Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jailbreak regrets anyone?

• 18-08-2010 8:57pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭

Hi folks.

Just curious as to wether or not anyone else has any regrets on jailbreaking their iPhones?

I took the plunge and jailbroke mine at the start of the month, and maybe I'm being paranoid, but my iPhone seems to have developed a few wee bugs that are niggling me.

To start with, my parrot hands free always displays a 'no signal' on it's display now since the jailbreak despite the phone showing full bars.

Phone boots into safe mode every so often, telling me to reboot as the spring board developed a fault.

Temporarily lost the ability for multi tasking, ie when I press home button twice, there was just a blank space and no icons showed, despite maybe safari, email, Facebook and iPod playing music in background.

Phone has a delay now when someone calls me, ie phone goes blank for approx 2 secs then springs into life with ringtone and caller ID displayed.

Constantly dropping wifi connection despite me being a meter or two from router.

None of the above are serious problems, but when you own an expensive piece of kit such as this (mines is 32g 3GS) ANY bug is an annoying one!

I'm not intending to put anyone off from jailbreaking, just throwing my opinions out there, and wondering if any of you lot have similar problems?

Incidentally, jailbroke mine from the website jailbreakme.com

Thanks folks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cian1500ww

Quite the opposite for me, love the ability to add themes plus SBsettings on its own is worth it for me. First jailbreaking I've ever done and I don't know how I done without it until know !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,408 ✭✭✭naasrd

Only jailbroke to purchase Mywi, have had no problems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

naasrd wrote: »
    Only jailbroke to purchase Mywi, have had no problems.

What's mywi?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭smcelhinney

MyWi is an app that allows you to turn your iPhone into a WiFi hotspot. Ive heard MyWi is hit & miss, care to share your experience?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭big_moe

i have the iPhone 4 jailbroken, i've always used jailbroken iPhones so it a must when i got the 4! i had SBSettings installed but it was running my battery down far too quick so i uninstalled it and no probs with battery since. one of the main reasons i jailbreak is for the app My3g, which fools the phone into thinking its on a wifi signal rather than 3g. very handy for facetime on the go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,408 ✭✭✭naasrd

MyWi is an app that allows you to turn your iPhone into a WiFi hotspot. Ive heard MyWi is hit & miss, care to share your experience?

Nothing but good things to say about it. Use it for my iPad. The $19.99 price tag was a bit steep but for the use I'm getting out of it it was well worth. An absolute joy to use. Tethered it loads of times from my iPhone and still have chunks of my 2gb monthly data allowance left. Highly recommended.

Will buy My3g when I've a few mates with a 4!!

big_moe wrote: »
    i have the iPhone 4 jailbroken, i've always used jailbroken iPhones so it a must when i got the 4! i had SBSettings installed but it was running my battery down far too quick so i uninstalled it and no probs with battery since. one of the main reasons i jailbreak is for the app My3g, which fools the phone into thinking its on a wifi signal rather than 3g. very handy for facetime on the go

Hi mate.

Any idea on how I delete sb Settings? Doesn't appear on my home screen, and it also doesn't appear in Cydia when I click on manage sources.

Have he cyd delete source to manually delete, but can't seem to find where sb settings actually is to!delete it!

Thanks in advance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,519 ✭✭✭irish1967

Seach for sbs on cydia. Click on it. Use modify button in top right hand corner to remove it. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

rock extention yulk!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭James Forde

i can safely say thank god i jailbroke

no problems at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭Stuxnet

Gucky wrote: »
    Phone boots into safe mode every so often, telling me to reboot as the spring board developed a fault.
    you need to be careful what you dl, anything extension thats not iOS 4 compatible will cause it to go into safemode, just remove whatever cause's the crash, happened with me with fiveIrows, worked great with 3gs on 3.1.3, now it tries to kil my ip4 :pac:

irish1967 wrote: »
    Seach for sbs on cydia. Click on it. Use modify button in top right hand corner to remove it. :)

Tried doing this, finds sb alright, but no option to modify it, only install???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭grolschmore

i was always careful with my 3g not to overload it with cydia apps because it got a bit sluggish. but with the 4 im having loads of fun adding new stuff and customizing it. Jailbreaking makes a great phone so much better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭tigershould

so can all with iphone 4 who have jailbroken confirm that they are not experiencing any problems.

i'm on 4.0.1 - i've had the phone for a week and everything is great but i want to jailbreak

any risks (only related to iphone4)

is jailbreakme.com the place to get it done ?

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭big_moe

yeah i have an iphone 4 and jailbreak is perfect on it. as i said above, i found sbs settings to deplete the battery very quickly so i uninstalled it.

yup jailbreakme.com is the business, just dont update to iOS 4.0.2

big_moe wrote: »
    yeah i have an iphone 4 and jailbreak is perfect on it. as i said above, i found sbs settings to deplete the battery very quickly so i uninstalled it.

yup jailbreakme.com is the business, just dont update to iOS 4.0.2

Same here. No problems here. 5 icon dock. 5 rows. Winterboard video background. Custom lock sounds. Custom slider. All going great. No drop in performance or battery life.

