Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Other boards forums...

• 13-08-2010 9:19pm
    Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭

A comment in the random thread inspired this one - there was mention of the weather forum which I must admit to having frequented (a lot) when the snow was around... the big kid in me still loves snow and weather disruption!

Anyway, what other forums do the folk of these parts frequent?

I pretty much stick to here, sometimes the experimental music forum and also the music forum. More recently the martial arts forum and I'd throw a glance at After Hours. Pretty much it though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,951 ✭✭✭SuprSi

I'm a hardy traveller when it comes to other areas in Boards. This is my first port of call, but the other places I frequent are;

Golf
    Soccer
    Rugby
    Spurs Supporters
    Fitness
    Weather
    Motoring (Motorbike/Motors)
    Xbox
    Photography
    Weather
    and of course AH

I wouldn't contribute in many of the above though, except for Golf and Spurs Supporters. I enjoy this forum the most though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Eddie Ere

This is also my first stop and most frequented. Despite the fact I know no-one here!

Besides from that I can make special guest appearances in:

Sligo
    Mayo
    (both of the above are the forums, not the counties ;))
    AH
    Bargain Alerts
    Films
    True Blood
    Photography
    Playstation
    F&A

As above I probably enjoy this forum the most.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭VinylJunkie

Soccer
    AH
    Golf
    Xbox

I sometimes read latest the threads thats posted on the homepage.

Edit:
    Cycling
    Humor
    Zombie Survival < For a laugh, don't post tough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,672 ✭✭✭seannash

dancemusic production
    music production
    after hours
    paranormal(just for the sheer weirdness of it)
    conspiracy forum(again simply for the crazy posters in there and topics they raise)

expand your horizons

thats it really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

I hover about on the religious forums with the occasional post on the atheist & agnostic forum...

Other than that I go on the sports forums from time to time - eg rugby, GAA and very rarely the cricket one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭Táck

here
    dublin city
    north county dublin
    after hours
    motors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

I'd say a good 80% of my posts are here, and in dance music production. I went through a spate of posting on AH, but soon you realise it's ****. Also went through a spate in cycling, but got bored. Then the TCD forum, the Dublin City forum every now and then, and recently started in instruments, which is a lot like this, but for guitar players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Airsoft
    Here
    Comp and Tech
    Cycling
    Bargain Alerts
    AH

Little bit of Audio and video editing too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭stomprockin

Here
    Xbox Battlefield Company 2 and a Member of the Boards.ie Clan :cool::D
    most of the lads are sound over there and crack is good online.

I like to peek at these..

politics
    Dublin City
    Soccor
    Buddhism

Nice mix :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭ianuss

Just here and accountancy really. But being a golf nut I must go check out that forum too.

SuprSi wrote: »
    Spurs Supporters

w4nkers! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭VinylJunkie

On a side note add me on xbox!

Seany834

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭old gregg

here
    Rock & metal
    Music production
    Gigs & Events
    Rugby League (only for the southern hemisphere games)
    Waterford City

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭Fintomiginto

AH
    Paranormal (find peoples experiences interesting)
    Soccer
    Darts (Sport of kings) :P
    Trophy Manager

Are many people here members of private forums? I've come across plenty of member only forums in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

mostly dance music forum, but im also known to be stalking around

world of warcraft - not playing it anymore but only stopped a few weeks ago, like being wheened off crack.
    modified cars - big into my cars
    bargain alerts
    tech forums for wireless and pc stuff
    after hours
    battlefield

besides adverts thats pretty much it.

back to installing xp so i can finally fingers crossed play with my xone 3d yipyip

Are many people here members of private forums? I've come across plenty of member only forums in the past.

surely the first rule of private member forums is not to talk about them.

ianuss wrote: »
    surely the first rule of private member forums is not to talk about them.

fight_club_1.jpg

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Why has no one said personal issues yet?? It's definitely the funniest place on boards!

