Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Accomodation in Athlone

• 13-08-2010 4:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭

Tips on accomodation etc would be rather handy right now thanks :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭- bo -

BlueNemo wrote: »
    Hello :) If I did the whole college thing properly I'd be heading into 3rd year too :pac:

And if I did it properly I'd have graduated from it a couple of years ago!

I don't know anything unfortunately about student accommodation as this is the Design courses' first year in the main campus, we were previously housed in the town. Meself and 2 lads from my PLC course have lived together the past 2 years and just sorted a party house for 3rd year there last week :)

Is it student accommodation/digs/sharing you're after? The AIT email is down at the moment but I can send you a link to the excel sheet with accommodation listings for the year when it's back and you can see if that helps. What happens a lot of the time is people sort their own digs or whatever and then when they get to know people on their course they leave it and go in together on a place, works out cheaper.

So it's kinda hard to recommend to you what to do as we had 3 of us going in together on a house from the start and you'll be starting on your toblerone.
    You could even chance emailing the SU (supres@ait.ie) to send out an email asking incoming 1st year design students to contact you if they're looking for housemates, also chance your arm posting something on the AIT Design Facebook page or the AIT Design (student-run, more informal) Facebook page. Who knows aome incoming 1st year(s) might even see these posts. I hope it works out for you anyways.

Also I'm not sure if you drive - if like me you don't then the no.70 bus is the Navan/Athlone route. They've restricted it to college runs since last year, it'll probably be running on Sundays at 4.50pm Navan to Athlone and then back at 2.40pm on Friday afternoons :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭angelxx

Hello :) If I did the whole college thing properly I'd be heading into 3rd year too :pac:

There is an excellent list of accomadation here blue nemo
    http://www.aitsu.ie/accomodation.html. I looked at quite a few places aside
    from the willow park area, I thought it was all really good. There is a good selection
    of houses/apartments/digs on here with contact info and some information on
    prices, internet etc.

Oh yeah that reminds me of something I forgot to add - Willow Park has a strong reputation as a very dodgy area and students tend to avoid it..

I looked at a house there, really rough area. Wouldn't recommend it to anyone,
    also there is an apartment area close to there which was in terrible condition.
    Don't think I can name it here but it was really damp, I think it's best to completely
    avoid that area if at all possible.

I went on word of mouth and just avoided anything Willow-related while house-hunting, end up with a decent place just around the corner from where the Centra/chemist/offo are.

Also the following -
    Norwood Court
    Meadowbrook
    Thornberry Drive
    Alverno Drive
    - are all at the back of Willow Park for anyone looking for a place, just to warn yous!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Anything regarding, rent, houses/apartments and such in here :) Just to keep the forums clean!

The Student Union has an official list of registered houses for college, but estate agents will also have some stuff for students too.

Posts moved from the introduction thread. Hope that's ok with you guys :)

Also, the AITSU's listed site is from last year. There's surely been some changes on that. You can email the SU at Aitsu@ait.ie, and request a pdf of this years accomodation listings if you can't make it down to athlone

I wouldn't use that email address, they were having problems with it (or else it's just not in use anymore) when I was trying to resolve some issue over the summer...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭Popple3

- bo - (and everyone else), you should be able to get through to the Student Union through one of these email addresses:
    supres@ait.ie
    suvice@ait.ie
    sudeputy@ait.ie

EDIT: Looking through my email, suvice might be your best bet. All emails from the SU about accommodation has been from them.

EDIT2:
    Also, the AITSU's listed site is from last year.
    They're actually this years according to an email sent out to current students... Confusing, I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭Conor_M1990

- bo - wrote: »
    Oh yeah that reminds me of something I forgot to add - Willow Park has a strong reputation as a very dodgy area and students tend to avoid it..

