Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pet hate, Arthurs Day (Guinness Day)

• 17-08-2010 5:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭

So thats it? We have a Guinness day? That's pretty impressive, or are we just pushovers? A music festival is a good idea, but this isnt organised by music heads that want to set up a festival and make a few quid, this is set up the marketing guys at Guinness, and that just gets under my skin.

What do you think?

- I'm a Guinness drinker by the way
    - I do apreciate its really impresive to get this established (marketing wise)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 285 ✭✭Plebs

There's no such thing as bad publicity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭deaddonkey

it's just so guinness marketing executives can sit in a circle and mutually jerk each other off.. I wouldn't worry about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

To Arthur! :D but only if it becomes a national holiday*

*Disclaimer i only want the extra day off I don't give a s**t about Guinness and i do not drink their products any ways :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

oh, arhturs day how could i forget!

established or not, it'll never catch on. should call it guinness day n ensure its free on tap in people's homes, albeit for one day - then we'll remember.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

Fair play to them for making 2 national drinking days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

It's around the time of my birthday, so any extra excuse for drinking is a good thing personally :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Fair play to them for making 2 national drinking days.

Isn't every day a national drinking day? Well, every Friday and Saturday at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭Owwmykneecap

The country could do with a new bank holiday, and if that was the excuse so be it.

I've no real fondness for guiness/diageo though.

To James. J.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

*Holds pint aloft*
    "To Nama"

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,248 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

*Disclaimer i only want the extra day off I don't give a s**t about Guinness and i do not drink their products any ways :)

Bet you do. Most of the beer made in Ireland is made by them (via diageio)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭johnn

It was a great day for a few after-work drinks last year so I'm obviously happy its back again this year, got tickets for one of the venues this year, 5er is grand to pay in.

What confuses me though is if its on the date of the anniversary, how is it a thursday again this year if it was a thurs last year?? or are they changing around the dates to suit them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,150 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

ogriofa wrote: »
    So thats it?

Yeah, don't bother with it, I went last year, ended up in the Brazen Head, tenner for the ticket, got free scoops, excellent gig, great atmosphere, singing, dancing... Excellent marketing campaign too, really worked well, generated loads of marketing interest, jobs, boosted tourism, pumped millions in to the exchequer etc.

Don't tell me you didn't experience it last year and are moaning about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

Whats the new black lager like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

It annoys me too, more than it should probably. Fair enough, 250th anniversary is a bit special, run some promotions or something. 251st is nothing, so stfu and gtfo.

On an unrelated note, it's Smithwicks 300th this year, where's me fecking celebrations?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

MikeySligo wrote: »
    Whats the new black lager like?

It's like lager, only black.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

godtabh wrote: »
    Bet you do. Most of the beer made in Ireland is made by them (via diageio)

the only beer i would drink is beamish, but then i rarely drink nowadays so unless they make red bull/lucozade then nope :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

deaddonkey wrote: »
    it's just so guinness marketing executives can sit in a circle and mutually jerk each other off.. I wouldn't worry about it.

Iam not sure what kinda days you are into but any day that means 2 euro pints is a good day for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭_sparkie_

TPD wrote: »
    On an unrelated note, it's Smithwicks 300th this year, where's me fecking celebrations?

smithwicks tastes like old socks.

come on dutch gold day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Dunjohn

We do have a load of random, innamed bank holidays that we haven't thought up excuses for yet. Much as I loathe Guinness Day, it's as good a reason as any. We could also have an Independence Day. And then something to celebrate the Ghostbusters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭janja

Any of their products?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,339 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

What's all this "We" business OP?

As far as i can see, it's a massive publicity stunt that has worked and will work, but THEY have an Arthur Day, not us!

Seems like the advertising is working well on you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭_sparkie_

janja wrote: »
    Any of their products?

there are loads of different drinks brewed at james gate, i assume he is talking about them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭Elevator

I was in college as a 30 yo mature student for this last year and when went to the pub for lunch it took us a few mins to cop what was going on,

pub full of young and old with everyone drinking the black stuff, was strange to say the least, fealt a little like being in the first pub scene of the original wickerman tbh, you'd swear some people hadn't a brain in their heads...

€2 pint me hole, isn't there somthing to stop the publican serving drinks offers like happy hour etc that this should fall under?? this will only last until there's a severe spike in drink related incedences accross the country on this day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

It's pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

I find it strange that the nation would want to celebrate a man who was so vocally anti-Catholic and pro-British rule. Celebrate what Guinness/Diageo have done for tourism/export etc in this country by all means, but making a national holiday out of the man is a bit ridiculous in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭i71jskz5xu42pb

The-Rigger wrote: »
    It's pathetic.

You should lighten up, have a drink maybe.

JaxxYChicK wrote: »
    I find it strange that the nation would want to celebrate a man who was so vocally anti-Catholic and pro-British rule. Celebrate what Guinness/Diageo have done for tourism/export etc in this country by all means, but making a national holiday out of the man is a bit ridiculous in my opinion.

Sounds like he'd fit right in in 2010!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Sounds like he'd fit right in in 2010!

He was obviously before his time. :pac:

A genteel fellow he was.

Chin chin :)

You should lighten up, have a drink maybe.

Enjoy bending over for the chocobot hour.

You're very cynical for a Mod of the Sunshine, Lollipops & Rainbows Forum!

+1 for a cynical forum. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

+1 for a cynical forum. :rolleyes:

I want a rollseyes forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭KylieWyley

To Llamas!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

I remember last year in UCC's old bar - where they don't sell any diageo drinks at all - everyone having their beamish at 17:59. Good times.

Beamish > Guinness.

Superbus wrote: »
    I want a rollseyes forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

Parsley wrote: »
    I remember last year in UCC's old bar - where they don't sell any diageo drinks at all - everyone having their beamish at 17:59. Good times.

Beamish > Guinness.

Beamish > Guinness > Murphy's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭Erica<3

Bah humbug, much OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Cullen82

I think it's an effing great idea and who gives a Mary Poppins why they're organising it?! It's a bit of craic with cheap/free pints:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

On that note here's a question: If the Germans can do, Why can't we? I'm talkin about.....................

GUINNESSFEST;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

aDeener wrote: »
    Beamish > Guinness >>> Murphy's

fyp. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭BASHIR

Cullen82 wrote: »
    I think it's an effing great idea and who gives a Mary Poppins why they're organising it?! It's a bit of craic with cheap/free pints:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

On that note here's a question: If the Germans can do, Why can't we? I'm talkin about.....................

GUINNESSFEST;)

Cheap free pints your havin a laugh, had 3 tickets last year and went to it in templebar. Now i'm no city slicker but the cnuts charged us 16.50 for three pints well he nearly got them back over his head.
    Sorry rantin a bit there but surely as it was aurthurs day they could of lowered the prices a bit. Other than that had a great time and surely something to attract tourists and other business cant be a bad idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

JaxxYChicK wrote: »
    I find it strange that the nation would want to celebrate a man who was so vocally anti-Catholic and pro-British rule.

It's not like history didn't prove the man right, in fairness...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

I've grown too weary to be opposed to marketing scams like this. Gimme a pint and shut up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

It's a bit of a joke having it again,thought the whole point was just to celebrate the anniversary last year.All it does is give the scum a free pass to drink on the streets. Remember walking through temple bar on diageo day last year at about 7pm,whole place was filled with scumbags drinking cans(and not Guinness)and bottles of alcopops or whatever,were so many of the cnuts that Garda didn't even bother trying to stop them,they just made the centra in temple bar stop selling drink.

Also remember a group of fairly young teenage girls puking most of the bus journey on my way home while a load of pissed 30-40yo lads were loudly trying to chat them up.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Didn't diageo try to move Guinness production out of Ireland a while back?? Didn't bother with marketing-day last year and I won't this year either.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,150 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

I don't know why people think its a scam, it's a very very obvious marketing push, just like the sponsorship of tents in Oktoberfest in Germany. There are no hidden messages, no subconscious brain fooks, no evil subtle hints at anything. It's a successful marketing stunt, it's a bit of fun, it's a good night out. People like myself that went out and enjoyed the night, availed of the cheap booze, the gigs, etc are actually aware that it's a marketing stunt. I think you are a bit naive if you think you have copped on to something that no one else has.

Also. Why are the people who didn't go last year the ones who think they understand it most?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Cullen82

BASHIR wrote: »
    Cheap free pints your havin a laugh, had 3 tickets last year and went to it in templebar. Now i'm no city slicker but the cnuts charged us 16.50 for three pints well he nearly got them back over his head.
    Sorry rantin a bit there but surely as it was aurthurs day they could of lowered the prices a bit. Other than that had a great time and surely something to attract tourists and other business cant be a bad idea.

Ah stick the the local for this one, I did'nt pay for one pint last year from 5 till close and neither did anyone else that drank there :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭moonflower

I had great fun on Arthurs day last year! Got a couple of free pints and only paid €2.50 for the rest and there was a great buzz around town. Didn't see any more trouble than on a typical Saturday night. Pity I'll probably be working for it this year, it sounds good with all the bands they've gotten.