The way I browse boards is any of the forums I have a vague interest in at all, I subscribe to, then I use this link: http://boards.ie/index.php?filter=subbed which shows you the last 50 posts or so. Mainly I would read:

Bargain Alerts
    Photography
    Motors
    Motorbikes
    Computers & Technology
    Film (Reviews)
    Religion/atheist
    Conspiracy Theories
    The Gentlemen's Club

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 3,793 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeloe

electronic music and DJing
    Waterford city
    Waterford County
    Bargain Alerts
    Apple Media Devices
    Xbox...

actually...there's a lot....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,693 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Here
    GAA
    Soccer (for the Fantasy Football)
    One private forum
    Cricket

Used to spend a lot of time in the poker forum. But no longer :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

I'm mostly on here and the Cycling forum at the moment.

Used to frequent the Soccer and Boxing forums a good bit, but both of them have gone to the dogs.

The Fitness forum provided me with some great help over the years in relation to strength training and nutrition, don't be on there as much nowadays though.

Zascar wrote: »
    Why has no one said personal issues yet?? It's definitely the funniest place on boards!

have been banned from the personal issues and lesbian gay transgender forums a few times alright, was ages ago though, when i was confused :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭Diego Smartly

Ah jaysus!! AH drives me up the fcuking wall. The amount of unfunny, sarcatic spanners just dying for their posts to be thanked is unbelievable.

I'm mostly in here, but I do wander into the Hip Hop, Soccer, MMA and some of the science threads every now and again. I do find myself in The Ladies Lounge alot aswell, mostly rating the picture thread and just tryna gain an insight into a woman's mind lol

Personal and Relationship Issues are quality!

copeyhagen wrote: »
    have been banned from the personal issues and lesbian gay transgender forums a few times alright, was ages ago though, when i was confused :P

how did you manage that?

I got banned from the Islam forum once for a supposed 'attack' on islam. I just asked the posters were they serious when they started a thread about womens clothing.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Hahahaha link?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

I've been a regular on many of the boards forums for years. Started with the poker one a long time ago, when we all knew each other from playing in the fitz, merrion, etc. and gradually became a regular around the music ones.

I've got some pretty epic temporary bans in my time here.

Got a full month ban from the music production one, and then got sitebanned for a week over the Gerry Ryan debacle. Every ban was a situation of knowing full well a ban was coming but the joke was too much to resist. Think I'm still banned from the paranormal forum (oh noes), and a few others.

My opinion of boards has severely changed over the past year or so, as I see the commercial interests of the place are harming it. Far too many competitions, far too much 'community development' nonsense, and far far far too much fear that boards is gonna get sued.
    It seems to be lost on the admins that if boards were to be taken to court, the negative publicity would generate sooooo much more ad revenue over time that it would have to be some sort of epic lawsuit for it to be a bad thing overall.

After Hours drains me of the will to live. But there are no greater arseholes on boards than the non-mods and non-admins who hang around Feedback licking arse.

Also I think boards has made me very sexist. Because when the real pinnacle of human stupidity reveals itself on forums, it tends to be a female posting it. In general, of course.

The poker forums were brilliant a long long time ago, and this place is a good laugh, but other than that it's too easy to get wound up by absolute gobsh1tes on boards as a whole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

jtsuited wrote: »
    After Hours drains me of the will to live. But there are no greater arseholes on boards than the non-mods and non-admins who hang around Feedback licking arse.
    That whole Feedback lick árse thing does my head in.

Can't say I read feedback too much, what is the lick arse thing?

Haven't read it in years as I don't get the time anymore (and it was doing my head in), but the general theme of the place is that some put upon poster comes on whining about the injustices of the world of internet posting and then all the LA's butt in by saying "thems the rules, thems the rules".
    Bit like if you complained to School Teacher about something only to have the Teacher's pet get on your case telling you you're in the wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Pandoras Twist

Here
    Fashion and Appearance
    UCD
    Dublin City
    Alternative and Indie
    Accountancy
    AH if bored (but I agree with the above, it's highly irritating)
    Personal issues if reeeeeeally bored. Some of them are gas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Some people say that AH is like an accurate cross section of the Irish Public. I really don't think that's true - or at least for the sake of humanity I sincerely hope it's not anyway. We all know the basis/history of boards is socially inept nerds and that really has not changed all that much.
    More like a cross section of IT workers and third-level students, as well as bored office workers (I'm an accountant and fall into the latter category), judging by the last Boards census. Most of the time the day would go by without one topic of interest coming up but the idiocy is catching I end up engaging anyway; looking back through my history some of the inane crap I've posted is nearly embarrassing.

