Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Driver theory test

• 11-08-2010 8:44am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 29

Hey,I hope someone can help me out.

I have my drivers theory test soon, the car/tractor and work vehicles test. Which parts of the question book do I not need to learn? :confused: I'm confused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭ams

I think you need to learn them all - the test is pretty random so anything can come up! If you go through the book/cdrom a few times you'll be grand!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 me8989

Thanks :) But have heard people say there's 800 QN's to learn- the CD rom has 1300 and something questions.. That's how I figured I didn't need to learn them all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

If you have the CD, keep doing the mock test for cars and that should set you up fine.
    I think you only need to learn the Car and the general section which apples to all vehicles.
    You don't need to learn the bike, tractor, HGV sections. There's a pretty big bike section which has questions specific to bikers and i'm sure you won't get asked that in the car theory test. Same should go for the sections specific to vehicles you are not doing the test for (tractors, hgvs etc.).

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

You do need to know the tractors section. It is the one theory test for both B (cars) and W (work vehicles including tractors).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭CylonYoda

ams wrote: »
    I think you need to learn them all - the test is pretty random so anything can come up! If you go through the book/cdrom a few times you'll be grand!

According to the Theory test website in the FAQS secion:

There are four separate driver theory test categories: Motorcycles and Mopeds (Category AM), Cars and Work vehicles and Land Tractors (Category BW), Heavy Goods Vehicles (Category C) and Buses (Category D).

Does this mean I only have to learn the sections in the book relevant to what test I want (car) or like you said learn them all? Will I be asked on category C or D if I only want category BW?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

CylonYoda wrote: »
    According to the Theory test website in the FAQS secion:

There are four separate driver theory test categories: Motorcycles and Mopeds (Category AM), Cars and Work vehicles and Land Tractors (Category BW), Heavy Goods Vehicles (Category C) and Buses (Category D).

Does this mean I only have to learn the sections in the book relevant to what test I want (car) or like you said learn them all? Will I be asked on category C or D if I only want category BW?

Just learn the BW section. You won't be asked from the other section. The questions in the other sections are very specific to the vehicles. You don't need to know about nearside, farside, command positioning of your bike for the car test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Lyra Fangs

You just have to go as far as around question 851. I know that's oddly specific but I just recently did my test so I know the sections pretty well. At the top of each question is a code e.g. BW110909, when you reach a point where that changes to, for example W090909, then you can stop because you've covered everything you need to know and what remains is irrelevant to your test.

Hope this helps!
    And good luck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 me8989

Thanks lyra -I'm finished learning, I've literally learned each one, keep getting 39/40's in the mock, so I'm confident I'll pass. Test is tomorrow :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭mambo

I got the CD-ROM, and got the necessary 35/40 on my first try (as most of the questions are just common sense), though I got below it on some subsequent attempts. With some practice I was able to 35 or over on maybe 9/10 attempts by the time of the test. That said, I'm in my 30s so even though I've never driven, I would have a good idea of a lot of the answers through years of experience on the roads with someone else driving, and could guess a lot of others through common sense.

But there are some questions that you would not guess, where you just have to learn off the answers. In particular, make sure you know stopping distances in both dry and wet weather, at both 50km/h and 100km/h.

The CD-ROM is good in that it is in the same format as the actual test, but it falls down in some key areas. For example, there's no way to practice only those questions that you have not been asked yet, or only those questions you got wrong in the past. So as you do more and more practice tests, and end up with say 90% of the c. 800 questions covered, the chances of the remaining 10% of questions coming up in a practice test are very low (i.e. you'll typically get only 4 NEW questions in a practice test of 40 questions), so you'll see the same old questions come up again and again, which gets boring.

You can also do a practice section by category, but again the questions come up at random, and the same questions seem to be repeated again and again, with only occasionally one that you haven't seen before.

And the "Analyse Performance" section of the CD-ROM didn't work at all for me! It kept saying it had insufficient data to work off, even though I had done loads of practice tests.

