Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Professor Darwin-Wallace

• 18-08-2010 8:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭

Professor Darwin-Wallace is the name of the cat who lives by the museum building.

He has lived there all summer, at least. He is black and white.

The other day I saw someone with an umbrella feeding him in the rain.

I made friends with him yesterday, on my usual toilet/coffee excursion to the museum building from the 24hr study room.

Be nice to Professor Darwin-Wallace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,164 ✭✭✭Konata

Sounds like the greatest cat ever tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Craguls

He can usually be found skulking after pigeons or seagulls near the museum building.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭jelly&icecream

That's Printing House Cat! He/she has a little house beside the Printing House/ Aras an Phiarsaigh. There's a blond lady who comes and feeds him/her....
    Unless there's another one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭evercloserunion

Love that cat. He seems to be fairly sh*t at catching birds though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

People dumped them here last Christmas/New Year apparently. They're grand cats so they are, might end up breeding and turning the place into something like Ernest Hemingway House.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 320 ✭✭The_Joker.

I hope the crows , pigeons and seagulls gang up and peck his head off the bastard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭A Neurotic

The_Joker. wrote: »
    I hope the crows , pigeons and seagulls gang up and peck his head off the bastard.

Might I ask what Professor Darwin-Wallace has done to offend you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

LOL what a random thread LOL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭mardybumbum

Surely the cats name is Professor Darwin - Wallace - Lamarck?

You would think so, but no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭ismiseuisce

Oooh I love this cat! His markings look like a cow's markings so I have been calling him bó...

As a culchie, a bogger and former farmer all I have to say to this is...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭ismiseuisce

El Siglo wrote: »
    As a culchie, a bogger and former farmer all I have to say to this is...

meany :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 285 ✭✭Plebs

Saw him today. He's a horrible manky thing. I say that as a cat lover. Hardly worthy of such a grand name. "patch" is far more appropriate for a malnourished street mongrel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭Laserhead

That's it, screw the UCAS, I'm going to Trinity just to see this cat! :D

Laserhead wrote: »
    That's it, screw the UCAS, I'm going to Trinity just to see this cat! :D

They say it's as big as four cats, and it's got a retractable leg so as it can leap up at you better and you know what Ted, it lights up at night, and it's got four ears. Two of them are for listening and the other two are kind of back-up ears, and it's claws are as big as cups and for some reason it's got a tremendous fear of stamps and Mrs. Doyle was tellin' me that it's got magnets on it's tail so's if you're made out of metal it can attach itself to you, and instead of a mouth it's got four arses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭Keogg

Ooh can't wait to see him! Sounds adorable :)
    I'm a super cat person, love them all, no matter how scruffy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 285 ✭✭Plebs

Keogg wrote: »
    Ooh can't wait to see him! Sounds adorable :)
    I'm a super cat person, love them all, no matter how scruffy.

He likes to eat cadbury's buttons (the white ones). I gave him one the other day when I was reading the Daily Telegraph in the sunshine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭kmhenry

Plebs wrote: »
    Saw him today. He's a horrible manky thing. I say that as a cat lover. Hardly worthy of such a grand name. "patch" is far more appropriate for a malnourished street mongrel.

loving this...so refreshingly honest

Saw some old guy holding the professor captive in his lap the other day. Distressing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Groinshot

amacachi wrote: »
    LOL what a BENT thread LOL.

Fixed that for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 strotos

A Neurotic wrote: »
    Saw some old guy holding the professor captive in his lap the other day. Distressing.

Yeah he always there every morning when I walk by at about 10 am...Seems to take care of the cat though...might not be as bad as you make out...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭Unregistered.

ZOMG he walked by me the other day! Didn't look that manky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭blubloblu

Saw him being fed by someone on a bench beside the cricket pitch the other day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭mardybumbum

While making my way from the pav to 21's on thursday, I caught a glimpse of PDWL. It was the highlight of my night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Carl Sagan

A Neurotic wrote: »

The old guy is with the cat all the time. He buys tins of cat food for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭AndrewJD

I'd ask him what his relationship to the cat was, but with a slight stroke of his hand he could easily strangle poor PDW. Just leave him be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

He IS a bit mangy looking, but most outdoor city cats are. If you had to contend with pigeons every day, you'd be, too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

19c Cat food. Might get a few tins and stash em with me 12Pks of coke in my locker.
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056079532

Oh yeah, and this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭Keogg

I had a chat with the guy who is always looking after Prof DW :) He's really nice and he calls the cat Trinny, in case anyone might be wondering what his 'real' name is. Told me stories of how all the tourists that come to Trinity love the cat and everything - very nice old man:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭CJTobin

Keogg wrote: »
    He calls the cat Trinny, in case anyone might be wondering what his 'real' name is.

I thought I heard him call the cat something along those lines this morning, thanks for the clarification. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭Laserhead

There's a very similar cat hanging around my house in Trinity Halls, I'm starting to wonder if he's following me home.*adjusts tinfoil hat*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭blubloblu

Is there another cat near Áras An Phiarsaigh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭ohthebaby

There's a very similar cat hanging around my house in Trinity Halls, I'm starting to wonder if he's following me home.*adjusts tinfoil hat*

He's such a pet. He used to follow me half way to the bus and I'd have to walk him back in case he got knocked down or something. He's so lovely. I haven't seen him this year though, I was afraid something had happened him. Good to know he's ok! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭jelly&icecream

blubloblu wrote: »
    Is there another cat near Áras An Phiarsaigh?

Yep, that' s Printing House Cat. Same colour as Prof Darwin-Wallace but with a less angry face. There's a blonde lady who feeds him daily and he even has a little house. He also seems to be a bit deaf...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭AndrewJD

A house? This is a well treated cat. Poor PDW only gets a bush. Injustice!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭charmer

The Professor was living it up the other day, it was raining so he had a little towel bed in the shelter of the Berkeley, with tourists feeding and petting him :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭Unregistered.

Today, he is basking in the sunlight, by the benches, at the football pitch. Such a lovely cat he is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭Janette1

*waves* :D

I love both cats equally as much. Although the fact the Halls cat has only one fully functioning eye, he gets a bit of a sympathy vote. :(

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,802 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Haven't seen him in a while. Is he doing exams, preparing to meet HRH?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

Saw him a couple of days ago with the man that always feeds him in his usual spot. Don't know where he'll get to during the royal visit though!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭bythewoods

Myself and the prof had a little bit of bonding time earlier. Nyawhh... He's skulkin' around alright.

I wondered whether or not he'd be fed seeing as his owner-guy-chap isn't a TCD student/ staff member, but luckily a blonde lady was feeding him this morning. Phew. Huge load taken off my mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

Some lady was giving him some water just there a few minutes ago, and keeping him company :)

Also there were two gardai chatting up the two female security attendants in the Berkley!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

If I remember on Wednesday I'll bring in a sachet for him before my exam. Poor thing wont know whats going on with all the security activity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭AgathaK

Do you think he'd still be there in September so I could finally get to meet him? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭Maybe_Memories

AgathaK wrote: »
    Do you think he'd still be there in September so I could finally get to meet him? :D

If he's not busy hacking the mail system and saving timetables. ;)

I saw him yesterday for the first time all summer. He's looking a lot less stressed.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,802 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Still see him around these mornings. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,761 ✭✭✭Lawliet

I never see him anymore, I was afraid all that work at the library had put him off