Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This is a new low!

• 16-08-2010 12:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭

This was advertised on DoneDeal today!

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/dogs/1501692

Cant believe they allowed this idiot, to put an add like this one, on their site!
    It's lads like this gobsh*t, that give decent hunting foke a bad name!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Eddie B wrote: »
    This was advertised on DoneDeal today!

http://www.donedeal.ie/for-sale/dogs/1501692

Cant believe they allowed this idiot, to put an add like this one, on their site!
    It's lads like this gobsh*t, that give decent hunting foke a bad name!

I reported the add

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭sincere113

Add's gone now.

sincere113 wrote: »
    Add's gone now.

I know, I got a prompt reply from donedeal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭smokin ace

i did not see the add what was it about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭dicky82

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭virminhunter

some fella selling live wild rabbits, disgrace:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭dicky82

is that a matter for the gards now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Eddie B

dicky82 wrote: »

Should be!:mad:

No Idea. i reported the add to Donedeal and got a reply saying thanks and keep an eye and always report any illegal adverts.

It was not a real name advertiser and an 085 number so it was prob untraceable anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭homerhop

an 085 number so it was prob untraceable anyway.
    All numbers can be traced, its only a matter of the Guards calling the provider and requesting a name

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭greenpeter

No Idea. i reported the add to Donedeal and got a reply saying thanks and keep an eye and always report any illegal adverts.

It was not a real name advertiser and an 085 number so it was prob untraceable anyway.

Free adds for you now:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

It's illegal under the wildlife acts according to the NWPS, so I'd guess yes...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Dusty87

Sparks wrote: »
    It's illegal under the wildlife acts according to the NWPS, so I'd guess yes...

wil they bother though? Would the site have to report it to them first? Also i bet he got a few calls anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭vixdname

Well done for spotting it !

Dusty87 wrote: »
    wil they bother though? Would the site have to report it to them first? Also i bet he got a few calls anyway.
    Dusty, they can't let someone do something illegal just because they think the Gardai won't bother to enforce the law!

He had 208 views. And his mobile number was listed.

I can't report it as it does not exist anymore.
    Perhaps donedeal have/could.

They would/should have more info about the vendor

So it's up to donedeal.ie.

Dusty, they can't let someone do something illegal just because they think the Gardai won't bother to enforce the law!

i was just wondering would the site have to report it or what.

It's more that if it was reported, the site owners could be done as well. I don't think they have to report it as we don't have good samaritan laws in Ireland, but they would be within their rights to do so if they chose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Surprised they feel the need to advertise :rolleyes:

IF I was into that kind of thing I know exactly who I could sell 'em to :rolleyes:

Surprised they feel the need to advertise :rolleyes:

IF I was into that kind of thing I know exactly who I could sell 'em to :rolleyes:

probably over run wit them, more fields cleared out. Vermin control? or financial gain

The Darker side of Greyhounds me thinks.......

or just plain old fashioned illegal :mad:

The Darker side of Greyhounds me thinks.......

And certain owners of certain breeds of dogs too .............. although to be fair they'd more likely want your pet dog :mad:

And certain owners of certain breeds of dogs too :mad:

well, I reported the so and so anyway.
    It's up to Donedeal.ie as the illegal activity was advertised on their site.

AFAIK, since i reported it to them, the Onus is on them to take it further.

I've never registered on donedeal so I am not sure how much info they would have on the vendor

Fair dues tac although I reckon reporting it direct to Garda confidential number may have been a better option.

i don't have enough info though, he had his name as Buzz and an 085 Number.
    TBH I know the first thing the garda would want to know was more info, and I had none. I'll e-mail Donedeal and see are they going to pursue it

He also had ferrets and Lurcher's for sale

I still have the add, I took a screen capture ;)

God forbid the Gardai might have to do a bit of detective work :P

I think we had the discussion about the crossover between live bunnies, ferrets & lurchers here before ................ :o

And I know that not all lads using ferrets & lurchers are selling live rabbits before we go back there ;)

As Eddie B said some people give others a bad name, same as in all country sports :(

God forbid the Gardai might have to do a bit of detective work :P

I think we had the discussion about the crossover between live bunnies, ferrets & lurchers here before ................ :o

And I know that not all lads using ferrets & lurchers are selling live rabbits before we go back there ;)

As Eddie B said some people give others a bad name, same as in all country sports :(

Reply I recieved from DD.ie this morning

Thanks for getting back to us. We would be happy to pass the details onto the gardai so they can investigate this further. They can contact us via support@donedeal.ie.

Yeah, that's them saying "We're not going to pursue it because that's not our job and it would be looking for trouble, but if you pursue it, we'll cooperate with the Gardai as we are legally bound to do in such a scenario".

I mean, it's donedeal.ie Tackleberry, their job is to run the website, not enforce the Wildlife Acts, that's down to the Gardai and NWPS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭jap gt

Reply I recieved from DD.ie this morning

Thanks for getting back to us. We would be happy to pass the details onto the gardai so they can investigate this further. They can contact us via support@donedeal.ie.

i doubt the gaurds are going to email donedeal and ask what the details of the man selling rabbits are... i would like to see something being done but i seriously doubt it will

Yeah, that's them saying "We're not going to pursue it because that's not our job and it would be looking for trouble, but if you pursue it, we'll cooperate with the Gardai as we are legally bound to do in such a scenario".

I mean, it's donedeal.ie Tackleberry, their job is to run the website, not enforce the Wildlife Acts, that's down to the Gardai and NWPS.

Well the little so & So's

I know BTW, a senior Garda happened to read said add yesterday off boards.ie!

