Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Teens throwing stones at cars!!

• 08-08-2010 6:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

Hi guys!

So was out for a drive earlier with the hood down as sun was out for a change. Anyone ever encounter kids throwing stones at cars because it happened to me today?

A group of teens hanging out close to a local petrol station decided it would be cool to throw a stone across the road directly at my car. F$cking scum is all i can say! They missed by about an inch but dunno if they were aiming it at me or the car.

Was gonna confront them but probably wouldn't get anywhere and the parents of these scum are probably not people you'd want to deal with. Plus i was so angry at the time i probably would have lost the head and got myself in trouble big time.

What would you do in this case? If it happens again, i'll probably inform the guards but what can they even do in this case?

I think parents should have to pay for any damage that their kids do to another person's property. It's the only way they will learn how to bring up their kids and to teach them a bit of sense and respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

jaffa20 wrote: »
    Hi guys!

So was out for a drive earlier with the hood down as sun was out for a change. Anyone ever encounter kids throwing stones at cars because it happened to me today?

A group of teens hanging out close to a local petrol station decided it would be cool to throw a stone across the road directly at my car. F$cking scum is all i can say! They missed by about an inch but dunno if they were aiming it at me or the car.

Was gonna confront them but probably wouldn't get anywhere and the parents of these scum are probably not people you'd want to deal with. Plus i was so angry at the time i probably would have lost the head and got myself in trouble big time.

What would you do in this case? If it happens again, i'll probably inform the guards but what can they even do in this case?

I think parents should have to pay for any damage that their kids do to another person's property. It's the only way they will learn how to bring up their kids and to teach them a bit of sense and respect.

Scum, where was this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

i'd report it to the gardai who may even be able to track them down from petrol station cctv or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

Yep,often see kids throwin stones qt cars, one actually hit the car bfore, luckily no damage. Not worth going after them,car would probably get targetted again. Scum is all they are, there parents too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,313 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

You didn't by chance say Jehovah earlier on in the day did you. If you did I think legally they are entitled to stone you or your property. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

Yeah was thinking about reporting it all right but live close to where it happened so don't wanna make things worse as my car is not in the securist of parking. They also aimed it pretty high so appeared they were trying to hit me rather than the car:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

It's happening more and more. It happened to me at Holyhead last week, some kids up on the cliff next to a monument throwing stones down at the cars waiting to get on board.

It happened to herself's old car near Togher in Cork. She allowed a bunch of kids across a junction, they walked really slowly across to keep her there while 2 friends jumped out of a bush and threw a rock at her windscreen. Great fun eh?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

It's happening more and more. It happened to me at Holyhead last week, some kids up on the cliff next to a monument throwing stones down at the cars waiting to get on board.

It happened to herself's old car near Togher in Cork. She allowed a bunch of kids across a junction, they walked really slowly across to keep her there while 2 friends jumped out of a bush and threw a rock at her windscreen. Great fun eh?

I'd have just run the bunch of scumbags straight over, nothing less than they deserve tbh.

How many of them were there? Get a few mates and come back and confront them. If they have any balls they will say something to you, doubt it tho, they'll walk off or run, depends how you go up to them.

I wouldn't leave it tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Hi guys!

If it happens again youll probably inform the guards? I cant believe the first thing you didnt do was pull in and call the guards there and then. Take a picture of the little ****s if possible to show the guards. Christ almighty have you any idea how much damage one of these little pricks could cause to your car if they hit it with a stone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭justshane

I think Mak_United has the right idea, it would be very hard for the Gardai to catch and then even prove it was the little scum!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Stinicker wrote: »
    I'd have just run the bunch of scumbags straight over, nothing less than they deserve tbh.
    Haven't we been here before? Banned for two weeks for advocating assault again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭bladebrew

i have heard of it happening in togher before, by the centra at the roundabout, it may have been you that said it before here?!

that place is bloody depressing,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

It's bad enough when they do it at parked cars or low speed traffic but, holy sh1t , throwing stones at cars on a motorway :eek: What sort of mindless moran do you have to be to do that!

http://www.carlow-nationalist.ie/tabId/369/itemId/3555/Family-forced-off-the-road-by-rock-throwing-thugs.aspx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭VinnyTGM

If it was me I would have stopped and got my metal pipe from the boot.

