Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE boy racer report

• 12-08-2010 2:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭

tonight on rte
    this will be good, i wonder how many times the words supped up will be used. I have heard that the footage was recorded in Letterkenny from this past few weeks following a 17year old and 18 year old in integra type r's dc2's yes you read right 17-TYPE R.

these two muppets rip up the main street banging of the limiter because it's their first week out.This will no doubt give every modified car driver a bad name. We will all get tared with the one brush now:mad:

EDIT: here is the old one from a few years ago.
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/0125/primetime_av.html?2212996,null,230

i love how she says. diffing at high speeds:facepalm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

fantastic...
    here we go again :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭coronaextra

Must set the recorder for this! looking forward to it!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭padunne

How do a 17 18 afford dc2's...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Oh great... I love the way that the outrage will be aimed at the cars rather than the moronic government that allows a 17yo drive a DC2 in the first place... The "wont somebody please think of the children" brigade will most likely be out in force again after this one.

let's wait and see this first..

maybe it won't be all so bad, then again..maybe not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭Graham_B18C

padunne wrote: »
    Was thinking that myself.

Will set the recorder for this, thanks for the heads up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

DC2's don't exactly break the bank tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭bmw535d

one of them transfered their insurance over from a 320d. the other is on his fathers garage insurance. they probably paid what 5000 for them?

Iv'e seen 17 year olds drive mk5 golfs with around 5000 spent on the ottinger gear etc. No idea how they afford them. Credit union must be their best friend.

I think their are some interviews with some of the families of last months crash. Some families where also complaining about the timing of the show as its the month's mind this week.

Kudos to RTE,have they no sensitivity atall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭eire1990

padunne wrote: »

id say its alll mommy and daddys money i hate them people no respect for there cars when they dont pay for them this program will be just the same rte bullcrap they just look for the worst people of a group and say thats what we are all like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭Graham_B18C

DC2's don't exactly break the bank tbh.

When I was 17 I was making decent money and couldn't afford a micra, and buying it isn't the issue, it's the insurance and running costs that make them generally unobtainable for younger drivers

Ok so they showed us a lad who crashed a Micra?

Hardly a boy racer car, and seemingly not done while racing...?

All they showed was what the lads in Donegal do on a normal day or weekend, and also showed that they can do it legally. Is that not a bit contradictive... showing the legal side of it...?
    When I was 17 I was making decent money and couldn't afford a micra, and buying it isn't the issue, it's the insurance and running costs that make them generally unobtainable for younger drivers

The way I see it is if you have the interest, time and patience then you can do it. Exactly what I did for my car, I worked pretty much non-stop for whatever pay I was getting, and at the end of it I managed to do what I set out to do, and that's just my point.

the reason most of the cars are japanese is because it can be easily manipulated(on the log)?<-comment from Motorcheck guy
    what a load of bollocks!
    most are jap cars because that's just what the scene is..there's nothing else as cheap or fast.
    Stupid stupid comment.

I like how a Motorcheck representative is talking about wrongly registered cars, he should take a look through the system :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭creaghadoos

they should have put on a government minister to give them a goo stiff talking to.
    that report was crap.
    most of the guys in that report have a bag full of noise and a lot of wheel spin, but no real top speed.

old honda civic, corolla gt coupe, and a galanza. any diesel golf has a higher top speed.
    ok the integra might be quick, but my point is that most modern diesel cars are as fast as all of the "boy racer" stuff

btw, i am not a young lad with a modified car, almost 40 and i can see the attraction and get the buzz

I bursted out laughing when i heard the older guy outside the hospital say" they are out there doing their buns and donuts".

he really knows what he's talking about :rolleyes:

and what it showed in Letterkenny does not happen on a regular basis. RTE told those two muppets they would be filming them, so they spent the whole day cleaning their cars so they could put on a big show of what its like in Donegal.

the report was disappointing tbh. This year there was the lowest amount of messing at the Donegal rally ever. Mainly due to the fact their was legal diffing/drifting shows on each night. The garda also had a massive presence compared to previous years. What makes us sound so bad is this lasts months accidents, before that everything was relatively calmed. I know for a fact most young people have slowed down alot since the big accident, only time will tell if it will last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

There was a woman on spouting all these stupid inaccurate facts.

She said Donegal was the second largest country in ireland in terms of area (Its 4th largest, Cork, Galway, Mayo then Donegal).

She started flustering about the Gardai and the minister for justice "or whoever is in charge of the gardai".

If they want to fight the argument from the other side they shouldn't be getting eccentric Joe Duffy fanatics who blurt out crap. Donegal has a serious problem and putting these numpties on the television tubes really doesnt highlight the issue as a serious problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

old honda civic, corolla gt coupe, and a galanza. any diesel golf has a higher top speed.

Not really, a standard glanza would be faster than most Golf diesels.

