If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Leaving Cert congratulations?

• 18-08-2010 12:27PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭NoHornJan

Just wondreing what kind of congratulatory presents can most parents afford to give this year?
    Tagged:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

A car...........................d.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

NoHornJan wrote: »
    Just wondreing what kind of congratulatory presents can most parents afford to give this year?

A plane ticket to Australia?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,589 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

A bindle full of Galtee ham sanwiches

well maybe half-full

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭SV

Got me a new mini cooper like.
    not in the colour i want though so daddy is taking it back tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

How about parents take away something if the kid does sh!t. Better motivation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭SV

Rabies wrote: »
    How about parents take away something if the kid does sh!t. Better motivation

The carrot or the stick eh?
    Didn't they do a program on that to see which was better at motivating people(in a survival enviroment)
    as far as I remember they all came out completely equal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

A nice meal with the family and a swift kick in the bollox if ya do ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭ciaburkie

cold hard cash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Whaaa??? Theres meant to be "congratulatory presents"...i got none when i did mine. I rang the parents from a phonebox (yep im that old) outside the school:
    Me: Yeeeeeeehhhhhh woooooo.... i got all honours!!
    Mam: is that good Anniehoo?
    Me(deflated): well uummmm....yeh kind of!Put Dad on...
    Dad: well....
    Me: All honours wooo!
    Dad: well done love, did ye get enough points for veterinary?
    Me (nearly crying): Noooo!!!!! FECK SAKE Dad...i told you i wouldnt get enough.Enough for Ag & Env Science though. Sob!
    Dad: i told ye i dont want you doin that "farming malarky"...sigh!
    Me: beeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeppppppppp........hangs up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,959 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

I got 40 punts (thats pre-euro currency not a form of punishment) for my leaving cert in 1997.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

save them a place in the queue at the dole office, and get their passport renewed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Fart wrote: »
    A rice meal with the family and a swift kick in the bollox if ya do ****.

I read your post a little differently the first time :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Carl Sagan

I did really well in mine and it was unexpected. I got 60 euro (last year) after I asked if I could have some money to go out.

One guy I know failed 3 subjects and was given a car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

WTF, people get presents? I got my results today and I was just told that they were very proud.

New laptop please. "For college"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,651 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

why would you get a present for doing well in exams?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

... college fees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭spider_pig

a can of baked beans, they'll be yummy in their tummy :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭gaz wac

some bloke in another thread failed !!..what does he get?....to repeat next year :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 ilovelove

anniehoo wrote: »
    Whaaa??? Theres meant to be "congratulatory presents"...i got none when i did mine. I rang the parents from a phonebox (yep im that old) outside the school:
    Me: Yeeeeeeehhhhhh woooooo.... i got all honours!!
    Mam: is that good Anniehoo?
    Me(deflated): well uummmm....yeh kind of!Put Dad on...
    Dad: well....
    Me: All honours wooo!
    Dad: well done love, did ye get enough points for veterinary?
    Me (nearly crying): Noooo!!!!! FECK SAKE Dad...i told you i wouldnt get enough.Enough for Ag & Env Science though. Sob!
    Dad: i told ye i dont want you doin that "farming malarky"...sigh!
    Me: beeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeppppppppp........hangs up.

Lol!! Lol!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

I got congratulated. Verbally. Well Done. Wtf expecting presents and rewards now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭NoHornJan

why would you get a present for doing well in exams?

Keeping up with the Jones's.

Johnny down the road got a Honda Civic, I want a Range Rover.
    Pretty please

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    WTF, people get presents? I got my results today and I was just told that they were very proud.

New laptop please. "For college"

Wait. I've been arguing with a teenager in that other thread? Oh FFS.

Congratulations anyway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Wait. I've been arguing with a teenager in that other thread? Oh FFS.
    Fail to see how that is relevant.
    Congratulations anyway!
    Thanks. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭henryporter

Back in 1985 :eek: I got nothing - now the ubiquitous 'they' are talking about dumbed down courses, easier marking etc. and little Johnny and Mary get cars or sun holidays as a reward for being able to spell their names right.

The world is a funny old place. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

When i did mine back in '98, one of the lads got a brand new Audi for passing :eek:. Someone else got 100pound for every subject they passed.

I think i might've got a mc donalds as a reward, but i could be just thinking that to make me feel better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I'd like to see the English results form the Bebo generation.

My cousin's kid got enough points for the course he wants to do in Maynooth. I shook his hand and said "well done".
    In fairness to him, he did study hard for his exams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭CrazyChick18

My brother got his results today got aload of cards with money from the family!!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

A kick in the hole can be afforded any time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,165 ✭✭✭enda1

I got a bike, but that was to cycle to college with.

I'm not sure if it was a present or punishment...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭IrishZeus

I got a lift to the VEC office to apply for the Higher Ed. grant and was subsequently shipped off to college...

In fairness, if i'd gotten a car i would have sold it for drinking money so they probably made the right decision... :D