Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Course dress codes

• 11-08-2010 10:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭

What's the general opinion on these? I saw somebody wearing jeans and runners last week. While I wouldn't be too concerned with some infringements, I thought this was just taking the piss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Trekker09 wrote: »
    What's the general opinion on these? I saw somebody wearing jeans and runners last week. While I wouldn't be too concerned with some infringements, I thought this was just taking the piss.

Definitely taking the piss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

Trekker09 wrote: »

what course was that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,654 ✭✭✭Trekker09

heavyballs wrote: »
    what course was that?

Gowran. It was very quiet at the time and I was just leaving when I saw him. He was with 2 other lads who were dressed ok. To be fair, this is the 1st time I have seen anything like this there, but my old club would let anybody out on the course!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭tom francy

:mad:For gods sake what the hell is wrong with this country,i dont no bout the rest of yea but i go to the course to play golf not for a fashion show as long as they r not wearing a track suit or jersey its fine,oh my god he has a jeans on send him to hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

tom francy wrote: »
    :mad:For gods sake what the hell is wrong with this country,i dont no bout the rest of yea but i go to the course to play golf not for a fashion show as long as they r not wearing a track suit or jersey its fine,oh my god he has a jeans on send him to hell.

Remind me never to play with you, in golf we have etiquette and you follow it no matter what.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭tom francy

ANXIOUS wrote: »
    Remind me never to play with you, in golf we have etiquette and you follow it no matter what.
    and the difference between a pair of jeans and slacks are what? breaking rules? give me a break.as long as u look neat and tidy ur fine in my book

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

sorry Tom but i'm very wary of anyone who says 'he has a jeans on',anyway fwiw i totally disagree with you unless you're a member in Leopardstown in which case they should thank you for paying and let you play in just a jockstrap if you want

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭The Orb

Golf is not a fashion show however I would draw the line at jeans or else they'll be playing in their jammies next after goin ow' to get da messages, 20 blue and a six pack of gold.

and the difference between a pair of jeans and slacks are what? breaking rules? give me a break.as long as u look neat and tidy ur fine in my book

I never mentioned rules. I mentioned etiquette.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

I just wouldn't find jeans practical, regardless of etiquette

A few Goldies could help me correct my stance though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,035 ✭✭✭Zardoz

I'm assuming they were blue jeans.
    Thats the ironic thing ,people are disgusted by people wearing blue denims but they turn a blind eye to navy ,grey and black denims which are common place.
    As regards people wearing runners ,there is no law against that ,as a matter of fact they are more comfortable than most golf shoes and dont damage the greens.
    Stupid rules made by stupid people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭The Orb

No jeans, no birds = good game!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭Osgoodisgood

I'm far more concerned with behaviour on the course than fashion. I love jeans but wouldn't wear them to play golf in because they aren't practical in my opinion.

Is this the class divide rearing its ugly head?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭upthe19th

I'm far more concerned with behaviour on the course than fashion. I love jeans but wouldn't wear them to play golf in because they aren't practical in my opinion.

Is this the class divide rearing its ugly head?

+1. but dont agree with the class divide bit. IMO (for all it's worth) it's not a big ask to wear a pair of pants and a collared polo for 4 hours or so. in fairness, you can get a pair for less than the price of a pair of jeans in most cases. polo's are 10 a penny. It doesn't have to mean a fashion show. different places and occasions call for different dress. So you wear a tracksuit most of the time, no prob, but you're not going to wear it to your brother's wedding?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

The snobbery in this thread makes me sick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,197 ✭✭✭elvis jones

You want slacks then slacks you shall get...............http://uk.loudmouthgolf.com/index.php/men/trousers.html

Proper etiquette must be followed;)

Now if i could use a cattle prod to speed up a few of those around me i'd be away with it !

syklops wrote: »
    The snobbery in this thread makes me sick.