Having a glance back at the place a few years ago there seemd to be some decent discussion going, but at some point before I joined the Thanks system came in and now it's mainly bad jokes and ****ty soundbites as posters clamber over each other in an attempt to gain acceptance from their e-peers.

Apart from that, I lurk Humanities, A&A, and Humanities as there are some pretty interesting debates going on, as well as this forum and Gigs & Events. Bargain Alerts is pretty nifty too.

ill have a look at my old pms later and see if i have links to things i was banned for!

Copey its in your profile under Infractions. I just had a look at yours - LOL!

haha theres a few of them, most seem harsh by some victor lad.

there all from 2008 though i think.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=56085373#post56085373

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=56238234#post56238234

haha will have a look at a few more later

copeyhagen wrote: »
    haha theres a few of them, most seem harsh by some victor lad.

there all from 2008 though i think.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=56085373#post56085373

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=56238234#post56238234

haha will have a look at a few more later

Holy sh1t, that vagina thread is awesome. I'm gonna have to start checking out the personal issues..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

haha epic stuff copey.

In the first link, Davei141 wrote 'Spot the willy smoker.' after someone going on about gay rights. He used to post around here. Dave, if you're reading, well done sir.

yeh good craic in there alright. bans are handed out quickly though!!

Does anyone ever remember this thread in After Hours; where some guy went to a party and went fora kip no the floor in his mates bedroom where his mate was asleep in his bed, 20 mins later some other lad comes into the room and jumps into the bed with the other guy. However as he's drifting off to sleep he hears moaning noises - the two lads (his two mates) are properly getting it on! He does not know whether to pretned to sleep or to get out of there, so he waits and hopes it stops, until he heard belt buckles being undone and so he picks up his sleeping bag and makes a dart for the door.

One of the funniest things I have ever read... link us up if anyone knows it..

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055873286&page=61
    This has to be one of the funnies threads going right now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

yea am addicted to that, the Funny Gifs, and the Demotivationals ones in the Cool Pics + Vids sub-forum. Regularly snared in work chuckling to myself

I love that thread, always some excellent stuff in it.

I love this one too. Love they way people get offended when they get a p1ss take answer. Wtf did you expect when you posted a picture of yourself on the tinternet?!? :rolleyes::D

Does anyone ever remember this thread in After Hours; where some guy went to a party and went fora kip no the floor in his mates bedroom where his mate was asleep in his bed, 20 mins later some other lad comes into the room and jumps into the bed with the other guy. However as he's drifting off to sleep he hears moaning noises - the two lads (his two mates) are properly getting it on! He does not know whether to pretned to sleep or to get out of there, so he waits and hopes it stops, until he heard belt buckles being undone and so he picks up his sleeping bag and makes a dart for the door.

One of the funniest things I have ever read... link us up if anyone knows it..

yeh i remember that one alright, ill see if i can pull that one out..
    dont think it was in after hours though?

Thread cleaned - rules are rules

Boo-urns.jpg

I know, I know...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭stomprockin

Thread cleaned - rules are rules

What happened?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Android 666

What happened?

Well Stacey told Andrea that I had been getting off with Shelley and I was like OMG because she is like such a slut and everybody says she's got herpes and I wouldn't go near her even if I was really, really drunk. Stacey is just pissed off because I wouldn't let her go near me but who would? Honestly, first she has six bacardi breezers and then gets sick all down her tits and then she's like all over me to give me head and I'm like 'not with that mouth missy, talk to the hand!' and then she gets all mad calling me a vag-tease and pushing me around and then gets sick all over her tits again! Disgusting! But anyways I'm really pissed off now because I really wanted to get off with Andrea and I had been trying all my best moves, even the one where I pretend to be a robot - girls love that! - but now she won't go near me. Stacey's such a bitch!

Oh, you're talking about the thread? Some people were giving out about a forum and the forum came on and said it hurt their feelings after everything they'd done for this forum and so this forum got all regretful and took back what they said about the other forum and I think this forum is going to buy some flowers and chocolates to give to the other forum to try and make it up to the other forum. Or something…