Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mondello Jap-Fest Announced--Whos going??

• 09-08-2010 9:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭

Jap-Fest 10 was announced for September 5th just wondering whos going and who is doing what, will there be a Boards presence?? Ill be out for one of the track sessions, just not sure what car ill be in :D Anyone else doing Track? Drag? Drift? Show and Shine? It would be my favourite show of the year, i think it could be made into something EPIC with support, plus the addition of EURO this year really adds a bit of flavour to the mix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Think I may gotta get out on the track :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

i might go Drag but im on a serious hunt for a s70/p100 seirra or something a bit abstract for drifting...

Ill keep hunting, would love a " boards fastest " contest or simular...

ill Photoshop myself first... wish it was like that in real life ! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭Graham_B18C

I might head up for a look, I'll see closer to the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭eire1990

Hopefully it wont be pouring rain like last year drag got canceled was still good though would love to enter some of the races wish i had the car to do it in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭projectgtr

Jesus lads a modified car show and some track time i really thought there would have been more interest in this :rolleyes: All DTD spots are gone cant wait for this, now if only i had money for some new R888s :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,594 ✭✭✭Deano12345

I'll be there, missed last year but I really enjoyed the year before. I'll post up the pictures here (if I get any decent ones :o)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn

Car still in panel beaters getting tidied.

Wont even be close to ready as i still have a few bits needed before i go near a track.

I'm pretty certain I'll be heading up, I doubt I'll enter the car in anything but I'll go up and watch! How much is it to get in?

Looking forward to this now, though i didnt have enough funds for another set of R888`s my spare Proxy PX4`s are going to have to get me through should be interesting :eek: couple of things to do for the day, a little weight reduction and maybe spray my track wheels, jesus i might even wash my car :D
    Deano12345 wrote: »
    I'll be there, missed last year but I really enjoyed the year before. I'll post up the pictures here (if I get any decent ones :o)
    If you get any shots of mine let us know, im out in the last track session :D
    I'm pretty certain I'll be heading up, I doubt I'll enter the car in anything but I'll go up and watch! How much is it to get in?

Not 100% i think its 20 but i could be wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

€20 on the gate, or €15 online at http://www.mondello.ie/cat/product10.htm

Not sure if the current good weather is going to hold till the weekend, RTE weather seemed to allude to it breaking on Friday/Saturday.

Wouldn't mind seeing some time attack and drag racing, not so bothered about the drifting. Anyone have an entry list for time attack & drift events?

Also, it might be worth mentioning this event in the motors forum, I usually post over there rather than the modified motors forum.

Any chance of a link?Tried a search but nothing came back :mad:

projectgtr wrote: »
    Any chance of a link?Tried a search but nothing came back :mad:

Uh, well there is now..

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Right, just got word off mondello that all website/club stands will have an option to let a car on the track for 20 minutes at a cost of 30 euro on top of the 20 euro entry fee.

I am entering a stand into the show on sunday, if anyone want to come on board please drop me a PM today to arrange :)

Lo

If you get any shots of mine let us know, im out in the last track session :D

Sure will, I'll be at Honda Corner for most of the day I'd say, provided the weather stays dry :D

What are you driving so I'll know what to look out for ? :)

There's a pic of his SIR on the Japfest thread on the main motors forum

I'll go have a look now now, thanks Graham

Anyone have a schedule of events? Or even a start time?

I'll be there at jonny24ie's stand (just-custom) and will also be out on the track, hopefully for both sessions :D

Can't miss the noise of me, black EG Civic :pac:

I'll be there at jonny24ie's stand (just-custom) and will also be out on the track, hopefully for both sessions :D

Can't miss the noise of me, black EG Civic :pac:

You would happen to know what time the track sessions are at ? I'm looking at mondello's site but cant see anything :confused:

I think the morning one is 10 and the afternoon one is 1 or 2.

Just seen the timetable in the other thread there (the one in the mains motors forum).

Seems like a busy day ! I'll be there from the start though :D

I'm on the beer tonight but hopefully I'll get to head down for a few hours at about 11 or 12. Looks like it'll be a good day

Sure will, I'll be at Honda Corner for most of the day I'd say, provided the weather stays dry :D

What are you driving so I'll know what to look out for ? :)

forget the other pic, i never got a chance to swap for my track bonnet, but you wont miss the rear trust me :D

minerearbright__dark.jpg

forget the other pic, i never got a chance to swap for my track bonnet, but you wont miss the rear trust me :D

I hope the weather tomorrow is similar to whats its like in that pic there :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭Jack burton

I'm headin up to this in the morning, not driving in it, jsut for a look

any idea wheat time i'd need to get there for?

Edit* Nevermind, i found the timetable

Projectgtr, that's a super pic

It's a super car in person!

Had the pleasure of seeing it out on the track and back in the show itself, and had a nice chat with the man himself for a good while :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

Was a good day! Great fun going round the track with Midnight_EG :D

+1 Great day, it brought a smile to my face when the first car I seen was a Punto GT turbo, followed by projectgtr about 20 seconds later :)

I arrived late so I only have photos from the VERY last track session on wards and some from the paddock.

If you see your cars in any of the photos, let me know.

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=31756752&id=1246233811&ref=fbx_album#!/album.php?id=1246233811&aid=2092002

Ps. about 100 more photos later :D

+1 Great day, it brought a smile to my face when the first car I seen was a Punto GT turbo, followed by projectgtr about 20 seconds later :)

I arrived late so I only have photos from the VERY last track session on wards and some from the paddock.

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=31756752&id=1246233811&ref=fbx_album#!/album.php?id=1246233811&aid=2092002

That was the first track session that the Punto and the SiR were on! I went on on the second :D

And you're profile is private, so I've added you, mind if I nick the pics and host them somewhere else for other private use? :]

Oh...and +1? You didn't come in the car with me...? :P

Never mind on robbing them, just tagging myself and atavan in them now :P

Oh...and +1? You didn't come in the car with me...? :P

:P

I was confused by the timetable saying there was 4 track sessions and thought i had arrived late :o

Yeah you can use them wherever you want, but let me know which ones you want and ill send you the originals, they are much nicer than the FB compressed ones.

Now, to figure out why my profile is private when it shouldnt be :confused:

Edit. Second lot of photos up !

Just in the door, had a great time. Really think im getting the hand of the track though i was seriously missing the R888s and i think it might be time for a clutch upgrade Bit pissed off my camera never recorded but looks like i wasnt the only one.Pity really as i passed some faster cars and would have been good to get some more tips on the footage.

Nice to meet you Midnight-eg, never got your name, sorry i never got the camera to you the big mess up with the track sessions really messed me up, good to see my old car though.

Have to say there was a good mix of cars this year i like the fact Euro cars are now included. USDM really seems to be hitting our shores with a bang.

Mondello need to iron out some parts of the show but well done over all

Yeah the track sessions were messed up i was to head out for session 4 but we were put out first, i cant view your pics are they private?
    Thanks man :D

Yeah the track sessions were messed up i was to head out for session 4 but we were put out first, i cant view your pics are they private?

Thanks man :D

They shouldnt be, but I dont know why they are. I accepted your freind request anyway so you can see them now :)

Anyone else see that Colt that was out for the drag sprints ? It didnt seem to have great traction off the line but once it got going :D

They shouldnt be, but I dont know why they are. I accepted your freind request anyway so you can see them now :)

Anyone else see that Colt that was out for the drag sprints ? It didnt seem to have great traction off the line but once it got going :D

Cool man some nice pics there, brought my camera but took very few shots i was knackered from the early start, could barely string a conversation together.
    I was looking at that colt, sounded crazy id say it was an evo engine but with just fwd???, did you see where the exhaust exited?? Martin Traceys Evo was just EPIC and slaughtered everything in the drag :eek:

Cool man some nice pics there, brought my camera but took very few shots i was knackered from the early start, could barely string a conversation together.
    I was looking at that colt, sounded crazy id say it was an evo engine but with just fwd???, did you see where the exhaust exited?? Martin Traceys Evo was just EPIC and slaughtered everything in the drag :eek:

I didnt see any exhaust, plus it was making some very strange noises in the second of the sprints. Guy behind me was giving out socks about it being so quick :p

The two evo's were just awesome, im surprised I didnt see the TDP R32 there though.

Exhaust of the day award goes to the bozo/rat look silvia though, as awesome as Dean Reillys front bumper one was, I think the Silvia takes it on pure epicness

I didnt see any exhaust, plus it was making some very strange noises in the second of the sprints. Guy behind me was giving out socks about it being so quick :p

The two evo's were just awesome, im surprised I didnt see the TDP R32 there though.

Exhaust of the day award goes to the bozo/rat look silvia though, as awesome as Dean Reillys front bumper one was, I think the Silvia takes it on pure epicness

The exhaust on the colt came out at the front so pretty much off the header :eek:, yeah i was really suprised the TDP Skyline wasnt there, would have loved to see it up against martins evo, exhaust of the day for me was off the green USDM DA Teg the pops of it were so frickin loud my ears still hurt, but that could also be down to driving mine all day stripped out :o

Hopefully the Skyline will be there for the next round of Time attack :D

The orange CRX was pretty insane sounding too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Tefral

Twas a good show, set up the Midnightclub.ie stand, thank god the rain held off by in large.

Show was good but needed something to create some atmosphere cant put my finger on it..

Heres some pics i took

DSCN1073.jpg
    DSCN1070.jpg
    DSCN1069.jpg
    DSCN1068.jpg
    DSCN1067.jpg
    DSCN1066.jpg
    DSCN1065.jpg
    DSCN1064.jpg
    DSCN1063.jpg

DSCN1062.jpg
    DSCN1061.jpg
    DSCN1060.jpg

Ian Missed a bit
    DSCN1059.jpg
    DSCN1058.jpg
    DSCN1057.jpg
    DSCN1074.jpg
    DSCN1075.jpg
    DSCN1076.jpg
    DSCN1077.jpg

DSCN1098.jpg
    DSCN1099.jpg
    DSCN1129.jpg
    DSCN1131.jpg

That GTR...phwor!

It was a V-Spec II Nür, had a load of trophies stacked around it as well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭RobertM

That GTR...phwor!
    I just came twice :o

It was a V-Spec II Nür, had a load of trophies stacked around it as well!

Car of the show for me, nothing really compared after seeing that, one day ill have one

Most definitely, just it's presence was enough to do it!

I had the pleasure of hearing it come in...WOW :eek:!

The man has OCD his name is Ian o Connor, we were riling him up all day telling him he missed a bit. The car is runnng 739bhp on a safemap. Sick. Ian also ownes currently a r32 gtr, r33 gtr and of course this r34. He said he was unimpressed with the Gtr (r35) ha ha what a guy.
    We convinced him to drive it at one of our trackdays in mondello after coming out of Dunlop he was pulling 140mph before the bridge.

yeah myself and a friend were looking at it when my friend asked me would i not prefer a R35 i said not a hope id take this any day the owner over heard us and had a big smile on his face, amazing car, love the colour and the heritage behind it.

Another pic of Ian's R34 for you all to drool over :p

59579_1623173419661_1246233811_31757148_3299086_n.jpg