Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Community Traffic Corp Garda Reserve to combat dangerous driving!

• 12-08-2010 4:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭

I think the Minister of Justice should offer Decent citizens, especially the unemployed to use there time to assist the Garda Traffic corp. To enforce speed limits and observe and record for prosecution, dangerous driving. I see at last the Gardai are being sent out on foot with mobile radar speed guns walking around Rathgar and other urbans roads to catch speedsters! I personally saw two twitts pushing 70km/h down the Rathgar road, getting sanctioned.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭high heels

media_preview.php?url=http%3A%2F%2Fimages.starcraftmazter.net%2F4chan%2Ffor_forums%2Fobvious_troll.jpg

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

decent citizens have no power to enforce the law, and thats the way it should stay.

if i was to stop and try prosecute everybody for bad driving during my commute, i'd never make it to work :D

more gardai to the TC is whats needed, or tbh more gardai to the serious crime unit is whats required to stop scumbags shooting innocent people etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭jock101

I started the thread! Sunshine?:rolleyes: Intelligent Comments please!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

right... vigilantism eh? that should end well!

kceire wrote: »
    decent citizens have no power to enforce the law, and thats the way it should stay.

if i was to stop and try prosecute everybody for bad driving during my commute, i'd never make it to work :D

more gardai to the TC is whats needed, or tbh more gardai to the serious crime unit is whats required to stop scumbags shooting innocent people etc

I did say Reserve members, they volunteer to serve for no pay! Also they would not have to stop anyone. Just observe and record, for a Full garda member to prosecute or not! The country is broke, and becoming a lawless hole, especially the roads!

Its so funny, but sad how the Irish get so upset when someone even suggests a way to make people behave themselves on the road!:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

jock101 wrote: »
    Its so funny, but sad how the Irish get so upset when someone even suggests a way to make people behave themselves on the road!:(

done properly by AGS people would have no issue, your suggestion however is moronic.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

I did say Reserve members, they volunteer to serve for no pay! Also they would not have to stop anyone. Just observe and record, for a Full garda member to prosecute or not! The country is broke, and becoming a lawless hole, especially the roads!
    I think the Minister of Justice should offer Decent citizens, especially the unemployed to use there time to assist the Garda Traffic corp. To enforce speed limits and observe and record for prosecution, dangerous driving. I see at last the Gardai are being sent out on foot with mobile radar speed guns walking around Rathgar and other urbans roads to catch speedsters! I personally saw two twitts pushing 70km/h down the Rathgar road, getting sanctioned.:D

actually no, you said decent citizens.
    so it would then be your word against another member of the publics word. it wouldnt make it to court and if it did the judge will throw it out due to lack of evedence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

Is that bad? 70 doesnt sound that bad. I dont know the road though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

That's a pretty big leap to make 14 minutes into your thread... :D

kceire wrote: »
    actually no, you said decent citizens.
    so it would then be your word against another member of the publics word. it wouldnt make it to court and if it did the judge will throw it out due to lack of evedence.

Garda reserve members with all the powers that brings! They are not just some random Paddy or Biddy! I also said recorded evidence, ie speed cameras etc...:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

:rolleyes:lol:rolleyes:

You have to be a decent citizen to become a reserve member!

done properly by AGS people would have no issue, your suggestion however is moronic.

And your response is mildly insulting. Tone it down please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,962 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

Well lowering speed limits is Green party and hence Government policy, to save fuel for a Greener environment!;)

Also Garda reserve members, are Gardai in all but name. There to assist full Garda members. With powers to stop and detain you for a full Garda member to assess a violation and sanction!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Always thought the Garda reserve was a bit fishy meself.
    Why would anyone (who isn't a little Hitler) want to work for free in a job that will get you zero respect, the loathing of all your friends, puts you at risk and will require you to eventually nab your own mum because the light is out on her bike?
    Anyone who volunteers for the Garda reserve should be classed as highly dangerous and put in a padded cell where they can't do any damage.
    Now give this power to ordinary citizens and Mad Max will look like Teletubbies in comparison!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

I know this thread is a wind up, but seriously could you imagine the chaos it would cause if civilians were given the power to pull people for traffic violations; the roads would be awash with car chases... :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭CR 7

I think it's an excellent idea, however instead of speed guns, they should be given real guns. That'd strike fear into those that participate in such lethal activities as "Exceeding the speed limit".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭CosmicJay

Well lowering speed limits is Green party and hence Government policy, to save fuel for a Greener environment!;)

Also Garda reserve members, are Gardai in all but name. There to assist full Garda members. With powers to stop and detain you for a full Garda member to assess a violation and sanction!

Can you honestly tell me one good reason as to why you are here?

Other than trying to piss people off and coming up with fairly unrealistic ideas.

Its a motoring forum but you seem to be more pre-occupied with trying to get everyone off the road, or to at least make motoring extremely boring.

CosmicJay wrote: »

Other than trying to piss people off and coming up with fairly unrealistic ideas.

Its a motoring forum but you seem to be more pre-occupied with trying to get everyone off the road, or to at least make motoring extremely boring.

No just safe and clean, I use the roads too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭CosmicJay

I'll keep that in mind next time I hit boost.

Durty durty co2.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

It'd make me want to do 55 in a 50 zone and count how many people reach for their speed camera's/telephones in their bags :D

Thats the problem:rolleyes: No respect for the Law or others. Thats some society you want to live in! Should I say LIVE IN! But your the type, who would be up in arms if your car or life were damaged or destroyed by such drivers! We are all great drivers until we have an accident!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Thats the problem:rolleyes: No respect for the Law or others. Thats some society you want to live in! Should I say LIVE IN! But your the type, who would be up in arms if your car or life were damaged or destroyed by such drivers! We are all great drivers until we have an accident!:eek:

According to my speedo I'm doing 55, according to my Sat Nav I'm doing 47, according to the Garda Speed Gun I'm doing 62, what am I really doing :confused:

well, to be honest, you don't come across as a great one yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

I love cruising the M8 doing 170 kph and lots of co2 out the tail pipes...:D

ottostreet wrote: »
    well, to be honest, you don't come across as a great one yourself.

No Im not, no one is. But I do keep to the speed limit and road traffic laws!:rolleyes: I hate the fact that I do, while others just do what they like endangering me, and it happens regularly!:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

No Im not, no one is. But I do keep to the speed limit and road traffic laws!:rolleyes: I hate the fact that I do, while others just do what they like endangering me, and it happens regularly!:mad:

I agree. Could I suggest wrapping yourself in cotton wool and we'll sort out the padded cell then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭Conor_M1990

Jesus no bad Idea You'd get the type that type of person who thinks they know best joining it the type that drives at 60 km/h on a main road was given a license in an ammesity during the 1970s but yet after 40 years of driving cant drive for ****e. let the gards do there job last thing I need is a power trippin biddy telling me the difference between right and wrong

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

I'm under the impression this is some form of a wind up. . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭mb1725

You can become a Garda without having a driving licence, so the same would apply to reserves? Be mighty interesting for a while, maybe we should give it a shot for a trial period? ;)

I have to say...Motors seems to be able to wind me up a lot more than it used to.

Why is there so many eejits on the roads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

CosmicJay wrote: »

He just wants the roads to himself, so he can speed in solitude....
    ...told ya...
    According to my speedo I'm doing 55, according to my Sat Nav I'm doing 47, according to the Garda Speed Gun I'm doing 62, what am I really doing :confused:
    Phone a friend ? But don't forget to use a handsfree kit.........Someone Might Be Watching.....:p
    .....go with me on this: take a deep, deep breadth, and hold it, hold it..........I'll be back in 15 mins.........
    I personally saw two twitts pushing 70km/h down the Rathgar road, getting sanctioned.:D
    ....and you determined that they were doing an exact, round, 70kph....how, exactly ?.........have you a 6th sense ? And will that be a requirement to join the Force...........oh-oh...may the Force be with against you.........:rolleyes:
    mb1725 wrote: »
    You can become a Garda without having a driving licence, so the same would apply to reserves? Be mighty interesting for a while, maybe we should give it a shot for a trial period? ;)
    Gardaí don't do drugs, either, so does that make them less able to catch drug dealer's ??

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭D_murph

Ask a silly question/start a silly thread........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭It BeeMee

We have a form of this already.

Phone 1890-205805 for more details....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

Someone ban this gobshíte troll already

[QUOTE

....and you determined that they were doing an exact, round, 70kph....how, exactly ?.........have you a 6th sense ? And will that be a requirement to join the Force...........oh-oh...may the Force be with against you.........:rolleyes:

QUOTE]

Well I was doing the 50km/h limit, and they left me for dust! Also they where pulled. So what do you think!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Viper_JB

Anybody who would actually want to do this, is exactly the kind of person who would be the absolute worst person in the world to do it. Almost like a politican, if someone wants to be a politican they shouldn't be allowed lol.

KamiKazi wrote: »
    Someone ban this gobshíte troll already

If you've an issue with someone's post, please report it.

Attack the post, not the poster.

To be part of this "decent citizens crime response unit" you'd have to learn to talk like a Gard.
    "Is this yourr mechaenically prropellled veahicle, sirr?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

Lets just build underground roads and motorway systems, on a layered basis. The deeper into the ground you go the faster you can go. The layers of earth inbetween could soak up the "Durty Durty CO2", the slower drivers could drive on top, basking the the golry fo the sunshine, while the speeders mutate and take over the underground... Speed camera would be banned from level 5 down, it would be total lawlessness.... with twisty bends opening to fast straights and pictures of Jemery Clarkson everywhere...