You should have rang the Gardai though, do it next time and yes if someone is under the age of 18 then their parents have to pay for damages caused.

I doubt it would get to that stage though.

bladebrew wrote: »
    i have heard of it happening in togher before, by the centra at the roundabout, it may have been you that said it before here?!

that place is bloody depressing,

Yawn, you make it sound like Beruit or something. If you think the area is depressing now you should have seen it 10 to 15 years ago, it's fairly quiet there now compared to then.

VinnyTGM wrote: »
    If it was me I would have stopped and got my metal pipe from the boot.
    Be aware that advocating assault is a bannable offence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭bladebrew

RoverJames wrote: »
    , you make it sound like Beruit or something. If you think the area is depressing now you should have seen it 10 to 15 years ago, it's fairly quiet there now compared to then.

id say beirut is nicer:D

i was walking into the centra before and one of a group of scumbags said "do you want a fight?" it was 2 in the afternoon, and i didnt want to distract him from his job of sitting on a windowsill doing fcuk all,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Lauder

Some scum threw a can at me around this time last year when I was in a rather conspicuous convertible going across O'Connell Bridge. No damage done, went into the car, rather than hit the car. They were in a knacker looking silver 3 door Astra, immediately followed them to get the reg and passed it onto the police, never heard anything back. Pathetic little country we live in!

Glad I always have a set of clubs in my normal car, just in case!

djimi wrote: »
    If it happens again youll probably inform the guards? I cant believe the first thing you didnt do was pull in and call the guards there and then. Take a picture of the little ****s if possible to show the guards. Christ almighty have you any idea how much damage one of these little pricks could cause to your car if they hit it with a stone?

Yeah, i know. I was tempted. Was in shock as much as anything as rarely see it happen around here. The rage set in too late.

Probably best though as i live nearby and didn't want to see my roof slashed and tires punctured when i get up to go to work some morning. The guards would have probably just given a warning though. This is why i think parents should be held responsible for any damage/crime caused by their children. It will lead to a better upbringing.

It would have been better for them to get a warning and their names taken than nothing at all. At least if it was to become a persistant problem in the area the guards would know where to first go looking. I can understand your concerns, and maybe taking pictures wouldnt have been the most discreet of actions, but the guards should be called nonetheless. Its all well and good saying their parents should be held accountable, but noone will be held accountable if everyone stays quiet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭charlie1966

This happened to me a few years ago. When I turned around they fled but it was in the countryside and they had nowhere to go. They were preteens, the parents did discipline them and one of the children did even apologize without being asked to. I know each situation is different, but in my case it was well worth seeking out the parents to tell them what their little angles were up to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Easy to have hindsight and be Rambo in your head, but my girlfriend wouldn't be remotely capable of confronting someone violently, and she shouldn't have to. She was going to shout at them, but she was afraid they'd do something else to the car when she was shopping in the place she was trying to get into.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭johndaman66

Lauder wrote: »
    immediately followed them to get the reg and passed it onto the police, never heard anything back.

That sounds about right to me. A gang of hoodies attacked my elderly uncles car a couple of years back when he was in it eating a fish supper. At least 4 or 5 of them (he didn't really hang around to count them) started bouncing on the car for no apparent reason, just a random scumbag act of violence. Luckily he had the doors locked and keys in ignition so he was able to make a quick getaway. He reported the incident in the local Garda station but heard nothing more on it after. He said he knew by the Guards they weren't interested.

The guards would have probably just given a warning though.

