Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Famous people you are related to?

• 10-08-2010 7:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 362 ✭✭

Well?

Maurice o'Donoghue is a second cousin of mine,my mams first cousin.

father-dick-byrne.jpg

dick_byrne.JPG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 330 ✭✭Maja

Wow, I am impressed. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

Mad Dog Coll

Graham Lee- Jockey
    Greg Cunningham- Man City
    Dean Mernagh- Flat Jockey(lower end- now retired)

All my second cousins, but all 1st cousins between themselves, i wouldnt really know any of them though tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭m83

Eddie Irvine is my first cousin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

How is this related to Galway? Also do criminals count!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 362 ✭✭Mr.Mister

Wompa1 wrote: »

Cos we are Galway living?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭gaillimhabu

Eric Elwood. Fair distance out though

Wompa1 wrote: »

OOOHHHH i see what you did there....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Steven Higgins is my cousin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Tzetze

All of them. Gotta go wayyyy back to trace the connection though. cba, tbh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Graham Lee- Jockey
    Greg Cunningham- Man City
    Dean Mernagh- Flat Jockey(lower end- now retired)

All my second cousins, but all 1st cousins between themselves, i wouldnt really know any of them though tbh.

I work with Jason, sound skin:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Clemon

Dog the Bounty Hunter is my dads 1st cousin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭siltirocker

Does yourself count??? ;) Ah no. :P

An auditor with the ESCB (who has ****ed over the Spanish), A Mercury prize nominee, an World Championship/(would have been if not for injury over there Olympic) rower, Chief Ambassador to the Special Olympics when they were here in '03, a British comedian with a posh accent, and a disgraced proprietor.

Only one from Galway though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭Flojo

Martin Keown (Mams side)
    Christy Dignam (Dads side)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

John Ford (director), by marriage though.

ford1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭dapto1

Does yourself count??? ;) Ah no. :P

An auditor with the ESCB (who has ****ed over the Spanish), A Mercury prize nominee, an World Championship/(would have been if not for injury over there Olympic) rower, Chief Ambassador to the Special Olympics when they were here in '03, a British comedian with a posh accent, and a disgraced proprietor.

Only one from Galway though.

Stretching the word "famous" there a bit with some of them...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

My uncle owns Caulfield's. Only people in Galway would know what that is! Kinda makes me 1/3 famous maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,155 ✭✭✭PopeBuckfastXVI

I'm famous on teh interwebz.

dapto1 wrote: »
    Stretching the word "famous" there a bit with some of them...

I don't :confused:. And I feel pretty confident you'd know all their names and some might have negative feelings on one or two - hence the no names bit. One or two may not be celebrities but most Tom, Dick and Harrys would know their names.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭cranky bollix

Steven Higgins is my cousin

oh you poor bastard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

oconaire.jpg

Padraic O'Conaire, first cousin of my great grandfathers, apparantely he used to come to the house we live in now but they always hated to see him coming as he'd fall asleep and spill the ashes from his pipe onto their carpet.
    Also, they used to look down their noses at him as he was seen as a bit of a knacker, selling twine at the side of the road and that sort of thing.
    He had the last laugh, he got a feckin statue of himself built

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Remember when his head was "Slashed" off his statue?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Remember when his head was "Slashed" off his statue?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭hairyfairy00

wolverine14.jpg&sa=X&ei=SP5iTPauAdTNjAf2tZCHCQ&ved=0CAQQ8wc&usg=AFQjCNEiu9IEHO15HY4uKVDZH40NoYK9sw

My godfather Cathal Dodd (fathers 1st cousin) did the voice of Wolverine also his brother Rory Dodd sang with Meatloaf and he's the guy that sings "Turn around, bright eyes" lyrics on Bonnie Tyler's version of "Total Eclipse of the Heart."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 elcy86

Nobody famous ... I know someone who is related to Charlie Chaplin though. That would be quite cool!!

wolverine14.jpg&sa=X&ei=SP5iTPauAdTNjAf2tZCHCQ&ved=0CAQQ8wc&usg=AFQjCNEiu9IEHO15HY4uKVDZH40NoYK9sw

My godfather Cathal Dodd (fathers 1st cousin) did the voice of Wolverine also his brother Rory Dodd sang with Meatloaf and he's the guy that sings "Turn around, bright eyes" lyrics on Bonnie Tyler's version of "Total Eclipse of the Heart."

"LET'S GO BUB!!!!!!!!!!!" awesome dude! I am happy i know that! Fcukin' class!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Niall Tobin is my Granddads cousin.

Michael Maurice O'Shaughnessy is my Great Great Grand-Uncle (San Francisco City Engineer, built the Hetch-Hetchy dam)

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    Michael Maurice O'Shaughnessy is my Great Great Grand-Uncle (San Francisco City Engineer, built the Hetch-Hetchy dam)

Don't break my dam. My hetch hetchy dam. I just don't think it'd understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭sealgaire

Fr Cavanagh - Parish priest of Knock at the time of the apparition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

sealgaire wrote: »
    Fr Cavanagh - Parish priest of Knock at the time of the apparition

Was he your dad?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Grace Kelly was my mam's mam's cousin or something like that. Me thinks the connection is tenuous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭Elenxor

None....I'd care to mention!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭LoanShark

My youngest Sister-In-Law is well known around the town...... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Chuck Manson on my Mother's side. Mother Theresa on my Father's side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

Don't break my dam. My hetch hetchy dam. I just don't think it'd understand.

Also invented the Cross Joint

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Richard Corrigan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

The bloke who played Lord Humongous in Mad Max 2 is my grandfather

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭hamsterboy

JFK on me dad's side.
    Queen Elizabeth on me mums......

Not jokin!!!

HB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭Archeron

The Nolan sisters on my mums side.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Seamus Mallon (SDLP) on my mother's side.
    Jimmy White (by marriage) on my father's side.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Australopithecus Africanus

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

The bloke that played Mondo in Fair city... is my da's cousin's son...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Zeus aka Liam Neeson. My aunt married his 1st cousin :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭rorymagory

Geordan Murphy is my old mans cousins nephew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

I may be related to the Corrs. Who knows. My dad is also called Jim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Brian Boru :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Christy Brown is my grannys cousin. :cool:

I shít you not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭phill106

The bloke who played Lord Humongous in Mad Max 2 is my grandfather

Looks like he was in some other stuff too

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kjell_Nilsson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Dean09 wrote: »
    Christy Brown is my grannys cousin. :cool:

I shít you not!

Reading your posts, I don't doubt it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

ntlbell wrote: »
    Reading your posts, I don't doubt it :pac:

Aw :(
    that hurt.

Not really,.. I'll kick your ass......

...with my left foot :pac: