Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fleadh in Cavan

• 09-08-2010 10:39pm
    Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭

Starts Monday...shall be a mighty week of music, craic and massive amounts of drink...:D

So anybody going to it?? Definitely worth it I think even for a few days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

cavans like narnia, you have to go through a wardrobe to get to it.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

Zombienosh wrote: »
    cavans like narnia, you have to go through a wardrobe to get to it.
    it's called Longford...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 524 ✭✭✭gagiteebo

I'm from Cavan. I don't live there anymore but go home to visit. Even the Fleadh won't make the place bearable :P Enter at your own risk :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

I can't go - I'm away. Absolutely gutted, know a good few people competing.
    (Best of luck to anyone who is btw).

Wish I was going :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

I don't go to Cavan unless absolutely necessary and vital.

Last time i was there i was scarred for life. Literally!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭strokemyclover

Shouldn't it be renamed "flahavan"? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Whats a Fleadh?

It's the Fleadh Cheoil, a traditional music competition. The Cavan fleadh's the All-Ireland finals (the first round is the regionals, then the provincials), entrants are from Ireland/NI, Britain, the US and possibly a few from the continent.

Should be a good week

It has a Wikipedia page it seems...:)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fleadh_Cheoil

alwaysadub wrote: »
    I don't go to Cavan unless absolutely necessary and vital.

Last time i was there i was scarred for life. Literally!

Don't badmouth the place, without some detail of a story...:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭GizAGoOfYerGee

A pointless festival for a small minority. More money wasted trying to promote a dead culture that has no relevance to modern Ireland, just like teaching "Irish" in schools.

The sooner Gaelic culture is wiped from Ireland altogether, the better. It´s such a waste of tax payers´ money. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Moved from After Hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭johnr1

A pointless festival for a small minority. More money wasted trying to promote a dead culture that has no relevance to modern Ireland, just like teaching "Irish" in schools.

The sooner Gaelic culture is wiped from Ireland altogether, the better. It´s such a waste of tax payers´ money. :rolleyes:

Aaam- maybe before you mouthed off about taxpayers money you should first check out the funding of a Fleadh......- empty vessels etc...

250,000 people are expected to attend. It's obviously not dead, at all.

Far from being a 'dead culture' Irish traditional music is thriving throughout the world; and the fleadh is a great boost to Cavan's economy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭NoHornJan

Great to hear a bit of sense being spouted out by an intelegent, proud Irishman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭tupac10

Well guys... im heading to the fleadh with friends 20th,21st and 23rd.. So im looking for advice.. Never been to Cavan.. so just wondering good places to go out? nice place to etc. the usually stuff!! any help would great.. cheers :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

Is the Fleadh poster outside the Post Office on the main street still advertising the Fleadh as been 21 days away? It was last Friday when I walked by it :D

Cant see where they are going to fit all the people who are due to attend. Luckilly I will be away for the week of it so will miss all the madness.

With all due respect why was this moved to the Cavan forum when it is a national event?

There is not enough activity in this forum, rarely do people outside Cavan come in here.

Typical. Move it back please.

The Farnham and the Imperial are the niteclubs, both will be open every night I would think. Both are grand and should be good craic, and full.

Loads of pubs in town, most of them are great. You will know by where the crowds go to. Avoid a few like Kittys, the rest are grand.

As for food you have:

Orchard/Side Door in Drumalee - Same building different places, Side Door only does food at evening I think, Orchard during the day

Imperial - Centre of town do good grub usually

Little Sicily - If you can try for directions in the evening, its across the road from Dunnes just into the archway and to the right, fantastic food. Lovely place, could be a bit pricey.

Meadaview - Dublin Rd, it's okay if your out there, not worth going out of your way to.

Farnham Arms - Does good food in centre of town, main st, worth going into the restaurant.

All I can think of now, am sure the rest will be covered by others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,816 ✭✭✭unclebill98

Food:

Black Horse, main st. Great food.
    Kesh, Ballinagh Road. Decent Steaks.
    Casey's, Ballinagh. 10 mins from Cavan town but great food, well known for its steaks.
    Kylmore Hotel. Decent food during the day.

As for the nightclubs, both are crap imho. Imperial is expensive to get into and the music is not exactly night club like.......

McMahon's on the main street, do live bands and I'm sure its going to have music in it all week.

Enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭anotherlostie

I would suspect that for the first time in a long time, it will be necessary to make bookings in a lot of restaurants while the Fleadh is in full swing. The town isn't overrun with places to eat these days (and there's no Subway:D).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 Johnny T

Black Horse Inn for great day-time food. Not bad on a Saturday night. McMahons, McCauls, and Blessings not bad either. All have nice crowds.

Big Apple and Side Door restaurant in Drumalee are fairly good. Ko's do a great chinese on Main St.

Avoid any bars on upper Main St. like the plague. Venture beyond the Imperial if you've a death wish.
    Also avoid Thomas Ash Bar on Ash St. Dirty bar, dirty glasses, and very strange guy working behind the bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭KrazeeEyezKilla

I always liked the Bridge Restaurant beside the Bus Office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭backboiler

Just a word on the music, since you're travelling for a Fleadh you might have an interest in the trad.
    McMahon's and Imperial are disco bar type affairs. More Beyonce than Bothy Band.

On the camp sites, I think there are three of them being set up, one at Terry Coyle gaelic grounds, one at Latt equestrian centre and one somewhere else I can't think of now. Terry Coyle is more or less in the town so would be best for anyone not fancying a journey home to their tent. Latt would probably be 3/4 of an hour's walk or more and the other one was even further away, I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭CavanCrew

Yeah avoid the pubs at the top of the town, around the " mr wongs " area.

The farnham is "kiddiesville" But id say around fleadh time, it will have a mixed crowd..

should be a good buzz about the place! the town scrubs up well! :P

Tbf I think any visitors if they are up around the egg market should certainly try the "Top of the Town" Pub.

Just the neighbouring pubs giving that paticular region a bad name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Dozyart

there is absolutely nothing wrong with them pubs at the top of the town!!Kittys is the only pub id wear a flak jacket into tho!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭sassa

"there is absolutely nothing wrong with them pubs at the top of the town"
    ah a couple are dodgy though to be fair :)

the imperial is a great spot for a bit of grub during the day
    mcmahons is alright for paninis soup and pizzas.
    farnham carvery can be pretty hit and miss
    nightclubs arent much cop but for the week thats in it id say the farnhams standards would pick up think id venture there before the imperial though because if its a busy night you can guarantee it to be overcrowded.
    the vault (formerly mustangs) seems to be an alright pub
    mccauls, mcmahons, the glebe (formerly smith and wilsons) beside easons would probably be a good one too cant say for sure though.
    enjoy your time anyway :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 misslily

really cannot wait for the whole thing to kick off. was in town yesterday helping out and putting up posters and the festival has done the town the world of good. the place is looking absolutely brilliant so it is.

really hope everyone has a great time! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭Adriatic

DB10 wrote: »
    With all due respect why was this moved to the Cavan forum when it is a national event?

There is not enough activity in this forum, rarely do people outside Cavan come in here.

After hours is for everything that hasn't a place to go unlike this thread which has.

I'll be going to the fleadh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 nalorac

Eh is Kitty's the one near Easons? It's a sight to behold, I looked in the open door last week on my way past and saw a guy lacking in the hair and teeth department giving it socks to Poker face and this was 2pm on a random Wednesday.
    lmfao

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,220 ✭✭✭20 Times 20 Times

nope

Sarge wrote: »
    nope

Why?

Pathetic..:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭citycentre

I was in Cavan at the weekend there, the place is looking fantastic - In all my years of going to the Fleadh I've never seen a host town put in such a massive effort to make it the best it can be. Everything from the signage and logos (which are realy well designed) to the campsites and the mad but brilliant canopies covering big chunks of the streets seems really well thought out and professionally done.

I hope it's a huge success, I had my doubts about the Fleadh going to Cavan but the organizers seem to be doing a brilliant job and they deserve a lot of kudos even at this early stage. Now all we need is the weather!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,220 ✭✭✭20 Times 20 Times

Why?

Pathetic..:rolleyes:

take seven days off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭muincav

Sarge wrote: »
    take seven days off

A bit harsh Sarge???:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Carpe Diem

Johnny T wrote: »
    Black Horse Inn for great day-time food. Not bad on a Saturday night. McMahons, McCauls, and Blessings not bad either. All have nice crowds.

Big Apple and Side Door restaurant in Drumalee are fairly good. Ko's do a great chinese on Main St.

Avoid any bars on upper Main St. like the plague. Venture beyond the Imperial if you've a death wish.
    Also avoid Thomas Ash Bar on Ash St. Dirty bar, dirty glasses, and very strange guy working behind the bar.

Agree with most comments apart from the one about the Thomas Ash Bar! This is one of the best pubs in Cavan town, Clean, tidy and well run, with good crowds, music etc. Will be one of the main meeting points for the Fleadh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Carpe Diem

Also for the record its not Thomas Ash, its Thomas Ashe, one of the famed Irish republican volunteers!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭celt262

muincav wrote: »
    A bit harsh Sarge???:confused:

Very harsh and petty.

Anyway things seem to be building up nicely, the town was packed last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 Johnny T

Carpe Diem wrote: »
    Agree with most comments apart from the one about the Thomas Ash Bar! This is one of the best pubs in Cavan town, Clean, tidy and well run, with good crowds, music etc. Will be one of the main meeting points for the Fleadh

Ya must be joking me, "one of the best pubs in Cavan town". Get outta here.
    I'm not a late drinker and wound generally have a couple of pints about 6 or 7 after work and frequented here a few times with mates from work. Would generally head into the Black Horse (best staff and steak sandwidth in town), but tried here a few times just for a change of scene. Maybe I only noticed cos it was empty, (and sober!) but the place was filty. Yer man running it has the conversational skills of a goldfish and looks through ya likes he's possessed. He sort of creeped us out so headed back to the oul reliable, Black Horse. Blessings great spot as well. Good crowd.

Maybe late at night it's a diferent story. Different folks, different strokes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭NoHornJan

Unfortunately I can't make it to the Fleadh this year.
    Heard the town is very well prepared for the event and they have even covered some of the streets with canopies.
    They should have held it on the last weekend in August like it used to be.
    Anyway it should be a great weekend though. Any Boardsies lucky enough to be able to go?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 alanna4

Pretty sad to want any culture to die! The Fleadh will be great no matter where it's on. I'm going on saturday, can't feckin wait :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭Adriatic

I've been to the fleadh a few times this week, passing through it as well. Last night in the Imperial a good few young lads and lassies played cracking trad music and the place swelled. They appeared to be paid by a continuous supply of pints :D.

There was lots on the streets today but I just missed the parade or pageant as it's called through the streets. It appears to be getting busier more and more the closer it gets to the weekend. Saturday should be a whopper!

There are canopies covering sections of main street, while they do not cover it completely they keep the crowd from disappearing into a pub completely when it buckets down.

There's class projections onto the façade of the Ulster Bank in the centre of Cavan town that's very well done. The artist has a live stream of it here: http://john-byrne.ie/castinglight/

Lastly I want a Cavan fleadh hoody tomorrow. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭moonshadow

Thinking of heading tomorrow (from Louth) with the kids is there much music on the streets or entertainment,or is it all in the halls schools??
    cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Bummer1234

moonshadow wrote: »
    Thinking of heading tomorrow (from Louth) with the kids is there much music on the streets or entertainment,or is it all in the halls schools??
    cheers.

Most of the music is on the streets,was down there today and the town is buzzing,Walking down the streets and there's different musicians left right and centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭moonshadow

Bummer1234 wrote: »
    Most of the music is on the streets,was down there today and the town is buzzing,Walking down the streets and there's different musicians left right and centre.

Thats great and just what id hoped for cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Bummer1234

Was gonna start a new thread but seen this so gonna keep it alive,

The fleadh is over and is finished in Cavan, Wondering overall how everyone feels about the three years?, Was it a success?,Was it a nuisance? Whats your verdict?

Myself I really enjoyed it,Music was great and everybody seem to have a good time.

Over to you Derry.

I wasn't there the first year, but I preferred last year to this year, to be honest. It's a shame that it seems to be far more of a piss-up than a music festival/competition. It was still very well organised though, fair play to everyone behind it.

Also, I must say to everyone on this board - genuinely - obviously, I've heard all the stereotypes of Cavan people, but the warm welcome I got from all of the locals was absolutely brilliant, and it's made me want to return to a county I wouldn't have been particularly interested in beforehand.

Will be interesting to see how Derry pans out. I know a lot of people who aren't going next year because of where it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭celt262

brummytom wrote: »
    I wasn't there the first year, but I preferred last year to this year, to be honest. It's a shame that it seems to be far more of a piss-up than a music festival/competition. It was still very well organised though, fair play to everyone behind it.

Its the biggest drinking session in Ireland, but it is good craic.

Whispers going around the Derry dont want it now and that it will be back in Cavan next year. Now i heard that in the barbers so i would say its definately true :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,816 ✭✭✭unclebill98

Any town/city council will give their right arm to host this thing.

Three years of money making hand over fist......

Tbh, the first year was the best year of it. They tried a few things that clearly don't stick with what I perceive trad as being eg the opening night yoke at the cathedral.

Some of the rules placed on pubs did not sit well with a few of the publicans but over all I'm sure they all cleaned up.