What snobbery? I'm as blue collar as it gets for what it's worth. If someone said to me that i couldn't play cos i wasn't a doctor or something i'd tell him where to go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

I personally dont like to see jeans on a course or football jerseys either. I tend to see a lot of kids wearing them and to be honest if you had to wear a school uniform all week and then have to wear slack and a polo at the weekend it probably would cost a fortune to the parents. As for adults its a no no in my book. But on the other end of the scale I know a few lads who spend more money on the best of equipment and clothing but cant hit it out of their way and hold the whole course up. They honestly reckon cause they have money to spend on big brand items that they own the club and look down at others in dunnes polos and penneys slacks.

scrubber72 wrote: »
    I personally dont like to see jeans on a course or football jerseys either. I tend to see a lot of kids wearing them and to be honest if you had to wear a school uniform all week and then have to wear slack and a polo at the weekend it probably would cost a fortune to the parents. As for adults its a no no in my book. But on the other end of the scale I know a few lads who spend more money on the best of equipment and clothing but cant hit it out of their way and hold the whole course up. They honestly reckon cause they have money to spend on big brand items that they own the club and look down at others in dunnes polos and penneys slacks.

Agree whole heartedly. don't get me wrong, have no time whatsoever for all that crap. in fact i have had seen plenty of what you are talking about. thankfully other people see it for the crap it is too. that is one thing i love about golf. it can be a great leveller. let your game do the talking and not ego and self appointed status:)

Might i add that my slacks were 7 euro in Peeneys.................i only use them for golf and would rather spend my money on comfortable shoes to be honest.

Polos i have lots od anyway so thats not an issue.

same as that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

so this

daly1.jpg

and this

gg_golf_poulter.jpg

and this

_immensely_popular_image_with_ihs_puls-fours.jpg

and these

MrP_LoudMouthGolf_1.jpg

are all ok, but this isnt????????????????

img_0146.jpg

Of course etiquette is very important;)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,275 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Players wearing jeans doesn't bother me in the slightest - i dont do it but i don't condone it.

But holy fook they are the worst thing to wear on a golf course, i've been practicing my short game about 30 - 60 mins a day nearly every day for the last few weeks and do it when i come home from work so most times i'm wearing jeans, after about 10 mins they become uncomfortable so can't imagine 3 hours on a golf course sweating in them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭conno16

yep - i'd agree with the above

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭NoelAPM

As well as looking overly casual. Jeans dont provide a sense of freedom in movement. I personaly have a few paired of nike dri_fit trousers.. which are extremly practical. Although I might branch out and get a pair of shagadelic white from the link posted above ha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

I think people wait for threads like this to shout "SNOBBERY"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,406 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

I dont see how people can have an issue with tracksuits but not jeans?
    Surely, if golf is indeed a sport, a tracksuit is more suitable than a pair of jeans?

Also, would any of you have issues with watching snooker or pool if the lads turned up in jeans and runners?

How about Wimbledon with players wearing whatever they wanted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

GreeBo wrote: »

How about Wimbledon with players wearing whatever they wanted?

Surely, not the wimminz!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭thelongfellow

Maybe it was a guy out for the first time who will surely have learned after a serious dose of sweaty balls and hole that jeans are not the best choice on a golf course.

I've seen it plenty of times-guys new to the game then when they get a bit more into it they realise/are told that trousers/slacks/etc would be a more comfortable option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭blackwaterfish

Once the etiquette threshold is lowered to make way for jeans the standard of dress will fall below that of jeans. It’s the way of the world. During mornings dropping the kids off at school it looks as if pajamas are well on the way to being deemed acceptable day wear. And those of us who enjoy this pastime are simply trying to protect its integrity in a society where the trend for whats deemed acceptable to wear outside youre own front door is getting lower and lower. Whats wrong in maintaining some kind of standard? Golf is no longer the preferred pastime of only middle and upper class knob-ends types. The vast majority of people playing golf in this country today are working class. Hence its success. Im working class. 99% of the people I play with are working class Dubs.

The bottom line is, in 2010 NOBODY is excluded from playing golf in this country. Absolutely no-one. So wheres the snobbery argument now?

On denims: I wear neat jeans to work. I wear, for want of a better word, fashion jeans at home. I wear jeans to restaurants and going out. The only place I wear anything else is while playing golf – for the reasons given above but, as has been pointed out elsewhere, also for comfort.

A perfectly decent pair of trousers ( for golf use ) can be bought for €30 – Where is the snobbery in that?

now thats what i'm talking about

jeans, runners and a serious leather jacket
    throw in an auld granny in the background as well for good measure

dscf3863.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 432 ✭✭Hacker111

Jeans are allowed in my club... rule changfed a few years back.. a few reasons... some "trouser" look crap and cost 4 quid in Penneys, Jeans can look well and can cost 150 quid! A lot of guys like playing a few holes after work and like to jump out of their jeeps etc, so jeans makes it easier... in fairness you rarely see them anyway but they are allowed..

