Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Welcome to the Athlone IT forum!

• 11-08-2010 1:11pm
    Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Yay we're here! Finally!

First on the agenda is to get boards.ie unblocked from the college PCs. Facebook is still unblocked on some of the PCs, time to get their priorities straight, it's in their best interest ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭Popple3

Oh yeah... I forgot Boards is blocked in AIT. Ah well, I only use my laptop and a 3G connection anyway, so I can post in class :P

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

Wewt, AIT, here I come (hopefully)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭SilverScreen

Yes finally! I remember the good old days in first year when boards.ie wasn't blocked.

Of course you can still browse on the canteen wi-fi ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭teaholic

Heading back to AIT this year! Can't wait! Scribbles here I come!! and class, must remember to go to class!!

Popple3 wrote: »
    Of course you can still browse on the canteen wi-fi ;)

Before I left the WiFi was down, and had been for the entire YEAR!! Was it fixed? I know that Comps running Vista couldnt connect but XP could. Was this rectified?

It seemed to be pretty pot-luck with the canteen WiFi over the last year. I think there was a limited number of IP addresses in the DHCP pool, and there was too many laptops connecting, so once they were all taken, that was it for anyone else looking to connect.

As for Vista (and Win7), I think that was finally solved

The college WiFi was decent enough last year, it actually worked with Vista and you could download torrents all day. The year before only a few websites would load, google, boards.ie, herald.ie and a few others. It was a pain the the hole.

Ah fair enough! Think I just might take advantage again this year so! Didnt bother heading in last year to use it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

When we get back, we should force change and get Boards unblocked. I suggest we protest from Scribes :D

I completly agree!! Give Andy and Colin something to look forward to!! :rolleyes:

teaholic wrote: »
    I completly agree!! Give Andy and Colin something to look forward to!! :rolleyes:

Who ?

ColeTrain wrote: »
    Who ?

The two lads who have the bar! :eek: How often have you been in there??!!

Wouldn't know the staff, mostly tend to be in there when the place is packed. Bad sign you know them :)

I worked there a couple of years ago, so its safe to say I know them! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭Dioza

AIT on 20th september, looking forward to it :) About time FAS brought me back to an IT

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

I already got a reply back from the head of AIT. They're going to look into the matter. So hopefully they'll unblock it sooner rather than later :)

Awesomesauce!

Hopefully they'll do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭angelxx

Great to see this forum up and running, Starting in A.I.T. next month!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,513 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

I worked there a couple of years ago, so its safe to say I know them! :D

Is Dave still not running the show there ?

Damn, I haven't been into Scribes in ages, but I swore I saw him still walking about the place

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

This is my final year sadly. I could be back for some other course though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭BlueNemo

As of 6am this morning, I'm now an AIT student :D

(Sorry I wanted to broadcast my CAO results somewhere)

BlueNemo wrote: »
    As of 6am this morning, I'm now an AIT student :D

(Sorry I wanted to broadcast my CAO results somewhere)
    Congrats Blue Nemo!
    Got my first choice, Can't wait to start in A.I.T.

angelxx wrote: »
    Congrats Blue Nemo!
    Got my first choice, Can't wait to start in A.I.T.

High 5? :D

High 5 :D

God that was the longest night ever, I was on the leaving cert forum for
    8 hours, It was well worth it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭- bo -

Congratulations both of ye, hope yous have a blast and a successful time in AIT :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭Conor_M1990

Going to AIT Feel sorry for ye that kip :D ah no only messin congrats on the results you'll have a ball

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

Waiting to hear of my CAO results way back was the most anxious wait I ever had. I was working and the parents told me, "Sorry you didn't get a course!" :(, then half an hour later they rang back, "Oh sorry, we read it wrong. You got your first choice!" :D Great success!!! I left work and took off home after that as I was going nuts with the excitment.

7 of the best years ever. :p

High 5 :D

God that was the longest night ever, I was on the leaving cert forum for
    8 hours, It was well worth it though.

*high 5's*
    Me too! Haha well, long night, but thank god that's over :pac:Accomodation hunt time!:rolleyes:

*high 5's*
    Me too! Haha well, long night, but thank god that's over :pac:Accomodation hunt time!:rolleyes:

Check out the apartments near Londis and Williow Park.

I have no idea what's near Londis:o

It's just across from the College and up the road a bit. You'll be delighted to know that Genesis, the student nightclub is just across the road. Not far to crawl home to bed :P There's an offlicense for a good night in, a pharmacy for the hangover and a restaurant too. All an aspiring student needs.

