does it upset you mary?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Mister men wrote: »
    Joooooooooooooe Duffy.
    This will give Joe Duffy plenty of new material.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Jayzus, there was underage drinking in 1967, why should it be newsworthy now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭Prabhu Deva

Joe: Terrible carry on altogether, this is awful, i remember in my day very little of this went on. You're dead right, they shouldnt be going near this stuff till they have circled the sun at least eighteen times.

Whats the government doing all about all of this? more regulation is what is needed. Fun should not be allowed in these modern and technologically advanced times

AND NOW ITS TIME FOR A COMMERCIAL BREAK!!! GO HARVEY GO!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Jeboa Safari

Your man presenting prime time came across as abit of a c**t I thought. I don't really have much of a problem with them ordering it, drinking age should be lowered to 16 anyway, and 16-17 year olds are going to get their hands on drink either way, even if they do clamp down on this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭Prabhu Deva

Your man presenting prime time came across as abit of a c**t I thought. I don't really have much of a problem with them ordering it, drinking age should be lowered to 16 anyway, and 16-17 year olds are going to get their hands on drink either way, even if they do clamp down on this

they should get rid of the restriction altogether. everyone knows children that age wouldn't want it if they were allowed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭IrishZeus

everyone knows children that age wouldn't want it if they were allowed it.

<Insert dirty joke here>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Your man presenting prime time came across as abit of a c**t I thought.

All the primetime presenters are sh!te maybe with the exception of that guy that left the show a few months back.

To be fair there were 800 potential job loses announced today by Bank of Scotland Ireland. Much more fitting topic for tonight than getting some teenagers to go undercover buying drink.

Suppose the primeteam team had a good laugh at the licence payer too as they drank all that booze.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Orlee wrote: »
    Yeah watching it now ... did you see the close up of the pc screen of the girl buying from Tesco?

Her hotmail was open on the next tab and it shows her email address! Poor form for RTE!!!!!

Showed this thread too ... http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055967924&highlight=booze+takeaway

Bastards! I didn't give them permission to use my thread. grr.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Hoorah for drink delivery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

Didn't watch it but heard about it alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

I can remeber they ran a series of ads on billboards and on the telly about underage drinking two years ago when I was 16-17.

I can recall walking past one of the billboards thinking "I have that guys shoes!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭Jesus Juice

I am a teenage drinker, and quite frankly I'm very drunk.

I don't get what the big deal is about 16-17 year olds drinking, they are nearly 18! I was stunned that people of that age did drink when I were 16-17 but when they were under than that it made me think that was even worse, I'd agree with 17 is ok if you are nearly 18. Its worse if 15 and under though far worse as they may not be able to cope with the drink and consequences, they are still developing overall both physically and intellectually and emotionally, they need all three at full capacity to deal with drink! The brain isn't fully developed until 21! So decision making is vital for teenagers when under the influence cause a lot could go wrong when they are under the influence. Its better they are drinking when supervised at home rather than them getting sloshed when out and out of control. They need a bit of guidance to deal with drinking. Quiet frankly they need a bit of cop on before they take any drop of drink!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

The elephant in the room of course is the fact that back when the publicans had the power of discretion to serve a drink or two to a table of teenagers as long as they were quiet, well behaved and didn't act the bollix in the pub that you had far less teenagers running around and causing trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

Seloth wrote: »
    I can remeber they ran a series of ads on billboards and on the telly about underage drinking two years ago when I was 16-17.

I can recall walking past one of the billboards thinking "I have that guys shoes!"
    so you stole shoes from a drunk teen? how nice of you :rolleyes:

I wonder if things would be any different if the legal age limit was brought up to 21? Then we see who has the last laugh!?:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭The Agogo

I wonder if things would be any different if the legal age limit was brought up to 21? Then we see who has the last laugh!?:cool:

Don't even ****ing say that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭The Highwayman

Right at the start of the show they show Boards.ie After Hours the thread was about getting drink delivered. It must be our fault

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

SeaFields wrote: »
    All the primetime presenters are sh!te maybe with the exception of that guy that left the show a few months back.

