Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Blackpool Banker?

• 12-08-2010 3:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20

Would you like to make E1,000?

I just stuck E3,500 on blackpool to be relegated @ 2/7 yesterday.

What ye'all think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭coughlan08

i think il make 1000 my way...
    but your way sure seems solid enough..
    could never place that bet over a season long,
    tieing up all that money..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

I know what I'll do with my €3.50 now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,078 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

op, in all fairness..nobody will believe you bet that much unless you post pics/reciept or something :-)

• Moderators Posts: 8,835 ✭✭✭x PyRo

It'd be easier to find better bets at better odds than that but whatever floats your boat OP! I wouldn't risk €3,500 for €1,000 though, not worth it at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

callaway92 wrote: »
    op, in all fairness..nobody will believe you bet that much unless you post pics/reciept or something :-)

I have a different opinion to this.

The screenshot phenomenon that has hit the forum will result in people just posting up winnings bets after the time and leaving out losing ones. You can already see it creeping in to logs and other places (after-timing thread excluded). Lot's of 'fancy this, if i make the bet I'll post a screenshot' which often happens after the result.

It used to be enough to post a bet in advance. Why would somebody lie about the stake?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 cluainri

I agree it's a massive bet but i can afford it either way..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

proove it...post a pic/screenshot

• Moderators Posts: 8,835 ✭✭✭x PyRo

He has nothing to prove, he just wants our opinions. No need for any screenshot of any sort.

Best of luck with it OP, should win but anything can happen over the season. Hope it comes off for you.

proove it...post a pic/screenshot

lads im not bothered whether anyone believes me...generally i only make a couple bets per year. i just felt it was one bet i couldn't pass up. I'd be delighted to hear some opinions, good/bad or indifferent. Thanks

x PyRo wrote: »
    He has nothing to prove, he just wants our opinions. No need for any screenshot of any sort.

Best of luck with it OP, should win but anything can happen over the season. Hope it comes off for you.

Cheers mate, haven't told any family/friends yet. i know at least 3 would kill me if they knew :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭raheny red

€3,500 for the OP could be like €35 to the rest of us!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭DeadSkin

You could be in for a good sweat.

Was it Hull that came up a couple of seasons ago and survived[just a about].
    If I recall correctly, Burnely last year got off to a decent start, but obviously faded away.
    Stoke too came up and survived.

All the best, I have no patience for a season long bet :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

I remember posting up that i put 1000 on Meath to score over 19.5 points while they were on something like 11 points. People were asking for a screenshot before the game was over. If they hadn't seen my post until after the final score and i had lost i wonder would they have wanted a screenshot to make sure i lost a grand?

Regardless of whether OP has put the bet on he has posted up his stake and there is still a risk it may not come through in 9 months time. So why should he have to prove it? He has clearly listed what he thinks what will happen before it has occured. Isn't that the idea of this forum?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,630 ✭✭✭The Recliner

I remember posting up that i put 1000 on Meath to score over 19.5 points while they were on something like 11 points. People were asking for a screenshot before the game was over. If they hadn't seen my post until after the final score and i had lost i wonder would they have wanted a screenshot to make sure i lost a grand?

Regardless of whether OP has put the bet on he has posted up his stake and there is still a risk it may not come through in 9 months time. So why should he have to prove it? He has clearly listed what he thinks what will happen before it has occured. Isn't that the idea of this forum?

He doesn't have to prove anything, if it is posted up before the event then that is all that is required

After timing requires screen shots though for obvious reasons

If someone wants to put up a screenshot then great if not then no one has the right to ask

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

cluainri wrote: »
    Would you like to make E1,000?

I just stuck E3,500 on blackpool to be relegated @ 2/7 yesterday.

What ye'all think?

Wish I could afford a bet like that. But I reckon its pretty much a sure thing. They have no money, signed 4 average players yesterday and are going with last years squad. They are sure to be relegated, and probably will finish 20th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭The Walsho

If you had balls you'd stick it on them to be bottom at Christmas, at even money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭Vurnon San Benito

Average players perhaps, but Harewood will score a few goals, (whatever goals Blackpool score in the league :pac: )

I dunno if they'll finish bottom, but they'll be more than likely relegated.

If your bets wins, and wins with B'Pool finishing bottom from week one, then it'll be the easiest money you ever made ! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭coughlan08

The Walsho wrote: »
    If you had balls you'd stick it on them to be bottom at Christmas, at even money.

oh right,so thats whats clasified as having a pair of balls,more like stupidity...:rolleyes:
    its his money leave him do what he wants with it..nuff said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Crowie13

I can't see them surviving to be honest, I only read the other day that there wage cap is at 10K per week think it was in another post.

Saying that I wouldn't dare put that amount of money on a bet especially waiting so long for it to happen.