Golf diesels are not fast.
    ok the integra might be quick, but my point is that most modern diesel cars are as fast as all of the "boy racer" stuff

What modern diesel would be faster than a DC2?

draffodx wrote: »
    Not really, a standard glanza would be faster than most Golf diesels.

Golf diesels are not fast.

about half of diesel golfs in Donegal driven by young lads are mapped. some of them upwards of 190bhp and 450nm of Torque.especially the 150bhp version. Wouldn't be to far away from a dc2.

so imo modern diesel's may not fast fast, but too fast for some of the people driving them.

remapped vag's are the new civic's imo.

i grew up in era where a jap car was on the other side of the world.

people still died on the roads

was there no-one killed on the roads in the 50's and 60's, when cars werent fast.

not being intentionally horrible but, the 8 guys killed last month were in a diesel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭eire1990

Ya i think the comment the guy from motorcheck made was a bit stupid doesnt matter what car you have if you hit something hard like a wall you will get hurt

TBH lads the crashes are not happening because of the cars these guys are driving. Its because of the attitudes they have towards the road.

If your doing the speeds they are doing on back roads it doesnt matter if your in a glanza, golf or a 7 series. If (when) you lose control, your a gonner.

Hogzy wrote: »
    TBH lads the crashes are not happening because of the cars these guys are driving. Its because of the attitudes they have towards the road.

If your doing the speeds they are doing on back roads it doesnt matter if your in a glanza, golf or a 7 series. If you lose control, your a gonner.

100% correct

it's not the car, it's not the driver, it's the attitude that has to change

100% correct

it's not the car, it's not the driver, it's the attitude that has to change

So its the attitude of the driver!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭Tomebagel

Wasnt as bad as i thought it was goin to be.....It was the motorcheck guy that made me mad,i hope he loses a lot of business over it:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

The Motorcheck crew are on boards. They ask some odd questions - there was one which made me chuckle where a guy got his car serviced, and it was running worse when he got it back, so Motorcheck thought that the Mechanic had possibly swapped the engine out and wanted Boardsie's opinions on it. Instead of believing it might just be something else that went wrong with the car!

Gotta say though, the programme pandered a bit towards the old dears sitting at home.

Despite what the Motorcheck guy said, I genuinely believe if we had more racetracks it would reduce horseplay on the roads. I don't speed, but if we'd a proper track in Cork, I'd be on it every second weekend.

And whoever the woman was at the end of the show shouldn't have been put on the air. She's exactly the type of person who'd put you off your food, let alone try and convince you of any road safety plans and ideas. The minute she started ranting without breathing, you can tell she's put no effort into researching any of her schemes beyond having an emotional knee jerk reaction to what she perceives as the cause of road deaths. Fitting speed limiters? That will cause more accidents than it will prevent, and she should realise that.

Finally, to the hospital guy. Buns and Donuts?

drooling_homer.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

bmw535d wrote: »
    about half of diesel golfs in Donegal driven by young lads are mapped. some of them upwards of 190bhp and 450nm of Torque.especially the 150bhp version. Wouldn't be to far away from a dc2.

Having had a 150bhp Golf that was mapped and now owning a DC2 I can confirm you are talking through your arse, also top speeds mean nothing in the real world, it's all about acceleration

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

I hope Motorcheck guy reads this: he came across badly, and where you'd expect him to have some relevant connection, he came across as a twat, tbh.

The majority of cars I saw on the clip were, in fact, old european cars - Omega's, Sierra's, and of course some jap stuff too. And we all know why : RWD.

And he's talking complete tosh about having more facilities for motorsport (in whatever form..), would do 'nothing' to alleviate it. Then he contradict's himself by telling us those who attend events he's on, leave's participants with a new perspective at the end of the day, to the one they started out with........

And as for 'high power vehicles' being the root cause: give me a break. That big accident in Donegal didn't involve a 'high power car', either.......

And as for the speed limiter's...........well, we have a thread on that already, don't we..........?

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭Armin_Tamzarian

draffodx wrote: »

An E60 535d for one and if it was remapped then forget about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭dryadssaddle

Hey modified car driver dudes. I'm just curious, what is the fascination of hanging out at topaz stations at night?

A lot of modified cars are quite heavy on petrol, maybe they are just filling up

but what are the chances that they'd be filling up every random time i drive past? are they that heavy?

Can't say I've noticed it myself, I certainly don't hang around filling stations or anywhere else for that matter

maybe it's just a limerick thing then :) thanks for the replies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Just hanging around having a chat. A petrol station has enough room for a few to pull up side by side. Unless they block the pumps I don't think it will affect anyone.

Its mostly just guys pulling up to have a chat and look at each others cars. Its not always Topaz; in Newbridge it used to be Applegreen, then Tescos carpark. Some people like to go to the pub and have a drink and a chat, those who are more into cars than drinking (as most of the lads I knew who used to hang around in carparks were) prefer to congregate in petrol stations and car parks; makes sense if you think about it! For the most part they are not bothering anyone.