Go for it !!

iPhone 4 16gb 4.0.1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭La Haine

How do you get Custom lock, sounds and Custom slider? My 3GS with OS4 is Jailbroken too....

ta

Install winterboard then go to cydia and in catagories slide down to themes folders. When you install the chosen theme exit cydia. Go to winterboard and enable the theme you have just installed.

The sound of an AK47 being reloaded is great when you slide to open :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭La Haine

Install winterboard then go to cydia and in catagories slide down to themes folders. When you install the chosen theme exit cydia. Go to winterboard and enable the theme you have just installed.

The sound of an AK47 being reloaded is great when you slide to open :)

Brilliant thanks lad!

ok, jailbreak for me tonight !

looking forwrd to trying my3g facetime in the car ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭mondeo

ok, jailbreak for me tonight !

looking forwrd to trying my3g facetime in the car ;)

Great, let us know how you get on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Four of a kind

lads, with the mywi app on cydia...say you use your laptop to go on the net using your iphone, will the data come from your monthly 2GB on your iphone?

Seems like a very good app though. Also that my3g app should work a treat as well :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭Doyler92

Gucky wrote: »
    Hi folks.

Just curious as to wether or not anyone else has any regrets on jailbreaking their iPhones?

I took the plunge and jailbroke mine at the start of the month, and maybe I'm being paranoid, but my iPhone seems to have developed a few wee bugs that are niggling me.

To start with, my parrot hands free always displays a 'no signal' on it's display now since the jailbreak despite the phone showing full bars.

Temporarily lost the ability for multi tasking, ie when I press home button twice, there was just a blank space and no icons showed, despite maybe safari, email, Facebook and iPod playing music in background.

Phone has a delay now when someone calls me, ie phone goes blank for approx 2 secs then springs into life with ringtone and caller ID displayed.

Constantly dropping wifi connection despite me being a meter or two from router.

None of the above are serious problems, but when you own an expensive piece of kit such as this (mines is 32g 3GS) ANY bug is an annoying one!

I'm not intending to put anyone off from jailbreaking, just throwing my opinions out there, and wondering if any of you lot have similar problems?

Incidentally, jailbroke mine from the website jailbreakme.com

Thanks folks

This has happened me aswell. Exact same as some of your problems. Does anybody know how to fix this wifi problem?

If someone has a way to fix it would they mind PM'ing me it. Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭Doylers

Doyler92 wrote: »
    This has happened me aswell. Exact same as some of your problems. Does anybody know how to fix this wifi problem?

If someone has a way to fix it would they mind PM'ing me it. Cheers

Its actually an apple software prob not a jailbreak prob. If i remember correctly geohot (blackra1n and blacksn0w guy) said he'd tell apple how to fix it for like 10 grand lol

Doylers wrote: »
    Its actually an apple software prob not a jailbreak prob. If i remember correctly geohot (blackra1n and blacksn0w guy) said he'd tell apple how to fix it for like 10 grand lol

Nice name and so it's Apple's fault and should be sorted in a firmware update?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,209 ✭✭✭maximoose

no regrets whatsoever, the benefits FAR outweigh any possible small drawbacks

Doyler92 wrote: »
    Nice name and so it's Apple's fault and should be sorted in a firmware update?

hahahaha thx same to you, can I assume you born in 92 like me lol yeah it should be but when I dont know.

Just as an aside note, "ultrasn0w" the program for unlocking your iphone for any network has been updated to increase standby-time on the iphone for people so you get longer battery time. It works if you unlocked already by your carrier.

hahahaha thx same to you, can I assume you born in 92 like me lol yeah it should be but when I dont know.

Just as an aside note, "ultrasn0w" the program for unlocking your iphone for any network has been updated to increase standby-time on the iphone for people so you get longer battery time. It works if you unlocked already by your carrier.

Well the battery is fine it's just the wifi problem I am having.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭jakdublin

so can all with iphone 4 who have jailbroken confirm that they are not experiencing any problems.

i'm on 4.0.1 - i've had the phone for a week and everything is great but i want to jailbreak

any risks (only related to iphone4)

is jailbreakme.com the place to get it done ?

thanks

Jailbroke with no problems but unless you know why you're doing it, I wouldn't bother. I did it for Mywi because I need it from time to time and for hooking the iPhone up to my TV for certain apps but other than that, there's no really good reason for me to jailbreak. Look through the treads on here, most jailbreakers only do it to customize the look of their phones. Or to use pirate stuff, which could put your phone at risk. Don't do it just for the sake of it is my advice.

jakdublin wrote: »
    Jailbroke with no problems but unless you know why you're doing it, I wouldn't bother. I did it for Mywi because I need it from time to time and for hooking the iPhone up to my TV for certain apps but other than that, there's no really good reason for me to jailbreak. Look through the treads on here, most jailbreakers only do it to customize the look of their phones. Or to use pirate stuff, which could put your phone at risk. Don't do it just for the sake of it is my advice.

Should really make the point that you need to know how to slide a button to jailbreak. Its not very complex in that respect.

yeah, i'm techy enough to have been through the entire 1st gen iphone jailbreaking, so no sweat with jailbeakme.com method (i hope) - just wanna make sure its stable enough.

in fact when i wurra lad, it was only os 1.0.2 and itunes 7 and we had to go through a back door by entering *#307# to get into the phone, launch safari for the TIFF exploit, then put the phone manually into dfu mode, restart, run apptap, ssh, and we used installer not cydia... ah those were the days...

and i dont think i've ever used winterboard - not interested in pimping my iphone - although i do like 5icon dock, 5rows, 5colomns (apple should really give this option)

anyhoo, i'm gonna do it now

that was an absolute F@@KING joke !

it took me 3 mins to jailbreakme.com - added a few sources, installed a few utils, rebooted - everything looks good so far

i'll report back if i experience any degradation of performance

iphone 4 running 4.0.1

Should really make the point that you need to know how to slide a button to jailbreak. Its not very complex in that respect.

Yeah, very easy to do, but my point was that I reckon you should know WHY you want to jailbreak. There's not that much benefit now compared to 18 months ago.

that was an absolute F@@KING joke !

it took me 3 mins to jailbreakme.com - added a few sources, installed a few utils, rebooted - everything looks good so far

Nothing like to old days lol

jakdublin wrote: »
    Yeah, very easy to do, but my point was that I reckon you should know WHY you want to jailbreak. There's not that much benefit now compared to 18 months ago.

There is doh, first the carrier unlock if you dont have it officially unlock yet. SB settings is so unreal.The ability to mod everything you want like have as many apps as u want in a folder. As a matter of fact on 4.0.1 its actually SAFER to be jailbroken because you can remove the pdf exploit yourself. People on older iphones have to jailbreak to be safer because apple wont upgrade their firmware.If it wasn't for jailbreaking i wouldn't have imovie on my 3gs :)

Well there you go then, you knew why you wanted jailbreak as did I. But there's loads out there who hear about jailbreaking and just want to give it a go for no reason. SBsettings is handy but not life-changing and messing about with the system is a bit of fun, but worth ditching your warranty for if you're an inexperienced user?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 unlocker

hello

i've a 3GS 4.0.2 unlocked and work very well it's not me who unlock it i bring it to a shop on cork with an htc hd2 the phone work very well and no problem with wifi or signal.

regards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

my only regret is ive jailbroken 5 days ago and have done nothing yet with it. its either lazy or busy. get to it man :)

unlocker wrote: »
    hello

i've a 3GS 4.0.2 unlocked and work very well it's not me who unlock it i bring it to a shop on cork with an htc hd2 the phone work very well and no problem with wifi or signal.

regards.
    I think you are a little confused with unlocking and jailbreaking. 4.0.2 can't be jailbroken ..... Yet :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 unlocker

I think you are a little confused with unlocking and jailbreaking. 4.0.2 can't be jailbroken ..... Yet :)

brother my 3gs version 4.0.2 who before worked only with orange france now work with O2 sim card too

regards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭Stuxnet

Lol

Yes. It's unlocked. But we are discussing jailbreaking. Totally different.

iPwnage wrote: »
    Lol

I give up. Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,535 ✭✭✭joe123

Bought a second hand 3gs and updated it today. Had heard about jailbreaking and was planning on doing it but now I see that you cant jailbreak the 4.0.2?

What can I do or is it a matter of sitting it out untill something comes along?

Btw already love the iphone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭GalwayKiefer

I love my 3g jailbroken but I did notice that the battery went to absolute sh1te once I did it. I've learned to adapt but its frustrating.

What's the name of the cydia app for the 5 column layout ?

Five Column SB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

actually it can... the 3g/gs can be jailbroken on the 4.0.2...just waiting now for them to get to the iphone 4..

http://www.redmondpie.com/jailbreak-iphone-3gs-4.0.2-ios-with-pwnagetool-custom-firmware-how-to-guide/

What's the name of the app that removes the name underneath the icons ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭Phibsboro

Just to confirm the general vibe of this thread...

I was stuck in the hell that is 3gs with new baseband, jailbroken on blackra1n, unlocked to meteor - this is a tethered JB, had to be redone every time the phone rebooted or battery died. Was a messy JB as well, fierce probs with wifi etc. I had been following spirit then jailbreakme but all required an original unlocked phone. Eventually I had a d'oh moment and realised all I needed to do was borrow an iphone O2/Voda sim for an hour. Upgraded to 4.01, stuck the sim in, jailbreakme.com'ed, did the ultrasn0w unlock, meteor sim back in - yay :D

Have to say I LOVE 4 - miles better than 3.1 for me. Despite other reports, I find 4 flies on my 3gs - definitely feels faster that 3.1. It also feels much more stable, but of course I was coming from a quite precarious JB situation.

So ye - do it :D