Each to their own though, good luck OP :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Mezcita

Solid bet in my opinion. Without question one of the weakest teams the Premier League has ever had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭hawaii501

I think it should be one of the easiest €1000 you will but this is coming from a person who thought Hull where going to be worse than Derby in terms of points but somehow managed to survive :D But best of luck and I cannot see lightning strike twice so I think they will finish bottom. Most of their team is shocking and they have lost a few players from last years team.

Thanks for all opinions, can't wait for the PL kickoff tomorrow. Really pleased with the bet, at the moment anyway!

My main concerns for Blackpool are-

Their squad?... They massively overachieved in promotion last season. Effectively they are championship players. Their squad is very thin.

Opening Fixtures....Of their opening 9 matches, Blackpool face a massive 6 away games. Away trips include Wigan, Arsenal, Newcastle, Chelsea, Liverpool and Birmingham. In between they play Fulham, Blackburn, and Man City at home.

Signings...Lack of any real pedigree in 4 signings.

Board...Unwillingness to spend money for quality players. Wage cap on players' wages. Only recently extended Holloway's contract and payed last season's player bonuses!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭Con1110

Fancy Blackpool to at least get a draw 2moro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭The Walsho

coughlan08 wrote: »
    oh right,so thats whats clasified as having a pair of balls,more like stupidity...:rolleyes:
    its his money leave him do what he wants with it..nuff said

Can't believe you didn't get the irony in my post. I don't think anyone would question this guy's testicular fortitude if he's willing to risk three grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭JimsAlterEgo

slightly OT (but IMO not worthy of another thread)

where would I get odds of Blackpool suffering the biggest beating in PL history or being the first club to concede 10 or more in a game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Mezcita

where would I get odds of Blackpool suffering the biggest beating in PL history or being the first club to concede 10 or more in a game?

Email paddy power and ask them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I wouldnt expect any recently promoted championship side to concede 10 goals over the course of a season in the premier league. It's always a possibility I suppose but the likes if Derby and Sunderland never looked like conceding 10 and 9 has only been conceded once in premier league history.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 theverminator5

blackpool should go down but 2 years ago hull were tiped to go down and they didnt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Blackpool are certs to go down.

Good bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭oconnon9

Personally i think 2/7 is sh1te value on blackpool 2 go down.. they've a few decent players, a decent manager, and a poxy little ground that no1 will like visiting.. I think they'll do alright, they might go down but they'll put up a fight, but i wouldn't be touching them at 2/7..

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Interesting developments today :pac:

What I tell ye about Harewood :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭deise48

bet your a little more anxious now about your money

I call shenanigans from Holloway.

Some reverse psychology me thinks :p

Should be 4-0 a second ago.

Ah don't worry the lad and his €3,500.
    Newly promoted teams nearly always start well, a good team will rip they apart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

i wouldnt worry about that scoreline op. its a season long bet.
    1st game of season against wigan, anythings possible.
    your moneys safe imo
    freak result

Doocey wrote: »

I'm messing anyway. Still very much expect them to go down sadly. Rather see ****e like Blackburn, Wigan and so on go down then Holloway's men.

them*

*my bad :o

I'm messing anyway. Still very much expect them to go down sadly. Rather see ****e like Blackburn, Wigan and so on go down then Holloway's men.

Ah yeah, would like to see Blackpool stay up in honesty, but for the sake of his 3.5k, it'd be better if they took the drop :D

Would love to see Stoke relegated.!

Jesus c***** will the real Blackpool please stand up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭Devastator

Is that the same for all newly promoted teams Doocey? :p

I want b'burn to go down too, hate allardyce. I've picked b'burn/w brom/b'pool to be the 3 relegated teams, think it was 30/1.

Also done at 8/1 b'pool to get 10 points or less this season, after yesterday :eek: opps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,439 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Had a free €3 bet and just copied a friend in doing 4-0 to Wigan. Cue some frantic scrabbling through wallet in the pathetic hope that I'd written the score down backwards. No joy :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,049 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

them*
    *my bad :o

Both of you really.

L'prof wrote: »
    Both of you really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,049 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Collie D wrote: »

I should have quoted the post, not you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Blackpool 2/5 for relegation now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,560 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

greetings wrote: »
    Blackpool 2/5 for relegation now.

Damn. Now I'm getting interested in the price.

I'm reminded of the time PP paid out on Stoke after they were well beaten away in their first game. When they won their first home game the following week the Stoke fans came out with the classic chant "Are you watching, Paddy Power?" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

deise48 wrote: »
    bet your a little more anxious now about your money
    Are you on a wind up? 1 good result against a woefully inconsistent Wigan side on the opening day of the season means nothing really.
    I still expect them to be relegated convincingly.