Hacker111 wrote: »
    Jeans are allowed in my club... rule changfed a few years back.. a few reasons... some "trouser" look crap and cost 4 quid in Penneys, Jeans can look well and can cost 150 quid! A lot of guys like playing a few holes after work and like to jump out of their jeeps etc, so jeans makes it easier... in fairness you rarely see them anyway but they are allowed..

We allow "neat" jeans (only recently) but not on the course.

I dont think the price of any trousers comes into it at all tbh. The problem with allowing all jeans is that you get a regular pair of 501's from some people, but others will rock up in a pair of cutouts with faded knees and studs down the back..you cant really have one without the other though...

Its hardly an effort to throw a pair of shorts/slacks into the boot of the car, you are already bringing the bag and shoes...right?

in summer time is it acceptable to cut off around the knees and hey presto you have a pair of golf denim shorts?

This is nothing about snobbery, i put it up their with walking across someones line. Not against the rules but bad form.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Buggered if I want to play golf with some gimp with the crotch of his jeans draggin' the fairway.

Golf clubs have standards, they are there,like the rules, to cover the extreme eventualities.

Not snobbery just common sense .Get used to it or take up some other sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

conno16 wrote: »
    now thats what i'm talking about

jeans, runners and a serious leather jacket
    throw in an auld granny in the background as well for good measure

Congratulations - the most moronic post of the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 432 ✭✭Hacker111

Buggered if I want to play golf with some gimp with the crotch of his jeans draggin' the fairway.

Golf clubs have standards, they are there,like the rules, to cover the extreme eventualities.

Not snobbery just common sense .Get used to it or take up some other sport.

exactly thems the rules... some clubs allow jeans some don't..just deal with it....

The point is, if there is a certain dress code for the course that you are playing, you are obliged to comply, it's not snobbery, but as mentioned previously, etiquette.

Personally, I can't see a problem with complying with a dress code.

The fact is that he didn't look 'neat and tidy'. His jeans were very tattered and frayed at the ends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭LostPassword

Why does anybody care what other people wear while playing golf? If you don't like jeans on the golf course, dont wear them. I couldn't give a monkeys what anybody else wears - pyjamas, bikinis, whatever. I'd like to go around in speedos and get rid of my terrible golfer's farmers tan too. :)

Dress-codes do not correlate with etiquette either. In my experience, club-jumper types who are perfectly turned out are more likely to behave like ignoramuses on the course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

I love the way the SNOBBERY word gets thrown around when topics like this come up. Every sport has an etiquette, a uniform, rules and above all else standards. I do not look at jeans or Tracksuits differently. In golf you are asked to dress a certain way if thats regarded as SNOBBERY then to f.uck with ye I dont give a s.hit. You dont like it you dont have to play but respect the game and its values. Anybody who wears anything other than the uniform in a certain sport has no respect for it IMO and shouldnt be allowed play.

Does this make a snob ? not in my eyes and I dont give a s.hit what u think ha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

sorry Tom but i'm very wary of anyone who says 'he has a jeans on'
    I would draw the line at jeans or else they'll be playing in their jammies next after goin ow' to get da messages, 20 blue and a six pack of gold.

Your telling me ridiculous comments like above is not snobbery?

What has a persons speaking manner got to do with golf?
    What has what a person chooses to drink or smoke got to do with golf?

BUACHAILL wrote: »
    I love the way the SNOBBERY word gets thrown around when topics like this come up. Every sport has an etiquette, a uniform, rules and above all else standards. I do not look at jeans or Tracksuits differently. In golf you are asked to dress a certain way if thats regarded as SNOBBERY then to f.uck with ye I dont give a s.hit. You dont like it you dont have to play but respect the game and its values. Anybody who wears anything other than the uniform in a certain sport has no respect for it IMO and shouldnt be allowed play.

Does this make a snob ? not in my eyes and I dont give a s.hit what u think ha
    People, especially kids, play football and all sorts of other sports on pitches wearing whatever the hell they like and nobody cares. In most sports there are very good functional reasons for having "uniforms" - the existence of teams and outside of these situations (even in tennis) people play wearing whatever the hell they like. Golf's dress codes are typically not even functional - I mean what the hell is functional about a collar and people can and do play all the time in stuff like dress-shirts, which are really not designed for lots of vigorous upper body movement.

I don't think it's snobbery - it's 100 year old snobbery ossified into a pretty meaningless convention (the requirement for tailored shorts - just rules out the last 50 years of fashion and clothing technology) that is staunchly defended by old farts and young fogeys. Get over it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

People, especially kids, play football and all sorts of other sports on pitches wearing whatever the hell they like and nobody cares. In most sports there are very good functional reasons for having "uniforms" - the existence of teams and outside of these situations (even in tennis) people play wearing whatever the hell they like. Golf's dress codes are typically not even functional - I mean what the hell is functional about a collar and people can and do play all the time in stuff like dress-shirts, which are really not designed for lots of vigorous upper body movement.

I don't think it's snobbery - it's 100 year old snobbery ossified into a pretty meaningless convention (the requirement for tailored shorts - just rules out the last 50 years of fashion and clothing technology) that is staunchly defended by old farts and young fogeys. Get over it!

Your the one who needs to get over it buddy, Rules are rules. I dress accordingly to them. That said I like wearing slacks and a Polo shirt while playing.

I am also yet to see any a footballer in a game wear a pair of jeans !! Dont be talking in one regard about kids down in the field, I have hit golf balls down the field in a track suit, am I breaking a code No I aint, why because its not on the course just like the same kids who go play for their teams on a Sunday, They do it in the team uniform.. is that snobbery ? No it isnt so if you dont like the game or the rules of the game dont f.ucking play it..now you get over it

Not a fan of Snooker, Pool, Wimbledon, Cricket then huh?

100 years ago everyone worse trousers and a shirt and tie for everthing not just golf, so there goes that argument Im afraid.

The rules on clothing are not golf rules, they are club rules. If you want to wear whatever you want then join a club that allows this. Dont paint your snobbery brush on everything just because you dont like it.

Where would you draw the line, if anywhere on what people can wear?
    Speedos? Mankinis? You either draw the line and accept that there is a line or it must be a free for all to have any sense of equality.

The current line was there before I started playing golf, I accepted that as part of the rules in my club, like no sunbathing on the deck, and moved on.

If you dont like it I suggest you go to Russia.

GreeBo wrote: »
    Not a fan of Snooker, Pool, Wimbledon, Cricket then huh?
    Not a fan of logic then huh? The great majority of golf games on golf courses are not competitions. In the sports that you mention, outside of competitions, people wear whatever the hell they like while playing casual games. Wimbledon is not a sport incidentally - tennis is and you will not have to go far to find a tennis court with somebody wearing clothes that do not ressemble the dress code for wimbledon. Perhaps you might shout at them?
    GreeBo wrote:
    If you dont like it I suggest you go to Russia.
    Why, pray tell, would I do that?

And fellas, the line "rules are rules" is not an argument. I'm expressing my opinion about the rules and the level of abusive and simply crazy responses I get for expressing an opinion is testament to something or other strange going on in your head. I'm not advocating a mass speedo-clad invasion of your club (although now I think of it...).

AND IF U DONT LIKE IT I SUGGEST YOU GO TO ICELAND AND F U!!! :cool:

Not a fan of logic then huh? The great majority of golf games on golf courses are not competitions. In the sports that you mention, outside of competitions, people wear whatever the hell they like while playing casual games. Wimbledon is not a sport incidentally - tennis is and you will not have to go far to find a tennis court with somebody wearing clothes that do not ressemble the dress code for wimbledon. Perhaps you might shout at them?
    No but the majority of these games are played in clubs and when they are played in clubs they obey the rules of that club, just like Wimbledon.
    Why, pray tell, would I do that?
    Google it.
    And fellas, the line "rules are rules" is not an argument. I'm expressing my opinion about the rules and the level of abusive and simply crazy responses I get for expressing an opinion is testament to something or other strange going on in your head. I'm not advocating a mass speedo-clad invasion of your club (although now I think of it...).
    "I dont like it! wah wah wah" isnt much of an arguement either tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,610 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Do people preaching about jeans etc mind if someone turns up to play wearing a pair of trousers like Daly currently wears?