- bo - wrote: »
    Congratulations both of ye, hope yous have a blast and a successful time in AIT :)
    Going to AIT Feel sorry for ye that kip :D ah no only messin congrats on the results you'll have a ball

Thanks a million lads :)
    Waiting to hear of my CAO results way back was the most anxious wait I ever had. I was working and the parents told me, "Sorry you didn't get a course!" :(, then half an hour later they rang back, "Oh sorry, we read it wrong. You got your first choice!" :D Great success!!! I left work and took off home after that as I was going nuts with the excitment.
    :p
    7 of the best years ever. :p

That must have been terrible, I would have killed my parents lol
    *high 5's*

Congrats again blue nemo, I have literally looked everywhere for
    accomadation. Croi oige is across from londis it's nice.
    PM for the number if your interested.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Gratz to both of you!

It's just across from the College and up the road a bit. You'll be delighted to know that Genesis, the student nightclub is just across the road. Not far to crawl home to bed :P There's an offlicense for a good night in, a pharmacy for the hangover and a restaurant too. All an aspiring student needs.

Genesis is a kip tho last year tho they had a good offer 20 euro at the door and free drink all night dunno if there doing it again this year

Gratz to both of you!

Thanks Cherryghost, Thanks for setting up this forum too. I have recieved
    so much helpful information here.

Thanks Cherryghost, Thanks for setting up this forum too. I have recieved
    so much helpful information here.
    me too! thank god for this forum or i'd be totally lost!

Congrats again blue nemo, I have literally looked everywhere for
    accomadation. Croi oige is across from londis it's nice.
    PM for the number if your interested.
    you too! :)
    Thanks, I rang them today and I;m going to check it out tomorrow, fingers crossed eh! haha
    I think I'm going to go with Croi Oige :rolleyes:

Thanks Blue Nemo, The girl will also show you buckleys across from the college as
    they own both as far as I know. I'm sure you will really like them. Good luck!

Genesis is a kip tho last year tho they had a good offer 20 euro at the door and free drink all night dunno if there doing it again this year
    They certainly won't be. They got in huge trouble over that for breaching MEAS guidelines.

Karma is grand, but when its packed, it's a bloody nightmare to try and get to the bar and walk around without getting shoved about the place and having drink poured on ya.

Q is better though. Nice and spacious and no worries about the bar. Should anyone comment on the crowd in Q, they must have been too plastered to notice that the crowd in karma can be just as bad, but in a confined space.

The nightclubs don't sound like to much fun, Q appears to be the best.
    What pubs/bars are most popular amongst the students?

Q is a good night club. You'll enjoy it.

Karma > Q > Genesis

I definitely prefer Karma to Q nowdays. Karma has a more nicer, open and spacious smoking area compared to Q's cramped and claustrophobic one. There's a slightly older and nicer crowd in Karma while the crowd in Q tends to be younger and more annoying ;). Music-wise Karma has live bands regularly as well as the usual DJs so they do their best to cater for everyone's musical tastes.

Oh and there's Genesis as well... which smells like a mixture of stale beer, sweat and vomit and is as dull as a dishwasher. Only go there if you're really drunk enough and never, EVER go in there sober.

Come on Q is huge. I DJ a bit myself and the DJ in karma is not great but he isn't awful either. I wouldn't mind the size of the smoking garden in Q, more intimate :D

Zero1986 wrote: »
    Karma > Q > Genesis

I definitely prefer Karma to Q nowdays. Karma has a more nicer, open and spacious smoking area compared to Q's cramped and claustrophobic one. There's a slightly older and nicer crowd in Karma while the crowd in Q tends to be younger and more annoying ;). Music-wise Karma has live bands regularly as well as the usual DJs so they do their best to cater for everyone's musical tastes.

Oh and there's Genesis as well... which smells like a mixture of stale beer, sweat and vomit and is as dull as a dishwasher. Only go there if you're really drunk enough and never, EVER go in there sober.

Hammer Nail Head

Im the same man always thought Q was way overated Its not a bad spot just does be too packed outta it and you cant really Relex in it and its also easy enough to lose people in it that and you cant go out to the smoking area with people trying to bum fags outta ye

Genesis is a rip off aswell for want ye get

Dont worry loads to do by the end of the year you'll all be in AA :D

Is Dave still not running the show there ?

Damn, I haven't been into Scribes in ages, but I swore I saw him still walking about the place

If you mean the bouncer dave, ya he is still around. Hes in the palace too some weekends I think.

Zero1986 wrote: »
    They certainly won't be. They got in huge trouble over that for breaching MEAS guidelines.

They used plenty of tricks that night too. Hardly any bar staff so you had to wait longer. When you asked for JD coke they poured the coke from a bottle. Still despite that got fairly wrecked.