The E60 535d has 286bhp; its hardly surprising that it gives a 198bhp DC2 a run for its money...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭padunne

I honestly think the show didn't help or influence anything. Showed a bit of messing, then a legal track and then let someone just rant on about an emotional issue for her. I suppose what else would ya expect from rte and a report like this.
    Anyone here would probably have done better. At least i think people would have gotten facts and then talk to both sides in a non biased way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

well, I should have stated it more clearly and included a realistic condition, as in what young lad would be able to afford an E60 535d :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭Evil_Clown

The most interesting thing I took out of last nights show was the fact that there is 1 gatso van shared by 5 counties one of which (Donegal) has by far the highest amount of danger black spots than any other county.
    Yet when I drive along the navan road in Dublin at least once every 2 weeks there will be a Gatso van stationed on a dual carriage way 80kph zone catching people. If people know they won't be caught on crap roads they will speed but will then slow down on a good road (where you can drive faster safely) because you have a far greater chance of being caught. If the guards started popping up on random secondary roads they might not make as much money but some lives could be saved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Tefral

In a straight up drag race for a 1/4 mile id be shocked if the Beemer beat an Integra Type R.

They are faster than you think, shockingly close gear ratios, 1100kg, and a muuuch longer rev range. I have no doubt in a race longer the beemer would win but id love to see the 1/4 mile..

Last nights show was cobbled together you can see that, there was no structure to it at all. Those guys in the Integras were mearly playing up for the cameras, it just shows up their age. Im shocked they could even get insured on an integra.

The guy from motorcheck.ie came across badly, hes giving out about japanese cars, yet he sometimes judges the prodrift, also he said more tracks wouldnt help, course he he doesnt think so, sure more tracks means less people for his courses in Mondello... and all this thing about engine changes, all he wants is people to use his site to make sure their car is as it should be..

The woman from Donegal should lay off the fags, the amount of breaths she took, i just couldnt listen to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭GEasy

hey, Anyone know when the repeat is on ? prob late some night ...?

LakesKeane wrote: »
    hey, Anyone know when the repeat is on ? prob late some night ...?

http://www.rte.ie/player/#

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

....they have a 'lid' - aka, roof. So if you're hanging about, you don't get wet. Also, encourages people to spend the odd €€ in the station, as well.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

galwaytt wrote: »
    ....they have a 'lid' - aka, roof. So if you're hanging about, you don't get wet. Also, encourages people to spend the odd €€ in the station, as well.

The station in Limerick is on the Dock road, modfied car owners have been hanging around in that "Statoil" for over 10 years. Its a tradition now as the owners always let modified car owners stay there, there was a period of a year where they didnt but its the one place the garda in limerick dont move you on because the owners have expressly told the guards they are welcome there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn

To be hones it was a fair debate. The guy (motor-check) banging on about japanese cars looked a little foolish and had nothing relevant to say.

Boiled down to the same thing. There is a small group of hardcore tits who do whatever they want and give the rest a bad name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭_Conrad_

To be hones it was a fair debate. The guy (motor-check) banging on about japanese cars looked a little foolish and had nothing relevant to say.

Boiled down to the same thing. There is a small group of hardcore tits who do whatever they want and give the rest a bad name.

he may have looked foolish to anyone with a brain or a knowledge of cars, but to your average numpty out there he was giving them cause to ring up good auld joe screaming about bannign young people from driving, not letting anyone have a fast or nice or powerful car etc.

It's similar to this misguided and poorly informed auld one i heard on the radio about drugs, rand up in a right panic, she said people were out snorting their heroin and ecstacy....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭kennethk

i grew up in era where a jap car was on the other side of the world.

people still died on the roads

was there no-one killed on the roads in the 50's and 60's, when cars werent fast.

not being intentionally horrible but, the 8 guys killed last month were in a diesel

Agree with you 100%, the motorcheck guy seems to think they account for all accidents and deaths!:confused:
    I know they don't exactly help, but they aren't the sole source of the problem!

I know a lad in my town, he's 19 years of age, with a EK9 Type R!
    He has it under Daddy's insurance, of course!..Daddy has to take some blame in this!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

kennethk wrote: »

I know a lad in my town, he's 19 years of age, with a EK9 Type R!
    He has it under Daddy's insurance, of course!..Daddy has to take some blame in this!?

Why, has he killed someone?

tuxy wrote: »
    Why, has he killed someone?

He well could be partly responsible for it in a way..

Id equate this is an adult handing matches and petrol to a 7-8 year old kid, what do you think will happen? The house is going to get burned down.

Roll on a few years, and a 12 year old could be trusted some bit more not to set the house on fire, it might happen but the liekly hood is its somewhat reduced.

if the house gets burned down, the parents are at fault, the same with irresponsible parents insuring sons or daughters of a young age and inexperienced with cars like type R's.

You gotta learn to crawl before you can walk..