Willows grand Ive lived there last year and Im moving back again to it in September.Willows the best place imo the rents cheap its within walking distance or the shops and College houses are a good size. once the house isnt falling apart you'll be grand. Has a bad name but I wouldnt let that put you off I havent had any troblue next door neighbours where ***** for throwing parties tho but its look of the draw. Wouldnt bother with the apartments rent is usually mad money

Cypress gardens is nice aswell but furthur away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 Shiny Cactus

Just wondering does anyone know about Kilmacoo and is it any good of a place to stay for the year?

I don't know anything about it but I'm moving there in a couple of weeks so fingers crossed that it's decent..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭Offy

Its next door to Willow so if you dont mind living there go for it. Very near the college but its a bit iffy.

Offy wrote: »
    Its next door to Willow so if you dont mind living there go for it. Very near the college but its a bit iffy.
    Looked at kilmacoo, thought it was pretty rough and damp. There are still places
    left. Croi oige is lovely actually and not much more expensive, also there are plenty
    of house shares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭BlueNemo

angelxx wrote: »
    Croi oige is lovely actually and not much more expensive, also there are plenty
    of house shares.
    I was lookin at there, thought it was nice :D
    Anyone any comments on it?

I've been lookin at Glenn Abhainn also

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

I definitely recommend Croi Oige, very nice and very warm during the winter :P Glen Abhainn is pretty much what you expect from apartments full of students: Sufficient and loud at times :P

Oh thanks for that haha going tomorrow to see/book one :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭TimeClock18

Any idea on price for Croi Oige?

The same people own buckley's and I think the prices are the same for croi oige.

http://www.buckleyapartments.com/rates.php

angelxx wrote: »
    The same people own buckley's and I think the prices are the same for croi oige.

http://www.buckleyapartments.com/rates.php

Been honest I think that place is daylight robbery The location is good BUT its down an Alleyway beside a chipper chinese bank machince Genesis and there would be alot of people kinda hanging round there after the clubs close so Noise could be an issue. They look badly funished inside and really small (deck chairs at the dinner table) that counch that looks like it should be in a conservativy the kitchen is tiny tbh the place looks like it was built to a cost and its only purpose is to generate profit and Id imagine if anything did go wrong you would have **** all comeback, Could be wrong tho

IMHO I really do think you are better off with a house get a good one and your laughing cost you less aswell Usually 250 for depisot around 60 a week rent and about 80 for esb for the year (usually the only bill shouldnt have to pay for tv or internet)

So a house should tyipically cost you around 2280 for a single room + around 80 esb (for the year) and depsoit of around 250 which is 2600 for the year compared to 3690 for that place so your saving just over a grand

Thats what Id be paying for my next year in willow view (just over the road) which is just as close to the college just as close to all the shops (maybe an extra minute walk) despite want people say the areas grand (imo of course) and the house is warm dry comfortable and a good size
    and If you dont want to live in williow theres other esates about such as Cypress gardens Valley court etc.

If you want to go ahead with an apartment thats fine and thats your choice but imo theres better value to be had with the houses its just a case of finding a good one

I'm now sorted with accomodation, in Crio Oige, nice enough so I'm happy out :D

Thanks for all the advice dudes!

I'm now sorted with accomodation, in Crio Oige, nice enough so I'm happy out :D

Thanks for all the advice dudes!

off Topic but I just noticed your from Navan same as meself

Indeed I am :)

(this post is so gettin deleted for being offtopic :rolleyes:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 NeoDelta

Got into Glen Abhainn myself. It was between that and Croi Oige, just didn't feel for CO's concrete jungle-ness.. =P. Mental health needed something a bit more...bright - but thats just me. Ah, they're both nice enough.

Jeez we went into a cafe and we basically we're told not to give even so much as a look in Willow Park XD.. had me doing research the whole night on Willow Park/Athlone, lol came up with rapists and everything... I figure every town has its cross to bare. Did they ever catch that serial rapist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭Popple3

I decided against student accommodation last year, and again this year and got an apartment in town. It can be cheap enough to one near Golden Island if you have someone trustworthy to share with and walk/bus in and out every day. Much prefer it, wouldn't go back to around the college.

NeoDelta wrote: »
    Got into Glen Abhainn myself. It was between that and Croi Oige, just didn't feel for CO's concrete jungle-ness.. =P. Mental health needed something a bit more...bright - but thats just me. Ah, they're both nice enough.

Croi Oige also owns them nice townhouse yellow things opposite. I'm in there :p

ooo nice. Those were good. Although not what we wanted.. My two friends happen to be doing the same course as me this year lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭teaholic

Jeez we went into a cafe and we basically we're told not to give even so much as a look in Willow Park XD.. had me doing research the whole night on Willow Park/Athlone, lol came up with rapists and everything... I figure every town has its cross to bare. Did they ever catch that serial rapist?

Nope havent caught him yet, guards were always patrolling around the time, on the bridge in bonavalley, all the way up to the college. The attacks were at the start of sept usually so hopefully it wont start again. It was a fairly unnerving time to be in college at that time, but if a bit of common sense, always walk in groups NEVER on your own, there shouldnt be anything like that happening again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 wellknownait

all I can say is do NOT go kilmacoo

v dangerous place last year we had mice,
    men following us down the lane,
    numerous break ins etc...

Dont go there.

Im in glen abhainn this year lovely spot, so is croi oige:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭Flashpoint

What is the story wit Glen Abhainn? I got the key to my apartment, No lock on my bedroom door, no light blub, the back balcony door wouldn't open. How long are they built?

Flashpoint wrote: »
    What is the story wit Glen Abhainn? I got the key to my apartment, No lock on my bedroom door, no light blub, the back balcony door wouldn't open. How long are they built?

You need to ask John (the owner) You can get keys to all those places. Just ask for a new light bulb too - they'll get you anything you want within reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭Flashpoint

You need to ask John (the owner) You can get keys to all those places. Just ask for a new light bulb too - they'll get you anything you want within reason.

He has no key for my bedroom door thats what he said

Flashpoint wrote: »
    He has no key for my bedroom door thats what he said

So make him put a new lock on the door, it's not that hard. and you shouldnt have to pay for that because it should say in your contract 'swipe rooms/locked rooms' etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 lis89

I stayed in kilmacoo student apartments (down by football pitch) for 1st year sept 2011. They looked grand and near to college so thought there would be no problem. I wouldnt recommened living with 5 other people again, so many fights over stupid things! The actual apartment was no.2 which was the furtherst one down (upstairs)!!
    Room/ensuite was nice and cant complain about that because it was so warm (all the time)! But it wasnt long until we started having problems with mice and then rats!! The neighbours were having the same problems! Anyway after ringing the landlord all he did for about 6 weeks straight was set traps, half the time the traps wouldnt even catch the mice and we would see them running across the sitting room floor while we were having dinner... SICK!!!
    Had to put dumbells on the ensuite toilet cus of rats!! couldnt leave the windows in our rooms open either, one of the lads heard scraping on his window :/ and even woke up to a rat in the floor one morning!! (The apartment was by no means messy and we didnt leave food out)
    This wasnt sorted until Janurary when exterminators were brought in (after my mam ate the landlord over the phone)!
    One of my friends that lived downstairs in apt 3 had slugs coming up the sink and when they pulled out the dishwasher to see what the smell was there was loads of slugs behind there!!! So i would def avoid living there unless u dont mind that sorta thing!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 cutelilangel

Hey there, Im going into my second year in Athlone college,Im studying Social Care, I can give u a little bit of advice, Heatherview apartments are very nice, thats were im moving this year, stay away from willlow park and Glen Abhainn add me on facebook http://www.facebook.com/4everisoverOx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 memyselfandyou

Would anyone know what Valley Court is like? Moving to Athlone n don't have a clue about anywhere! Thanks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 1991cdj

http://www.daft.ie/searchrental.daft?id=1231347 i was actually looking at that place today so its a dump yeah ?. I'm moving up from kilkenny and don't know anyone, haven't even sorted accommodation yet. Anywhere you could recommend ?