So don't for one minute think it was not noticed by TPTB, Also notice that Big brother is always watching ;)

I know BTW, a senior Garda happened to read said add yesterday off boards.ie!

So don't for one minute think it was not noticed by TPTB, Also notice that Big brother is always watching ;)

just curious how you know that

Tack, it's not like they're doing anything wrong. It's not their job to pursue this stuff, there's no legal obligation on them to do so, and pursuing it would open them up to legal liability that someone as unethical as the original advertiser wouldn't hesitate to exploit. So they say "He broke the law, we want him prosecuted", and then he says "They defamed me, I want compensation", and given the fact that going to court is like betting on a horse race (in that there are no guarantees), they might wind up losing their investor's money from trying to do the NWPS's job for them, and that would be unethical, not to mention possibly illegal or at least ultra vires.
    The phrase you're looking for is "teaching your grandmother to suck eggs"...

Personally, I have done as much as I am willing to do. The PTB know about him, The add was removed off DD.

I could push further, but what little anonymity I have on here I want to keep.
    suffice it to say no live wild animals will be sold on DD in future.

Personally, I have done as much as I am willing to do. The PTB know about him, The add was removed off DD.

I could push further, but what little anonymity I have on here I want to keep.
    suffice it to say no live wild animals will be sold on DD in future.

they will with out doubt, i bet an ad will be up today, i already reported 2 ads in the past, both for dog fighting ads, donedeal dont monitor every ad, it could be up a day or two before it will be reported/seen.

It's like here - there's too much traffic to watch everything and successfully flag everything, so the obligation is to act on anything that's reported in a prompt manner. Anything else would be unreasonable or unworkable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,197 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

homerhop wrote: »
    All numbers can be traced, its only a matter of the Guards calling the provider and requesting a name

Have fun if it is an unregd pay as you go.:rolleyes:

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Have fun if it is an unregd pay as you go.:rolleyes:
    Makes it harder, not impossible Grizzly. Getting *really* anonymous access to the internet is a pretty non-trivial task these days.

Er,unless he is sending his info from a blackberry or one of the more modern yokes and has a email account regd to it or one slaved to it,without a doubt.Not if it a 20 euro with a 10 euro top up type thingy.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

when you buy any phone the first thing they will do is ask you your name and address, anonymous phones are a bit much for a man selling a few rabbits :rolleyes:

where tac got the idea an 085 phone couldn't be traced i dont know, but there is very little you ca do with a phone anonymously

Er,unless he is sending his info from a blackberry or one of the more modern yokes and has a email account regd to it or one slaved to it,without a doubt.Not if it a 20 euro with a 10 euro top up type thingy.

Unless he bought the phone with a laser card, or topped up with laser card or online banking.

The advert was wicklow area, and his name was given as Buzz obv phony and an 085 number

Sparks.

Could I get in trouble for posting his phone number here?

I kept a screen capture of the advert.
    If I PM i to someone on here maybe they could do a bit of Magnum PI??

PM me Tac ;)
    Jap,
    Nothing to stop you saying you are John Smith ,from Down the road with a pay as you go.A account phone is different.Only place they ask you for ID is on the Continent if you buy a pay as you go,and thats not 100% foolproof either.;)

jap gt wrote: »
    when you buy any phone the first thing they will do is ask you your name and address, anonymous phones are a bit much for a man selling a few rabbits :rolleyes:

where tac got the idea an 085 phone couldn't be traced i dont know, but there is very little you ca do with a phone anonymously

Most folk who have 085 numbers are using them as a cheap phone. (students etc, or young people. Most of us here I'm sure numbers start with 087 or 086, no matter what service provider)

Any Dodgy advert I have ever seen was an 085 number, No offence to 085 users on here, just my experiences

PM me Tac ;)
    Jap,
    Nothing to stop you saying you are John Smith ,from Down the road with a pay as you go.A account phone is different.Only place they ask you for ID is on the Continent if you buy a pay as you go,and thats not 100% foolproof either.;)

i have no doubt there are ways around it, but its all a bit hi-tech for a man selling rabbits, tac if you can post up the ad

jap gt wrote: »
    i have no doubt there are ways around it, but its all a bit hi-tech for a man selling rabbits, tac if you can post up the ad

I will not post the ad, as folk who want the info for the wrong reasons may get it.

I've studied a lot and worked a lot in the area of Ip adressing etc, so all someone needs is a digital fingerprint to follow.

everytime you log on to a PC, send a text message, make a phone call that info is recorded somewhere, sometimes on servers and are stored for up to 5 years.

A man txt the ray D'arcy show one day giving out he was never answered on the show when he txt in, Ray read back the 172 txt messages he txt in since 2006.
    To all Today FM DJ's

If you use a blackberry it has to use an antenna to sent its signal, if you use PC it has a signature, if you use a ready to go it has a signature.
    If you top up in a shop that has CCTV you can be recored even if you pay cash!!

Aside from anything else, look up Google Latitude...

Sparks.
    Could I get in trouble for posting his phone number here?
    I kept a screen capture of the advert.
    If I PM i to someone on here maybe they could do a bit of Magnum PI??
    I wouldn't do it Tack - unless you're planning on going to the Gardai to make a formal complaint yourself (in which case, you show them the data, not us), it'd be grounds for a defamation suit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭welsummer

whats wrong with selling rabbits, are they not classed as vermin.
    Dont people sell game to a game dealer. i know their dead, but they are still selling for profit

welsummer wrote: »
    whats wrong with selling rabbits, are they not classed as vermin.
    Dont people sell game to a game dealer. i know their dead, but they are still selling for profit

Selling ANY wild Animal LIVE is illegal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭murphy125

Selling ANY wild Animal LIVE is illegal!

What about pheasants?