Doing the test (at Barrow St in Dublin) was fine, though the woman on reception was rather serious and "matter of fact". After my test she just said "Now, sign here please" on some form. No "You've passed" or "Congratulations" or anything like that. I know she probably deals with hundreds of people and day and the fact that you have passed your test is no big deal to her, but it may be a big deal to you, and it's nice to actually told you've passed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭leedslad

My son has his theory test booked for tomorrow but is getting cold feet as his mocks aren't going too well.Tried rescheduling the test but cant get date before the Apr 4th cut off.Just wondered, if the original test was for before the 4th and he sits the test after the cut off,does this mean he still has to have the 12 hours of lessons or not?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

leedslad wrote: »
    My son has his theory test booked for tomorrow but is getting cold feet as his mocks aren't going too well.Tried rescheduling the test but cant get date before the Apr 4th cut off.Just wondered, if the original test was for before the 4th and he sits the test after the cut off,does this mean he still has to have the 12 hours of lessons or not?

Yes, he would still have to do the 12 hours of lessons!

It's the issue date of your Learner Permit, and you can apply for the Learner Permit any time up to 2 years after passing the theory test. So he would need to pass the theory test, and apply for the Learner Permit early so that it is issued before April 4th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭Kevin!

Yes, he would still have to do the 12 hours of lessons!

It's the issue date of your Learner Permit, and you can apply for the Learner Permit any time up to 2 years after passing the theory test. So he would need to pass the theory test, and apply for the Learner Permit early so that it is issued before April 4th.

Do you have to be 17 to apply for a learners permit?

How long does it generally take from passing your test to recieving your permit, assuming you apply straightaway?
    I always thought that if you passed your theory test, that you left the centre with your permit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

Thanks for that Permabear, sat it today at Topaz,Donegal didn't get the required 35, fell 3 short

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭ash.c

same as me, i got 32 this morning, looks like we'll all be going by the new rules :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭Dontfadeaway

ash.c wrote: »
    same as me, i got 32 this morning, looks like we'll all be going by the new rules :(

That sucks. I have mine soon, really worried about it. Did they tell you which ones you failed on? Is the exam different from the cd you can practice on?

You get a printout showing the number of questions you failed, and in which category they were in, but the actual questions are not identified.

The exam is almost exactly like the CD-ROM, but the "look & feel" is a little bit different. And you can do it using a mouse, or touch-screen.

mambo wrote: »
    You get a printout showing the number of questions you failed, and in which category they were in, but the actual questions are not identified.

The exam is almost exactly like the CD-ROM, but the "look & feel" is a little bit different. And you can do it using a mouse, or touch-screen.

Thanks. Thats good it's like the cd rom, hope i don't get too many tricky ones. I keep getting 38 - 40 on the cd rom, if i can do that on the day, i'll be very happy.

Did you pass yours?

I got 39/40, still not sure which I got wrong, had to guess a couple! I had covered about 75% of the questions on the CD-ROM, so I know there'd be a few I would have to guess, but most of those were fairly obvious.

You did well. I think i have covered nearly everything on the cd rom, you don't have to learn the motorbike section, do you? I seen someone on an old thread say they got asked something to do with a motorbike which kinda put me off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,401 ✭✭✭✭x Purple Pawprints x

I have to say I never came across anything about motorbikes. I got the CD and just kept doing the mock tests over and over and over... You get the picture. I still managed to fail it first time around, I got 33 - 2 under the pass mark. :rolleyes: Did it again about a month later and got 37. :D

Jane_LS_88 wrote: »
    I have to say I never came across anything about motorbikes. I got the CD and just kept doing the mock tests over and over and over... You get the picture. I still managed to fail it first time around, I got 33 - 2 under the pass mark. :rolleyes: Did it again about a month later and got 37. :D

Ok thats cool then, thanks. 37 is great, would be happy with 35.

Hi, was trying to book the young fella to resit his theory test today 22/3/11.
    Couldn't get a date at any of the three Donegal test centres for any time between now and 4/4/11. I've fired off an email to the RSA as they seem to be the driving force behind this.Spoke to an employee of DTT at Togher Co. Cork and although apologetic, said there wasn't much he could do about no test slots.Does anyone else find this unacceptable or am i being unreasonable?Find it hard to fathom that he cant resit his exam anywhere in the county in the next two weeks.Any chance they may push the April 4th date outwards?

Hi, was trying to book the young fella to resit his theory test today 22/3/11.
    Couldn't get a date at any of the three Donegal test centres for any time between now and 4/4/11. I've fired off an email to the RSA as they seem to be the driving force behind this.Spoke to an employee of DTT at Togher Co. Cork and although apologetic, said there wasn't much he could do about no test slots.Does anyone else find this unacceptable or am i being unreasonable?Find it hard to fathom that he cant resit his exam anywhere in the county in the next two weeks.Any chance they may push the April 4th date outwards?

It seems to be that way everywhere. I think everyone is trying to get it done before the new rule comes in. I'd say your only chance now is a cancellation. I'd keep checking the site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭ash.c

having failed on monday, i managed to get another appt for saturday in barrow stret, dont know how but i did :) IF i pass, does anyone know if i go up to the tax office on monday to get the licence will i get it there and then or will they send it out and will it be before the 4th? and do i have to be there in person to get it or can i send my mam up with all the forms??

The page at
    http://www.dublincity.ie/RoadsandTraffic/DrivingLicences/pages/learnerdrivingpermit.aspx
    doesn't mention you can call in in person, but you can. They would certainly be able to renew a license while you wait, I presume you can do the same for a learner permit. But you might have to be there in person.

Ye can have all the forms filled in ready to hand over, make sure you have your eye test done and have the form with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

having failed on monday, i managed to get another appt for saturday in barrow stret, dont know how but i did :)

Best of luck with that Ash!

Did my test a few hours ago, i passed :D got 40/40, delighted.

Nice one! Get straight to the Motor Tax Office pronto with your paperwork!

Faith+1 wrote: »
    Nice one! Get straight to the Motor Tax Office pronto with your paperwork!

I am first thing in morning. Hope it's time enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭Liathroidi Dana

Have my Theory in the morning. If I post it off on the same day, will it go through on time?

Thanks... shouldn't have left it so late.

Have my Theory in the morning. If I post it off on the same day, will it go through on time?

Thanks... shouldn't have left it so late.

Good luck. Do you have your eye test done? If you can drop it in to tax office, it might be better than posting it.

Eye test...S**t...

Ok I wear glasses, but its been two years since I'v gotten my eyes tested... will that be grand no?

Oh god why did I leave it so late!

Eye test...S**t...

Ok I wear glasses, but its been two years since I'v gotten my eyes tested... will that be grand no?

Oh god why did I leave it so late!

I really don't know, i think you may still need to have the test. Maybe try get it tomorrow?

Ok thanks anyway mate.

Yea I'm gonna try get it done before the weekend. Should be ok.

No prob, good luck :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭dubdub123

Hi
    I've just been trawling the theorytest site and I cannot find a slot ANYWHERE in the country before april 4th!! I have tried all of the following test centres, as below (individually... so much fun).

Are there any other centres? Does anyone know if there will be extra slots made available or if there may be slots allocated for phone bookings only??

Also, if you were to get a slot, pass and bring all paperwork to the tax office, would they honour the date if it's before april 4th? thanks !

abbeyfeale
    Athlone
    Ballina
    cahirciveen
    Carlow
    carrick-on-shannon
    Castlerea
    Cavan
    charleville
    Clifden
    clonmel (cahir)
    cork
    derrybeg
    donegal
    drogheda
    dublin (central)
    dublin (central) 2
    dublin (north)
    dundalk
    Ennis
    Galway
    Kilkenny
    killarney
    letterkenny
    Limerick
    Longford
    macroom
    monaghan
    mullingar
    Naas
    Navan (Kells)
    Nenagh
    portlaoise
    skibbereen
    Sligo
    tralee
    Tullamore
    waterford
    Westport
    wexford
    wicklow
    youghal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

dubdub123 wrote: »
    Hi
    I've just been trawling the theorytest site and I cannot find a slot ANYWHERE in the country before april 4th!! I have tried all of the following test centres, as below (individually... so much fun).

Are there any other centres? Does anyone know if there will be extra slots made available or if there may be slots allocated for phone bookings only??

Also, if you were to get a slot, pass and bring all paperwork to the tax office, would they honour the date if it's before april 4th? thanks !

All that matters is the date that gets printed on your Learner Permit. This is not necessarily the day you apply! You could apply on the 1st of April and still end up with a Permit dated the 4th.

I know people who struggled to get dates for the theory test in the last month. You'd be doing very well to get a test imo.

But best of luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭Shellygoose

The Theory Test centres have been booked solid for the last 2 weeks. The only way you will get an available slot between now and the 4th (or should i say the 1st cos no point doing your test on the 4th as the new rules will apply anyway) is if a cancellation becomes available and at this stage i doubt it cos everyone wants to keep their appointment.

There are no slots allocated for phone bookings only. The booking line and website work off the same system. Its a live booking system so any cancellations will show up immediately. There isnt a cancellation list that you can be put on.

Dubdub123 - there are no additional test centres...you listed them all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭AssaultedPeanut

Got 33 this morning :( damn it to hell and back. New rules for me it is :(

F*ck Man, Sorry to hear that.:(

:( that sucks

Young fella got 39/40 yesterday in Donegal.All paperwork done and handed into motor office same day.When i asked when it would be processed/ready she told me today(Wed).I said i would call in and pick it up,but she said it HAD to be posted out.I got this retest booked by calling DTT in Togher Co.Cork.When he offered this slot,I was online at the time and it wasn't showing on Prometric site.Ye could also try ringing the RSA in Ballina Co.Mayo.
    I would encourage anyone who hasn't been able to find a free slot anywhere in their county,to get on to their local County Councillor and try to encourage the RSA to move the Apr 4th date outwards to allow people to get their learner permit without having to resort to 12 hours of lessons

Young fella got 39/40 yesterday in Donegal.All paperwork done and handed into motor office same day.When i asked when it would be processed/ready she told me today(Wed).I said i would call in and pick it up,but she said it HAD to be posted out.I got this retest booked by calling DTT in Togher Co.Cork.When he offered this slot,I was online at the time and it wasn't showing on Prometric site.Ye could also try ringing the RSA in Ballina Co.Mayo.
    I would encourage anyone who hasn't been able to find a free slot anywhere in their county,to get on to their local County Councillor and try to encourage the RSA to move the Apr 4th date outwards to allow people to get their learner permit without having to resort to 12 hours of lessons

Congrats

The RSA have given plenty of time for people to get their learner permit before the 4th of April. As usual there is a minority of people who say "We need more time, I didn't know etc etc..." So let's just say the RSA move it to the 1st of September, we'd be in the exact situation again with people complaining, yada yada yada.

If people are too young to get their permit or haven't got their affairs in order before the 4th then tough. The driver testing system has to be changed and whether we like it or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Thompson_2009

Hi lads,
    need a bit of help here. Thinking of learning to drive at the moment as I've turned 17. Obviously Im going to be learning after the 4th of April so Im aware I'll be subject to the new rules. What I want to know is, is there any change in theory test? My mates did theres a month ago so will I have the same test as them or is there any changes been made to the theory test?

Cheers

Faith+1 wrote: »
    The RSA have given plenty of time for people to get their learner permit before the 4th of April. As usual there is a minority of people who say "We need more time, I didn't know etc etc..." So let's just say the RSA move it to the 1st of September, we'd be in the exact situation again with people complaining, yada yada yada.

If people are too young to get their permit or haven't got their affairs in order before the 4th then tough. The driver testing system has to be changed and whether we like it or not.

When ye say "plenty of time". Do you mind me asking when you first heard about the changes?(without googling to find out)What i'm saying is that on the 18th March, I tried to book a retest, there were none available at any of the three test centres in Donegal from 18mar-4apr.

I heard about this last September/October. So I'd hardly call roughly 6-7 months little time to get your learner permit.

In all fairness what do you expect when you try and book a re-test on the 18th March? Of course the system is going to be booked out with people trying to get their licence before the 4th?