I think the Minister of Justice should offer Decent citizens, especially the unemployed to use there time to assist the Garda Traffic corp. To enforce speed limits and observe and record for prosecution, dangerous driving.

I wholly support the Garda Reserve being used for basic crowd control (at big matches etc), to help in door-to-door enquiries, to help with general administrative duties etc.

The Traffic Corps are a specialist unit with a very defined responsibility (and a hard job), I don't feel that any citizen, whether trained as a Garda Reserve or not, should be put in the situation where they're making judgement calls and discretionary decisions the like of which the TC need to do every day.

I wholly disagree with your suggestion completely and feel it would be a massive step backwards for road safety and for public/Garda relations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,359 ✭✭✭cyclopath2001

-Chris- wrote: »
    Traffic Corps are a specialist unit with a very defined responsibility (and a hard job), I don't feel that any citizen, whether trained as a Garda Reserve or not, should be put in the situation where they're making judgement calls and discretionary decisions the like of which the TC need to do every day.

I wholly disagree with your suggestion completely and feel it would be a massive step backwards for road safety and for public/Garda relations.
    In other words, you're concerned that law breakers will only support the Gardai as long as someone else is caught and punished?

I'm not sure what you mean

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

In other words, you're concerned that law breakers will only support the Gardai as long as someone else is caught and punished?

Damn law breakers breaking the law!

It's more of a general feeling that any jumped up little tin-pot dictator (i.e. sad old git who thankfully no one listens to) who feels that any "youths" should be arrested upon birth, anyone driving a car is already guilty of genocide, anyone with long hair is a "suspicious pinko commy bastard" and anyone who doesn't sit at home with his hands on the table where he can see them should be shot can now wield real power over other human beings and will, no doubt, immediately call for a baton, tazer, pepper spray and a large bottle of baby oil so he can be more "efficient".
    The type of people who will dial 999 because the neighbours kids kicked a football into their garden, who think that anyone under the age of 50 is automatically a criminal, you know, nutters, will now be given powers to police (terrorise) the rest of us.
    That thought is so deeply scary that should this ever come about the only avenues left would be to get the hell out of this country because the khmer rouge will be a church choir in comparison.
    (OK I exaggerate, but only a little;))

Well I was doing the 50km/h limit, and they left me for dust! Also they where pulled. So what do you think!:rolleyes:

I think you haven't a clue, actually. You were doing 50 km/h, that's fine. You have pulled a number out of the clouds, and were you to be in a position to do so, you'd prosecute a person because of what speed you ......think he was doing ?? That is the level of burden-of-proof that might fly in Afghanistan, or some other crackpot régime, but it has no place around here. And we are well-served by not having that 'facility' open to us, tbh.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

I wholly support the Garda Reserve being used for basic crowd control (at big matches etc), to help in door-to-door enquiries, to help with general administrative duties etc.

The Traffic Corps are a specialist unit with a very defined responsibility (and a hard job), I don't feel that any citizen, whether trained as a Garda Reserve or not, should be put in the situation where they're making judgement calls and discretionary decisions the like of which the TC need to do every day.

Perverse as it may seem, given my posts, and the subject in hand, I'm afraid I'd have to disagree with you for one simple reason: many of the tasks likely to befall a GTC also fall to non GTC, and Reserve as well. This include several matters of law, and the power of arrest.

I can't see you could, say, say that a Garda Reserve officer can have the power of arrest, say for public disorder/assault, etc, and the severity of those felonies, but at the same time not be accorded the power of arrest or prosecution for, say, a basic motoring offence (take your pick, there are loads of objective ones).........

Ode To The Motorist

galwaytt wrote: »
    I think you haven't a clue, actually. You were doing 50 km/h, that's fine. You have pulled a number out of the clouds, and were you to be in a position to do so, you'd prosecute a person because of what speed you ......think he was doing ?? That is the level of burden-of-proof that might fly in Afghanistan, or some other crackpot régime, but it has no place around here. And we are well-served by not having that 'facility' open to us, tbh.

And there's every likelihood that if his speedo was reading 50Kmph, he was actually doing 45Kmph.

It's a very unscientific and unprofessional basis on which to base a prosecution, and further proof that "ordinary decent citizens" shouldn't assume the powers of the Gardai without the requisite checks and training.

And there's every likelihood that if his speedo was reading 50Kmph, he was actually doing 45Kmph.

It's a very unscientific and unprofessional basis on which to base a prosecution, and further proof that "ordinary decent citizens" shouldn't assume the powers of the Gardai without the requisite checks and training.

..absolutely, but as you say yourself, there's no reason why the 'requisite checks & training cannot be conferred upon a Reserve Garda. The 'professional status' of the officer shouldn't interfere with the ability to properly 'police' the law. N'est-ce pas ?

Ode To The Motorist

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

The Gardai are well capible of doing their job without layabouts getting in their way. :pac: