Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

need a place to stay....pronto

• 09-08-2010 5:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9

Hey im going to galway on wednesday but the thing is that i need a place to stay for 2 nights, I really do, i have no money for a b&b but basically i just dont want to pay for one. im a friendly guy, i swear. So if anyone that lives in or close to the city, is in there 20s, and who doesnt mind taking in a total stranger that they dont know anything about and letting them sleep on the couch for 2 days, doesnt mind doing this please, by all means let me know. im sure you could get to know me before hand. pm me if interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,398 ✭✭✭inisboffin

rightnow wrote: »
    Hey im going to galway on wednesday but the thing is that i need a place to stay for 2 nights, I really do, i have no money for a b&b but basically i just dont want to pay for one. im a friendly guy, i swear. So if anyone that lives in or close to the city, is in there 20s, and who doesnt mind taking in a total stranger that they dont know anything about and letting them sleep on the couch for 2 days, doesnt mind doing this please, by all means let me know. im sure you could get to know me before hand. pm me if interested.

Couchsurfing.com or a hostel, the latter is cheaper than a
    b and b but you don't seem stuck so not sure why you don't want to pay?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,292 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Picx?

otherwise, may I recommend www.hostelworld.com ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 362 ✭✭Mr.Mister

Why can't you stay at your own place?

Posted on 21-7-2010
    Hey everyone, Im an art student and im staying in a house in Wellpark, its right beside the college so its pretty handy and cheap!!! just need some housemates first, if you need a nice, cheap place to stay and want to have fun in a friendly enviornment, sure let me know, laters.:)

Posted on 03-8-2010
    right, ive arranged a house in wellpark (beside the art college) and i need 3 people to live with, if you need a place to stay pm me.

Posted Yesterday:
    hey if anyone still needs a place, give me a shout, im gonna live there so just need the housemates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 rightnow

cause i need to have 3 other people to stay there, can only stay there at the start of september too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 362 ✭✭Mr.Mister

Move here in September so?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭Bob_Harris

You can stay with me.

I'd rather you not sleep on my couch so we'll both have to sleep in the bed. It's a double but I do sleep naked.

im just going on a small holiday seein as i dont have the funds to stay in galway from now to whenever. alright cool bob harris, thats excellent because i sleep naked too, and i do tend to take a big sh*t now and again when im sleeping, but cool.

Aha!

Stay with mates if it's a holiday, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

another one for couchsurfing.com again.
    I met a lad who does it regularly (hosting surfers), meets all sorts of good folk.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

po0k wrote: »
    another one for couchsurfing.com again.
    I met a lad who does it regularly (hosting surfers), meets all sorts of good folk.

They steal the change in the couch sometimes.
    I'm not 100% certain because nobody's certain of the amount of change in their couch but it seemed a bit light on my last bi-monthly couch check.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

im just going on a small holiday seein as i dont have the funds to stay in galway from now to whenever. alright cool bob harris, thats excellent because i sleep naked too, and i do tend to take a big sh*t now and again when im sleeping, but cool.

Wait you don't even have the cash to stay somewhere for two days but you're going on a holiday? Priorities dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭forumfiend

JohnCleary wrote: »
    lol=

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

borrow a tent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 330 ✭✭Maja

This thread just shows how egoistic people have become! :( Nothing like selfless help anywhere anymore. Everything for money... and more wealthy more selfish! I remember the story about how my grandfather who was a driver took home 5 hungarian students -they were hitchhiking and didnt have place to stay -so he took them (to 2 bedroom flat) and let them sleep in the kitchen for few days! After about 10 years one of them talked to my grandfather and invited him for great holidays in Hungary. (he was well prospering business man at that time). Where is this all gone? Hospitality, kindness? Huh? :rolleyes:

Maja wrote: »
    This thread just shows how egoistic people have become! :( Nothing like selfless help anywhere anymore. Everything for money... and more wealthy more selfish! I remember the story about how my grandfather who was a driver took home 5 hungarian students -they were hitchhiking and didnt have place to stay -so he took them (to 2 bedroom flat) and let them sleep in the kitchen for few days! After about 10 years one of them talked to my grandfather and invited him for great holidays in Hungary. (he was well prospering business man at that time). Where is this all gone? Hospitality, kindness? Huh? :rolleyes:

seriously? you'd let a stranger from the internet kip on your sofa?