To be fair there were 800 potential job loses announced today by Bank of Scotland Ireland. Much more fitting topic for tonight than getting some teenagers to go undercover buying drink.

Suppose the primeteam team had a good laugh at the licence payer too as they drank all that booze.
    Can you imagine the ****ing job losses if age limit was increased!?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

Does anyone know if this is on the rteplayer??

would be interested in watching it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭The Highwayman

DOC09UNAM wrote: »
    Does anyone know if this is on the rteplayer??

would be interested in watching it.

Yep watching it now

Rteplayer link for anyone that missed the show aswell..

http://www.rte.ie/player/#v=1078853

lol @ the woman at the 4 minute mark, trying to use as many big words as possible, and could barely pronounce them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,939 ✭✭✭mardybumbum

"Can I get 12 bottles of Coors light and a litre bottle of Smirnoff ice?"

What a pussy.

Orlee wrote: »

That wasn't no accident, that's a chris hansen style setup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

omg ffs, I started that thread because of a lack of delivery services but they're claiming an explosion in that sector? And I'm 24. Gross misrepresentation of the meaning and purpose of the thread. So annoyed I hate lazy journos/hacks/researchers. Some RTE gob****e dreamt up a story out of nothing and put it on tv, most of those drunks in the video were probably over 18 anyways. The woman from aisling was scary though, trying to shut down offy delivery just because kids might abuse the system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭bongi69

DOC09UNAM wrote: »
    That wasn't no accident, that's a chris hansen style setup.

Couldn't resist :D

Gotta ask though, why is teenage drinking such a big problem here, when its not in France, Spain, etc.? And lets be honest, I got my hands on beer at 16, before the offies delivered, so they can stop the delivery services, but that wont stop kids boozing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭Anita Blow

Too much of a deal is made about underage drinking. Do what other countries do, drop the drinking age from 18-16 for beer or alcohol below 6% and place a limit on how much can be sold to a person in that age bracket.
    It stops all the fishy business of young people trying to get drink and it also gradually introduces them to legal alcohol consumption so they don't go binging when they become 18.
    Also get rid of, or modify the exisiting law on public drinking to allow drinking in certain areas. How come I can drink on a beach in Spain but can't on a beach here (Queue jokes about weather)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

For those that missed it, the show: http://www.rte.ie/news/primetime/

Funny thing is, They've given a great idea to a massive bunch of 16 year olds that may never have thought of home delivery, fools.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

I wouldn't mind so much if it was for use at home only but unfortunatly many don't just leave it at that..... like the girl I saw last nite, who was so p1ssed that a LUAS has to be taken out of service in order to clean up her mess. Nice :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

??? delivery......too long to wait,when i was drinking at , 15/ 16 and buying my own cans, id just grab a crate every while and bring 8 out with me when ever id get a text, and then scab vodka etc... off others.

i know classy right.

ive always preferred drinking outsde in a field with all my mates etc... no aul lads at a bar, fresh air, a bit of freedom, you know everyone, and you dont go through the best part of 100 quid in a night....sadly those days are gone :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

Anita Blow wrote: »
    Too much of a deal is made about underage drinking. Do what other countries do, drop the drinking age from 18-16 for beer or alcohol below 6% and place a limit on how much can be sold to a person in that age bracket.
    It stops all the fishy business of young people trying to get drink and it also gradually introduces them to legal alcohol consumption so they don't go binging when they become 18.
    Also get rid of, or modify the exisiting law on public drinking to allow drinking in certain areas. How come I can drink on a beach in Spain but can't on a beach here (Queue jokes about weather)

whatsto stop them going to 2 or 3 off licences, very little, unless you give them a scanable age card which an off licence can swipe saying how much they bought etc...

theres a law on public drinking :confused: thought that was an american thing

most teenagers drink in fields because some have strict parents, so they dont want to go to a public spot where the mammy driving by would see them.

If they look old enough to buy drink, it wouldn't be so much of a problem!