They probably wouldn't. You'd be very lucky if they followed up on this at all I'd imagine. I'd be thinking somebody would have to be badly hurt or seriously maimed before they'd investigate such an incident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭selfbuildkk

I wouldnt automatically assume the parents of these scumbags wouldnt discipline them.a couple of years back my sister had a rock thrown at her windscreen while driving. slammed on the brakes as the screen shattered. luckily my mother was in the car with her as she was just learning and had her kids with her.

anyways mother gave chase, lost them, but met someone she knew who knew where these kids lived. called to the doors. mothers were horrified and all apologetic. the chap who threw the rock was marched over to the credit union to take out his own money to pay for it, and a couple of weeks later my sister received a letter of apology from said chap in the post.
    Just good to see that not all parents are to blame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Ricardo G

I was up in Finglas last week bringing herself to Cappagh hospital and on my return i was driving back out the Tyrellstown rd when a little scummer no more than 9 years of age started belting stones at my car, the only thing stopping me getting out was the halting site he was standing near :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭tommy21

Count yourself lucky. A friend of the family was driving in East Cork a month or so back. She comes up to a car just stopped in the middle of a secondary road (a back road really). No other cars about. She can just about squeeze by slowly (and you would be worried there was something wrong with the person in the other car also so you would glance in generally.). She had her window down and just as she passes the front seat passenger threw a rock in at her and it split her ear open (dozens of stiches needed). They took off, stopped a short bit away, then took off again. I wonder did they know her infant was in the car seat? Pure scum. You could assume mistaken identity but that road is miles from anywhere, how would they know who was coming down it. Makes it worse that it was random I think!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭David09

Was told a story by a friend who was home from England and visiting relatives in a housing estate.
    As he was walking out to his car, a UK reg escort, one of the "hard kids on the block" approaches and starts shouting "go home you English b**tard" repeatedly.
    Little thug stands in front of car, shouting abuse, refusing to move.
    It wasn't long before his attitude changed from hard thug to bucketing tears when he was carried 20 yards down the road on the bonnet of the ford escort.
    I'm not for a moment suggesting this approach be taken, but it's a nice thought. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Not a car but had stones thrown at me on a motorbike.
    If I fall over and a 150kg bike on top of me , it's a broken hip or leg for sure

Seville place, Dublin 1 just off Sherriff St.
    Little baxtards :mad:

Easy to have hindsight and be Rambo in your head, but my girlfriend wouldn't be remotely capable of confronting someone violently, and she shouldn't have to. She was going to shout at them, but she was afraid they'd do something else to the car when she was shopping in the place she was trying to get into.

I wouldnt for a second advocate confronting these thugs, and those suggesting otherwise I think would find they would think differently if in the situation. Calling the guards is one thing, but putting yourself in further danger is a whole different story...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

have seen kids throwing stuff often enough at buses, but never at car so far. Scum, hope they get caught for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

A friend of mine in Dublin is in the windscreen business, and they have a contract of some sort to look after the glazing in the Luas.
    They're constantly replacing those huge front windscreens following vandal damage. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

Happened me last winter. Driving through finglas (just off the cappagh road), some young fcukers (12-14 id say) were throwing stone filled snowballs at the cars in moving traffic. As they started at mine, I swerved to try to hit one of the scumbags, missed by less than a foot. They looked shaken, and I dont think they continued throwing(at least not that I could see.)

Meet force with force, its the only thing that these waste of space scum understand.

(Disclaimer - all of the above is hypothetical and obviously I do not condone violence blah blah lets all buy the scum some drink and stones)

Max Power1 wrote: »
    Happened me last winter. Driving through finglas (just off the cappagh road), some young fcukers (12-14 id say) were throwing stone filled snowballs at the cars in moving traffic. As they started at mine, I swerved to try to hit one of the scumbags, missed by less than a foot. They looked shaken, and I dont think they continued throwing(at least not that I could see.)

Meet force with force, its the only thing that these waste of space scum understand.

(Disclaimer - all of the above is hypothetical and obviously I do not condone violence blah blah lets all buy the scum some drink and stones)
    Banned for a week for advocating violence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

Ya, I've been caught by this - unfortunately to get from place to place in Limerick you often have to travel through bandit country (Childers Road).

What can you do - Nothing! Don't even think of leaving the main road and heading deeper into one of the estates in search of them. If you go near them you are in for a world of trouble no matter how much damage/injury they caused you. If you can tear their parents away from Sky for a few minutes don't expect them to do anything other than back little Johnny 100% and threaten you with physical violence.

What can the guards do - nothing really if they are under 18, I don't blame the guards - the system to deal with problematic juveniles seems to be a farce- as with everything else the system seems to be geared to give more rights to vandals etc than victims.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,517 ✭✭✭VW 1

Similar thing happened to me a few months ago, was driving down the Dual Carriageway at Palmerstown when i heard a loud smack at the back of the car, a couple of teenagers had hit the car with an egg and were breaking themselves up laughing! In fairness although I was annoyed at the time, thinking back, I congratulate them for being able to hit a target moving at 100kph!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

if you have headlight washers or dont mind using your window washers, turn the jet sideways and spray them, its super effective in winter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

A few years ago scumbags not too far from me threw a black cat banger at my motorbike as I was passing, I knew where one of them lived and confronted their parents and threatened the gardai, never saw them at it again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

fight fire with fire... violence is the only thing they understand...lots of extreme violence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

A few years ago scumbags not too far from me threw a black cat banger at my motorbike as I was passing, I knew where one of them lived and confronted their parents and threatened the gardai, never saw them at it again.

you should have showed up in a black banger and thrown a bike at him :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭jock101

Where did this stoning take place? So as I can avoid such kips! Its funny how the few areas named where such incidents have happened, are centres of culture and decency! If you value your car and person avoid driving through working class areas!:rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭gu10

Tsk tsk tsk. this is awful codology

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

threatening the Guards, tut tut, what did they do :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Loads of oxygen thieving scobes were out in force in Roscrea today throwing snowballs with a hard centre at cars. I will be thankful when the snow is gone and the schools are open again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭J77

Happened to me once, no damage or anything but i drove after them, mainly because the general behavior of the lower classes enrages me so much. Also I was in no rush home. They weren't laughing when I turned around, they climbed up trees to get away.

It's hard to know what to do in the situation.

This thread brings me back. Bring back the sun so i can lower the hood. Bloody frozen doors and windows now instead.

Haven't had any snowballs pelted my way yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭David09

J77 wrote: »
    Happened to me once, no damage or anything but i drove after them, mainly because the general behavior of the lower classes enrages me so much. Also I was in no rush home. They weren't laughing when I turned around, they climbed up trees to get away.

It's hard to know what to do in the situation.

Chainsaw? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

I had this in Mallow, co cork. Hit right in the middle of the Taunus Coupe windscreen (lord knows where Id have got a new one from if it broke)

I turned round and went after them, I reckon they are still running....scum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

you should have showed up in a black banger and thrown a bike at him :pac:
    charlemont wrote: »
    fight fire with fire... violence is the only thing they understand...lots of extreme violence.
    David09 wrote: »
    Chainsaw? :D
    Anan1 wrote: »
    Banned for a week for advocating violence.
    Why was I banned for advocating violence when all of the above posters posted the same/similar after me, and were not even warned

(this is why people shouldnt drag up old threads I guess)
    Max Power1 wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭C4Kid

It's only a matter of time before somebody gets killed because a driver loses control of their vehicle from the shock of snowballs or rocks hitting their car. With the addition of ice and snow on the roads and estates especially I could see how easy it could be to lose control if You lose concentration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭AugustusMinimus

Was stopped outside the South Infirmary a few months ago.

Group of maybe 18 year old knackers appeared from around the corner. One of them jumped on bonnet of a car in front of me in the other lane and walked along the roof. Young woman in the car didn't know what to do.

I know what I would have done and it wouldn't have involved a polite chat with them.