I'm all about charity, but I've got a healthy dose of self preservation along with that.

also it's not like he doesn't have anywhere to go. He just doesn't want to spring for a b&b. He could stay where he is.

Xiney wrote: »
    seriously? you'd let a stranger from the internet kip on your sofa?

I'm all about charity, but I've got a healthy dose of self preservation along with that.

also it's not like he doesn't have anywhere to go. He just doesn't want to spring for a b&b. He could stay where he is.

-yeah, everyone could "stay where is", but how boring would that be? Yes i would let stranger, just not if i am home alone (and i am at the moment).

well darling, my grandmother always said there's a fine line between bravery and stupidity :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,292 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

-yeah, everyone could "stay where is", but how boring would that be? Yes i would let stranger, just not if i am home alone (and i am at the moment).

You might like to think about what would be causing an Irish person to come here on holiday when s/he hasn't got any friends to be staying with.

(Yes, I am assuming that s/he is Irish: any foreigners would either be using couchsurfing site already if that was their thing, or would have more cop-on than to have started a thread like this!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Nuggles

We once let a troop of German scouts sleep in our shed once. I remember walking in one morning, not knowing they were there, scared the beejasus out of me.

Really must ask the mother how that happened, where she got them from.

Wouldn't let the fella from the internet stay though. He might steal the strimmer or something.

That's an excellent point, Mary.

What kind of freak doesn't have a friend in Galway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭Bob_Harris

God you're so selfish. It's all about you ain't it.

Curse us and our petty, materialistic celtic tiger ways! Thank you, mysticalforeigner, for showing us the error of our ways and creating the possibility of a romantic Ireland that's (almost) dead and gone....

tihi

I can't believe I got lumped in with you Irish on this one. I RESENT THAT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭johndoe99

Sounds like a serial killer to me, whats your tally so far ?

tihi

I can't believe I got lumped in with you Irish on this one. I RESENT THAT

Lol it was unintentional. However won't you get citizenship at some stage?

eligible for it in september.

costs a grand though. dunno if it's worth it.

i. . .i just want a place to stay.... :(

and murder us. yeah, we get it.

can i stay with you xiney. . .. pretty please

eligible for it in september.

costs a grand though. dunno if it's worth it.

Once you get citizenship your beard will turn ginger, fact. I don't know if that makes it worth it to you or not though.

epic lolz. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Don't mind the begrudgers.
    I'm in my dressing gown at the moment, but I'll be right over to pick you up........... right after I listen to a tune or two.

Once you get citizenship your beard will turn ginger, fact. I don't know if that makes it worth it to you or not though.

this may surprise you, but I have an inability to grow facial hair.

no

:( damn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭civis_liberalis

Bob_Harris wrote: »
    You can stay with me.

I'd rather you not sleep on my couch so we'll both have to sleep in the bed. It's a double but I do sleep naked.
    Bagsies if it doesn't work out with OP. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Head The Wall

Women can grow them too 4818996375_26d0e9958b.jpg

well darling, my grandmother always said there's a fine line between bravery and stupidity :P

"Yes i would let stranger, just not if i am home alone (and i am at the moment). "

-can you read? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭telepylus

jesus this thread made my day, so funny. ha, you will see it in the newspaper in a few months time - "The boardsie serial killer that said he just wanted a place to stay"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭TristanPeter

"Yes i would let stranger, just not if i am home alone (and i am at the moment). "

-can you read? :rolleyes:

Fair play to you Maja. That's very good of you. OP sounds dodgy but the sentiment in general is admirable imo.

Ok have to chime in. We are known *globally* as a nation for hospitality here, and I don't think that's unfounded, although it may have lessened in more modern times, as has everywhere. In college I have great stories of being helped by strangers when we were stuck hitching, peole offering beds at music festivals etc. I have also done the same for others, and mostly it all was for the good.
    The OP is not *stuck* nor did he give a great reason for wanting to put some complete stranger *out* by sleeping on their couch or opening their home, the fact that he didn't want to spend 30 quid on 2 nights at a hostel in a HOLIDAY reads as a bit stingy tbh, and most Irish people have an aversion to stinginess.
    He also was a bit misleading (whether intentional or not) in how he represented his circumstances, and when that was highlighted by another poster, that did him no favours. It just read as a bit lazy tbh, and he didn't make a great effort as to why someone should take him in. It's cultural, but he didn't tell a good story! There were no offers to do anything in return (stoppit, I don't mean that! :p) like fix your
    bike or bake you bread or play you music...
    I am on couchsurfing and have hosted and stayed, people who use that system see it as a give and take, seeing new places and making new friends, not a way to save 30 quid, which, unfortunately, is the way the OP presented in his first post IMO.

:) I am not crazy I wouldnt let just anyone at just any circumstances. All I am saying is its a pity people are not doing anything any longer for free in some parts od the world.
    My friend was traveling accros Romania recently (very poor and very beautiful country) and he told me he havent met so many hospitable people anywhere. They would let him sleep even on the floor beside their own beds and they would share their last meal with them even if it was just potatoes! Have you seen this:

http://www.channel4.com/programmes/kevin-mccloud-slumming-it/4od

-if not i recommend it.

Yes we have to be carefu, but we should have trust in people also!
    -and if you think every stranger is a serial killer i feel sorry for you.
    (watching to many news every day and too many horror movies?)

Inisboffin -take it easy. I uderstand all that - just some posts before where like "letting someone to stay over -are you kidding?" and thats all.. ;)

So have you decided to give the OP a place to stay then?

:) I am not crazy I wouldnt let just anyone at just any circumstances. All I am saying is its a pity people are not doing anything any longer for free in some parts od the worldit[/URL]

-if not i recommend it?)

I think peole *are* doing it though Maja, in person, on couchsurfing.com and a few other sites here, but you use respect and instinct, and want to know a little about the person, and the circumstances. You don't let EVERY person stay in your home, just like you don't let every random Internet poster in either! Doesn't mean it is not still happening all over Ireland and the world. You are right that we should stay open to this, but we should also trust our instincts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,155 ✭✭✭PopeBuckfastXVI

I think it's more like - would you let some random troll from teh interwebz stay? You must be joking.

I'd say get back on topic, but it's a troll thread anyway - so have at it, just keep it friendly :)

/moderation.

-another one who cant read.. :rolleyes:

I find it hard to have a proper discussion about any subject here. People dont read with understanding and have no distance. Most of you just take everything too straight away!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,673 ✭✭✭s_carnage

Don't you know she would only she unconveniently is on her own at home at the moment.
    Darn how unlucky.....

-another one who cant read.. :rolleyes:

I find it hard to have a proper discussion about any subject here. People dont read with understanding and have no distance. Most of you just take everything too straight away!

That sentence doesn't make any sense. Regardless, it does seem slightly....insincere to keep criticising people on this board and the country as a whole for not taking in strangers then not offering your own place for the OP to stay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭onemorechance

s_carnage wrote: »
    Don't you know she would only she unconveniently is on her own at home at the moment.
    Darn how unlucky.....

But it seems she is open to letting a random stranger stay in her home once her house mates return! Could we sticky this? Free Galway accomodation.

That sentence doesn't make any sense. Regardless, it does seem slightly....insincere to keep criticising people on this board and the country as a whole for not taking in strangers then not offering your own place for the OP to stay.

I belive you know what i mean and if its not exactly how english native speaker would explain it -it doesnt mean you can not understant it. :cool: